I’ll start with coffins. They charge thousands for something that you either burn or put in the ground. What a rip off, when I kick the bucket I don’t even want a funeral. Just dispose of my body and have a party to celebrate my life.
Thread: Biggest consumer cons
-
22-05-2023 03:48 PM #1
Biggest consumer cons
-
22-05-2023 04:07 PM #2
When my Mum and Dad passed within a few weeks of each other we were able to combine the two costs, roughly £8000 in total if I remember correctly as none of them had insurance we had to foot the bill for the cremations etc
Having Brothers and Sisters and some of whom worked and others that didnt was probably more emotionally challenging than the losses themselves
I could have afforded to pay the lot and have the kin pay me but as I didnt get on with one or two of them then I thought **** it, I left it to one of my Sisters to organise, I paid what I was due and left the rest of them to deal the rest balance, its ****ing costly enough without being left out of pocket by a couple of lazy *****Last edited by Bridge hibs; 22-05-2023 at 04:12 PM.
-
22-05-2023 04:13 PM #3
Agree with the coffins/funerals stuff, it's a joke that people are expected to pay so much to burn or bury a coffin.
Bottled water is another con, maybe in some places the tap water is crappy, but here it's fine.
-
22-05-2023 04:24 PM #4
Food shopping really annoys me the way manufacturers have really pushed prices sky high and also reduced the size and quantities they are providing compared to say a year ago. A couple of examples, McVities digestive biscuits, a twin pack was roughly £2.00 not so long ago now £3.00 and certainly feels like the size and quantity has reduced. Richmond Sausages which were in packs of 8 now packs of 6. There’s too many more to list.
-
22-05-2023 05:10 PM #5
My mate Geoff noticed that as well as his favourite spoons breakfast going up in price he was getting far less beans and only half a mushroom so he complained next time he was in.
He counted the beans, there were 18 and a tiny mushroom. The guy behind the bar wasn't that sympathetic but took the plate off him, a few minutes later it was back smothered in beans (cold) the same mushroom was there and he had lost his hash brown
He ate the lot and said nothing, a couple of weeks later the spoons was on their closures list. I don't think it had anything to do with giving away too many beans to tight erses though.
-
22-05-2023 06:04 PM #6This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
United we stand here....
-
22-05-2023 06:06 PM #7
Thank you cards. I have a realistic alternative and that’s saying the words thank you in person. It’s not just thank you cards, there seems to be a card for almost everything these days.
United we stand here....
-
22-05-2023 08:07 PM #8This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Quite a few people send my bairns Christmas and birthday presents that don't live in Edinburgh. We always send a text or make a phone call but I think a hand written note is a nice touch on top of that. I get it's not for everyone though.
I'm going to throw 'sales' into the mix. I worked in the warehouse at Next for 2 years whilst at uni and there were truckloads of stuff boxed in specifically for the sale. It was largely utter ***** that was unsellable. A handful of said items had been stuck in the back corner of the shops with the biggest floor space for the mandatory period to then claim the sale price was genuine. Stripped out again, boxed up and sent across the country marked as '50% off'. There was the odd genuine bargain (usually hoovered up by staff the night before) but most of the stuff had never been seen by anyone in the store before and wouldn't be seen again until the next Next sale. Sales are great of you genuinely find something you were going to buy at a reduced price. So much of it is manipulative marketing though designed to get you to spend £25 you never intended to because you are 'saving £25'. In that scenario you are really £25 down.
Don't even get me started on Black Friday.
-
22-05-2023 10:48 PM #9This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-05-2023 11:43 PM #10
The tins of sweets (now plastic) that are sold at Christmas, Roses, Quality Street, Heroes, etc. The amount of chocolates and size of container is laughable compared to years ago, decreasing every year.
Up there with Easter Eggs and selection boxes for being a total rip off compared to buying the equivalent loose chocolate.
-
23-05-2023 03:45 PM #11This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.
-
23-05-2023 03:55 PM #12
-
23-05-2023 05:27 PM #13This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Historically western society held funerals several days after someone died, still do obviously, and the coffin provided protection for families preventing them witnessing decomposition. On cultures like Islam where burial takes place within 24 hours that wasn't and isn't necessary hence burial without a coffin being standard.
-
23-05-2023 06:18 PM #14This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
23-05-2023 08:48 PM #15
-
25-05-2023 07:21 PM #16
Boiler insurance - you pay £400-500 per year for a service. Especially when people insure brand new boilers. By the time they need even a part they could have had 2-3 new boilers with their insurance premiums.
-
25-05-2023 09:02 PM #17This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
You can get boiler cover for a fraction of that!
-
26-05-2023 06:31 AM #18
-
28-05-2023 07:01 AM #19
Try an donate your body. No cost and helping science
-
28-05-2023 11:00 AM #20This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
https://hometree.comparethemarket.co...type=HomeownerLast edited by Hibbyradge; 28-05-2023 at 11:02 AM.
-
29-05-2023 03:29 PM #21
We got some new garden furniture delivered today. It came in several cardboard boxes, one of which my wife commented was "coffin sized". I've bagsied it if I die before it decomposes.
-
31-05-2023 06:23 AM #22
-
01-06-2023 12:41 PM #23
The inflation in car insurance…dunno why but mine seems to be looking like at least 50% higher this year!
-
01-06-2023 08:26 PM #24This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
really hacks me off… I get the odds are shorter that something will happen with a given car as it ages over a year, but you’ve also got another year’s no claims, and the value of the car has depreciated
-
01-06-2023 09:59 PM #25This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Aye right I thought I’ll get a similar price to last year by doing a quick comparison…ermmm naw.
-
02-06-2023 06:44 AM #26This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote"...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
02-06-2023 06:46 AM #27
The energy standing charge is a complete rip off. Nearly doubled over the course of the energy crisis, but our infrastructure hasn’t changed one iota.
When prices drop do you think the standing charge will drop?
Will. It. ****."...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
02-06-2023 08:30 AM #28
And petrol still hovering at 1.43ish. Was about 1.10 a year or so ago. Okay it’s come down a bit but looks like 1.4 is the norm now.
All of these energy companies and supermarkets making huge profits whilst the normal working person struggles with all of these increases. It’s a sad state of affairs that it’s just allowed to happen
-
02-06-2023 05:44 PM #29This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I can't think of another market like it whereby a company over extends itself, goes bust, and the costs get lumped on to the customers of the other more successful companies!
-
02-06-2023 07:21 PM #30
Damn spot on ! What a weird set up, can't think of a more anti competitive state of affairs.
The former directors of these bust energy providers knew that the government would have to step in even before they went out of business....
similar to so many private OAP homes that went bust too. A real pet hate.