Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    Interestingly, we only had 32% possession v Luzern on Thursday (but had more shots and corners), so we could be in for a very long night this week. Their final ball was generally pretty poor, so hopefully more of the same, and as you say we have the ability/players to hit them on the break.

They are much better at passing on the deck than they are delivering balls into the box.

It was well documented before Thursday that they really struggle to deal with high balls into their box. Watching the from high up in the West it was obvious that nearly every cross we put in they were struggling to deal with. The keeper doesn't come to collect and they are not the tallest team either. They were exactly the same v Djungarden home and away as well and Djungarden missed loads of good chances with crosses into the box that sent Luzern into panic mode.

Tactics are all about exploiting weaknesses and boxing clever. We have to take advantage of this when we get the chance.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

if we keep it tight first ten both legs we will dae them. we are there nightmare draw, espesh after there game the day

Quote Originally Posted by buktapurple79 View Post
    if we keep it tight first ten both legs we will dae them. we are there nightmare draw, espesh after there game the day

How about we keep it tight on Thursday and get through that before we even think about Villa.

Quote Originally Posted by buktapurple79 View Post
    Erm, they were away to Newcastle United, not Dundee United

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Erm, they were away to Newcastle United, not Dundee United

Ken, folk getting a bit carried away and thinking we have a chance against Villa because they lost to Newcastle who are likely going to finish 3rd or 4th. Mental.

Hearts fans had the same chat when they were up against Spurs and Liverpool. Emptied.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    They are much better at passing on the deck than they are delivering balls into the box.

It was well documented before Thursday that they really struggle to deal with high balls into their box. Watching the from high up in the West it was obvious that nearly every cross we put in they were struggling to deal with. The keeper doesn't come to collect and they are not the tallest team either. They were exactly the same v Djungarden home and away as well and Djungarden missed loads of good chances with crosses into the box that sent Luzern into panic mode.

Tactics are all about exploiting weaknesses and boxing clever. We have to take advantage of this when we get the chance.
    Aye the way they started I was really worried with their quick one touch passing, but as you say deliveries into the box were poor, by half time I was far more confident.

Ken, folk getting a bit carried away and thinking we have a chance against Villa because they lost to Newcastle who are likely going to finish 3rd or 4th. Mental.

Hearts fans had the same chat when they were up against Spurs and Liverpool. Emptied.
    I don't think anyone is being particularly serious.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post

I think 1 or 2 are.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I don't think so either. Folk are just having a bit of a laugh but are well aware we're only at half-time v Luzern.

Exactly mate. I know most of the optimistic stuff is extremely tongue in cheek. But if you look seriously at this potential two leg affair we would do extremely well, in fact brilliantly, to get a draw or narrow defeat in the first leg and keep the score down to 3 or 4 in the away leg. The absolute fact is that the gulf between what we can put on the park and what they can is absolutely massive.

We are a wee bit chuffed that we have spent 700K on a player, with rumours he's on 7K a week .... they have spent 55 and 33 million on just two players and got Tielemans from Leicester on a free, but are probably paying him about 70K a week. That's what we would be up against.

The absolute fact is if we were to get through such a tie it would without a doubt be the single biggest shock in European football this season such is the disparity of resources between the two clubs.

Exactly mate. I know most of the optimistic stuff is extremely tongue in cheek. But if you look seriously at this potential two leg affair we would do extremely well, in fact brilliantly, to get a draw or narrow defeat in the first leg and keep the score down to 3 or 4 in the away leg. The absolute fact is that the gulf between what we can put on the park and what they can is absolutely massive.

We are a wee bit chuffed that we have spent 700K on a player, with rumours he's on 7K a week .... they have spent 55 and 33 million on just two players and got Tielemans from Leicester on a free, but are probably paying him about 70K a week. That's what we would be up against.

The absolute fact is if we were to get through such a tie it would without a doubt be the single biggest shock in European football this season such is the disparity of resources between the two clubs.

We'd be lucky to get nil!! If we were to win it would be like when Celtic beat that great Barcelona team 2-1. A Hibs win would genuinely be talked about all over Europe for days/weeks later, the magnitude of it would be so big. It won't happen though.

Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post
    No reason we can’t give them a bloody nose if we set up properly and get a wee bit of the rub of the green.

We have no chance if Marshall is in goal simple as that

We should park the bus, or maybe just not get off the bus.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

On the hand other, you said literally zero chance Vs djung/Luzern. We were out. Done. Finished.

Truth is no one has a clue. Anything could happen.

