Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    It’s a really difficult one. When we moved through to Edinburgh in the late 70’s, my favourite player was Jackie McNamara, as he was magic

I’ll probably have one for each era though

There has been better players over the years but its Alex Cropley for me. Michael o'Neill ran him a close second.

Pat Stanton for me, with super John McGinn running him close.

One of the few advantages of being an auld yin is you have so many favourites over the years to choose from, in my case from Gordon Smith to Martin Boyle.
    My favourite among many contenders is Mr Hibs - Pat Stanton.

Pat Stanton for me - an extremely gifted footballer, Mr Hibs through-and-through and the perfect ambassador for our club.

Pat Stanton, closely followed by Erich Schaedler.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    John Collins, closely followed by SJM & SDG.

Wee shout for mickey Edwards

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyDave View Post
    Wee shout for mickey Edwards
    What would we give for a modern day version , exactly what we need.

@hibs.net private member thebakerboy's Avatar
    My Avater says it all grew up idolising The Baker boy

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    It’s a really difficult one. When we moved through to Edinburgh in the late 70’s, my favourite player was Jackie McNamara, as he was magic

I’ll probably have one for each era though
    When I first watched Hibs Jackie McNamara was my favourite player. I agree that there tends to be one for each era and currently it is Lewis Stevenson by a country mile for me. I suppose what constitutes favourite is different for each of us but I would tend to choose players who always gave 100%, never bottle a challenge and are annoyed when they make a mistake and work to rectify it. They would also need to have been at the club for a while and show some loyalty. SJM would come a close second in this era

Franck Sauzee

When we went down he inspired And gave teammates and club a massive lift some of the football was brilliant when we came back up
    Close call between him and Latapy

Pat Stanton, the pro’s pro.

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by eastmainsmsh View Post
    Franck Sauzee

When we went down he inspired And gave teammates and club a massive lift some of the football was brilliant when we came back up
    Close call between him and Latapy
    legend. Icon. Never lost a derby, but lost teeth in the act of winning them. The stuff dreams are made of.

Got to be Lewis Stevenson really. Only player that's still at the club since I first became a supporter.

John McGinn. Fantactic player and loved his attitude. Maybe controversial but Scott Brown in his last season for us was just majestic.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Lewis Stevenson with John McGinn a close second.

Sauzee followed by Ally McLeod

John McGinn quite easily and I see 40 plus games a season from the 68/69 season. The reason not Pat Stanton was I always felt that the team then on the majority of times going to play Celtic at Parkhead or Hampden got hammered too many times and when we went behind in these games the captain should be uplifting the rest of the team. Pat just was'nt a shouter at the rest of the players.

Jimmy O'Rourke, all action goal scoring inside forward/midfielder.

Quote Originally Posted by hibees 7062 View Post
    As it says . Who was your favourite all time Hibs player ?
    The man in your avatar for me. The fact that Jimmy O and King Pat would vote the same way sums up just how great The Baker Boy was!

Quote Originally Posted by Wull View Post
    Pat Stanton, the pro’s pro.

Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post
    Lewis Stevenson with John McGinn a close second.
    Same for me!

Quote Originally Posted by jeffers View Post
    Same for me.
    ... and me. Giving our age away I suspect.

@hibs.net private member MartinfaePorty's Avatar
    I have 2 or 3 that I flit between, but today I'll say John Collins. What a midfielder.

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

First Team Breakthrough Jim_in_Canada's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CockneyRebel View Post
    Agreed !

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Sir David aside...

Keith.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Mickey Weir and Keith Wright in my younger days.

Darren McGregor for modern times. Exactly what I want from a Hibs player.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Nijinsky.

Others in different eras, but the first hero.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Derek Riordan or Merouane Zemmama for me. But if Boyle can be as good in the next few years as he was in the 2/3 years before he went to Saudi that might become my new answer.