Thread: Sprinklers Off

Sprinklers Off

If I enter the arena tomorrow and they're watering the pitch, I won't be happy. I'd move the sidelines in. Narrow it, make life as difficult for the as possible.

Quote Originally Posted by King Cosell View Post
    If I enter the arena tomorrow and they're watering the pitch, I won't be happy. I'd move the sidelines in. Narrow it, make life as difficult for the as possible.
    Do we not want the wider, zippy pitch for Boyle and Elie to run at them?

Nah. We're not Hearts.

Keep it the same as our players are used to.

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    Nah. We're not Hearts.

Keep it the same as our players are used to.
    If we were hertz, we'd remove the goalposts to guarantee a win or something.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    No thanks. No point acting tinpot if this is where we want to be.

What are we? Alloa? No thanks, get that pitch zippy and get the ball down.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Iain G View Post
    Do we not want the wider, zippy pitch for Boyle and Elie to run at them?
    So long as we don't Bungle it.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    If we want to get something from the game we still need to play to our strengths and try and get a goal or two.

We don’t have the players to adapt to an agricultural war of attrition to grind the opposition down. If we try that there’s even more chance of a skelping I reckon.

It's Tynecastle you're looking for. Hang a left at Haymarket and keep going until the stench becomes overpowering

Some mental ideas on here

Maybe we should turn the floodlights off at our end when they’re attacking.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Maybe we should turn the floodlights off at our end when they’re attacking.
    We'll miss all the goals!

So you think we should just play pub team level hoofball??

Against a team that are bigger, stronger and more athletic?

#ragdolled.

Glad you're not in LJ's shoes.

Can we not bring back the slope for one night?

Gamertag: Jakesawers2008
    Should turn the sprinklers on now and make Easter Road like Hampden. Turn the pitch into a swimming pool and even up the odds

That's one of the most hearts thing I've ever read on here, it's a massive nah from me

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    It's Tynecastle you're looking for. Hang a left at Haymarket and keep going until the stench becomes overpowering
    It’s posts like this that show the need for a ‘like’ button on this forum. :-)

Quote Originally Posted by leith lynx View Post
    Can we not bring back the slope for one night?
    Bringing it back for one half would be even better!

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    Post of the year alert

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Must be about time for the sprinklers in the Villa hotel to go off for the first time tonight, no?

Unfortunately we have invested a fortune in a pitch that's never going to be a leveller, lack of sprinklers or not. It won't matter a rats arse if we sprinkle the pitch with sodding Pixi dust, it wont make our players a match for Villas. What will get us a result is tactics, 100% effort and a decent slice of luck .... Messing with the pitch dimensions or the sprinklers is utterly tinpot, in all honesty I would rather see the club get pumped with honour than resort to this Jamboesque pish.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Unfortunately we have invested a fortune in a pitch that's never going to be a leveller, lack of sprinklers or not. It won't matter a rats arse if we sprinkle the pitch with sodding Pixi dust, it wont make our players a match for Villas. What will get us a result is tactics, 100% effort and a decent slice of luck .... Messing with the pitch dimensions or the sprinklers is utterly tinpot, in all honesty I would rather see the club get pumped with honour than resort to this Jamboesque pish.
    Narrowing the pitch is a bit OTT, but not watering is reasonable/uncontroversial, and it does make a difference. Recent Aberdeen/Celtic game was very even, Rodgers talked about the dry pitch, saying they couldn't play their normal, slick-passing game. Villa will have 75% of the ball.

Ken what, you've got a point, Maybe I was a bit knee jerk in my reaction, as you say it's not unknown for teams to keep the pitch dry to hamper the progress of a slick passing team .. knowing our luck it will piss down just before kick off and take that option away anyway