Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    It has certainly become the tradition that SOL is only played after we win and even then only in big games EG cup finals, beating the Yams that sort of thing. Without a doubt the fact that we have been extremely sparing in it's use has kept the song special.

But surely the 'essence' of that song is far more than that, just to be a celebration. The Proclaimers didn't write the song with any idea or intention that it would become the unofficial ( now official ) Hibernian football club anthem, it was the fans who made that happen. This is a song about togetherness, comradeship and yes .... especially love .... not soppy Mills & Boon saccharine romanticised love, but the love shared by family, the love shared by friends, the love that overcomes hardship, adversity and even tragedy.

All supporters of clubs share a common bond. In the case of Hibs this song encapsulates the bond we all share as fans of our club and it's one of the very very few football anthems that can genuinely be described as moving.

For reasons that I won't go into this song in recent weeks has taken on a whole new resonance for me and if it is played tomorrow ( today now ) I am pretty sure I won't be able to get through it without tears streaming down my face. But that's why I want to hear it played and sung to the rafters by our fans before the kick off, it represents the best of us, how special it is to support this club for all its many faults.

To consign Sunshine on Leith to merely a song used at the end of a game to stick it to the Hearts or Sticky Buns after we beat them, or for the once in every 15 years event of us actually winning something is to do it a massive disservice ... there are other times it's use is entirely appropriate ... This is one of them.
    👍👍👍👍👍

It has certainly become the tradition that SOL is only played after we win and even then only in big games EG cup finals, beating the Yams that sort of thing. Without a doubt the fact that we have been extremely sparing in it's use has kept the song special.

But surely the 'essence' of that song is far more than that, just to be a celebration. The Proclaimers didn't write the song with any idea or intention that it would become the unofficial ( now official ) Hibernian football club anthem, it was the fans who made that happen. This is a song about togetherness, comradeship and yes .... especially love .... not soppy Mills & Boon saccharine romanticised love, but the love shared by family, the love shared by friends, the love that overcomes hardship, adversity and even tragedy.

All supporters of clubs share a common bond. In the case of Hibs this song encapsulates the bond we all share as fans of our club and it's one of the very very few football anthems that can genuinely be described as moving.

For reasons that I won't go into this song in recent weeks has taken on a whole new resonance for me and if it is played tomorrow ( today now ) I am pretty sure I won't be able to get through it without tears streaming down my face. But that's why I want to hear it played and sung to the rafters by our fans before the kick off, it represents the best of us, how special it is to support this club for all its many faults.

To consign Sunshine on Leith to merely a song used at the end of a game to stick it to the Hearts or Sticky Buns after we beat them, or for the once in every 15 years event of us actually winning something is to do it a massive disservice ... there are other times it's use is entirely appropriate ... This is one of them.
    What a fantastic post as usual NN
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    What a fantastic post as usual NN
    Cheers mate

It was from the heart, admittedly after a couple o' glasses

It just strikes me that if it hadn't been for this football club there's a few people who are very special to me that I would never have known, never even have met, wonderful people who I am privileged to call my friends and I'm pretty sure there's loads of people who follow Hibs ( and every other club ) who can say the same, people who have made lifelong friends that like me they would never have met if it hadn't been for this weird shared obsession that is Hibernian football club.

That's a fact of following a club that is often ignored and for me SOL is kind of the wee bundle that you can wrap that brilliant side effect of following Hibs up in, especially at times ( like 2016 ) when it makes you think of some of those friends and relatives who are no longer with us. Overly sentimental, maybe, but it's none the worse for it.

For folk who say we shouldn't play this song pre match .... I've heard it sung at weddings and funerals .... what you can do with it isn't and shouldn't be set in stone

In an ideal world doing it before kickoff tonight would be amazing, but the reality of the kickoff time is that there's not going to be much of a pre match buzz in the stadium as most folk rush to get there after work.

I was a bit indifferent to playing it prior to the game before reading this.

Play it.

Testimonial Due Tha Cabbage Kid's Avatar

Beautifully put 'Nae Nookie',

It is way more than just a song at the end of a game! obviously it shouldnt be played after or before every game but for games like this? most certainly!

get it played hibs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Brightside View Post
    I honestly think it will be ruined if its sung before the game. For one thing the stands will be far from full. Sing it at the end no matter the result tonight.
    Singing it at the start of the game then it is already celebrating a success - the success of beating Luzern. We haven't had a chance to recognise the achievement of the team for that. Whatever happens v Villa is irrelevant after that.

