Has McGinn played that many games this season? Stats seems to suggest 36 for Villa in all competitions. Not a paltry number but not really comparable to what would be expected of him if he gets a move to the likes of Spurs or Man Utd as is often touted.
I think this season has dragged on far too long and next year is only going to be worse with the early start and break for the World Cup but top players need to be able to hit 60 or 70 games a season in a hectic year. If McGinn can't do that then he has hit his ceiling.
-
11-06-2022 06:59 PM #601
-
11-06-2022 07:03 PM #602This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteLess talk, more gifs.
-
11-06-2022 07:06 PM #603This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
unfortunately those at the top will think just getting to the stage of playing Ukraine with a chance to play Wales in the final will be enough success for our game, for whatever reason we just haven't got that little bit extra that's needed, those with more knowledge of the game than i will know what's needed further down the chain(youths etc)but i doubt very much those at the top are progressive enough, would a cash injection from the government work wonders or just be wasted by our football authorities.
-
11-06-2022 07:07 PM #604This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
and miss out on a wee holiday jaunt...nah :)
the players will be 'eager' to make up for todays embarrassment
-
11-06-2022 07:13 PM #605This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-06-2022 07:23 PM #606This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The Mcginn of the last few games has been much more akin to the Mcginn at Villa. Sometimes brilliant, sometimes poor
-
11-06-2022 07:26 PM #607This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-06-2022 07:36 PM #608
I've stayed away from the 'getting rid of Clarke' wagon up until now, but that result has changed it for me. That's an embarrassment, complete and utterly. No excuses against a team as bad as that.
-
11-06-2022 07:48 PM #609This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
They scored more goals today in 50 mins than their last 12 Nations League games combined.
-
11-06-2022 07:50 PM #610
-
-
-
11-06-2022 08:07 PM #613
-
11-06-2022 08:37 PM #614
Wales drawing with Belgium whilst we consider ourselves better than them, getting pumped 3-0 by Ireland. Deluded fan base. We are *****. Battered everywhere we go.
-
11-06-2022 08:41 PM #615This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-06-2022 08:48 PM #616
FT Wales 1 Belgium 1
Wales have only lost once in seven games against Belgium over the last nine years
-
11-06-2022 08:48 PM #617
-
11-06-2022 08:55 PM #618
Scraped in the back door to the euros.
One decent performance at Wembley seems to be buying him more time.
Good squad on paper but now coming across too loyal and too stubborn.
Would get rid.
-
11-06-2022 09:26 PM #619
Rather than get rid, I’d rather Clarke just did things a wee bit differently.
I suspect that we’ll maybe see a bit of a refresh come September. He’s been caught out the same way a few times now and I think he’s too canny a manager to keep making the same mistakes.
We’ve not had a good past few games and we didn’t have a good Euros last summer. Other than that there has been a vast improvement over the past couple of years and we’d be nuts to chuck all that away imo.
He needs to learn how to play without the fragile Tierney. And he needs to figure out how to keep performance levels up beyond the end of the domestic season when the players look like they are dead on their feet or on holiday mode already. He’s got s good bit of work to do in creating and taking chances against non-diabolical opposition and I think he has a few big decisions to make regarding who he leaves out the centre of defence and midfield to get a unit that is better than the sum of it’s parts.
-
11-06-2022 09:44 PM #620
I can’t for any reason understand why Clarke doesn’t change it when Tierney isn’t available. Even Stevie Wonder can see you can’t play the same system/setup with McKenna in the LCB position that Tierney would take up.
-
11-06-2022 09:49 PM #621This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
because Clarke is Clueless………he needs to go now
-
11-06-2022 09:50 PM #622
-
-
-
11-06-2022 10:23 PM #625This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
11-06-2022 10:51 PM #626
I've said it before on this thread, but the SFA is the problem. The way our game is organised is wrong. Bairns shouldn't be near an 11-a-side, size 5 game until they are about 15.
Perhaps, more worryingly, we need to just accept that Scotland isn't a fitba country anymore. We all mind parks choked with kids kicking a ball. It's no like that now. It's not the fault of PlayStations or xboxes,it's just that bairns don't like it like we did.
Edit: Realise that the two paragraphs conflict, but maybe the answer's in between. And it's still that we're finished.Last edited by Glory Lurker; 11-06-2022 at 11:51 PM.
-
12-06-2022 12:05 AM #627This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The way the youth games are ran here are mental as well. Some really bizarre rules, some good concepts but a big issue is is the coaches. A lot of coaches here still like the old fashioned hoof up the pitch, and the amount of times a team were playing will have a player try ticks etc and get it wrong and you still hear the old "stop being fancy, keep it simple" shouts at like 8 year old.
That's the age we should encourage creativity, let them figure out what type of player they want to be and let them flourish. There's some great team's and coaches, but there's also some very old fashioned coaching that might win games at youth level, but it doesn't develop the kids.
We need better coaching programmes for the volunteers at your level in order to improve grassroots football, and when that improves the standard of player will drastically improve.
-
12-06-2022 12:10 AM #628
I know of a young lad (under 10) who recently gave up football in favour of rugby having left the pitch in tears due to the vile abuse he revived from adult spectators for giving away a clumsy, but in no way malicious penalty. I completely understand his / his parents decision to do so and we will never know how good a player he might have went on to become.
Imagine acting that way towards a kid anywhere else in society except for a football game.Last edited by Paul1642; 12-06-2022 at 12:25 AM.
-
12-06-2022 12:27 AM #629
One of the main problems Scotland have is that we haven’t produced a proper star player for an extremely long time. So many otherwise average nations have been carried for a generation by one great attacking player ( Lewandowski, Bale, Ronaldo, Modric, Ibrahimovic and Salah to name a few). We can’t even produce a decent premiership lever striker let alone a word beater. Add just one of the above into our team and it would be a complete game changer. Unfortunately there is no sign of this changing and just like the others before him, Clarke’s replacement when the time comes, will have the same sub standard pool to chose from.
-
12-06-2022 12:38 AM #630This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote