Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Just_Jimmy View Post
    Not really, I went to games with a group of mates from early age and it was always shy and bye kick in the school playground.

It'll have come from somewhere in my circle obviously, but that's almost try of every expression a person uses.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
    I'm not much older than you and had honestly never heard the term until an old lecturer used it at college. My neighbour uses the term but again he's older generation.

It’s a shy

Other one is nutmeg. Where did that originate and is it nuts or Meg. Meg for me

Quote Originally Posted by Skol View Post
    It’s a shy

Cockneys claim it in their rhyming slang. They would !

The term has other names and used in other sports.

I like sportswriter Brian Glanville's explanation/origin of a nutmeg in football.
    I think Brian quotes another sportswriter who said..

"nuts refer to the testicles of the player through whose legs the ball has been passed and nutmeg is just a development from this"

Scottish commentators could say
    "Lovely skill, straight through his mons megs there !
    Or John Greigs!

Skol,do you also say pen?
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 26-05-2022 at 08:17 AM.

@hibs.net private member G15 Hibs's Avatar
    I'm in my mid-40s which must be the dividing line as shy and throw-in were interchangeable when I was at school.

Always been a shy as far back as I can remember. Why do you never get a "foul shy" though? Always a foul throw 😟

@hibs.net private member G15 Hibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by OldEast View Post
    Always been a shy as far back as I can remember. Why do you never get a "foul shy" though? Always a foul throw 😟
    Seldom see these given any longer, whatever you call them. Don't know if there's been a rule change or something.

Quote Originally Posted by Hamish View Post
    Always been a shy to me. It's also throws in and kicks off.....
    Panda eats, shoots and leaves (again). You are grammatically correct the way you have written it above but both kick-off and throw-in are hyphenated in the Laws of the Game. So I'd argue it is correct to say kick-offs and throw-ins. But I'll stick to shy.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Bye line and bye kick comes originally from Aberdeen, when the ball went out of play behind the goals the fans would be sent to retrieve the ball with calls of "come bye"

Think about it 😉
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
    Throw in. Unless you're 70 or over.
    Op is under 70 though.

Quote Originally Posted by linlithgowhibbie View Post
    I was at a Sygenta amateurs match with my daughter and son in law, both 30ish years old. Ball went out of play and I commented that it was our shy. I got looks of bemusement and was asked "What's a shy?"
    Am I wrong or is it just old fashioned to call it that?
    Hearts fans who know nothing about football. There's a surprise.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Bye line and bye kick comes originally from Aberdeen, when the ball went out of play behind the goals the fans would be sent to retrieve the ball with calls of "come bye"

Think about it 😉
    You penned that well

Another one heard at football matches is "skin him" usually old gents in West Stand when Boyler is on the ball running at the defence. Always wondered the origin of that

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    The other one I don’t like is footballers calling it a Pen
    My pet hate is presser rather than press conference. Don’t know what people do with the milli-second they save in typing it.

If you didn't have bye kicks you couldn't play 10 byes?

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    You penned that well

I almost got into a Fankle
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

https://youtu.be/rkpG4XApJ28
    All this talk about shys

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    All this talk about shys

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
    Used to hear it often while watching games at Gladbach and the ball wasn't even out of play.

Gamertag: Starryplough75
    did they call it a shy down south aswell? it sounds very scottish

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Im from Lancs now living in Chesterfield thats a new one on me. Never heard of that before. Im 58.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    I still call it a shy. Mark Milligans last game he unleashed a hidden talent and shied it about 30 - 40 yards.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by StarryPloughHSC View Post
    did they call it a shy down south aswell? it sounds very scottish
    SHY

I had a wee search when the topic came on here.
    It does appear to be more a Scottish term for throw in,in years gone by.
    Am 70 now, seems everyone called it a shy when i wiz wee !.
    Same with bye kick and bye line terms.

In recent seasons, it appears Hibs players have been shy to take quick throw-ins
    zzzzzzzzs

PS
    Terms that scunner me
    Onion basket and back stick.

Oh, and so and so is "playing in the hole"
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 26-05-2022 at 04:48 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    SHY

In recent seasons, it appears Hibs players have been shy to take quick throw-ins
    zzzzzzzzs

PS
    Terms that scunner me

He playing as a false 9 is one that gets me as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    SHY

zzzzzzzzs

PS
    Terms that scunner me

haha aye a thought it sounded a soley scottish term. Aye its no just throw ins weve been shy in the silverwear department also lol HGSP GGTTH

@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post
    Hearts fans who know nothing about football. There's a surprise.
    True

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Skol View Post
    It’s a shy

I read that 'nutmeg' is a really old expression, possibly around the time association football started.

At the time, 1870s or thereabouts, nutmeg was a very expensive import from the US to the UK, highly prized and therefore highly priced. Some exporters would mix wooden balls the same size as the nutmeg seeds into the big sacks they were selling in order to make more profit. So, 'being numegged' became a term for being sold a dummy and being embarassed - just as knocking the ball through a defender's legs would be.

I always thought shies were named for the coconut shy at traditional fairgrounds as another poster (heretoday?) said. That would help explain why ir was a more familar term to older fans. Shy is also a noun meaning the general act of flinging but that's bordering on archaic now, in use in the late eightennth century but almost certainly past its peak by the time the throw in was brught into football - I don't recall ever seeing it used in Victorian-era prose or poetry.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

The answer to the OPs question is, it's neither

It's a penalty to The Rangers.

Wether it be a Shy or a throw-in , one things for sure ,
    We cannae take them !

You penned that well
    Do ewe really think so?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    The answer to the OPs question is, it's neither

It's a penalty to The Rangers.
    correct

One small reason why I always speak up for Michael Stewart when folk are slagging him off is that he calls it a shy