Page 159 of 387 FirstFirst ... 59109149157158159160161169209259 ... LastLast
Results 4,741 to 4,770 of 11584
    Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    Indeed. The two are inseparable, so unless those who still think independence would be a good thing find a new vehicle for achieving it their stance is now pretty much reduced to: 'We don't want those shambolic Tory eejits running our country so we're sticking by our own bunch of shambolic SNP eejits.'
    To date, the strategy of unionist parties to keep the independence 'wolf' from the door, has been entirely focused on defeating the SNP.

I've always thought that was a flawed strategy. Unionists would have been much more successful in their cause by putting forward a positive case for the Union and winning over the hearts and minds of the ~50% of Scots who want independence.

The SNP right now are clearly in turmoil, but do unionists like yourself really believe that ~50% of Scots are just going to give up and go away? If so, then more fool you. Personally, it just makes me more determined to find a route through to independence. One thing is for sure, I will never vote for a unionist party again as a result of the deceitful way they acted during the 2014 referendum.

The SNP were always a vehicle to achieving independence. If a vehicle stutters or breaks down, it will either be repaired and keep going or be replaced.

The current turmoil in the SNP has probably set the delivery timetable for independence back a year or two. In truth though, I think the independence cause needed some time to refocus in any case.

Enjoy your glee and popcorn while it lasts
    Last edited by The Harp Awakes; 05-04-2023 at 01:37 PM.

Indeed. Sturgeon. Murky. SNP. Pomp. Sturgeon. Implosion. SNP. Fudged. Sturgeon.

Am I doing this right?

I understand Murrell has been arrested, but has he actually been charged with any offence?

Quote Originally Posted by Curried View Post
    I understand Murrell has been arrested, but has he actually been charged with any offence?
    According to some on here, he's been found guilty already.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    Indeed. Sturgeon. Murky. SNP. Pomp. Sturgeon. Implosion. SNP. Fudged. Sturgeon.

Am I doing this right?
    Do a Wordcloud, you know you want to 😀
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    According to some on here, he's been found guilty already.
    No one has said he has been found guilty. He’s not been charged with anything yet.

Unless you know something! Spill!!
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp Awakes View Post
    To date, the strategy of unionist parties to keep the independence 'wolf' from the door, has been entirely focused on defeating the SNP.

I've always thought that was a flawed strategy. Unionists would have been much more successful in their cause by putting forward a positive case for the Union and winning over the hearts and minds of the ~50% of Scots who want independence.

The SNP right now are clearly in turmoil, but do unionists like yourself really believe that ~50% of Scots are just going to give up and go away? If so, then more fool you. Personally, it just makes me more determined to find a route through to independence. One thing is for sure, I will never vote for a unionist party again as a result of the deceitful way they acted during the 2014 referendum.

The SNP were always a vehicle to achieving independence. If a vehicle stutters or breaks down, it will either be repaired and keep going or be replaced.

The current turmoil in the SNP has probably set the delivery timetable for independence back a year or two. In truth though, I think the independence cause needed some time to refocus in any case.

It’s over mate, you lost.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Well as someone who fits that bill I would suggest that firstly, the 2 WILL be a separate issue once Independence is achieved. After Indy I would more likely vote independently, or for whichever party suited my agenda.

The SNP are, to me and many others, a vehicle for Indy and no more. FWIW I liked Sturgeon, I thought she most of the Covid stuff right, but made mistakes too.

Re your point about shambolic eejits, the difference is that are the Conservative party in Westminster aren't shambolic, they're so brazen and transparent in their self interest that comparing the two is a bit laughable to be honest.

Having said that, this is no excuse for what has been going on here. Glass houses and stones etc.
    Is a lack of transparency when it comes to self-interest any more laudable? His lies about the membership figures led to Murrell's resignation, while his lack of transparency over the 'ring-fenced funds' appears to have led to his arrest.

I find this 'just a vehicle for indy' line hard to swallow incidentally. It seems little more than a way of sidestepping criticism of the SNP because, hey, it's only independence that matters no matter how clapped-out the vehicle which drives it may be.

As I've said a few times on here I've never been a fan of the SNP. When I was younger they were rammed with weirdos. I can't remember but I may have voted for them once inthe 80s as a protest vote. I voted similarly for the Communist Party in Edinburgh East which was just to piss off the SWP guy who I knew and he was a pompous ass.

I voted SNP in the last election which is the first time I consciously voted for them to win. Will reconsider that when the election comes around. I feel for those SNP followers who have been let down by Murrel. Whatever books he's cooked he is out of order.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Is a lack of transparency when it comes to self-interest any more laudable? His lies about the membership figures led to Murrell's resignation, while his lack of transparency over the 'ring-fenced funds' appears to have led to his arrest.

I find this 'just a vehicle for indy' line hard to swallow incidentally. It seems little more than a way of sidestepping criticism of the SNP because, hey, it's only independence that matters no matter how clapped-out the vehicle which drives it may be.
    You see the Tories/Labour as a vehicle against independence, just switch the tactic around - that will help you understand why some people vote for the SNP whilst not necessarily wanting them to run an independent Scotland for ever more.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    As I've said a few times on here I've never been a fan of the SNP. When I was younger they were rammed with weirdos. I can't remember but I may have voted for them once inthe 80s as a protest vote. I voted similarly for the Communist Party in Edinburgh East which was just to piss off the SWP guy who I knew and he was a pompous ass.

I voted SNP in the last election which is the first time I consciously voted for them to win. Will reconsider that when the election comes around. I feel for those SNP followers who have been let down by Murrel. Whatever books he's cooked he is out of order.

