Page 20 of 42 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast
    I commented before in the VAR thread that although there are shortcomings with the VAR system, what it is doing more is exposing the sheer incompetence of our officials. The Ref at Tannadice, Colin Stephen, looked like an embarrassed wee schoolboy as he kept changing his own decisions. FFS, when Alan Muir is overruling you then you're in trouble. Celtc's 4th goal was even worse. The scorer was onside by at least a yard, clearly came from behind the defender but was flagged offside. VAR then apparently took several minutes to overrule the decision. Our officials are atrocious!

At the game and from what I saw on Sportscene the 'ex' Jambo bassa was a bit unlucky to get a straight red for his tackle on Nizzy ... just my opinion of course.

As for the stamp on Campbell, I had a perfect view from the front of the west upper, it was right in front of me and it looked deliberate, he was a lucky boy to get away with it, so that kind of makes up for the red they got if it was unlucky, coz they could easily have had one for that.

Not sure if Gordon should have been sent off, he did get the ball, but he could have been shown one for reckless conduct I suppose. As for the Hearts pen, an absolute joke and considering the flak Porto got I'm at a loss to see how the pundits give Shankland a pass for far worse. Talking of Porto, his reaction towards Holt was totally ridiculous in my eyes, he had already been sent off by the ref at that point so what the hell was the point of a reaction that if I had been the ref I would have booked him for.

If Porto does have one recurring fault it's his inability to keep his trap shut and even sometimes his hands to himself when it would be better just to walk away .... something we shouldn't forget if he does end up at one of the erse cheeks.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    To be fair, the Hibs player in the vicinity was Porto. We all know he’s prone to acting to influence refs. And if he was an opposition player I would have found his reaction annoying as ****. I love him when he’s doing the business for us but that’s the truth. I’d never use any players reaction to guide me as to what’s just taken place, far less Porto’s .
    Total overreaction from Porteous. Was only a yellow card for me.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Musselbound View Post
    Not really an over reaction. Nisbet is just back from serious injury and was absolutely clattered.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by Musselbound View Post
    Opinions. Have seen it a few times and heard the case for the defence from Michael Stewart but still agree with the ref & VAR - was a straight red. IMO Holt knew fine well Nisbet was coming in from the side and deliberately followed through with his foot/ studs, knowing he'd have a good chance of catching Nisbet on the way through. He didn't need to do that. Ref got it spot on and Holt got what he fully deserved.

Seen far too many sly tackles and thuggery from Hearts and e-Hearts players go unpunished over the years to the point of impunity. Yesterday was a catch-up moment. No wonder Holt looked so shocked

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    Not really an over reaction. Nisbet is just back from serious injury and was absolutely clattered.
    Not going to lie, I'd have reacted the exact same if it's my mate on the end of that. Don't blame Porteous at all on this one.

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    I agree totally, the Jambo ******* may or may not have meant it, but there was definitely a follow through

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    At the game and from what I saw on Sportscene the 'ex' Jambo bassa was a bit unlucky to get a straight red for his tackle on Nizzy ... just my opinion of course.

As for the stamp on Campbell, I had a perfect view from the front of the west upper, it was right in front of me and it looked deliberate, he was a lucky boy to get away with it, so that kind of makes up for the red they got if it was unlucky, coz they could easily have had one for that.

Not sure if Gordon should have been sent off, he did get the ball, but he could have been shown one for reckless conduct I suppose. As for the Hearts pen, an absolute joke and considering the flak Porto got I'm at a loss to see how the pundits give Shankland a pass for far worse. Talking of Porto, his reaction towards Holt was totally ridiculous in my eyes, he had already been sent off by the ref at that point so what the hell was the point of a reaction that if I had been the ref I would have booked him for.

If Porto does have one recurring fault it's his inability to keep his trap shut and even sometimes his hands to himself when it would be better just to walk away .... something we shouldn't forget if he does end up at one of the erse cheeks.

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Onion View Post
    Opinions. Have seen it a few times and heard the case for the defence from Michael Stewart but still agree with the ref & VAR - was a straight red. IMO Holt knew fine well Nisbet was coming in from the side and deliberately followed through with his foot/ studs, knowing he'd have a good chance of catching Nisbet on the way through. He didn't need to do that. Ref got it spot on and Holt got what he fully deserved.

Seen far too many sly tackles and thuggery from Hearts and e-Hearts players go unpunished over the years to the point of impunity. Yesterday was a catch-up moment. No wonder Holt looked so shocked
    If. He didn’t see Kevin why did he slide in to tackle nobody?

Bang on.

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    If Porteous put that tackle in that Holt did it would be on the back pages and all over twitter. Totally out of control.

First Team Breakthrough chasitup's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Argylehibby View Post
    If. He didn’t see Kevin why did he slide in to tackle nobody?
    He didn’t slide in to tackle nobody though. He was sliding in to maintain possession for his team. Nisbet wasn’t in his field of vision. Still think that’s a really harsh red. I’d be really annoyed if we’d had a player sent off for that.