Sorry for a late response guys. I would assume the ticket prices for away fans will be £30 at VP unless it's a derby game they rarely rip off away fans too much even if they have the chance! I'd recommend getting tickets in the lower rows of Doug Ellis upper if you have the option the lower tier is fine but generally a lot better view in the upper tier.

A poor performance from Villa tonight but first few games never get too carried away or disheartened for me it's a good oppurtunity to see issues and bring in more new players! I believe when Mcleish managed villa in 11/12 we had several games unbeaten and top 4 start to season and just survived relegation then last year we lost 2 nil to a poor bournemouth side and finished 7th so that's all I'll say with that!

Any other questions feel free to ask!

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    I think today's result shows the gap between the top teams in England, which Newcastle now are and the rest.

If we get through to play Villa, our games will likely then show the gap between those teams and ours. Diaby cost £55m, Torres £32m, quite clearly we cannot compete with that kind of quality. Best case scenario we keep the score down as best as we can in the home game. Down there will depend on what team they put out. Hope we do through to play them as it'll be a great occasion for us as a club and quite an education for ours players as they'll be clearly a few steps up in quality compared to what we're used to playing against.

Quote Originally Posted by AFKA5814_Hibs View Post
    I think today's result shows the gap between the top teams in England, which Newcastle now are and the rest.

If we get through to play Villa, our games will likely then show the gap between those teams and ours. Diaby cost £55m, Torres £32m, quite clearly we cannot compete with that kind of quality. Best case scenario we keep the score down as best as we can in the home game. Down there will depend on what team they put out. Hope we do through to play them as it'll be a great occasion for us as a club and quite an education for ours players as they'll be clearly a few steps up in quality compared to what we're used to playing against.
    We can and will, we’ll beat them in at least one of the legs. I can feel it in my *****.

Yes I’ve had a few beers.

We can and will, we’ll beat them in at least one of the legs. I can feel it in my *****.

We probably won't even get to play them, but if we do, there's no chance we'll beat them.

They would be great occasions though.

A big tifo of SJM lifting the cup would be sensational!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    We probably won't even get to play them, but if we do, there's no chance we'll beat them.

I’m going to avoid offering you a bet on that because I’ll no doubt wake up and realise I’m talking pish. However, yes we will. 2-1 Hibs in the first leg. We’ll get battered down there probably but we’ll get through on Thursday by the skin of our teeth and we’ll get our collective hopes up in the home game.

I was impressed with FC Luzern in our game . I think they are a good side and even with a 3-1 lead going over there i do think the ties in the balance tbh . Love the positivity though buddy 👍 even though you've had a few beers 😁

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar

I love John McGinn as much as everyone else but I don’t think he should be getting any special treatment if we play Villa.

He’ll be wanting to beat Hibs as much as we’d want to beat Aston Villa and rightly so.

Singing about a player in a positive manner when he’s playing against you is something I just don’t get. Maybe just me though.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by Donegal Hibby View Post
    I was impressed with FC Luzern in our game . I think they are a good side and even with a 3-1 lead going over there i do think the ties in the balance tbh . Love the positivity though buddy 👍 even though you've had a few beers 😁

They're very good with the ball at their feet. Its high balls they struggle with. They had some lovely one touch moves at ER, the move when the boy rattled the bar in the second half was excellent.

Quote Originally Posted by .Sean. View Post
    I love John McGinn as much as everyone else but I don’t think he should be getting any special treatment if we play Villa.

He’ll be wanting to beat Hibs as much as we’d want to beat Aston Villa and rightly so.

Singing about a player in a positive manner when he’s playing against you is something I just don’t get. Maybe just me though.

I'm with you, never understood it.

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875

Have to say, I agree with this.

Exactly. He doesn't play for us anymore.

McGinn is my favourite ever Hibs player and deserves a good reception.

But if we do end up playing them, once the game starts, that should be it.

Hopefully he scores an own goal, gives a penalty away and gets sent off in the process of doing so.

I'm sure it's not just you but I don't think there's anything wrong in showing your appreciation and affection for an opponent at the start of the game is problematic. It's not like we'd be cheering him on throughout the match.

Anyway, we're not through yet.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    McGinn is my favourite ever Hibs player and deserves a good reception.

But if we do end up playing them, once the game starts, that should be it.

Hopefully he scores an own goal, gives a penalty away and gets sent off in the process of doing so.

He’s a club legend unquestionably.

Doesn’t mean I don’t want to see Joe Newall put him in the stand during the game.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Rather support the guys who play for us now.