Page 168 of 385 FirstFirst ... 68118158166167168169170178218268 ... LastLast
Results 5,011 to 5,040 of 11545
    @hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Both stv and the BBC going with the same story

Accountants Johnston Carmichael’s decision to resign came before Wednesday after reviewing its client portfolio and existing resources and commitments, STV News understands.

The timing might appear a godsend to the SNP BAD crowd but they had already taken the decision before the dawn raids in Uddingston
    It should be borne in mind that these raids will not have come as a big surprise to those on the inside. The police have been investigating this missing £600K for a long time and like other cases of suggested financial impropriety, the authorities like to get hands on with the paper trail chasing.
    That being said, the auditors/accountants if at all concerned have had ample opportunity to manage their exit plan.

@hibs.net private member Berwickhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    So they audited them incorrectly clean, and then “dumped the SNP”.

Is that the suggestion?
    Not my suggestion

Has it been decided if a by election is required in Margaret Ferrier's seat yet?

Bet Humza will be relsihing that. A split vote between Ferrier and an SNP candidate and Labour ready to throw everything at it. An SNP win was always quite unlikely but this will make the task all the harder.

I daresay Starmer and Sarwar wouldn't want to be seen to be missing what is a bit of an own goal either mind you.

Has it been decided if a by election is required in Margaret Ferrier's seat yet?

Bet Humza will be relsihing that. A split vote between Ferrier and an SNP candidate and Labour ready to throw everything at it. An SNP win was always quite unlikely but this will make the task all the harder.

I daresay Starmer and Sarwar wouldn't want to be seen to be missing what is a bit of an own goal either mind you.
    Nae need! [greetin emoji]

Can only be a by election if she's suspended and 10% of electorate there sign up to recall her. Boris potentially in same picture so thought by some that suspension might not happen so as to not set a precedent. Not saying that's okay, like.
    Last edited by Glory Lurker; 07-04-2023 at 06:08 PM.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Glory Lurker View Post
    Nae need! [greetin emoji]

Can only be a by election if she's suspended and 10% of electorate there sign up to recall her. Boris potentially in same picture so thought by some that suspension might not happen so as to not set a precedent. Not saying that's okay, like.
    Needs to happen and any medicine that has to be taken is.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Needs to happen and any medicine that has to be taken is.

By nae need, I meant as if it's not been an upsetting enough week without thinking about what other horrors might befall!

The Times newspaper, on Good Friday:

@hibs.net private member Berwickhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post

not very appropriate but funny 😄

Quote Originally Posted by Berwickhibby View Post
    not very appropriate but funny 😄
    The film was. The funniest ever made in my opinion.

But that? I’m not sure it could even be called a joke. Regardless of who the subject was and how inappropriate it is, it’s surely for the very simply amused.

It’s irreverent and funny. Something sadly lacking in Scottish politics. I am very easily amused though.

No, hang on.

There was a cartoon this year depicting Sturgeon as decapitated, and now a cartoon showing political figures crucified?

None of that is cool. And I say that regardless of whose heid is shown on the ground or which bunch of bams are on the cross (whatever configuration it takes).

It's no that funny but it's not offensive as it's no 1950, well Kate Forbes might disagree. Same people that find it offensive probably would have found the wonderful life of Brian offensive when it first came out

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    It's no that funny but it's not offensive as it's no 1950, well Kate Forbes might disagree. Same people that find it offensive probably would have found the wonderful life of Brian offensive when it first came out
    Nah. I've just got this natural aversion to cartoons depicting the death of folk.

Casually depicting violence against politicians is dangerous and very problematic. The people doing it obviously feel it serves a purpose and it will be lapped up by their target audience.

Quote Originally Posted by Rumble de Thump View Post
    Casually depicting violence against politicians is dangerous and very problematic. The people doing it obviously feel it serves a purpose and it will be lapped up by their target audience.
    I can’t watch Eric Idle singing Always Look on the Bright Side of Life without recoiling in horror at the violent imagery. And I’m sure Pastor Jack Glass would have agreed.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar

How very fitting, it's what the Romans did with anyone who threatened their empire.

I just joked on the other thread about guillotining the royals it wasn't meant though..

"Down with this sort of thing" as father Ted would say

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    I can’t watch Eric Idle singing Always Look on the Bright Side of Life without recoiling in horror at the violent imagery. And I’m sure Pastor Jack Glass would have agreed.
    If you had a point to make it would be more helpful to just share it.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    https://news.stv.tv/scotland/deal-to...-nhs-test-beds

Sounds promising.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    It’s irreverent and funny.
    Care to explain what's funny about it?

Just because you don't find it funny doesn't mean someone else can't be amused by it.

FWIW it brought a smile to my face too. Clearly qualified by the cartoonist's reference to Life of Brian ad opposed to real actual crucifixion.

Lighten up.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    Just because you don't find it funny doesn't mean someone else can't be amused by it.

FWIW it brought a smile to my face too. Clearly qualified by the cartoonist's reference to Life of Brian ad opposed to real actual crucifixion.

Lighten up.
    Did I ever say they couldn't? I'm just asking someone to explain what they find funny. Lighten up yourself.

They definitely know how to keep order. Let's face it. They're the only ones who could in a place like this.

Quote Originally Posted by Rumble de Thump View Post
    If you had a point to make it would be more helpful to just share it.
    I understood his point.

@hibs.net private member MartinfaePorty's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post

Lighten up.
    So if it's a reference to Life of Brian, does that mean, like him, they are being crucified for something they didn't do

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    I remember when I lived in Glasgow there was quite a buzz around the Life of Brian being screened for the first time I something like 40 years. It definitely raised many hackles.

Anyone offended by that cartoon though presumably just finds anything which pokes fun at the SNP offensive.

I thought it was quite well put together, with the saltire-shaped crucifixes etc and it seems a pretty apt summary of where the SNP are at right now. Things could hardly be worse and they're a sitting duck or ridicule so Always Look on the Bright Side of Life seems an appropriate lyric.

I guess some might still fail to make the Life of Brian (ie comedy) connection though.

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    Anyone offended by that cartoon though presumably just finds anything which pokes fun at the SNP offensive.
    In what way does it poke fun at the SNP?

There would be questions in the HoC, front page howling headlines in the English press for weeks if a Scottish paper printed a cartoon of Sunak and Starmer being crucified on Good Friday. Whether you like the SNP or not, it's simply not funny. And putting a Monty Python quote at the bottom doesn't make it so.

In what way does it poke fun at the SNP?

There would be questions in the HoC, front page howling headlines in the English press for weeks if a Scottish paper printed a cartoon of Sunak and Starmer being crucified on Good Friday. Whether you like the SNP or not, it's simply not funny. And putting a Monty Python quote at the bottom doesn't make it so.
    If it offends you as Christian then I can see why that might be so.

The whole shtick is based around the Life of Brian scene tho, not just the quote. In that sense it's just lampooning the SNP using a theme which ties in with the time of year.

Political cartoonists tend not to pull their punches but other than the religious aspect I'm not seeing this as especially shocking.
    Last edited by He's here!; 08-04-2023 at 10:39 AM.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/u...16382.html?amp

'Sturgeon was forced to quit' according to Salmond.

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    https://www.independent.co.uk/news/u...16382.html?amp

'Sturgeon was forced to quit' according to Salmond.
    Who's Paul Murrell, and what does his arrest have to do with the SNP?