https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotla...itics-60767736

Thats not Blackford lying again is it ?

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by greenginger View Post
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotla...itics-60767736

Thats not Blackford lying again is it ?
    Home Office minister Kevin Foster tweeted: "It would be wrong to move children without attempting to reunite them with their family first and without the agreement of their home and host governments."

This appears to be his response to Blackford's remarks about orphans. And this demonstrates that Blackford's lying?

Left by mutual consent! majorhibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Home Office minister Kevin Foster tweeted: "It would be wrong to move children without attempting to reunite them with their family first and without the agreement of their home and host governments."

This appears to be his response to Blackford's remarks about orphans. And this demonstrates that Blackford's lying?
    Nah mate. Nowadays anything’s fair game! Orphans living in Orphanages? Move along now, greenginge & torys don’t see a story or headline here. Sortae sums them up imo.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5
    **** me, this thread is badly in need of an interpreter at this stage.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar

Let's reunite orphans with their parents seems to the UK government plans all along.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar

Read the article. There has been no agreement with Ukraine or Polish governments to move the children. ( not surprising considering well over 1 million people have crossed the Polish border )
    The Home Office will facilitate travel if consent is given.

In other words the children can’t be moved without Polish and Ukraine permission.

Blackford states “” a week on and the Home Office is the ONLY obstacle in the way “

That sounds like a lie to me, either that or Blackford hasn’t got a clue what he’s talking about.

Good morning!

This tells me two things. One, that your world is neatly divided into black and white, where issues are either one thing or another, with no room for nuance. And two, that you believe the UK Gov explanation and don't believe the SNP explanation. We're all acting on what is reported, it's just that we differ in who we believe.

Read the article. There has been no agreement with Ukraine or Polish governments to move the children. ( not surprising considering well over 1 million people have crossed the Polish border )

In other words the children can’t be moved without Polish and Ukraine permission.

Blackford states “” a week on and the Home Office is the ONLY obstacle in the way “

He has said today that he has all of the relevant approvals except for the UK government. They have missed the plane on Friday but if the UK gov don't get the finger out they will also miss Monday's flight

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    Good morning!

This tells me two things. One, that your world is neatly divided into black and white, where issues are either one thing or another, with no room for nuance. And two, that you believe the UK Gov explanation and don't believe the SNP explanation. We're all acting on what is reported, it's just that we differ in who we believe.
    Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    He has said today that he has all of the relevant approvals except for the UK government. They have missed the plane on Friday but if the UK gov don't get the finger out they will also miss Monday's flight
    https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?...=1#post6893855

They won’t make the plane, we have missed the deadline for Home Office approval and it has had to be postponed.

Quote Originally Posted by Mcbizz1998 View Post
    The report found:

The Scottish government does not have an analysis of the total amounts paid out to different sectors.
    For sector specific funding administered by national organisations, such as Scottish Enterprise, about 20% of payments cannot currently be matched to council areas.
    And information to enable wider analysis of how funding supported specific groups, such as female-owned businesses, is not available from centrally held data.

Not sure how any of that justifies the Labour "mired in secrecy" complaint as reported by BBC. "Lack of granularity" would be more accurate shirley.

Given the huge praise Stevie C has given Ian Blackford on the main page think you might be due him an apology.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Given the huge praise Stevie C has given Ian Blackford on the main page think you might be due him an apology.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    No doubt Blackford put a lot of effort into the situation, but he still turned it into a political bashing issue.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotla...itics-60787601

Read the article.

” Patel says,

I am extremely grateful to the authorities in Ukraine, who have NOW confirmed to me that the children can come here “

Nothing could happen without Ukraine approval, and considering they have millions of cases it wasn’t going to happen overnight.

But just blame the U k Gov. if it makes you feel good.

No doubt Blackford put a lot of effort into the situation, but he still turned it into a political bashing issue.

Read the article.

” Patel says,

I am extremely grateful to the authorities in Ukraine, who have NOW confirmed to me that the children can come here “

Nothing could happen without Ukraine approval, and considering they have millions of cases it wasn’t going to happen overnight.

