Great player, cannae believe he never got a scotland cap
    Agreed , I think he got 1 Scotland B cap

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Agreed , I think he got 1 Scotland B cap
    Was he not top scorer at Celtc when he was there tae? Mad that he didn’t get a few full Scotland caps

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Was he not top scorer at Celtc when he was there tae? Mad that he didn’t get a few full Scotland caps
    Top goalscorer in his only season their

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Great pic.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Great pic.
    Did Turnbull take the pic?

Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    Did Turnbull take the pic?
    My first thought as well

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Gordon Hunter on the left.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Gordon Hunter on the left.
    The Rae brothers Robin and Gordon

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    The Rae brothers Robin and Gordon
    👍

Brilliant pic posted by St Anthony today on Twitter from 1973 versus East Fife

poems from mothers to sons inspiration

Brilliant pic posted by St Anthony today on Twitter from 1973 versus East Fife

poems from mothers to sons inspiration
    The fateful game.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    The fateful game.
    The day the music died

some crowd though

The day the music died

some crowd though
    The quadruple was on at that point in my young mind. Were either of those East Fife players the one who broke Europe’s finest right back leg and our hearts that day.?

The day the music died

some crowd though
    I was in the old North stand we scored late on and Easter Road erupted 👍💚

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    The quadruple was on at that point in my young mind. Were either of those East Fife players the one who broke Europe’s finest right back leg and our hearts that day.?
    Looks like Dave Clarke future East Fife Manager and our very own Bobby Duncan

East Fife were a tough nut to crack back then ultra defensive and man marking the total opposite to their Manager’s Pat Quinn’ s style as a player

Ian Printy was the culprit and totally blameless according to Onion and definitely not Johnny Love as he is always quick to remind me every time I meet him

The fateful game.
    Ian Printy was his name, a supposed Hibs fan 🙄

Looks like Dave Clarke future East Fife Manager and our very own Arthur Duncan

East Fife were a tough nut to crack back then ultra defensive and man marking the total opposite to their Manager’s Pat Quinn’ s style as a player

Ian Printy was the culprit and totally blameless according to Onion and definitely not Johnny Love as he is always quick to remind me every time I meet him
    East typo to make. I’ve changed it to Arthur 👍🏻

Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post
    East typo to make. I’ve changed it to Arthur 👍🏻
    Nope Bobby far right

East Fife right back

Arthur is Arthur

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    Ian Printy was his name, a supposed Hibs fan ��
    Took Ian a while to get over that.
    Ian was brought up doon the road from us in Clerry.
    We all used to go to Clerry YMCA back in the 60s
    Across from St Kentigerns chapel in Parkgrove it was ⛪
    Ian lived near the primary school. His dad was a good Hibs man tae.
    Done some scouting.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 07-04-2023 at 03:26 PM.

Ah yes, Bobby D.! Suffered a similar career affecting break a few years before. Printy’s on Onion maybe have been an unfortunate clash but not sure Yogi could claim to be so innocent.

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    Ah yes, Bobby D.! Suffered a similar career affecting break a few years before. Printy’s on Onion maybe have been an unfortunate clash but not sure Yogi could claim to be so innocent.
    Shocking tackle was close to a Scotland call up IIRC

Correct about Johnny but he got Mikey sent off for retaliation

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    That was what I meant about man marking they knew how to push Mickey’s buttons and it cost us big time

Think Mickey was only booked but it pushed him onto mega points with the SFA who loved it

Think they had two on him at all times

Justice was served when Tosh rose like a salmon to head home Arthur’s cross in the last minute

Best header of a ball I have seen at Easter Road
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 07-04-2023 at 06:55 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post

So blame Love for goading Mickey
    That 8 week suspension was a disgrace.
    Cost us the league title imo

From an interview Onion did with The Scotsman a good few year ago.

"Hibs beat East Fife in the next game after 7-0 but their losses were great.
    On top of the leg-break, a booking for Alex Edwards triggered an eight-week suspension.
    When asked about the game – and he is – Brownlie still has to correct key details.
    Johnny Love didn’t make the tackle – the latter rarely left Edwards’ side in the pair’s recurring feud –
    but Ian Printy did and, no, it wasn’t malicious and he doesn’t blame the player.
    . He shakes his head. “Ian was a Hibs fan. He came to see me in hospital.”

Brownlie was ten months out, with the troublesome tibula having to be broken and re-set.

Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 07-04-2023 at 06:39 PM.

The fateful game.
    Jeez oh - memories play tricks - I just seem to remember it was a really dull/grey/dreich day and a poor crowd 🤔