Page 256 of 389 FirstFirst ... 156206246254255256257258266306356 ... LastLast
Results 7,651 to 7,680 of 11656
    @hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    It's not. Not by a long way. Its what the media and unionists want you to think. Its far from a lost cause
    You can call it a ‘cause’. The reality is it was a choice, put to the people, who politely and clearly rejected it.

And since then we have had, mostly, a bunch of really bad losers who seem to think they won or should have won but the victory was stolen from them.

I just realised, while typing that, it was exactly the same language one would use talking about Trump supporters
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    It just highlights the true nature of the problem.

This shower are not fit to run a bath, let alone a government.

But they tell Indy supporters they will deliver Indy. So they hoover up their votes.

And they don’t deliver Indy and are truly incompetent in government.

Was it not this time last year, Sturgeon was saying we would be having a referendum this October? And was it not this time last year that we passed the half million mark for the number of times the Scottish Government broke its own law about when patients would receive treatment?

Cant deliver Indy, can’t deliver good government.

What is the point of them?
    Can’t deliver Indy because it’s illegal.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Can’t deliver Indy because it’s illegal.

Independence isn’t illegal if achieved through a lawful and democratic process.

But the SNP would rather start fights they know they can’t win, to stoke the grievance.

They need the grievance to get the votes and get their cushy ministerial salaries and pensions.

But all the while, good government is put in the back seat. No room for the job they are meant to be doing.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Independence isn’t illegal if achieved through a lawful and democratic process.

But the SNP would rather start fights they know they can’t win, to stoke the grievance.

They need the grievance to get the votes and get their cushy ministerial salaries and pensions.

But all the while, good government is put in the back seat. No room for the job they are meant to be doing.
    There is no democratic process though.

And since then we have had, mostly, a bunch of really bad losers who seem to think they won or should have won but the victory was stolen from them.
    Do you just make stuff up?

There is no democratic process though.

So 2014 was illegal then?

I know we have had democratic processes in the past but the past is gone now. There is no democratic way for Scotland to leave this union now.

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    Do you just make stuff up?
    Like what?

Bad losers? Some particularly fine examples on here.

People,who felt the result was stolen because of ‘Yoon lies’? No shortage of examples on here.

Sounds just like Trump supporters? Yes it does. I was surprised myself, but it is true doesn’t it? Exactly the same bitterness and blaming others.

If the cap fits, wear it (obviously change it from MAGA to MSGA though )

I know we have had democratic processes in the past but the past is gone now. There is no democratic way for Scotland to leave this union now.

I see. So you are using the reputable and rigorous approach of clairvoyance now.

Still, you are proving my point beautifully. Get challenged on how catastrophically poor and incompetent your governing is - the undelivered promises, the broken promises - and try and turn it into a “We wuz robbed” by a big, bad English boy fairytale.

We deserve better. Regardless of whether you support Indy or not, we deserve better.

Bad losers? Some particularly fine examples on here.
    Who?

People,who felt the result was stolen because of ‘Yoon lies’? No shortage of examples on here.
    No shortage of examples of BT lies either, eh? Just because people point out the lies in the BT campaign, doesn't make those lies go away. Or are we just supposed to ignore the lies and move on? I'll be damned if I ever ignore the lies put forward by the Vote Leave campaign.

You compare us to Trump supporters but we never instigated insurrection against the state. Although, maybe that's an idea ... We never accused the BT campaign of fixing the vote.
    Last edited by grunt; 01-07-2023 at 03:09 PM.

I see. So you are using the reputable and rigorous approach of clairvoyance now.

Still, you are proving my point beautifully. Get challenged on how catastrophically poor and incompetent your governing is - the undelivered promises, the broken promises - and try and turn it into a “We wuz robbed” by a big, bad English boy fairytale.

We deserve better. Regardless of whether you support Indy or not, we deserve better.
    There was me thinking you would come back and explain the democratic process to me?

Better? You mean lying, u-turning, can't-distinguish-from-Red-Tory Labour?

Who?

No shortage of examples of BT lies either, eh? Just because people point out the lies in the BT campaign, doesn't make those lies go away. Or are we just supposed to ignore the lies and move on?

For example I'll be damned if I ever ignore the lies put forward by the Vote Leave campaign.
    Again, you are just proving my point. “It’s all someone else’s fault”, while the SNP conjures up yet more ways to waste our money in so-called government.

We are not stupid, we can see the shoddy attempts to distract us. The SNP are getting paid to govern, and to govern effectively and efficiently. They are simply failing, as this latest farce with the Promise shows yet again.

And who who suffers from the lack of progress? Vulnerable children in the care system, with no voice or agency, hoping against hope that the system will be improved so they don’t face the massively reduced life chances that care-experienced children face.

But the SNP and its supporters would rather bang on about 2014 and Westminster and section whatevers, and manufacturing disputes over legislation they can’t even agree their own view on.

