Page 27 of 43 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Think this appointment is gonna be a big disaster I think. That was absolutely pathetic.
    Not wanting him out likes, but, my brother and I have the same reservations, that was two weeks ago.
    If you sell yir best player and half of the new players come in unfit or injured which seems tae be a habit for us doesnae help, oh and havin Nisbet up front on his own??? I have a feeling the rest of the season will be fine tuning and building for next season.

Think this appointment is gonna be a big disaster I think. That was absolutely pathetic.
    Very worrying signs. Lose again on Tuesday and the wee man is going to be feeling some serious heat.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Sacking Jack Ross lol
    Do you remember his last game?

Quote Originally Posted by LunasBoots View Post
    Can't play this style of play with this level of player and certainly not with a non existent midfield
    Yes you need a certain level of player to be able to play it about in your own half then play that killer ball, that's why city are so good.

Now and again we can do it as today as in the first half we played that style well but second half was brutal.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Sacking Jack Ross lol
    Yep for this. we have gone from a poor run of form to disorganised and clueless and off form .... Joke decision the fall from back to back finals and third is going to be sore.

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    Do you remember his last game?
    Just about to say the same. Sacking him wasnt wrong just because we lost today. Time will tell whether Maloney was the correct pick as his replacement. That second half was not pleasant viewing.

Summed up when they were down to 10 men at the end we got a free kick it ended up back at macey. Lol

Just slow, predictable now

Thought we would improve after the Celtic game but no smoke without fire.

An no Martin Boyle

Worried.

Very worrying signs. Lose again on Tuesday and the wee man is going to be feeling some serious heat.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    I think there are question marks over Maloney and only time will tell if he’s a manger or a good number two, but we won’t get a better idea until well into next season. Probably into the season after next before we’ll know for sure either way.

I think there has to be an acknowledgment of the wider context though. We were an average side, certainly this season, with an above average player in Boyle that carried the team and papered over the many cracks. We saw these Jeckyl and Hyde performances from game to game and half to half under Ross. So it’s not unsurprising to see it again today.

We have no midfield. I don’t think Guardiola could get a unit more than the sum of its parts out any combination of Newell, JDH, Campbell & Henderson. With Magennis always injured and Allan in a weird limbo but on the decline.

Maloney doesn’t get a free pass and it’s fair to question his tactics and line ups in the here and now. However he’s inherited a squad, minus Boyle, that looks a lot better on paper than the reality. I felt when he was appointed we needed to steady the ship but this season was closer to a write off than threatening 3rd.

Quote Originally Posted by number9dream View Post
    On that evidence defeat on Tuesday is a certainty.

And we're off with all the usuals slagging off Maloney before he's got his foot in the door.

Could it just be that same players that got Ross sacked playing crap are just pish players and need emptied, giving longer contracts to Campbell and JDH is looking very poor business from Hibs.

Maloney only had 2 of his new players in the starting line up and it was 2 players already here that made 2 errors to gift them goals.

I happen to be/was in the pro Ross school as you and was really disappointed to see him sacked. However, it’s water under the bridge and looking back over your shoulder and continually harping on about our current problems is depressing and a waste of time. Time will tell and the Maloney appointment might very well turn out to be a big mistake but he’s got to be given time. I think we’ve brought in some decent players who Jack Ross may not have managed to get and I have not given up hope that we’ll start to make progress soon. Asking for Maloney to be sacked and turn back the tide is not viable and pointless so we have to back what we’ve got and support them.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    I put this in another thread but he's already reminding me of Heckingbottom in his second part season with us - has a system in mind of possession, passing and pressing but doesn't realise that any Scottish club outside Celtic and Rangers won't be able to attract a team of players capable of doing that. Too stubborn to change it when the best thing he could do just now is get a team out there to ****ing battle and get shots on target.

He needs to be less naive and ideallic and change plan very quickly IMO.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

This season is already a bogey for me - what chance have you got when you have Lewis still playing, Drey Wright, James Scott, Paul McGinn, Josh Campbell, and Jamie Murphy. Darren McGregor clicking heels on a big salary too. I'll throw in Hanlon too for good measure.