It’s a mystery to me why the SWP always seem to be populated by utter imbeciles. I’d be tempted by some of their ideas if some of the individuals weren’t so objectionable.

The SNP right now are clearly in turmoil, but do unionists like yourself really believe that ~50% of Scots are just going to give up and go away?:
    In a nutshell really. Members of the SNP could be guilty of absolutely anything and it wouldn’t make me think even for a second that Scotland are better off in the union.

Assuming the man is as guilty as some posters have already decided he is of course.

You see the Tories/Labour as a vehicle against independence, just switch the tactic around - that will help you understand why some people vote for the SNP whilst not necessarily wanting them to run an independent Scotland for ever more.

I don't. I want to see a Labour Party elected for the UK, not as part of constitutional politics in Scotland.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    It’s a mystery to me why the SWP always seem to be populated by utter imbeciles. I’d be tempted by some of their ideas if some of the individuals weren’t so objectionable.
    Because it's cultish?

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    Do a Wordcloud, you know you want to 😀
    😂 Thanks but already got the boak just typing them above.

Quote Originally Posted by Mcbizz1998 View Post
    It’s over mate, you lost.
    Lost what? Has there been a contest? If you say so that's fine. You'll have rude awakening one day

We did lose in 2014 and I can remember unionist friends telling me then, that was the end of the SNP. It wasn't of course and they went from strength to strength. However, as I said previously, it was never about defeating the SNP anyway. It's all about independence and always has been and unionists so far have failed to put up a positive case for the union.

And your complacency continues.......

As I've said a few times on here I've never been a fan of the SNP.
    It’s a common misconception on here if you don’t accept the mindless SNP/Nicola Sturgeon obsessive attacks.

I’ve admittedly voted SNP many times. But I’m only devoted to independence.

I didn't say it was more laudable.

I literally said whats happened is not good enough. I'm not sure how much clearer you want me to make it. If he's found guilty he will, rightly, face punishment and it will be a huge blow to the SNP.

Re the vehicle for indy line, if for example Labour offered a route to independence - which they aren't and looks like never will - they'd hoover up a huge number of votes. They're not, which is why the SNP are so popular, and that is not going away, even with the latest issues. Salmonds problems didn't have any impact as a former leader, and I'm not 100% convinced this will either, it all depends on what he gets charged with and if he gets convicted.

It's a perverse example but it's like Brexit supporters voting Tory for the first time because they were offered a referendum.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    It seemed to me to be full of men (men in particular) who were pedants to the nth degree, maybe more modern diagnosis would see them on the spectrum somewhat. Fully devoted to appearing considerably more Left-Wing than whoever they were talking down to. As a teenager there were a couple who tried to indoctrinate the youth in Niddrie and made the mistake of thinking that, Niddron = stupid. Jumped on the Rock Against Racism movement and tried to own it, clowns. The guy I'm talking about above was a particular kind of twat. No wonder they fail. I've always been in favour of capitalism with a very strong social contract and education as to why that is good for all concerned.

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    It’s a common misconception on here if you don’t accept the mindless SNP/Nicola Sturgeon obsessive attacks.

I’ve admittedly voted SNP many times. But I’m only devoted to independence.
    Those mindless attacks coupled with a ho-hum attitude to Tory corruption, against which all other corruption pales is just weird IMHO.

Quote Originally Posted by archie View Post
    I don't. I want to see a Labour Party elected for the UK, not as part of constitutional politics in Scotland.
    Fine, but I wasn't referring to you.

I’ve just read a few articles about this.

I may be wrong, but essentially there were 2 fundraisers where £600,000 were raised. This money was to be ringfenced for an indyref2 campaign. People donated the money for this cause only

There were then 2 general elections and the SNP were a bit skint, so that money was maybe used for that purpose and not for it’s intended purpose?

Wings over Scotland then started questioning where the ring fenced money was, obviously it wasn’t where it was suppose to be and that is the basis of the scandal?

Apologies if completely wrong

Fine, but I wasn't referring to you.

That's me told!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4185 View Post

I may be wrong, but essentially there were 2 fundraisers where £600,000 were raised. This money was to be ringfenced for an indyref2 campaign. People donated the money for this cause only

There were then 2 general elections and the SNP were a bit skint, so that money was maybe used for that purpose and not for it’s intended purpose?

Wings over Scotland then started questioning where the ring fenced money was, obviously it wasn’t where it was suppose to be and that is the basis of the scandal?

Lock him up!

@hibs.net private member Berwickhibby's Avatar

That is of course used for for official party business or if was invested in Murrell’s back pocket

Quote Originally Posted by Berwickhibby View Post
    That is of course used for for official party business or if was invested in Murrell’s back pocket
    Of course, if he has swindled it then he’s goosed but if the money was indeed used for SNP purposes, can he then argue that using to gain more MP’s in Westminster then this does further the independence cause?

Are you saying they may have won an election on the back of dodgy payments? We have precedent here. Dissolve the party and let a new one known as The SNP start life again in the lower tier Community Council elections. Anyone walking away will be forever ridiculed.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Crunchie View Post
    Who else will give them independence? The comments on here are clear on that, get rid and move on regardless. Before her resignation wee nippy was the best thing since sliced bread to the snp hoardes, now it's get rid and move on haha.
    That’s politics. The cause is worth more than one person. Salmond and Sturgeon all know that.

Yousaf says he doesn't think Murrells impending arrest was the reason NS stood down, I'd say the majority would be sceptical

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/p...s-not-29637773

Quote Originally Posted by Berwickhibby View Post
    What I am having trouble understanding is why the police have erected a forensic tent if they are only looking for documents 🤷*♂️
    Digging the garden up apparently.