Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Pat Stanton.

Sauzee for me. It hit different when he had to retire as a player, he just had an aura about him.

Such a difficult question but Andy Goram stood out for me as did Pat.

Don’t see anyone mention Broony. His attitude and self confidence were a total inspiration when I was wee and crap at football. Still crap at football now mind….. should choose more inspiring role models perhaps

Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    Alex Cropley. The best pound for pound tackler in the business.
    Absolutely no dispute about that. Ferocious and fearless.

Only one patrick gordon stanton
    Question should be after Mr hibs who was your favourite player as no one can touch Mr hibs should name a stand after him

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    The fav Tornado of both Messrs O'Rourke and Stanton. Mine too!

Gordon Smith because he was Gordon Smith and I was a kid.

Then Joe Baker. The first in my age group playing in the first team. When you're 15/16 guys of 25/26 are ancient.

Quote Originally Posted by zitelli62 View Post
    Only one patrick gordon stanton
    Question should be after Mr hibs who was your favourite player as no one can touch Mr hibs should name a stand after him
    Gordon Smith could most certainly touch him.
    Obviously you have to be of a certain age but there's doesn't seem to be any doubt that he was our greatest player. 5 league championship medals.
    Lawrie Reilly always reckoned that he was the best player he played with or against.
    Only Sir Tom Finney was on a par according to Reilly.
    That said I know the thread is a about your favourite player and for the record Pat Stanton is my favourite player.

McGinn, followed by Gray, Murphy, Boyle and Beuzelin.

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Gordon Smith because he was Gordon Smith and I was a kid.

Then Joe Baker. The first in my age group playing in the first team. When you're 15/16 guys of 25/26 are ancient.
    My ex father in law told me GS was the best football player he’s ever seen

David Gray - the only choice for me.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibees 7062 View Post
    My ex father in law told me GS was the best football player he’s ever seen
    I remember a debate on Sportsound many years ago where a panel of pundits were debating whether or not Brian Laudrop was the greatest player to have played in Scotland. General consensus was yes, but the late Bob Crampsey, who was on the panel dismissed this notion and said that in his opinion Gordon Smith was by far the greatest footballer he had seen play in Scotland.

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    Seen mair meat on a Butcher’s pencil

Heart of a lion

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Seen mair meat on a Butcher’s pencil

Heart of a lion
    Yep , and the brain to match

Quote Originally Posted by hibees 7062 View Post
    Yep , and the brain to match
    Remember his cross field passing ?

A joy to behold

@hibs.net private member Billy McKirdy's Avatar

Gamertag: N?A Wii Code: N?A
    So many to choose from but for that one moment at Hampden in 2016 that we all knew, finally, at long last, had just won us the holy grail, it can only be Sir David Gray.
    The only Hibs player with more tattoos of him on Hibs fans than any other.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Remember his cross field passing ?

A joy to behold
    Frightening Billy . Hibs class

Pat Stanton

@hibs.net private member H18S NX's Avatar
    Willie Hamilton,followed by Joe baker n Pat Stanton.

Joe Baker and,Shades.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy McKirdy View Post
    So many to choose from but for that one moment at Hampden in 2016 that we all knew, finally, at long last, had just won us the holy grail, it can only be Sir David Gray.
    The only Hibs player with more tattoos of him on Hibs fans than any other.
    Aye mine is starting to look like Auld Mother Reilly

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Yorkshire HFC View Post
    Ally McLeod

Quote Originally Posted by jeffers View Post
    Same for me.

Same here, he was no where near the best, certainly wasn't the fastest but watching him dance past defenders like the unlikely result of a romance between Rudolf Nurejew and a hippopotamus was a thing of beauty.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyDave View Post
    Wee shout for mickey Edwards
    Good shout.

So many of them, but early heroes would be Jim Scott & Neil Martin, then overall would have to be Pat Stanton

Mickey Weir or Wee Lewey… hard choice !

First Team Breakthrough bournehibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    So many of them, but early heroes would be Jim Scott & Neil Martin, then overall would have to be Pat Stanton

The late great Willie Hamilton for me,a genius with the ball at his feet and amazing vision. Surprised nobody has mentioned him.
    bh

@hibs.net private member H18S NX's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bournehibby View Post
    The late great Willie Hamilton for me,a genius with the ball at his feet and amazing vision. Surprised nobody has mentioned him.
    bh
    ....Post #139 m8

First Team Breakthrough Neil4Hibs's Avatar
    Peter Cormack was my childhood hero, devastated when he left. Closely followed by Pat Stanton.

I think childhood heroes remain favourites for life but SJM runs them close.

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Le God for me , Latapy a very close 2nd
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Quote Originally Posted by loanheadhibby View Post
    Gordon Smith could most certainly touch him.
    Obviously you have to be of a certain age but there's doesn't seem to be any doubt that he was our greatest player. 5 league championship medals.
    Lawrie Reilly always reckoned that he was the best player he played with or against.
    Only Sir Tom Finney was on a par according to Reilly.
    That said I know the thread is a about your favourite player and for the record Pat Stanton is my favourite player.
    I forgot who said it
    It may have been Matt Busby,or another great footballer/manager who played here and down South just after the war and into 50s
    The quote was something like
    " Had Gordon Smith been English/played in England,he would most likely have been knighted as Tom Finney and Stanley Matthews were for services to the game"
    He was on a par with those old greats of the game.
    There is no doubt he was Hibs(and arguably Scotland's(not including non Scots) finest player,post ww2 ....
    .Maybe ever in Hibs case.

The SFA of that era capped Gordon less than he should have been,in favour of rAngers winger Willie Waddell.
    Not much changes !
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-08-2022 at 01:08 PM.