Page 210 of 266 FirstFirst ... 110160200208209210211212220260 ... LastLast
Results 6,271 to 6,300 of 7970

Thread: Best tv

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    That was the best tv in a long time, we missed the first 15 mins and thought it was genuine at first, intil the kids 🤣 that Woman was funny, pain, its all subjective 🤣
    I’m watching this just now and can’t believe anyone thought any of it was genuine. And that’s before you get the worst actor in the world from Lincoln. Really funny though

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Late to the party but I'm watching Inside Man on BBC iPlayer. David Tennant and Stanley Tucci are sublime - just finished episode 2. Really enjoying it.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    Late to the party but I'm watching Inside Man on BBC iPlayer. David Tennant and Stanley Tucci are sublime - just finished episode 2. Really enjoying it.
    It's very good, Tucci is mesmerising. 👏

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    I’m watching this just now and can’t believe anyone thought any of it was genuine. And that’s before you get the worst actor in the world from Lincoln. Really funny though
    I did only because I missed the start and never got the gist of it until I got a bit more into it then thought what the **** !! 🤣

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    It's not about getting cancelled it just doesn't get released

Comedians have adapted and tamed as they wouldn't get away with the same stuff. That's what the guys from sunny say, there is no way there early material would pass. I've heard Jim jefferies say the same and you can easily see it if you watch his new and old shows. He also thinks Shane Gillis was cancelled

https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/tv/news/shane-gillis-snl-saturday-night-live-fired-bill-burr-jim-jeffries-a9108071.html

Dave Chappelle is one of my favourites of the last decade. He was probably too popular to cancel despite a huge effort and cancelled shows, Sadowitz similarly
    https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-62249771.amp

My comedians listed are also hardly 10 years old are they. Mel Brooks says Blazing saddles would never be released now
    https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-41337151.amp
    So they wouldn’t be cancelled like you said then, cool.

I love Mel Brooks but there’s a bit of “old man yells at cloud” going on there. Does anyone believe Blazing Saddles wouldn’t get made today?

TV is more graphic and pushing boundaries than ever before. Cinema has its own set of issues which aren’t really related to wokeness or being PC.

Quote Originally Posted by Tyler Durden View Post
    So they wouldn’t be cancelled like you said then, cool.

I love Mel Brooks but there’s a bit of “old man yells at cloud” going on there. Does anyone believe Blazing Saddles wouldn’t get made today?

TV is more graphic and pushing boundaries than ever before. Cinema has its own set of issues which aren’t really related to wokeness or being PC.
    Don't tell me what I said. I said they would be cancelled if they put out what they did then now. I've gave you multiple examples of the people themselves saying the same. You know best though so fair enough bro.

This was a conversation about always sunny being better before. The writers say they wouldn't get away with putting the early seasons now. I think that's probably why it's not as funny anymore

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    Don't tell me what I said. I said they would be cancelled if they put out what they did then now. I've gave you multiple examples of the people themselves saying the same. You know best though so fair enough bro.

This was a conversation about always sunny being better before. The writers say they wouldn't get away with putting the early seasons now. I think that's probably why it's not as funny anymore
    You said It's a shame most of favourite comedians of the past Bill Hicks, Richard Prior and Mel Brooks would all be cancelled nowadays

I don't know best, I maybe just have a different opinion. Talk of "cancel culture" just annoys me as there is nothing new here. Artists have had to consider compromises and consequences for the last 70 years.

The likes of Jim Jefferies can literally do what they like, say whatever they like. He might then just have to recognise that he cannot do that in a Netflix special that he'll be paid very well for. I was quite a big fan of Louis CK until all the stuff came to light about him. He's still doing pretty well considering and if he doesn't get certain gigs - it's a consequence of his own behaviour and choices.

Richard Pryor had TV shows cancelled in the 70s/80s because audiences didn't respond. He chose not to compromise and water it down. Nothing new. These guys will always have had to deal with tv networks and film studios and decide where they draw the line.