Bloated squad, filled with utter mediocrity and lack of pace and creativity, lack of presence,lack of leadership, and a complete lack of hunger to fight and win games.

I'm not blaming Maloney, I'm firmly blaming Ron Gordon for his lack of football knowledge and foresight, as well as the recruitment team - not one signing, not one, has given me an excitement or a real buzz - players can moan all they like about being booed and jeered - there is a very good reason - this team is absolutely honking, full stop. Not thanks to Shaun Maloney, but thanks to the previous managers (Ross, Heckingbottom) and a lacklustre and lazy recruitment team.

If it were me, we need a director of football, someone who has real knowledge of the game and Hibs - there's yet again a total disconnect with the team and fans, caused by poor recruitment at every level.

Ron Gordon - pony up mate or give up - you've turned a club that was on the up into one which is spiralling downwards again. This is akin to Alex Miller's side, devoid of character and life. Challenge for Europe you say.............this squad couldn't challenge a fish supper. Forget big screens, get some genuine pace and creativity in the side, the product on the pitch has been terrible for 3 seasons. Be ruthless, get rid of the deadwood and get rid of this innate sentimental approach to certain players - bin them at the end of the season and rebuild.

@hibs.net private member Leith Green's Avatar
    Im not singling out anyone in particular, but that simply is nowhere near good enough. We will get run all over in midfield on Tuesday. No drive , no dig , just utter crap really. Couple of players today look nowhere near good enough to be playing in our first team.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    And we're off with all the usuals slagging off Maloney before he's got his foot in the door.

Could it just be that same players that got Ross sacked playing crap are just pish players and need emptied, giving longer contracts to Campbell and JDH is looking very poor business from Hibs.

Maloney only had 2 of his new players in the starting line up and it was 2 players already here that made 2 errors to gift them goals.
    its cause maloney doesnt inspire confidence, we needed a strong character, a proper leader, not another nice guy.

Doesn't work, we're soft, slow and 2nd to almost every ball.

P!ss poor formation and tactically left wanting all over the pitch, Maloney is clueless and out of his depth we're going nowhere with him in charge.
    "The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.

I do wonder if we should have given Gray until the end of the season.

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    This season is already a bogey for me - what chance have you got when you have Lewis still playing, Drey Wright, James Scott, Paul McGinn, Josh Campbell, and Jamie Murphy. Darren McGregor clicking heels on a big salary too. I'll throw in Hanlon too for good measure.

Bloated squad, filled with utter mediocrity and lack of pace and creativity, lack of presence,lack of leadership, and a complete lack of hunger to fight and win games.

I'm not blaming Maloney, I'm firmly blaming Ron Gordon for his lack of football knowledge and foresight, as well as the recruitment team - not one signing, not one, has given me an excitement or a real buzz - players can moan all they like about being booed and jeered - there is a very good reason - this team is absolutely honking, full stop. Not thanks to Shaun Maloney, but thanks to the previous managers (Ross, Heckingbottom) and a lacklustre and lazy recruitment team.

If it were me, we need a director of football, someone who has real knowledge of the game and Hibs - there's yet again a total disconnect with the team and fans, caused by poor recruitment at every level.

Ron Gordon - pony up mate or give up - you've turned a club that was on the up into one which is spiralling downwards again. This is akin to Alex Miller's side, devoid of character and life. Challenge for Europe you say.............this squad couldn't challenge a fish supper. Forget big screens, get some genuine pace and creativity in the side, the product on the pitch has been terrible for 3 seasons. Be ruthless, get rid of the deadwood and get rid of this innate sentimental approach to certain players - bin them at the end of the season and rebuild.
    Our recruitment has been a disgrace between last summer and this month. We haven’t signed anyone to come in and do a job for us now. And the worst thing about it is that it’s not because we’re not spending money, we’re just not spending it properly.

Testimonial Due Stokesy's on fire's Avatar
    Spineless we have managed to end up worse off with Maloney in he wont last long at this rate The guys clueless

Sports psychologists , dietricians , academies , and the rest . All just merde if you quite simply can't beat and always struggle against the mighty Livingston.