If we are getting beat though at end of game and people have left then it could taint the song forever if played after a defeat.

@hibs.net private member Hibby70's Avatar

Gamertag: Hibby70
    Think this will sound pretty special (if played). Get it played Barrie.

Slightly off topic, but am I right that the Europa League/Conference League shared anthem won't be played tonight before the game because it is only used from the group stages onwards?

Quote Originally Posted by NYHibby View Post
    Slightly off topic, but am I right that the Europa League/Conference League shared anthem won't be played tonight before the game because it is only used from the group stages onwards?
    They had the UCL anthem at Ibrox last night

Quote Originally Posted by NYHibby View Post
    I don't know, but suspect you are correct.

UEFA considers the Champions League playoff round a part of the final tournament which is why these games are part of the TV package and you have the CL music and paraphernalia.

Think the other 2 tournaments that's not the case.

Quote Originally Posted by BurtonOnTrent View Post
    They had the UCL anthem at Ibrox last night
    That is what prompted my question. I think the champions league playoff round is treated like more like the competition proper whereas our playoff round is treated like the other qualifying rounds.

I looked up what the competition regulations say on music:
    As from the group stage, the walk-on music provided by UEFA must be played from when the players emerge from the players’ tunnel until they have lined up, at which point the UEFA Europa Conference League anthem provided by UEFA must be played.
    The two competitions are also different when teams wear the competition badge on their sleeves.
    From the group stage, the UEFA Europa Conference League competition badge must appear on the free zone of the right shirt sleeve. The UEFA Europa Conference League badge may not be used at any earlier stage of the competition.

It works because it's sung after a significant victory. Why cheapen it?

Quote Originally Posted by MelbourneHibees View Post
    It works because it's sung after a significant victory. Why cheapen it?
    I would argue it works because it is unique to Hibs, it has no underlying threat or offence to anyone and it happens to be a great song. There don’t need to be rules about when sung, surely?

Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post
    I would argue it works because it is unique to Hibs, it has no underlying threat or offence to anyone and it happens to be a great song. There don’t need to be rules about when sung, surely?
    I agree with all of that but it's significance of being connected to great results and "rarity" also makes it great.

Did this happen? The way that's panned out, I sincerely hope not

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    dont think so. Thank f#*#

i'm very glad it wasn't played before hand...i'm not even sure i wanted it even if we had won tonight

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    The pre match music was crap.

Twice they go to play Born Slippy, a tune a lots of us think is absolutely right for the occasion, then talk over it and cut it off after 30 seconds or so.

The guitar guy was alright but could have cut the song short by 3 verses.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    No

So happy they didn’t do SOL, keep it for special victories and special occasions. No opposition is big enough to change our tradition with SOL.

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post

Twice they go to play Born Slippy, a tune a lots of us think is absolutely right for the occasion, then talk over it and cut it off after 30 seconds or so.

It was. It was crap and it was about 3 million times too loud.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    It just never felt like a good idea to me, despite the many passionate and inspiring cases put forward for it.

Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post

Switch the music off and let the fans make the atmosphere. Fair play tae block 7 for keeping going mind👍

Huge opportunity missed tonight to set a more special tone, pre match, to a big occasion.

No other club would miss a trick to build an edge, a sporting advantage, by ramping up the emotion to a pre kick off crescendo

Quote Originally Posted by Springbank View Post
    Huge opportunity missed tonight to set a more special tone, pre match, to a big occasion.

No other club would miss a trick to build an edge, a sporting advantage, by ramping up the emotion to a pre kick off crescendo
    It would have sullied the song and it was a bad idea to start with as there was always a chance we would get a hiding. The atmosphere would have been gone, as it was, a couple of minutes into the game when the crowd saw how we approached the game. Marshall spoke well in the post match interviews about the players giving nothing for the fans to get behind. He was spot on and SoL would have made no difference to that. One of the few positives tonight was SoL not being associated with that tie.

SoL isn't a cabaret turn. It doesn't come out to soak up the admiration. It comes out when it is the perfect thing to do. Even if that means we don't hear it even for a couple of years. That's what makes it so special.

@hibs.net private member hibsitis's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wookie70 View Post
    It would have sullied the song and it was a bad idea to start with as there was always a chance we would get a hiding. The atmosphere would have been gone, as it was, a couple of minutes into the game when the crowd saw how we approached the game. Marshall spoke well in the post match interviews about the players giving nothing for the fans to get behind. He was spot on and SoL would have made no difference to that. One of the few positives tonight was SoL not being associated with that tie.
    Absolutely right.