Page 355 of 474 FirstFirst ... 255305345353354355356357365405455 ... LastLast
Results 10,621 to 10,650 of 14217

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    I take it you've travelled on the number 30 through Niddrie, then.
    Almost every day for years as well as many other bus routes, why, am I missing something ?

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Almost every day for years as well as many other bus routes, why, am I missing something ?

Missing the bricks and large stones being chucked by wee ratbags at buses, taxis etc, a mate of mine got his windscreen smashed on his Merc taxi going through there, quite a few cabbies now refusing jobs going through the area.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Missing the bricks and large stones being chucked by wee ratbags at buses, taxis etc, a mate of mine got his windscreen smashed on his Merc taxi going through there, quite a few cabbies now refusing jobs going through the area.
    Yeah I know that happens on a near regular basis but I have never experienced it myself, thats in Niddrie, Liberton, Pilton, Clermiston or wherever

I actually feel safer and more comfortable on a plane than I do on an Edinburgh bus
    I haven't been on a bus since I was about 16 I reckon but I don't blame you

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    British people who use American English, especially the prevalence these days of “mom” instead of “mum”.

Quote Originally Posted by Just_Jimmy View Post
    I haven't been on a bus since I was about 16 I reckon but I don't blame you

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
    Its probably more the nick of the roads, diversions, constant traffic jams etc. Ive got a bad back, dodgy hips and knees so travelling around the city can be quite trying at times, it has probably worsened ten fold since the days of jumping on and off the back of a bus or giving the ‘Clippie’ a bit of lip 🤣

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    British people who use American English, especially the prevalence these days of “mom” instead of “mum”.
    I was in the supermarket the other day and two English sounding students were in the crisp aisle discussing what ‘chips’ they should get. They could probably argue I shouldn’t have been listening to them but even still, it annoyed me more than it should have.

Edinburgh people using weegie words like wains (sp) instead of bairns

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    Edinburgh people using weegie words like wains (sp) instead of bairns
    Or Ginger for juice

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Or Ginger for juice
    I don't think ginger is merely west coast. My grandparents used ginger to describe any kind of fizzy juice and they had zero connections to the west.

Funerals that go on a bit.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    I don't think ginger is merely west coast. My grandparents used ginger to describe any kind of fizzy juice and they had zero connections to the west.
    Surely ginger only applies to irn bru?
    Mon the Hibs.

Yeah I know that happens on a near regular basis but I have never experienced it myself, thats in Niddrie, Liberton, Pilton, Clermiston or wherever
    They don't target normal cars, taxis, ambulances, fire engines, buses etc.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    Surely ginger only applies to irn bru?
    Nah weegies use it for all fizzy juice, cola ect. Never heard it in the east used

They don't target normal cars, taxis, ambulances, fire engines, buses etc.
    Yeah but thats not my pet peeve 😀

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Nah weegies use it for all fizzy juice, cola ect. Never heard it in the east used
    Huh, well there you go!

Bizarre behaviour!
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    Huh, well there you go!

Bizarre behaviour!
    Indeed, I worked with Glaswegians and whenever someone was going to a snack van one of them would ask for a bottle of Ginger, ‘Ginger beer ?’ naw ****ing Ginger, a bottle of red cola 🤣

Yeah but thats not my pet peeve 😀

True but one of mine

Indeed, I worked with Glaswegians and whenever someone was going to a snack van one of them would ask for a bottle of Ginger, ‘Ginger beer ?’ naw ****ing Ginger, a bottle of red cola 🤣

Down south they all call it pop.

Seems American that.

Another one is what people in the uk call a roll. A bread roll, a bap, a barm are all quite wrong

See, I can kind of handle that, it was probably just the nasal whiny weegie accent of my colleagues that annoyed me when they asked for Ginger 🤬🤣

Seems American that.

Another one is what people in the uk call a roll. A bread roll, a bap, a barm are all quite wrong
    Or when Americans call sweets Candy 🤬

They also (generally) reverse the use of ‘tin’ and ‘can’ - east coast is usually a tin of soup and a can of juice, they say it the opposite way around

I’m currently looking for a new job and the amount of companies that take the piss with the expected working hours Is fast becoming a pet peeve of mine. What happened to the old 9-5 with an hours lunch break?

Just saw a job there where the working hours are Monday-Friday 8-5:30 plus a rotational Saturday morning…….

