Since Ross has arrived

United 0 - 2 Sunderland
    United 1 - 2 Fleetwood
    United 1-1 Kilmarnock
    United 1-0 Alkmar
    United 0-1 Livingston
    United 0-7 Alkmar

Hearts up next.

Early days and even though two were friendlies if they lose to hearts at the weekend a lot of United fans will be getting worried.
    Dundee United were getting torn apart down the left side of their defence tonight constantly. Ross failed to fix it despite his half time subs.

Reminded me of our performances under Ross where the team completely failed to turn up. He didn't have a clue in those games how fix it either.

Overall he did well with Hibs, but when it went wrong, it went badly wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by JimboHibs View Post
    Not just last season,pretty much every season.The league is brutal,as the last 25 years have shown its near impossible for any club in Scotland to grow.We wouldn't have beat AZ over 2 legs.
    Correctamundo. The standard outside the bigot bros has been going down each year. Nothing will change until the leagues are run for all the teams not just two. It happens every season yet nothing changes. No joy at utd score but not surprised in the slightest.

Quote Originally Posted by Trinity Hibee View Post
    Oh we definitely did
    Only hibs game I’ve ever attended, and probably ever will, where I ended up clapping the other team’s performance.

Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    Can't recall us getting the runaround from Malmo like Utd are getting here.
    Malmö we’re an excellent side with some top players about to move onto bigger clubs. I was there and had my head in my hands not believing what I was seeing. We were completely dismantled.

Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    Can't recall us getting the runaround from Malmo like Utd are getting here.
    Wow! There's revisionism for you...

Funny he’s not getting the results and performances just like he did when Martin Boyle carried hibs to 3rd place

The last 2 weeks for United are very Jack Ross.

Capable of something pretty special but will always throw in a few absolute no show performances that get the result they deserve.

And that tonight is exactly the kind of humiliating pish we’d still be experiencing when it really mattered had we kept Jack Ross.

When push comes to shove and the big moments come round, he’ll bottle it the vast majority of times. And he’ll usually bottle it badly.

Quote Originally Posted by Stubbsy90+2 View Post
    And that tonight is exactly the kind of humiliating pish we’d still be experiencing when it really mattered had we kept Jack Ross.

When push comes to shove and the big moments come round, he’ll bottle it the vast majority of times. And he’ll usually bottle it badly.
    To be fair, AZ would be capable of that result against most SPL teams, including us on a bad night. I hope PSV do the same to Rangers

@hibs.net private member Coco Bryce's Avatar
    At least that's the JR love-in put to bed. Without doubt the most overrated manager in Scottish Football.
    Talks a good game though.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    To be fair, AZ would be capable of that result against most SPL teams, including us on a bad night. I hope PSV do the same to Rangers
    Celtic and Rangers would breeze by them imo so with that in mind, getting beat 7-0 is an abomination that is really just reminiscent of some of JRs games as Hibs manager.

People were desperate to put the boot in to Hibs last week for sacking Jack Ross including some of our own supporters because they fluked a win in a game they deserved nothing from. Over the piece though, in the most important match of Uniteds season they haven’t just fell short, they’ve been absolutely miles off it just as we often were under JR when it really mattered.

Quote Originally Posted by Brightside View Post
    He’s gone. The constant digs at him and the reluctance to accept he was good for us remains an odd attitude.
    Alternatively, he’s gone and the constant digs at Hibs like we seen last season and even last Thursday based around Jack Ross and the reluctance to accept he regularly failed us when it really mattered remains an odd attitude. Especially when that attitude extends to people desperately wanting him to do well at his next club which makes Hibs doing well less probable.
    Last edited by Paulie Walnuts; 12-08-2022 at 07:53 AM.

For United, read any of the teams that scraped into the top 6 last season. All were were all as bad as each other and that would have included Hibs had we not managed to escape to the safety of the bottom 6

I feel for United. We've been there, and it isn't a nice place. It takes a while to recover from a pumping like that.
    Yeah Jams still trying to do it.
    🤗💚

Quote Originally Posted by Onion View Post
    For United, read any of the teams that scraped into the top 6 last season. All were were all as bad as each other and that would have included Hibs had we not managed to escape to the safety of the bottom 6
    Bad result - I seem to be one of the few who still supports all Scottish teams in Europe.

Just like I was supporting all the Scottish athletes in the CW Games, all the Scottish golfers in the majors, all the British players at Wimbledon etc. I thought that's what everyone did.

Quote Originally Posted by Yorkshire HFC View Post
    Bad result - I seem to be one of the few who still supports all Scottish teams in Europe.

Just like I was supporting all the Scottish athletes in the CW Games, all the Scottish golfers in the majors, all the British players at Wimbledon etc. I thought that's what everyone did.
    Athletes at the CW were all competing for Scotland and golfers/tennis players only represent their countries during Davis/Billie Jean King Cup, Ryder/Solheim Cup etc or Olympics. Bizarre comparison.

Quote Originally Posted by Onion View Post
    I believe every Scottish team except Celtic and Rangers would have been on the end of similar scoreline last night.

It was a very depressing night for Scottish football, coupled with Motherwell's even bigger embarrassment a couple of weeks ago at the hands of the mighty Sligo Rovers.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    I believe every Scottish team except Celtic and Rangers would have been on the end of similar scoreline last night.

