Memories of Gordon Smith? Probably on the lines of “if only he could play like Gordon Smith”This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Smith wasn’ t particularly fast -just particularly good. By the time I started watching in the early 1950s Willie Ormond was the fastest player in the team.
View Poll Results: Who is the fastest of them all
- Voters
- 44. You may not vote on this poll
-
Cristiano Ronaldo
1 2.27% -
Adam Traore
1 2.27% -
Ronaldo Nazario
0 0% -
Aaron Wan Bissaka
0 0% -
Arjen Robben
1 2.27% -
Gareth Bale
2 4.55% -
Antonio Rudiger
0 0% -
Jeremie Frimpong
0 0% -
Jeremiha St Juste
0 0% -
Myjhailo Mudryk
0 0% -
Ousmane Dembele
0 0% -
Mohamed Salah
0 0% -
Moussa Diaby
0 0% -
Alphonso Davies
0 0% -
Darwin Nunez
0 0% -
Rafael leao
0 0% -
Claudio Canniggia
0 0% -
Federico valverde
0 0% -
Erling Haaland
0 0% -
Karim Adeyemi
0 0% -
Theo Walcott
1 2.27% -
Leo Messi
0 0% -
Ivan Sproule
33 75.00% -
Other
5 11.36%
Thread: The Ivan Sproule Debate
-
26-03-2023 09:24 PM #31
-
26-03-2023 09:27 PM #32
-
-
26-03-2023 09:42 PM #34This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
In 1969,he retired from football after a spell with Stirling Albion.
He was record breaking world sprint champion the next year.
But your point is made regards the race with Arthur, many years later.
Indicates, even though it was a fun event, just how fast George was to leave Arthur standing!
I was at that event,too. But had forgotten till you mentioned it.
Bobby Prentice of Hearts i think raced against Arthur .Bobby was quick
Maybe Powderhall in a charity race ?
The opening post posed the question.
Hibernian's fastest ever player ?
The answer is George McNeill
Not as good a footballer though as some other speed merchants mentioned here
Jimmy O knew George well in his early days at ER
Same age
When the players used to do pre season runs from the ground up and round Arthur Seat.
On the way back getting close to the ground, someone would shout
"Last one back is a hairy kipper "
It would never have been George !!Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 26-03-2023 at 10:12 PM.
-
26-03-2023 10:12 PM #35This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
26-03-2023 10:27 PM #36
Paul Cairney.
-
-
26-03-2023 10:33 PM #38This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
-
26-03-2023 10:35 PM #39This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
He played a far more prominent role at the club than George .
George didnt really break into the first team,but was at Easter Road for a few years.
Ivan's displays against the hun will go down in Hibs folklore/history.
Memorable and unforgettable.
-
26-03-2023 10:41 PM #40
The fastest player I've seen was Dennis Rommedahl, he was Danish and played for PSV and Ajax amongst other teams.
-
26-03-2023 10:46 PM #41
Sadly, the player I thought was the fastest I ever saw at ER wasn't one of ours. A week after the 'Wayne Foster Derby', it was cold, misty and miserable and we played Dundee United. Jerren Nixon (I think the then DU manager was Ivan Golac? and he had rated Nixon at a ridiculous amount - 15m?). Anyway. Nixon went for the ball like a greased whippet and scored. Didn't do much else in the game (or his career). But by God he was quick. Utterly miserable day.
-
26-03-2023 10:54 PM #42
At the time of posting this YouTube video of 30 fastest sprints in football, I have no idea if Ivan Sproule Is going to be one of them.
Last edited by Edina Street; 26-03-2023 at 11:02 PM.
-
26-03-2023 11:02 PM #43
His third goal for the hat trick at Ibrox was incredible speed. Ricksen must have had a good 7 or 8 yards on him and he made it up over no distance at all. Brown in the same game (before he was turned in to a holding midfielder) absolutely leaving Lovenkrands (who was very quick) for dead at the second goal as well.
-
27-03-2023 05:53 AM #44This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-03-2023 06:14 AM #45
George McNeill (Probably Hibernian's fastest ever footballer?)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_McNeill_(sprinter)
George McNeill (born 19 February 1947) is a Scottish former world professional sprint champion and the only man to have won both of the most famous professional footraces in the world – the New Year Sprint (1970) in Scotland and the Australian equivalent – the Stawell Gift (1981). McNeill had previously played professional football in the Scottish Football League for Hibernian, Greenock Morton and Stirling Albion.
-
-
27-03-2023 06:22 AM #47
Remember Mowbray saying he had worked with players as fast as Ivan but Ivan's acceleration over the first 10 yards was electric and the quickest he'd seen
-
27-03-2023 07:47 AM #48This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The similarities in taking on all comers.
The great Alf Tupper..... Tough of the Track
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alf_Tupper
Alf: "well that was some race,George"
George: "it wiz that, Alf, another bluddy dead heat !:"
Alf : Some race George,fancy a chippie?
George: Aye,ok then,Alf,al race ye there !Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 27-03-2023 at 07:50 AM.
-
-
27-03-2023 09:21 AM #50
-
27-03-2023 09:29 AM #51
Never seen him in his pomp but going by his rep Joe Baker was no slouch as a youngster.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
-
27-03-2023 09:33 AM #52
If I remember correctly, did Hertz not sign a flying winger from Belgium, he was fast, but a S***E footballer!!!
-
27-03-2023 09:36 AM #53This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-03-2023 10:06 AM #54
This could have all been solved if Hibs had taken the time to answer me when I emailed them about 2am one weekend asking how fast Ivan could run 100m, funnily enough I never did get an acknowledgement
-
27-03-2023 10:13 AM #55This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-03-2023 10:15 AM #56This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It was a long time ago ! And he mostly played for the reserve team.
Most clubs had a reserve team and the reserve league was very competitive back then.
Many fans who could not attend away games would go to Easter Road to watch "the reserves "
So a lot of pensioners and youngsters in the old enclosure !(lower west)
So say if Hibs played Celtic away. The reserves would likely play Celtic reserves at home the same afternoon.
The ER pitch back then would get a good pounding, as it was often used during the week for training.
More info on George McNeill
https://speakout.uk/speaker/george-m...aker-sprinter/
http://www.wonderfools.org/mcneilloftranent
On the reserve team back in the day.
First team players coming back from injury/suspension would maybe get some games in the reserves.
Easter Road back then, being so huge,was like an echo chamber when there was only a wee crowd in attendance.
You could hear individual shouts/comments half way down St Clair Street !
One story is Bertie Auld playing in the reserves was getting it tight from a character in the enclosure.
Bertie could hear every effin word !
He eventually got fed up and ran over to the wall,dug the guy oot,and shouted out.
"Me and you efter the game ,pal"
The place erupted in laughterLast edited by Mick O'Rourke; 27-03-2023 at 10:40 AM.
-
27-03-2023 10:18 AM #57
Usain Bolt who used to play in Australia was pretty rapid.
-
27-03-2023 10:24 AM #58
Ousmane Dembele and Mbappé are the two fastest players I’ve ever seen in the flesh.
Sproule by far the fastest player I’ve seen in Scotland, almost impossible to judge if he could win a footrace with those twa because of the different standards of athlete on the pitch at the same time. The two Frenchmen could also move at pace and change direction with the ball at feet seamlessly, which is the real attribute and which they beat Ivan on.
I recall Lewis Stevenson was regularly timed as the second fastest when Sproule was with the club.
-
27-03-2023 11:57 AM #59This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-03-2023 12:20 PM #60This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Often in football it's not the speed over 100 or even 50 yards that matters, the acceleration over 10 to 30 yards is everything.