My family background is mostly CofS, though the vast majority of my relatives long since stopped attending church. Well over half of my extended family (uncles, cousins, nephews, nieces, etc) support Hibs.
I had one uncle who was RC... and he supported Hearts.
I love telling that to my Weegie mates, as it really messes with their heads.![]()
Thread: Hibs and the Irish question
-
20-03-2023 05:14 PM #151
-
20-03-2023 05:24 PM #152
-
20-03-2023 05:57 PM #153This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Maybe it’s a lot to do with where I’m from in the Scottish Borders as the whole thing is an alien concept to me, and thankfully the area has been spared from such organisations.Last edited by Carheenlea; 20-03-2023 at 10:24 PM.
-
20-03-2023 06:01 PM #154This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
We also beat QotS away by the same score the week before.
Our final two games of the season and we finished 16th out of 18.
There was stories about our good fortune winning 3 of our final 4 games,
We drew the other one with Hearts,who thrashed us 4 nil at ER in previous league game.
QoS finished one place above us.
Clyde (2pts less than us) and Raith got the drop.
Back to Kirkcaldy
It was Jimmy's first season at ER
Me, my two wee brothers, Billy and John,our mother and dad all in the main stand at Starks Park.
Me and Billy dreeped doon the front of the stand to run on the pitch at the end.
Many years later ,80/81 season,my son Michael would run on the pitch at ER to celebrate promotion back to Premier.
Opponents? Raith Rovers ! 2-0 win
Happy Nervy Days !
The previous season at Starks ,Jimmy me and some cousins/pals were on the terracing.
Jimmy had not yet became a Hibs player of course
On the train home,some of the Hibs players were in first class carriage.
Jimmy had me (the wee yin) go and ask for their autographs !
Tommy Preston did the needful for a shy wee laddie of 9yrs or so.
Had Jimmy been more patient he could have got the lot training at Easter Road
Tommy Preston became his mentor !!Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 20-03-2023 at 06:28 PM.
-
20-03-2023 06:15 PM #155This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkLast edited by Kato; 20-03-2023 at 06:19 PM.
-
20-03-2023 06:52 PM #156
-
20-03-2023 07:38 PM #157This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
my Dad still cracks one of these out now and again
-
20-03-2023 07:47 PM #158This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-03-2023 07:56 PM #159This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-03-2023 08:47 PM #160This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Too late for that and too many skeletons crammed in the cupboard !!
You know the truth.I genuinely have recalled most of those stories through being prompted by things written on this board.
Amazing recall of events i had totally forgot. Or though i had,given my age.
Been real therapy for me.Honestly
!
Many years ago a teacher in Mathers suggested i write about my Wembley experiences
He use to crack up at what i got up to on these pilgrimages and few stories were about the football !
I went to 7 wembleys on the bounce and at 5 of them i didnt have a ticket,but got in
One time with the pre match pipe band !
Since covid i was grounded like others my age and ever since i have mostly been housebound with an illness that affects my mobility.
That can be both draining and frustrating,cos i liked getting out and about.
I guess it gives me lots of time to reflect.
However, my grandson Liam looking after me and this forum has kept my gray matter active.... and my sanity ,unlike the team sometimes.
Of Course ,there are far far more important things than football.
However being at Hampden on that day was my favourite Hibs moment since the LC win V Celtic
Although Jimmy's goals against the neighbours 0-4 and 0-7 games and the 3 against Sporting are up there.
And the Napoli game.
Along with the privilege of seeing the football genius that was Willie Hamilton.
The ballet dancer of Scottish football .
In full flow, a sight to behold
I wish you younger fans could have seen him or even if there was more footage of his play.
What a player Willie was .
Jimmy's favourites were Willie, Joe Baker and Bobby Moore.
Jimmy use to say "Michael can talk a glass eye to sleep"
He meant that in a humorous sense.. I hope !!
Message to Lee Johnson.
Lee if you read this. Hibs fans dont expect a lot.
Just a European spot and a major trophy next season will be fine.
Yours faithfully
Michael O'Rourke
PS
Dont forget now !
Well thats the Stella finished
Goodnight brother and sister Hibernians
HGSP
SOLLast edited by Mick O'Rourke; 20-03-2023 at 09:02 PM.
-
20-03-2023 08:56 PM #161This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-03-2023 09:21 PM #162
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteLast edited by leith lynx; 20-03-2023 at 09:24 PM.
-
20-03-2023 09:23 PM #163This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
20-03-2023 09:37 PM #164
-
20-03-2023 11:15 PM #165
We got as far as Haymarket, where we were stopped by a very young polisman. He looked amazed when he boarded the bus to see such a sea of faces staring up at him - he booked our bus driver, Alex, but let us continue our journey to Starks Park. As soon as the polisman got off the bus, Bernie organised a collection to help pay the drivers fine.
What a day - what a branch.
-
21-03-2023 05:43 AM #166
-
21-03-2023 06:35 AM #167This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-03-2023 06:47 AM #168This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-03-2023 04:36 PM #169
-
21-03-2023 05:45 PM #170
Behave youse !
Back to the first post by PH
Did/do the club recognise,observe St Patricks Day ?
I dont really know if they ever have in my lifetime.
Would have done back in the early days, of course.
The Catholic players and staff may well have went to St Patrick's church on the day.
Maybe something else Swan got involved in . Just kiddin !!
When i was a child,i recall shamrock in the house and school to remember St Patrick as the patron saint of Ireland and many Catholics would attend Mass that day particularly those either Irish or of Irish descent .
We did at school when March 17 fell on a schoolday and all sing the hymn "Hail Glorious St Patrick"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1USsVnyhWM
which i learnt at a very early age along with the hymn "Faith of our Fathers "
I dont attend Mass now. So i guess i am destined for the burning fire !
But however,those two hymns in my childhood days where important to the Irish and Scottish RC churchgoers .
So,St Patrick was celebrated in the school or chapel and not Biddy Mulligans pub ,where you can buy an expensive pint of Guinness "quickly" poured into a plastic tumbler
Sacrilege !!
Like Christmas Day, it was the Americans who commercialised the 17th of March as the Irish in many cities there celebrate their Irish heritage with parades/pipe bands and wee green men !.
Its has over decades snowballed into the money making machine we see today.
In the UK ,its mostly used as an excuse to go out for a bevvy and most doing that could tell you little or nothing about St Patrick . Maybe that he got rid of the snakes in Ireland! or its a brand of sportswear !
Back in my teenage years, i ended up one Saturday going to Falkirk's Brockville with some Celtic pals.
Cant remember why i missed the Hibs game)
Anyway, it was either on or near March 17th and the Celtic fans,who of course packed the terraces burst into a rendition of HGSP.
So i admit on here i joined in a sing song with Celtic fans !!
Alan Lugton,our great club historian who i knew as a young boy on the St Giles bus would have approved.......
...of me singing the hymn..... Not following Celtic !!
HGSP
Erin go BraghLast edited by Mick O'Rourke; 21-03-2023 at 05:56 PM.