**** off.

(I appreciate people will work these hours and more, I just think it’s wrong companies expect these hours out of people)

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    I’m currently looking for a new job and the amount of companies that take the piss with the expected working hours Is fast becoming a pet peeve of mine. What happened to the old 9-5 with an hours lunch break?

Just saw a job there where the working hours are Monday-Friday 8-5:30 plus a rotational Saturday morning…….

**** off.

(I appreciate people will work these hours and more, I just think it’s wrong companies expect these hours out of people)
    There’s no going back unfortunately.

**** off.

I agree mate. A place I used to work had people who did 8-6 and a 1in4 Saturday morning

interestingly, on places like LinkedIn, there’s often posts saying it’s wrong on companies to expect 9-5 m-f, that people need more flexibility etc

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    I agree mate. A place I used to work had people who did 8-6 and a 1in4 Saturday morning

interestingly, on places like LinkedIn, there’s often posts saying it’s wrong on companies to expect 9-5 m-f, that people need more flexibility etc
    I’m all for flexibility within the working day so if business allows it an 8-4 or a 7-3 is as good as a 9-5. It’s the expectation that a working day of 9-5 is no longer enough for employers and the working day is now growing and growing. Where does this stop?

IMO an employer getting a 9-5 hour shift out of an employee is plenty.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    I’m all for flexibility within the working day so if business allows it an 8-4 or a 7-3 is as good as a 9-5. It’s the expectation that a working day of 9-5 is no longer enough for employers and the working day is now growing and growing. Where does this stop?

IMO an employer getting a 9-5 hour shift out of an employee is plenty.
    Obviously if the company needs extended hours because of customer support or whatever then that makes sense but just doing so to try and get more from their employees is a false economy.

It’s well known that people stretch their work to the time available so tacking and extra hour on their day does not make them any more productive and can actually be counter productive.

Hence why some employers have been trialling the 4 day week and coming up with surprising results. The same amount (and sometimes more!) of work is achieved in a shorter time. Won’t work for all companies of course but it’s the same principle at work.

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    Obviously if the company needs extended hours because of customer support or whatever then that makes sense but just doing so to try and get more from their employees is a false economy.

It’s well known that people stretch their work to the time available so tacking and extra hour on their day does not make them any more productive and can actually be counter productive.

Hence why some employers have been trialling the 4 day week and coming up with surprising results. The same amount (and sometimes more!) of work is achieved in a shorter time. Won’t work for all companies of course but it’s the same principle at work.
    I've had this conversation quote openly with my employer on several occasions.

I've always been someone who gets more done early in the day, I regularly choose to go into work earlier than my scheduled start time and will power through a whole load of work by lunch. In the afternoon my productivity falls off a cliff. If I worked 7.30-2.30 then I'm certain I would get as much, if not more, done than I do with my current hours despite it being a shorter working day.

On the more general point I think a lot of the additional hours employers are tacking on to their employees day is consumer driven. How many of us expect online or telephone customer support to be open until late evening and throughout weekends? Late night shopping used to be a Thursday night, now it's every night of the week in many retail parks and centres. Delivery drivers work until 9.30 for companies such as DPD because there is an expectation that goods will be delivered within 24 hours of ordering. I see that all the time in my work now, the cut off for next day deliveries used to be 3pm, we had to push that back firstly to 4 and now 4.30 to keep pace with our competitors; many customers have no loyalty, if they can order something an hour later for a comparable price and get it quicker then we lose them. That means sales admin support staff and the warehouse guys working later to allow us to compete. There's a well known Edinburgh estate agent that opens until midnight 5 days a week now. I'm sceptical that anyone really needs to ask an estate agent something at 11.55pm that can't wait until 8am. The whole on demand 24/7 culture was probably started by the companies but when one started it the consumer embraced it and to compete many others had to follow suit. It would be a brave supermarket that closed at 7pm these days.

Of course evening and weekend working and that flexibility works for some but a lot of the slack is picked up by existing staff already spread too thin and the motivation for doing it is fear that if they don't, someone else will.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Women that moan about the space their man takes up with his stuff in a suitcase. “You’re worse than a woman” is the retort both my current and ex wives have given me. No, actually I’m quite a bit bigger than you so my stuff takes up more room than yours, so even though I’m taking up half the case, I have less stuff in there overall.