Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Living in Corstorphine is a good way to cut down on drink.
    All the pubs are horrible. The Roseburn Bar is the nearest decent boozer.
    The Corrie used to be a decent boozer when I frequented it in my getting bladdered days, I assume it is ****** central now ?

Nowt wrong with my local Winstons.

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Pish but depends what you class as a decent boozer 👍
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

Don't ask how, but a bottle of Buckfast ended up in our house last night. Thought I'd see what all the fuss was about so I had a glass.

Honestly, just no. The worst stuff I have tasted in my life. That one glass has given me a headache that lasted hours. If you want to give up the drink, just have some of that it'll put you off for life.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Pete View Post
    Don't ask how, but a bottle of Buckfast ended up in our house last night. Thought I'd see what all the fuss was about so I had a glass.

Honestly, just no. The worst stuff I have tasted in my life. That one glass has given me a headache that lasted hours. If you want to give up the drink, just have some of that it'll put you off for life.
    Buckfast is like cough medicine, tried it once as a teen and never went near it since

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    Buckfast is like cough medicine, tried it once as a teen and never went near it since
    Cough medicine...that's the one
    According to a connoisseur, I was drinking it wrong. Apparently it has to be chilled for it to be pleasant 😄.

Quote Originally Posted by Pete View Post

Slander and lies. Beautiful stuff.

I had my last drink on January 4th 2020. Haven’t missed it one bit.

Quote Originally Posted by MKHIBEE View Post
    I had my last drink on January 4th 2020. Haven’t missed it one bit.
    That's good going. Any particular reason you decided to go tee-total?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    That's good going. Any particular reason you decided to go tee-total?
    I made an erse of myself once too often, upset good friends, so decided just to give it up completely.

It's hardly a secret but the impact on the waist line is as good a reason as any to moderate the bevvy.

For the best part of the last 3 weeks I've had a near constant excuse to drink. Last day of work before my wedding, night before my wedding, wedding day, day after my wedding, still off work so may as well have a pint, night before a city break, city break, got the blues because I'm home and back to work tomorrow, don't have the bairn at the football so can walk rather than driving etc etc.

The issue is threefold really. The increased calorie intake through drinking, the bad eating that can go hand in hand with that and the decreased motivation to get out and exercise. Combine the 3 and I've managed a weight gain of 8lbs/3kg in just under 3 weeks. I feel bloated, I look like **** and you can feel that tightness in clothes that used to fit perfectly.

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    Has non-alcoholic beer/lager come on a bit? My only experience of it was at an evening wedding reception about 10 years ago where I was the designated driver. I tried two different brands (can’t remember which) and they were both disgusting. I had normal soft drinks for the rest of the night and that’s what I generally drink on the odd occasion I’m not drinking alcohol on a night out.

As others have said, non or low alcohol beers are significantly better than they once were. I actually quite like Heineken 0.0.

The best alcohol free beer, though, is good old fashioned Crabbie's ginger beer IMHO because it actually provides what others lack - a wee bit of a kick thanks to the ginger element. Served super chilled it's a great summer drink.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    As others have said, non or low alcohol beers are significantly better than they once were. I actually quite like Heineken 0.0.

The best alcohol free beer, though, is good old fashioned Crabbie's ginger beer IMHO because it actually provides what others lack - a wee bit of a kick thanks to the ginger element. Served super chilled it's a great summer drink.
    I've actually gotten into non-alcoholic beers since I posted that a couple of years ago. I've got a stash of the Brewdog range in my garage and I'll happily drink a few of an evening, particularly the alcohol free version of Elvis Juice

The best alcohol free beer is full fat coke.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Correct.

Love a cold coke (out of a can or glass bottle, never a plastic bottle) every now and again but couldn't drink more than a couple compared to drinking beer on a night out. In saying that I'm in trouble these days if I drink more than a couple of beers!

It's alcohol free beer that's being discussed, a tremendously pointless invention IMHO.

@hibs.net private member AgentDaleCooper's Avatar
    It's alcohol free beer that's being discussed, a tremendously pointless invention IMHO.
    Only if the only reason you drink beer is to get pished. Iove beer but definitely shouldn't drink, been off the sauce for nearly 9 years. I always missed a nice beer, and these new ones are a revelation for me. Some of them are superb.

Really isn't. More and more people are choosing either not to drink or limit it. If these drinks help brilliant. I think a lot of youngsters particularly are looking at the madness of drinking.

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    Really isn't. More and more people are choosing either not to drink or limit it. If these drinks help brilliant. I think a lot of youngsters particularly are looking at the madness of drinking.
    I would rather drink juice than alcohol free beer, surely must taste better.

I'm sure it wouldn't sell if people didn't like it. I had a Heineken zero on the plane when I was driving when I got off. It was better than some alcoholic lagers I've had, surprisingly good

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    Yep, the brewers tapped into that and invested heavily in crafting low and no alcohol beers that are actually pleasant to drink. They'd have been mad not to.

They're also good for less youthful drinkers like myself who enjoy a beer ahead of a juice when looking for something non alcoholic.

Inpossibrew beer us pretty good. They are the company who went on Dragons Den recently.

It's alcohol free but has nootropics in it so it gives you a weird sort of buzz. I thought it would be a gimmick but I did genuinely feel quite chilled after drinking 1 or 2 of them.

I'd have ordered more but they are quite expensive.

Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    Inpossibrew beer us pretty good. They are the company who went on Dragons Den recently.

It's alcohol free but has nootropics in it so it gives you a weird sort of buzz. I thought it would be a gimmick but I did genuinely feel quite chilled after drinking 1 or 2 of them.

I'd have ordered more but they are quite expensive.
    Chilled or tipsy, asking for a friend ?

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Chilled or tipsy, asking for a friend ?
    It was more a relaxed sort of effect, didn't feel drunk at all but I definitely could feel a change in my mood after drinking them. If it wasn't something mad like 60 quid for a case I'd get more.

Not giving up the Don Revie, but cutting down a bit. Have swapped out lager for Radlers (Amstel is my personal favourite but Brewdog do a good one) whilst have a few at the weekend in front of the telly. Was a god send in the hot weather recently as well

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    I’d never been into the alcohol free beers (I’d assumed they were all pish) but had a couple after a game of golf a few years ago and was surprised how good they were.

That’s the ideal scenario for them, really - got the car but really feel like you want a beer.

I don’t have it often but will happily do so from time to time.

When the hangovers bite that bit harder as you get older they make more sense too.

I like the Erdinger Alcohol free beer, often have it if meeting for lunch before I start work.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    I like the Erdinger Alcohol free beer, often have it if meeting for lunch before I start work.
    Add a dab of grapefruit juice to it. You can thank me later.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Yes Erdinger Alcohol free is nice. So is the Brewdog one.

I’m also cutting back on the drink, and we’ve got a new soda stream machine. Bottle up plenty of sparkling water from tap water and drinking cordial with it. Nice elderflower or ginger beer with ice. Reduces plastic waste and £ as well because you’re not buying sparkling water all the time.