And Joe Harper
Thread: Name the Hibs players
-
-
20-07-2023 10:34 AM #542This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
-
20-07-2023 10:55 AM #543This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-07-2023 11:03 AM #544This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-07-2023 11:04 AM #545This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-07-2023 11:05 AM #546This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Wee fat Joe
Well done 😀
-
20-07-2023 11:06 AM #547This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
20-07-2023 11:08 AM #549This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Hope it gets better, bud.
-
-
21-07-2023 08:10 AM #551This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Well liked in his time at Hibs. Good pal o Jimmy's was Grantie.
Shared a love for the music of the Everly Brothers.
They had a ball on the US tour of 1967
Didnae really make a big breakthrough during his time at Hibs .
There was some fine competition up front though.
Spent his later career in Peterhead.No,not the prison the football club ,then scouted youngsters for Aberdeen.
Possibly still lives up north.
Some of Colin's memories in the linked article below.
Brilliant stuff !
https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp...-peterhead-fc/Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 21-07-2023 at 08:20 AM.
-
21-07-2023 08:16 AM #552This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Signed by Jock Stein after scoring 55:48 for Linlithgow Rose
-
21-07-2023 08:24 AM #553This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I think his mother was the barber.
For the younger fans.
In that photo behind Colin is of course the trackside/terracing wall.(East)
Now that wall was made of bricks .
Us older guys can remember when Celtic's John Hughes (no not our Yogi)broke our Bobby Duncan's leg in a tackle crashing along the touchline at the wall.(iirc)
Myth has it the break could be heard at the fit of St Clair Street.
Story also goes that Hughes went into Hibs dressing room after the game to say it wasn't meant maliciously.
He got chased !
Jock Stein ,then Celtic's manager went daft at him for going into Hibs dressing room when the feeling was still raw,saying to Hughes.
"its bad enough you break his leg,you want to make it worse" .
That game was in Jan.1968. score 0-2
38.000 plus witnessed it.
And mind, Celtic were European Champions at the time.
Changed times indeed " .
Sorry, this should be about Colin Grant,but seeing the old wall minded me of Bobby's sad story .
Bobby was never the same player .
He may well have went on to bigger things..He was good.
I was a 16yr old in the Cave that game,repelling the invaders !!
There was ,no surprise really as the game was very tense,fighting among fans at the game.
Match info on link.
https://www.thecelticwiki.com/1968-0...ue-division-1/
Get the young team behind the goals !!
Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 21-07-2023 at 09:13 AM.
-
22-07-2023 04:14 PM #554
Colin Grant in team photos from 67/68 season.
Sorry i could not paste the image.
If someone can open them ,maybe do a "name game" and the ground it is taken at.
Toronto City FC aka Hibernian FC
Summer tour of North America 1967.
https://www.nasljerseys.com/images/2...oad%20Team.jpg
Edit
Thank you for opening up photos
I have forgotten how to do that task .
The ground i was trying to remember
.I surely have been there.
Even the advert on roof for Evening Gazette didnt help my searchLast edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-07-2023 at 08:35 PM.
-
22-07-2023 04:57 PM #555This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Lto R back row- No sure is it Billy Simpson, Joe Davis, Bobby Duncan (what a player he could have been) Thompson Allan, John Madsen, Alan McGraw, no sure, Peter Marinnello.
Lto R Front Row- Jimmy O, Pat Quinn, Colin Grant, Colin Stein, Peter Cormack, Eric Stevenson and John Murphy. Dont know what ground this was at, could it have been Motherwell? or Dundee who were a bogey side to us that season.
That season Hibs as ever up and doon we beat the jambos at Tinycastle wi Pat Quinn scoring a hat trick. We beat them at New Year wi a Joe Davis pen to win 1-0, then before that I remember going through to Stirling and we got gubbed 4-1 by Stirling Albion, some strange scores for sure. Knocked oot the Scottish cup by Airdrie while beating Porto and Napoli in Europe and then just going out to Dirty Leeds after a dodgy (English) ref gave then a free kick after Willie Wilson the goalie took more than 5 steps before kicking the baw, spent many games later in Willies company and he swore he never took more than 5.
great time and fantastic for the auld yins to reminice and get the old grey cells working.
-
22-07-2023 05:48 PM #556This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-07-2023 05:51 PM #557This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-07-2023 06:11 PM #558
AHibee and Hibeg .Superb memories.
The players IS Davie Hogg,ex Holy Cross pal o Jimmy's and Pat.
l was searching for a pic of John Madsen and came across the two photos.
What a great memory for detail you have A Hibee .Porto Napoli,Leeds.
Hat trick Pat, The Mighty Quinn.
All those games in that season.Some season eh ?
As well as the League Final v Celtic,which was delayed for months cos of Hampden fire .
Highlights of that are on utube. Only highlight for ujs is Jimmys free kick !
The Airdrie cup game we lost one nil,through there.
Ex Hibby Derek Whiteford scoring.
Cops came into our support a bit heavy handed that day.
I got lifted and frogmarched round the track.
Guess who was sitting in the dugoot !!
Aye Jimmy loved big Willie Wilson.
Heard some stories. Some guy.
And yes the ref robbed us that night with the 4 step rule. v Leeds 1968
Copied this excerpt from an old thread.
1-0 for leeds at elland road in the first leg and 1-1 at ER in the return
Leeds they went on to win the cup, beating rangers in the QF's...then dundee in the semi final.
(yep...dundee) Leeds also won the last fairs cup before it changed to the UEFA cup.
We played them in the UEFA cup a few years later,drawing 0-0 at both elland road and ER..
.going out on penalty's
And this
Colin Stein scored after four minutes to level the tie in 2nd leg.
It looked like extra-time .....but in the eighty-seventh minute..
Willie Wilson was penalised by referee Clive Thomas (Wales) for infringing the 4 step rule ..
.Johnny Giles lofted the free kick into the area where Jack Charlton headed it in.
87th minute. Effin robbed !!! No lie, corrupt game,
Mind the Cave going radgeLast edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-07-2023 at 06:39 PM.
-
22-07-2023 08:03 PM #559This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-07-2023 08:50 PM #560This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Top: J.Easton,J.Baxter,J Doherty,T Preston,R.Duncan
Standing: J.Fraser,J.Scott,P.Cormack,W.Wilson,J.O'Rourke,A.K eay,
T.Leishman,J.Grant,Ronnie.Simpson,G.Gartshore,P.Hu ghes
Seated:J.Byrne,J.McLelland,T.McGlynn,A.Cameron,Jim my Stevenson,W.Toner,D.Falconer,G.Baker
Front:A.Seaton,N.Martin,P.Stanton,Billy Simpson,Eric Stevenson
Its 1963/64 .Start of season official photo.
Older fans will remember there was a very strong Reserve League in those days .
The white alternative strip would be worn mostly by the reserves/youth development of the era.
Back then no one seen the need for an alternative colour strip when we faced Celtic.!
Although not all modelling the top in this photo would all be reserves at that time !
Reserve games sometimes got decent crowds,particularly if a first team favourite coming back from injury was playing.
Of course the names were under the photo i found ,but i do remember the majority.
I was 11/12 at the time !
A few would not make the 1st team.
Interesting how goalie Ronnie Simpson just about manages to get his head in the photo !
He looks awfy wee !
He would ,of course a few seasons later become a European Cup winnerLast edited by Mick O'Rourke; 27-07-2023 at 09:59 AM.
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
06-08-2023 07:54 AM #568This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-08-2023 07:57 AM #569This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Well done
-
06-08-2023 08:01 AM #570