I need to watch Always Sunny by sounds of it. Never seen it but seems to get universal praise almost.

Quote Originally Posted by Tyler Durden View Post
    You said It's a shame most of favourite comedians of the past Bill Hicks, Richard Prior and Mel Brooks would all be cancelled nowadays

I don't know best, I maybe just have a different opinion. Talk of "cancel culture" just annoys me as there is nothing new here. Artists have had to consider compromises and consequences for the last 70 years.

The likes of Jim Jefferies can literally do what they like, say whatever they like. He might then just have to recognise that he cannot do that in a Netflix special that he'll be paid very well for. I was quite a big fan of Louis CK until all the stuff came to light about him. He's still doing pretty well considering and if he doesn't get certain gigs - it's a consequence of his own behaviour and choices.

Richard Pryor had TV shows cancelled in the 70s/80s because audiences didn't respond. He chose not to compromise and water it down. Nothing new. These guys will always have had to deal with tv networks and film studios and decide where they draw the line.

I need to watch Always Sunny by sounds of it. Never seen it but seems to get universal praise almost.
    It's great, well the early series. As they say they would never be able to release that early material now, so the newer series are mild, but we're going round in circles.

One episode left of series 2 of World on Fire, continues to be very good, Mark Bonnar and Julia Brown leading the way for Edinburgh. Lesley Manville and Ahad Raza Mir are very good too.

Just finished 1899. I think you need to be incredibly stoned for it make some sense

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Good Omens 2. Might be better than the first series.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Carnival row . Not really my thing but really enjoying season 1 from 2019

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Carnival row . Not really my thing but really enjoying season 1 from 2019
    I really enjoyed it, not got round to season 2 yet.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I really enjoyed it, not got round to season 2 yet.
    I enjoyed the first series, but the 2nd has left me cold

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Good Omens 2. Might be better than the first series.
    It definitely isn’t.

Don’t think there will be a 3.

Rewatching brassic, fabulous tv show

Quote Originally Posted by Colr View Post
    It definitely isn’t.

Don’t think there will be a 3.
    I believe that this isn't the natural sequel to good omens but a stopgap before the real sequel.

Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post
    Rewatching brassic, fabulous tv show

First two series were good.

two doors down

Why haven't i heard of this before ?! Brilliant

two doors down

Why haven't i heard of this before ?! Brilliant
    Seriously ? I happened to catch a wee clip if it on BBC when it was first aired and thought I might have a wee swatch, watched every one since, that Doon Mceechan or however you spell it is ****ing radge 🤣

Only Murders in the Building is back

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Only Murders in the Building is back
    Liked that previously…what streamer is that on again?

Seriously ? I happened to catch a wee clip if it on BBC when it was first aired and thought I might have a wee swatch, watched every one since, that Doon Mceechan or however you spell it is ****ing radge 🤣

She's a bampot!!!

If she spoke to me in my hoose like she does in this programme she would be getting telt to **** off ...Cheeky bitch she is

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    Liked that previously…what streamer is that on again?
    Disney +

I call my mother in law "Christine", she ****ing hates it😂😂

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Disney +
    Cool, thanks.

Will be back on that in a couple of months I think (Paramount currently) so will defo watch then if you report back positively

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    I call my mother in law "Christine", she ****ing hates it😂😂
    Funny because I call my Wife Christine too, she actually agrees though 🤣

She's a bampot!!!

If she spoke to me in my hoose like she does in this programme she would be getting telt to **** off ...Cheeky bitch she is
    Aye she is a bit on the front foot eh, she would drive me nuts, her lap dug letch Colin plays a brilliant part, just polar opposites 🤣

I see the creator of Two Doors Down Simon Carlyle has passed away aged 48

I've got 1 episode of Wolf left to watch on the BBC, if it wasn't for the kidnapped family part of the story I'd say it was good but, all 5 in that house are getting on my thruppenies. 😡