Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

PSN ID: torto7062

Hibs 150th Anniversary Strip

After the New Scotland top being announced I wondered what Hibs 150th strip would be like and if the club would let the fans have a say....
    Obviously these four would be winners but I've seen some beauty's made up by fans over the years

Can anyone post some suggestions/mock ups ?
    Attached Images Attached Images

If its 150 years it shouldn't be anything to do with cool strips we liked from 70's, 90's ect.

I'd say it either has to be all white like our first ever strip or make that the away and do all green top with white shorts like our strips from 1879 until 1938. Hoops could be a third kit

Here's the strips through the ages
    http://www.historicalkits.co.uk/Scot.../hibernian.htm

PSN ID: torto7062
    Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    If its 150 years it shouldn't be anything to do with cool strips we liked from 70's, 90's ect.

I'd say it either has to be all white like our first ever strip or make that the away and do all green top with white shorts like our strips from 1879 until 1938. Hoops could be a third kit

Fair shout maybe they would have the all white as the away strip....

Bugger washing that back in the day after a muddy game lol

First Team Breakthrough hibby67's Avatar

The 1955 to Dec60 is the one for me .. nice and simple and the correct colour

I used to want the hoops but I agree. It has to be the original kit.

The hoops as a third kit would be interesting for a first season.

It’s important that ‘they’ know their history, the smelly Celtic *******s.

Will Joma still be the designers when we are 150?

All white with the original harp badge for the home.

Maybe run a poll with mock ups based on popular home and away kits down the years to decide the away and 3rd. Say one based on the 20s, 50s, 70s and 90/00s for a green option and a purple, black and yellow respectively for the 3rd.

If there was a simple green with white round collar, green sleeves (not shoulders) and green cuffs on the long sleeve similar to the early 0-7/6-2 strip and a green and purple stripe option then they would each have my vote.

Said this on the Scotland strip thread and I still stand by it.
    Our 150th should be white top, white shorts and green socks. Like the first strip we wore, I think that would look classy. All green as an away strip, with green with white sleeves as the third. Would take us through all the major stages of our strips development from first ever strip, to all green, to white sleeves. I know we wore hoops for one year but imo they just don't look right so I'd not touch them. There may be a clash when we play celtic but as its our 150th year and the biggest thing in their history I'm sure we could work something out

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    It has to be close to our first kit, anything else, no thanks.

1927-29 was outstanding!

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Said this on the Scotland strip thread and I still stand by it.
    Our 150th should be white top, white shorts and green socks. Like the first strip we wore, I think that would look classy. All green as an away strip, with green with white sleeves as the third. Would take us through all the major stages of our strips development from first ever strip, to all green, to white sleeves. I know we wore hoops for one year but imo they just don't look right so I'd not touch them. There may be a clash when we play celtic but as its our 150th year and the biggest thing in their history I'm sure we could work something out
    We have our winning suggestion.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Quote Originally Posted by Springbank View Post
    1927-29 was outstanding!
    Would have like liked the 2014 15 strip we had out to have used black shorts This could have helped the poor ‘it’s not a Nike park II template it to do with the famous five honest’ marketing a bit

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    I'm just going to say this again because I keep hoping that if I carry on repeating it then at some stage maybe someone at the cub will realise how good it would look.

The Peru strip of all white with the red diagonal stripe would look absolutely outstanding if we changed the red stripe to a bottle green.

@hibs.net private member Baader's Avatar
    Need to go back to the original kit. Anything else doesn't really make sense considering we are celebrating 150 years of the club.

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post
    I'm just going to say this again because I keep hoping that if I carry on repeating it then at some stage maybe someone at the cub will realise how good it would look.

The Peru strip of all white with the red diagonal stripe would look absolutely outstanding if we changed the red stripe to a bottle green.
    There's an Argentinian team that has that strip. Can't remember their name but there was an article in When Staurday Comes a few years back about them being Eva Peron's team. They wore blue shorts, which worked really well somehow.

For it to be a 150th anniversary strip then it would have to be the same as was worn 150 years ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Glory Lurker View Post
    There's an Argentinian team that has that strip. Can't remember their name but there was an article in When Staurday Comes a few years back about them being Eva Peron's team. They wore blue shorts, which worked really well somehow.
    That's River Plate.

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    I’m assuming this would be for the 2025/26 season rather than 2024/25?

Quote Originally Posted by Pagan Hibernia View Post
    I’m assuming this would be for the 2025/26 season rather than 2024/25?
    You would think so

How good would it be if we play all white for the 150th ,, then the 1876 strip the year after then 1877 they year after.... I know we probably didn't have new strips every year but you get the jist

White with green trim harp badge white shorts and socks with green trim

Hoops with a black HFC across the chest white shorts hooped socks

Green with white sleeves harp badge white shorts and green socks with white tops

We were first to wear the green and the hoops

If it wisnae for the Hibees you’d be Huns !

Quote Originally Posted by Alex Trager View Post
    I used to want the hoops but I agree. It has to be the original kit.

The hoops as a third kit would be interesting for a first season.

It’s important that ‘they’ know their history, the smelly Celtic *******s.

Will Joma still be the designers when we are 150?
    Looks like Joma deal runs up to end of 23/24 season. Adidas next please.

I just want a hoop kit to piss off celtc fans.

Quote Originally Posted by poulton hibs View Post
    That's River Plate.
    Just had a wee look up - it's Banfield

Quote Originally Posted by One Day Soon View Post

100% agree. That would look superb.

Sent from my moto g(30) using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Glory Lurker View Post

River Plate, one of the worlds greatest sides. They dont wear blue shorts though and Perons team was Racing Club, not Los Millionarios.

PS I realise you meant a green sash. Yes Banfield have had that kit in the past.
    Bianfield are green and their local rivals are Lanus who wear maroon. The only other local rivalry I can think of that's Hibs/hearts colour wise.
    Last edited by Renfrew_Hibby; 11-02-2023 at 06:05 PM.

Testimonial Due The Harp Awakes's Avatar
    All white with the original harp badge for the home.

Maybe run a poll with mock ups based on popular home and away kits down the years to decide the away and 3rd. Say one based on the 20s, 50s, 70s and 90/00s for a green option and a purple, black and yellow respectively for the 3rd.

If there was a simple green with white round collar, green sleeves (not shoulders) and green cuffs on the long sleeve similar to the early 0-7/6-2 strip and a green and purple stripe option then they would each have my vote.
    Yep, can't be anything else. The club would make a fortune from it.

What about a green and purple hooped Jersey for the away strip.

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    What about a green and purple hooped Jersey for the away strip.
    Nah, away strip should be as much like the purple bukta from 1977 as possible. Home strip should be like the original kit with the original harp badge and a third kit should be the hoops or the early 1970s classic strip with the green cuff on the sleeves. Would be weird the home strip not being green but for one year it needs to happen imo

whatever strip is chosen i think all players should grow moustaches as well seeing as most men seemed to sport one back then

baby-faced players and those that can't grow one should receive dispensation

I can see us doing what Rangers did. They had a fairly basic but very traditional home kit so for us think a Tornados or F.Five number.
    They also had their 'pioneers' kit which only got a couple of outings so that may well mean a white or a hooped kit but it wouldn't be our home kit in 25/26
    Last edited by Renfrew_Hibby; 11-02-2023 at 07:16 PM.