Gie it a rest, you're making yourself look a bit foolish

Read the article.

” Patel says,

If the UK government had been as welcoming as Poland, Moldova, Romania, Hungary and Slovakia with open borders and no unnecessary paperwork this could have been resolved without the need for Blackford's intervention.

Also from that BBC article

"While this process has been more difficult than it needed to be, all that matters now is that these children will be in a place of safety and I am pleased beyond words," he said.

"I want to pay tribute to everyone who has worked hard to make this happen, including the Scottish charity Dnipro Kids, the Ukrainian and Polish authorities, the Scottish government, Edinburgh City Council, and all those who have helped resolve issues at the Home Office."

He added: "It's essential that the UK government learns lessons and removes unnecessary barriers and delays to supporting displaced children and families."

Read the article.

” Patel says,

You called Ian Blackford a slob earlier in the thread. You may wish to retract this slur and apologise, given the amount of work he's put in to help the Dnipro kids charity, or are you so hateful it's beneath you.

Patel says,

So Ukraine wasn't bothered about the orphans leaving the country (they had already left) but it was Ukraine that was preventing them being in the UK. Seems plausible.

Read the article.

” Patel says,

“Patel says” is never a good way to begin your argument…

Anyway, you are aware it is possible for her to confirm it’s now been confirmed and not mean it wasn’t held-up at this end rather than in Ukraine? It’s not like Patel left a voicemail and has been waiting for them to call back and say aye.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar

Read the article.

” Patel says,

Jeez take a day off man. I’ll take Stevie’s on the ground account of what has gone on to get this done over a bunch of known liars in the UK government or their simps on here.

@hibs.net private member Berwickhibby's Avatar
    Well done to Ian Blackford and your work in supporting the Dnipro kids, I still don’t like him, but credit where credit is due.

Read the article.

” Patel says,

I kind of see where you are coming from by the letter of the apparent law here but really cannot see that our Home secretary has done anything proactive here, or generally at all.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    I kind of see where you are coming from by the letter of the apparent law here but really cannot see that our Home secretary has done anything proactive here, or generally at all.
    Eh? She's stood up in the House of Commons and proclaimed that the UK's got a great record of looking out for refugees. If that's not the same thing as helping refugees I don't know what is.

Oh don’t - that line is still ringing in my head from question time last night!

Was it on the side of a bus though?

No, of course not. Putting something on the side of a bus was a pure populist stunt by Vote Leave, and no government department would stoop to that. Home Office traditionally uses the sides of a van to promote its policies.

Hi

Firstly , there is no way the UK gov could move those children to the UK without Ukrainian Gov consent.
    As orphans they will be the responsibility of the Ukrainian State.

Now if someone could obtain a copy of this permission and its dated 10 days ago , then Patel and Co are to blame.

If on the other hand permission only came through yesterday, the the moon- howlers on here have made ar**s of themselves once again.

Hi

Firstly , there is no way the UK gov could move those children to the UK without Ukrainian Gov consent.
    As orphans they will be the responsibility of the Ukrainian State.

Now if someone could obtain a copy of this permission and its dated 10 days ago , then Patel and Co are to blame.

If on the other hand permission only came through yesterday, the the moon- howlers on here have made ar**s of themselves once again.
    I'm just thinking Patel must have been doing off the radar style lobbying to get it done then.

No doubt Blackford (whose party I do not support) was the one doing the pressing to get it across the line...

I'm just thinking Patel must have been doing off the radar style lobbying to get it done then.

No doubt Blackford (whose party I do not support) was the one doing the pressing to get it across the line...

As StevieC posted in the wee small hours of this morning

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?356787-Dnipro-Kids-Evacuation-Update&p=6894867&viewfull=1#post6894867

Quote Originally Posted by Berwickhibby View Post
    Well done to Ian Blackford and your work in supporting the Dnipro kids, I still don’t like him, but credit where credit is due.
    I cannae stand the pompous windbag either but I'd assumed he was involved with this as a member of the charity/Hibs fan rather than as an attempt to make some sort of political capital from it?