Page 29 of 42 FirstFirst ... 19272829303139 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Victor View Post
    Don’t watch Sportscene very often and now I know why. The lead presenter introduced our game with all the enthusiasm of a turkey at a Christmas dinner and it all went downhill after that. The ‘analysis’ consisted of an in depth look at the red card finishing with the insightful conclusion that it had a major impact on the outcome of the game (despite the fact that Hibs were 2 goals up with 22 minutes to play). There was no mention of how well Hibs had played and everything was downbeat. Desperately amateur show and an embarrassment. The analysis on Hibs.net is less biased.
    It’s very poor, going from match of the day to that is something else. The production quality is night and day.

Doesn’t even sound like the commentators are actually at the games on sportscene, so unenthusiastic as well.

Why are we surprised at this. Do we expect anything else from that mob? You could write down what they will say about us before the programme even starts

We could go out and win 5-0 with every playing being superb but they’d still find the negatives.

How can you watch a show on a subject you are massively enthusiastic about, a show that in it's own interest should show that subject in the best light possible and promote it as a sport and still feel downbeat after watching it

Thomson couldn't be more wooden if he was made out of MDF and the show just looks so cobbled together, you see better production values on Tik Tok. The whole thing needs a massive shake up, it's so bloody poor and projects such a lack of enthusiasm and positivity that far from promoting Scottish football it near enough causes it damage.

It's biggest fault is it's pandering to the Ugly Sisters support ..... In a weekend where Hibs and Dundee United might have produced a thriller won by the odd goal in 5 the first games up would still be Celtic 4 Ross County 0 followed by Aberdeen 0 Rangers 1 and the first two games would share 25 minutes of highlights followed by 10 minutes of analysis each with the Hibs match getting 7 minutes ............. can you imagine that happening on Match of the day?

As for our game, as another poster pointed out the highlights were edited in such a way as to make it look like an end to end thriller, which I sort of get because for the neutral it probably made the highlights more entertaining if they didn't know the score. But it was the analysis afterwards that was so utterly poor, that is the point where viewers should get a true picture of the game .... IE a game that in reality Hibs utterly dominated with some excellent play in the first half and where the sending off perversely probably saved Killie from a bigger loss as Hibs much to my annoyance took their foot off the gas.

ALBA do a better job on half the money in a language I can't even speak.

@hibs.net private member Victor's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    How can you watch a show on a subject you are massively enthusiastic about, a show that in it's own interest should show that subject in the best light possible and promote it as a sport and still feel downbeat after watching it

Thomson couldn't be more wooden if he was made out of MDF and the show just looks so cobbled together, you see better production values on Tik Tok. The whole thing needs a massive shake up, it's so bloody poor and projects such a lack of enthusiasm and positivity that far from promoting Scottish football it near enough causes it damage.

It's biggest fault is it's pandering to the Ugly Sisters support ..... In a weekend where Hibs and Dundee United might have produced a thriller won by the odd goal in 5 the first games up would still be Celtic 4 Ross County 0 followed by Aberdeen 0 Rangers 1 and the first two games would share 25 minutes of highlights followed by 10 minutes of analysis each with the Hibs match getting 7 minutes ............. can you imagine that happening on Match of the day?

As for our game, as another poster pointed out the highlights were edited in such a way as to make it look like an end to end thriller, which I sort of get because for the neutral it probably made the highlights more entertaining if they didn't know the score. But it was the analysis afterwards that was so utterly poor, that is the point where viewers should get a true picture of the game .... IE a game that in reality Hibs utterly dominated with some excellent play in the first half and where the sending off perversely probably saved Killie from a bigger loss as Hibs much to my annoyance took their foot off the gas.

ALBA do a better job on half the money in a language I can't even speak.
    Couldn’t agree more. The main problem is that the ‘presenters’ cannot see beyond their own allegiances and Hearts. Although everyone knows where the likes of Ian Wright, Alan Shearer and Gary Lineker’s allegiances lie, they don’t allow this to colour their analysis of other clubs performances. Compare this with the biased drivel that the Sportscene ‘experts’ spout and you can see where the problem is rooted. In addition they all seem to have an innate hatred of Hibs!

Quote Originally Posted by GreenGray View Post
    It’s very poor, going from match of the day to that is something else. The production quality is night and day.

Doesn’t even sound like the commentators are actually at the games
    on sportscene, so unenthusiastic as well.

they probably aren’t. Highlights packages are often ‘re-commentated’ on, it provides (allegedly ) a coherent narrative, rather than comments made that refer to things not shown or in-match discussions amongst the commentary team. It’s often not even the same commentator. Same applies during live broadcast games then highlights shown later

Quote Originally Posted by winker View Post

That's some first post after all these years.

Watched it last night and more than half the show is taken up by the OF, that leaves 25 mins to show highlights from the other 3 games with analysis inbetween. On our game it looked like it was fairly even but it was seemingly anything but going by the stats and what the boys on here were saying, shows you what editing can do.

There was important games all through the division yesterday, the Livi/Rangers game should've went on last.