The smoke and mirrors have gone, they are simply a shabby, stale cigarette butt of a government now.
    Last edited by Mibbes Aye; 01-07-2023 at 03:29 PM.

There was me thinking you would come back and explain the democratic process to me?

Nathan Lyon is hitting boundaries off Broad with only one working leg and you think you have my full attention???

I’m at the Hibs game.

Better? You mean lying, u-turning, can't-distinguish-from-Red-Tory Labour?
    Bow about they just do better, regardless of anyone else.

They have a job to do, do it properly, or at least semi-competently. That would be a dramatic improvement.

I’m at the Hibs game.

I noticed. Sounds like today’s plaudits are for the seriously-injured or injury-prone in both affairs.

They have a job to do, do it properly, or at least semi-competently. That would be a dramatic improvement.
    I happen to think they're doing ok. But of course you disagree, and it seems your opinion is the only one that matters around here.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Alf View Post
    "It happens all the time. Someone questions the Scots Gov and the immediate reply is to say Labour / Tories did so and so..."

Head over to the Tories thread and
    "It happens all the time. Someone questions the Westminster Gov and the immediate reply is to say Labour / SNP did so and so.."

Pop on to the Labour thread and its.
    "It happens all the time. Someone questions Labour and the immediate reply is to say SNP / Tories did so and so..."

I should add, the Tories thread seems the worst for it... amazing how often ferries have been mentioned on it.

Well, maybe if we all tried a wee bit harder to keep each thread on topic there might be more discussion and less point scoring?

Worth a try?

I happen to think they're doing ok. But of course you disagree, and it seems your opinion is the only one that matters around here.
    To whom?

There is a world of difference between disagreeing and criticising someone else's opinion, and believing your own opinion is the only one that counts.

I'm in the former camp, but if I disagree I will say why and I will question the premise of the person whose opinion I am challenging or criticising. And vice versa.

Otherwise this place would just be an echo chamber. Or like a bot feed with any link people could find that said something negative about someone they don't like. And that would be pish.

And that's fine. And this being a place for debate or polite argument, then I will back up why I think they are failing. And I will ask those who support them why they think they ae doing ok. And that's fine too. You know very well from the Labour thread that there are a steady stream of links criticiising Starmer or the party and generally, I try and engage with, and counter them. I don't generally ignore them or put my fingers in my ears and avert my gaze.

Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    That's the wording of an uncertainty/disclaimer qualification - i.e. the auditors cannot establish whether the accounts show a true and fair view or not. As CWG says we should probably wait to see the full report but the auditors would not use those words lightly, nor would they say anything if they didn't think the potential error was material. It's certainly potentially a lot more than missing raffle receipts but it's rather a 'how long is a piece of string' scenario which is why the report will be uncertainty rather than disagreement (i.e. the accounts do not show a true and fair view).

The second quote implies that the problem lies (at least in part) with the previous year's accounts which I think was the year involving the controversial £600k. Whether it's down to bad bookkeeping or something more sinister, it's really not a good look for the party.
    The police investigation was triggered by complaints about the 2020 accounts.
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 01-07-2023 at 08:07 PM.

I doubt time will ever tell in this case. It will remain a note on the accounts and never come up again probably.

Are you sure Screenshot_2023-07-01-19-54-47-82_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

We know nothing other than what we read in the press. Whether you believe what you read in the press is a matter for you to decide.
    Are you suggesting the arrests of the Murrells could be viewed as a media fallacy? Or that Murrell's resignation for falsifying membership numbers was 'fake news', to coin a Trumpian phrase? That would be quite the conspiracy theory.

The democratic process remains exactly the same as that which existed in 2014.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    The democratic process remains exactly the same as that which existed in 2014.
    The Scottish Government asked in 2012 and were given the permission to hold a referendum. Since then the question has been asked numerous times and permission has been refused. Ergo the democratic process has changed fundamentally!

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    Are you suggesting the arrests of the Murrells could be viewed as a media fallacy? Or that Murrell's resignation for falsifying membership numbers was 'fake news', to coin a Trumpian phrase? That would be quite the conspiracy theory.
    No. Did I say that? No I didn't.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    The police investigation was triggered by complaints about the 2020 accounts.
    Time isn't half going quick these days.

Anyway I think the point still stands. There should have been recognition in the opening (and closing) balance sheet that money raised for a specific project had not yet been spent on that project. It could probably take the form of deferred income - similar to the treatment of season tickets in football - but I would go for a restricted fund on the face of the accounts. That would allow for the application of some costs against the money raised.

The worry is that either treatment would have made the remainder of the activities look very poor. That may be why the police think there might be something dodgy about it all.

Exactly this. You won't get a coherent response because unionists know it's where their whole argument falls to pieces.

Hence why they respond about watching cricket instead.