Quote Originally Posted by 500miles View Post
    If Porteous put that tackle in that Holt did it would be on the back pages and all over twitter. Totally out of control.
    This 100%. When I first saw the challenge on the way home from the game - I thought it was harsh.

Since then, seeing his lifting of the leg at the end does show intent to hurt.

But agree, fully, if that was Porteous, it would be everywhere.

Quote Originally Posted by chasitup View Post
    He didn’t slide in to tackle nobody though. He was sliding in to maintain possession for his team. Nisbet wasn’t in his field of vision. Still think that’s a really harsh red. I’d be really annoyed if we’d had a player sent off for that.
    He didn't need to slide to retain possession unless he knew Nisbet was there.

And he couldn't do anything with the possession if he was off his feet.

And the result of his slide to retain possession was an interception by Newell.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Quote Originally Posted by chasitup View Post
    Just watched back on telly and agree, don't think that's a red at all and if it was a red for one of us we,d no be happy. The Craig Gordon incident, I just think is one of those things, done the same in my time as a centre forward, you're just going for the ball, I don't think there is a foul either way, it's just a collision. Ref just gave a free kick to Herts cos it was easy thing to do. pissed myself at the penalty. IMO was laughable as foreheed just fell doon.

Holt went high on the ball and out of control. If he didn't see Nisbet coming in he needs to worry about his peripheral vision.

I can honestly say I've never ever been a fan of Jason Holt, but a red card for that was wrong IMO. I know Porteous was just defending his teammate after the event by the way.

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    I can honestly say I've never ever been a fan of Jason Holt, but a red card for that was wrong IMO. I know Porteous was just defending his teammate after the event by the way.
    I know you don't mean it like that but obviously Porto's reaction is separate to the referee's decision. Boy could have chucked on a leotard and performed Swan Lake. Doesn't change the assessment of the foul.

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    Can't you see the deliberate upward movement of the foot to catch Nisbet?

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    No because it wasn’t there regardless of how you want it to be.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    It was totally deliberate, clear as day. Ref, thought so, VAR official thought so, Porteous thought so, I and many others think so.

https://youtu.be/rKyOaT7OETg?t=114

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    I'm seeing it? There's no way he can avoid the contact, but it looks to me like he deliberately moves to make it worse rather than to minimise it?

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    I think Holt is unlucky in that he clearly doesnt see Nisbet nor does he mean to hurt him (no idea how anyone saying he meant it).

But at the same time its a red card because he endangers the opponent and catches him at a dangerous height. Just unlucky but its still a red. Its not too different from Turnbull at Celtic in that respect, clearly neither player meant to catch players where they did but the fact is they are red cards by the rulebook.

@hibs.net private member Green Reaper's Avatar
    Holt sees Nisbet, otherwise why slide in? He also knew what he was doing in intentionally raising his foot to catch Nisbo, defo red for me.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    I think Holt is unlucky in that he clearly doesnt see Nisbet nor does he mean to hurt him (no idea how anyone saying he meant it).

But at the same time its a red card because he endangers the opponent and catches him at a dangerous height. Just unlucky but its still a red. Its not too different from Turnbull at Celtic in that respect, clearly neither player meant to catch players where they did but the fact is they are red cards by the rulebook.
    Who was he sliding in to tackle if he didn’t see Kevin Nisbet?

Knew exactly what he was doing for me - one of those “keep the boot in” tackles designed to injure and maim. A trademark of industrial football clubs such as Livingston.

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post

yes the upward movement of his foot and follow through at the end(dont know how some folk are not noticing that?) straight red all day long IMO

The way I saw it was Holt sees Kevin, slides in to win the ball, Nisbet if anything was the player who comes in late and gets himself caught by Holts studs, as they said he could've jumped over the challenge. Still a red as he catches Nisbet in the follow through.
    Last edited by J-C; 26-12-2022 at 05:48 AM.

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar

As for the stamp on Campbell, I had a perfect view from the front of the west upper, it was right in front of me and it looked deliberate, he was a lucky boy to get away with it, so that kind of makes up for the red they got if it was unlucky, coz they could easily have had one for that.ref I would have booked him for.
    Aye, I am West Upper and was looking straight at it.

Linesman was 3 feet away and said nothing - Montanos studmarks were about on Campbells upper thigh.

I think it was deliberate - I didnt really want Montano sent off, but I think it was worse than Holts one.

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Eyrie View Post
    He didn't need to slide to retain possession unless he knew Nisbet was there.

And he couldn't do anything with the possession if he was off his feet.

And the result of his slide to retain possession was an interception by Newell.
    Thanks, that’s the point I was trying to make. You don’t slide in for anything other than a tackle so he knew KN was there and tried to do him.

Quote Originally Posted by green day View Post
    Aye, I am West Upper and was looking straight at it.

Linesman was 3 feet away and said nothing - Montanos studmarks were about on Campbells upper thigh.

I think it was deliberate - I didnt really want Montano sent off, but I think it was worse than Holts one.
    I think the fact that they were already down to ten men may have had a bearing on the officials' reluctance to do anything. Similar to Motherwell in the cup last year when the referee only gave a yellow rather than red for an identical challenge to the one he'd already sent a player off for.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.