Dont know what people are expecting.
    The season was over as soon as Ross was sacked.
    It turned the remainder into a transition and thats where we are.
    We will lose more games its not unusual.

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    I think there are question marks over Maloney and only time will tell if he’s a manger or a good number two, but we won’t get a better idea until well into next season. Probably into the season after next before we’ll know for sure either way.

I think there has to be an acknowledgment of the wider context though. We were an average side, certainly this season, with an above average player in Boyle that carried the team and papered over the many cracks. We saw these Jeckyl and Hyde performances from game to game and half to half under Ross. So it’s not unsurprising to see it again today.

We have no midfield. I don’t think Guardiola could get a unit more than the sum of its parts out any combination of Newell, JDH, Campbell & Henderson. With Magennis always injured and Allan in a weird limbo but on the decline.

Maloney doesn’t get a free pass and it’s fair to question his tactics and line ups in the here and now. However he’s inherited a squad, minus Boyle, that looks a lot better on paper than the reality. I felt when he was appointed we needed to steady the ship but this season was closer to a write off than threatening 3rd.
    If things don’t improve he’ll get nowhere near as long as you’re suggesting, if we lose on Tuesday the knives will be out big time. I think he deserves to get until the end of this season at least, but if there’s not a dramatic improvement fans will turn on him in the same way they turned on Ross. We let our best player leave and all I read was how good a deal it was for us, it wasn’t as we’ve not won a game in 90 minutes and haven’t looked like doing so since he left.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member K-Zazu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by #2 Double Tap View Post
    its cause maloney doesnt inspire confidence, we needed a strong character, a proper leader, not another nice guy.
    Derek McIness was that guy I think

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    I put this in another thread but he's already reminding me of Heckingbottom in his second part season with us - has a system in mind of possession, passing and pressing but doesn't realise that any Scottish club outside Celtic and Rangers won't be able to attract a team of players capable of doing that. Too stubborn to change it when the best thing he could do just now is get a team out there to ****ing battle and get shots on target.

He needs to be less naive and ideallic and change plan very quickly IMO.
    Interesting - exactly how I've been seeing it.

Scotland can be a bit of a graveyard for folk "with ideas".

Football fans are a fickle bunch and you need to give them some sort of hope that you know what you're doing or they'll make life difficult for you. And when the fans appear to be lost, club owners get twitchy.

All very well filling up the development side with talent with a view to being good in a year or two but there still needs to be a competitive side on the park.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    We are worse than we were under Ross, in my opinion. I’m really worried about this appointment. I’m not convinced by many of the new signings either.

Quote Originally Posted by #2 Double Tap View Post
    I concur. He always appears to lack confidence/ self belief and I think he is out of his depth.
    You can be calm, quietly spoken but still give an air of confidence. I don't ever get that vibe from Maloney.
    It is early days but I think there is enough to be worried about.

Quote Originally Posted by Waxy View Post
    Dont know what people are expecting.
    The season was over as soon as Ross was sacked.
    It turned the remainder into a transition and thats where we are.
    We will lose more games its not unusual.
    And as a club can't really afford to be doing that ST holders already not attending and many will not renew come renewal time, you can't just give up a season half way through.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I happen to be/was in the pro Ross school as you and was really disappointed to see him sacked. However, it’s water under the bridge and looking back over your shoulder and continually harping on about our current problems is depressing and a waste of time. Time will tell and the Maloney appointment might very well turn out to be a big mistake but he’s got to be given time. I think we’ve brought in some decent players who Jack Ross may not have managed to get and I have not given up hope that we’ll start to make progress soon. Asking for Maloney to be sacked and turn back the tide is not viable and pointless so we have to back what we’ve got and support them.

Why does he need time, why can't he hit the ground running? Why can't he play a style that suits our current players?

Lose the next 2 he can go imo.

Concerned about our owner......concerned about our recruitment.....and concerned about our manager.

I feel the characters, with authority, involved at Hibs have no sense of reality of the Scottish game and what it takes to succeed.

Much as money seems to have been thrown at things, it appears to me they have no idea.