It was a very depressing night for Scottish football, coupled with Motherwell's even bigger embarrassment a couple of weeks ago at the hands of the mighty Sligo Rovers.
    Agreed. I'm not convinced of the merits of Scottish clubbs outwith the big two qualifying for Europe. As you say, if it hadn't been United it would have been any other Scottish club (bar Rangers and Celtic) getting humiliated.
    Last edited by He's here!; 12-08-2022 at 07:36 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    Agreed. I'm not convinced of the merits of Scottish clubbs outwith the big two qualifying for Europe. As you say, if it hadn't been United it would have been any other Scottish club (bar Rangers and Celtic) getting humiliated.
    We’ve had some good and some bad European nights in recent years …i great trips too

I was thinking there’s a logical line of progression from Beatons performance as ref in the derby and Dundee Utds scoreline. When after decades we are STILL not penalizing foul play, time wasting, cheating, blatant obstruction and rewarding it, it’s not a surprise when other countries manage to flourish while we stagnate. I’ve said this before but if you watch a bit of ligue 1 or MLS or something and then go back to our league it’s like a different rule book. It starts with the officiating.

I'm sure about that. Celtic and Sevco would beat AZ over 2 legs I think, and they aren't winning games by 7 goal margins domestically.

I'm not saying any other non OF team would have got through the tie, but I think it would be a stretch to say ourselves, Hearts, Aberdeen etc would have lost by the same margin.

The fact Dundee United won the first leg surely demonstrates this was mostly just a shocking display by them?

I think what this and the Motherwell result highlight is the ridiculousness of the oft repeated line that the OF doing well in Europe is good for Scottish football.

Clearly that isn't true as the rest of the league is still a very poor quality. The rest of us don't magically get better by Sevco reaching a final.

Only people that should be depressed are Utd fans

Possibly, but how bad were Dundee United? That wasn’t just a good team beating a poor side, it was laughably bad defending for a quite a few goals, we’re not talking about a team ripping through them, maybe later when the game was done but we know every team plays with a swagger when 3-4 up. The wheels came off and nobody knew how to stop it happening. Even after ht they couldn’t regroup and see out a minute of the second half.

But Dundee Utd don't get beat 7-0 by Rangers or Celtic.

And Rangers or Celtic should be on a par, at least, with AZ.

Both would also likely heavily defeat Sligo.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    I was thinking there’s a logical line of progression from Beatons performance as ref in the derby and Dundee Utds scoreline. When after decades we are STILL not penalizing foul play, time wasting, cheating, blatant obstruction and rewarding it, it’s not a surprise when other countries manage to flourish while we stagnate. I’ve said this before but if you watch a bit of ligue 1 or MLS or something and then go back to our league it’s like a different rule book. It starts with the officiating.
    I've said similar for a long time. The refereeing is at least part of the problem in Scottish football. It hinders us in Europe but it also stops it being as desirable a product as it could so less money comes into the game which also hinders us against other nations' teams. Referees almost appear to be on the park to guarantee the product is poorer and to make sure the two main sides and to a lesser extent Hearts get all the breaks

Get it up United, IMHO.

I know some very decent Utd fans who love their team, good football banter, and I feel their hurt as someone who stayed to the end of the Malmo drubbing and wished I hadn't. We were taken apart that night, and it trumps anything for me (yes, even the 5-1, by a country mile) as my worst ever experience watching Hibs. So while I don't feel sorry for Utd at all, I get it.

But what is bugging me about this is the same thing that bugged me on Sunday - obviously seeing things through a Hibs persepctive. If that was us last night, there would be so much chat in the media about the manager being under pressure, about how we hadn't turned up etc etc. We'd be getting pulled apart and having the loss examined and discussed and how, even though he was just in the door, how long would the manager last. Similarly on Sunday, if we had dominated a derby(as it seems to be in the minds of Jambos or the minds of the commentators at least...), only to have it 'snatched away from us' with the last kick of the ball, we'd be getting told how we had bottled it, got it tactically wrong, how this showed a weakness in the Hibs team. Instead, almost all we got was the Jambo narrative of how they wiz robbed, how they dominated, how lucky we were, how much gulf there still was between the 2 sides.

I can't help but think that, had we been on the receiving end of that last minute derby equaliser or a drubbing in Alkmaar, the chat in the media would have been very different. Maybe I am just paranoid!!

Dundee Utd, or any other team in the SPL, that perform well in Europe will gain a distinct financial advantage over Hibs at domestic level. On that basis, I’m happy to watch them all fail.

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    We’ve had some good and some bad European nights in recent years …i great trips too
    We had a reasonable run under Lennon but we were still a long way from making meaningful progress.

When you think of the calibre of clubs Hibs once competed with in Europe, these days (as you say) it's more about getting a decent wee trip out of the draw.

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    We had a reasonable run under Lennon but we were still a long way from making meaningful progress.

When you think of the calibre of clubs Hibs once competed with in Europe, these days (as you say) it's more about getting a decent wee trip out of the draw.
    Ah. Those were the days ….pre bosman and money in football …those days are gone unfortunately for ever …

We can still get a result or two - so certainly would never want to stop having access to European football …