I get Celtic/Aberdeen starting the show, highest attended game in Britain amd in Scottish terms two big names so got no issue with that, the fact Celtic are top of the League just makes it more relevent, but then tou have us and a Killie and Dundee Utd/St Johnstone, given where United are and the fact its a derby of somesorts plus the way the game developed I could agree with that going on second, then us chasing 4th and then St Mirren/County before ending with Rangers.

Plus it makes sense if you want as many viewers as possible leave one of the biggest fantases to the end and they'll more than likely watch it all.

Match of the Day usually don't decide on their running order until the games are finished, if both Celtic and Rangers play on the Saturday you can practically guarantee they'll be first and second regardless of how their games go.

Andrew Smith previewing the league cup final in Scotland on Sunday says that a downside of the 50/50 attendance split is it allows both sets of supporters full rein for their sectarian filth/songbook.He finds it dispiriting that this is woven into one of Scotland’s supposed sporting spectacles.
    When I hear that one of the numpties on Sportscene has spoken out in the same way then I may watch it again.I won’t hold my breath.

Anyone see omeonga’s 2 yellow cards? You can’t tell me an old firm player would be sent off for those? Just downright shocking. Ref couldn’t wait to get the cards out.

Not convinced other teams would have got the penalty rangers got either

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Robbie looks like he has just been let out of Saughton for the weekend.

Quote Originally Posted by Trinity Hibee View Post
    Anyone see omeonga’s 2 yellow cards? You can’t tell me an old firm player would be sent off for those? Just downright shocking. Ref couldn’t wait to get the cards out.

Agree
    VAR is becoming a nonsense.

@hibs.net private member Ryan91's Avatar

Very similar situation in the Utd vs St Johnstone match where Fletcher is getting his shirt pulled as he goes for a header. No penalty after a second look by VAR. Not discussed in their analysis segment funnily enough.

Why did United have the 83 team on yesterday? They didn't win the league in February that year. Is there a better explanation than, if they waited until the proper anniversary there'd be no home crowd?

Quote Originally Posted by Alfred E Newman View Post
    Robbie looks like he has just been let out of Saughton for the weekend.

All that money and can't get a decent haircut, he looks like a jakey everytime I see him.

If a foul is committed in the run up to a goal, hell if a player's backside is an inch offside in the build up to a goal, VAR kills the goal. How come the Hearts boy didn't get sent off for denying a goal scoring opportunity before Well scored their second?

Quote Originally Posted by Glory Lurker View Post
    If a foul is committed in the run up to a goal, hell if a player's backside is an inch offside in the build up to a goal, VAR kills the goal. How come the Hearts boy didn't get sent off for denying a goal scoring opportunity before Well scored their second?
    I guess advantage is played and they scored. Ironically If they hadn’t then the penalty would have been given and he would have walked.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    I guess advantage is played and they scored. Ironically If they hadn’t then the penalty would have been given and he would have walked.
    Playing advantage doesn't let the player off with the foul. Hearts, as always, got lucky there

Yes but the goal was scored so he didn’t stop it. It just became a run of the mill foul in the build up.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Yes but the goal was scored so he didn’t stop it. It just became a run of the mill foul in the build up.
    Boooooooooooo

Agreed

To say something positive about sportscene (just for the hell of it), I'm quite impressed with Amy Irons (no, not in a sleezy fashion): she's very natural at presenting, and seems to do it without any notes. For marked contrast, see any episode of the programme with Stephen Thomson at the helm.

I remember her Dad playing for various clubs - chiefly Clydebank, for some weird reason.

Quote Originally Posted by Cat Stanton View Post
    To say something positive about sportscene (just for the hell of it), I'm quite impressed with Amy Irons (no, not in a sleezy fashion): she's very natural at presenting, and seems to do it without any notes. For marked contrast, see any episode of the programme with Stephen Thomson at the helm.

I remember her Dad playing for various clubs - chiefly Clydebank, for some weird reason.
    Agree, she’s pretty slick and has a pop at Michael Stewart from time to time. But…why are Hibs almost always on at the end?

Three terrible decisions all in favor of them, the game in Scotland is getting worse now and they don't even try to hide it.

Because a goal was then scored would have been pen and a red if no goal scored. Wouldn't be fair to punish them twice in that tnstance as goal was scored.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyisGod View Post
    Agree, she’s pretty slick and has a pop at Michael Stewart from time to time. But…why are Hibs almost always on at the end?

Could it be so they keep their audience to the end of the show😏
    Probably not 🙄

Quote Originally Posted by CentreLine View Post
    Could it be so they keep their audience to the end of the show😏
    Probably not 🙄
    Doesn't make me watch the entire show.

I wait until the next day and use iPlayer so I can jump straight to our game.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    Doesn't make me watch the entire show.

I wait until the next day and use iPlayer so I can jump straight to our game.

If you've not seen St. Johnstone's second goal on Saturday, I can wholeheartedly recommend making an exception and watching that one too. Absolute belter

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    If you've not seen St. Johnstone's second goal on Saturday, I can wholeheartedly recommend making an exception and watching that one too. Absolute belter
    https://youtu.be/MvsLECoV290?t=206

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    The fact it's literally seconds after a beautiful equaliser from outside the box makes it all the funnier

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction