View Poll Results: Should Scotland be an independent country?

662. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

458 69.18%
  • No

175 26.44%
  • Undecided

29 4.38%
Page 844 of 885 FirstFirst ... 344744794834842843844845846854 ... LastLast
Results 25,291 to 25,320 of 26549
    Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    If I didn't know any better I'd say that the daily ranger has swapped sides. The last couple of front pages haven't been a good look for the polis or PF. Wonder if they've had a heads up that this contrived circus is heading nowhere?
    Or maybe they are just continuing to write about what has been served on a plate to them and you find the current reports more palatable?

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Or maybe they are just continuing to write about what has been served on a plate to them and you find the current reports more palatable?
    Almost certainly that’s the case and Police Scotland are willing to leak them something everyday. Wonder why?

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Almost certainly that’s the case and Police Scotland are willing to leak them something everyday. Wonder why?

Are you sure it's Police Scotland doing the leaking? The Daily Record seems very close to the current FM.
    Last edited by archie; 05-05-2023 at 09:50 AM. Reason: Clarity.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    I don't find any of it palatable. It's either a targeted attack on the party, and individuals within it. Or they have genuinely been up to no good. Either way it is not good news.

Quote Originally Posted by archie View Post
    Are you sure it's Police Scotland doing the leaking? The Daily Record seems very close to the current FM.
    Very close really ?

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Very close really ?
    Nah, he's havering

Quote Originally Posted by archie View Post
    HaHa

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Nah, he's havering
    You obviously haven't read their coverage of Humza during the leadership campaign and since. They were also all over the nursery story. They were also the recipients of a number of leaks under the previous FM.

Belinda Carlisle. Great song in the late 80's or early 90's.

To a previous poster who called the Scottish government a circus. Standing/speaking up for yourself is not bad. Get off your knee's and stop grovelling.

https://twitter.com/markmcgeoghegan/...dxJXScFNwz8V4A

52-48

GDP is not the only measure of success ....

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    GDP is not the only measure of success ....

You can’t just compare us with Ireland.

Or anywhere else apparently. Too many variables.
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Or anywhere else apparently. Too many variables.
    Definitely not England either.

Quote Originally Posted by Bristolhibby View Post
    Definitely not England either.

Greece is, or was, acceptable as long as it's caveated with "without the sun"

Mind, that's probably changed now.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    And yet it was argued that comparing us to Germany for the purposes of a discussion on whether refusing another referendum was reasonable or not was decried.

Is it legitimate to compare Scotland/UK with other countries or is it not?

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    And yet it was argued that comparing us to Germany for the purposes of a discussion on whether refusing another referendum was reasonable or not was decried.

Is it legitimate to compare Scotland/UK with other countries or is it not?
    You can compare all you like but the formation of a unified German state and the UK were quite different.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    You can compare all you like but the formation of a unified German state and the UK were quite different.
    So it is legitimate to compare our position with that of the German Lander. Good, that seems clear.

https://www.cityam.com/revealed-brit...e-world/?amp=1

The UK is genuinely world leading. At last.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    I've just finished a novel called Scotched Nation, a fictional account of post referendum political shenanigans. Worth a read as it's all plausible.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

https://twitter.com/eu_commission/st...dxJXScFNwz8V4A

Another brexit benefit. We're not included on that list!
    Space to let

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Another brexit benefit. We're not included on that list!
    A small mercy.

Hopefully this fud gets emptied next time round. Screenshot_2023-05-15-19-00-52-15_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by degenerated View Post
    Hopefully this fud gets emptied next time round. Screenshot_2023-05-15-19-00-52-15_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg
    https://twitter.com/Innealadair/stat...WVlviuEug&s=09

An English man in full Scottish Uncle Tom gear.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post

From a family of planters, the apple never falls far from the tree.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by degenerated View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post

That was from a couple of months ago and the full context was that Brexit and Scottish independence were both divisive and that nationalism didn’t provide the answers to the challenges of today, let alone tomorrow.

Still, it will bring up a lot of the Yes brethren to full-on beelin’

It does touch upon an interesting point though.

Scotland, as many would define it is a rather arbitrary and new ‘thing’. The idea of nation states is very recent in the history of mankind, the idea of liberal democracy even newer. Do we really think that nationalism has much in the way of a shelf life? It seems to be one of the biggest barriers to addressing global problems and likewise one of the biggest causes.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    That was from a couple of months ago and the full context was that Brexit and Scottish independence were both divisive and that nationalism didn’t provide the answers to the challenges of today, let alone tomorrow.

Still, it will bring up a lot of the Yes brethren to full-on beelin’

It does touch upon an interesting point though.

Scotland, as many would define it is a rather arbitrary and new ‘thing’. The idea of nation states is very recent in the history of mankind, the idea of liberal democracy even newer. Do we really think that nationalism has much in the way of a shelf life? It seems to be one of the biggest barriers to addressing global problems and likewise one of the biggest causes.
    Which version of "nationalism" do you mean?