Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    No flapping.
    Just think to let those that have not experienced Gayfield in Winter,what the conditions could possibly be like.
    It's a unique ground in that its so close to the North Sea.
    You could throw a stone from the ground and it might hit a mackerel in the face.

nae need, very cruel

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    The colour of Arbroath's strip will be enough to see us thru comfortably. Dinnae worry lads and lassies.

👍😄

Tough draw for us.

Arbroath Hospitality £60

Match ticket
    5 drinks
    3 course meal
    HT pies

I can still clearly remember as a young boy the Scottish Cup replay against Arbroath in the 70s at Easter Road. I watched it from the old main stand with my late dad (a Jambo).

We scored early but then lost 2 goals within a couple of minutes of each other. Hibs pummelled Arbroath but just could not turn it around......still haunts me.

The Tornadoes were a thing of the past and the team and the club were on the decline.

Been to hundreds of Hibs games but this one somehow this game gives me a real shiver.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Arbroath Hospitality £60

Match ticket
    5 drinks
    3 course meal
    HT pies
    Not very good as there is no Arbroath Smokie in the package.🐟🐟🐟

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibees1973 View Post
    I can still clearly remember as a young boy the Scottish Cup replay against Arbroath in the 70s at Easter Road. I watched it from the old main stand with my late dad (a Jambo).

We scored early but then lost 2 goals within a couple of minutes of each other. Hibs pummelled Arbroath but just could not turn it around......still haunts me.

The Tornadoes were a thing of the past and the team and the club were on the decline.

Been to hundreds of Hibs games but this one somehow this game gives me a real shiver.
    I remember seeing a man with a young boy with an Arbroath scarf on that night. His dad had the young lad sitting on one of the barriers and when the early goal went in I thought, what a shame for the boy. Being trailed all the way down from Arbroath on a dreich winters night to see his team slaughtered. I shouldn't have worried! That wee boy will be well into his 50s now and no doubt telling all his pals that he was there that night.
    They also beat us at Easter Road in a league game during their brief stay in the top league, 15th March 1969. I think it was their only away win that season.
    My wedding day ruined!

We drew 1 v 1 in first game with John Blackley scoring ( That was unusual ) then lost 1 v 2 at Holy Ground in replay in ironically ( given talk of wind at Arbroath ) gale force winds . Dominated game but lost . At that time many / most fans thought we were still a great team just because we were better than Hearts ( much better , Hearts were total rubbish at that time - reached SC final in 1976 after needing ET and numerous replays against teams from lower divisions - the equivalent of a lower Championship or First Divisio team making final ) . This year is different . Arbroath are top of Championship and everyone knows their home advantage is special : I believe we can win but if we don`t I certainly won`t be calling for a new manager .

That game was a sore one, I remember it more than I should. Being brought up watching The Tornadoes spoiled us, these games were usually a formality so it was hard to take at the time. That game was a replay, the first time was a 1-1 draw up there. All I remember is going on the football special train and all the young team crossing directly over the pitch at half time to get behind the goals at the other end with 2 cops trying to stop us. Or did I imagine that?

I was at that game, and the one at Gayfield.

I'm still embarrassed!

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Just seen the draw, well chuffed.

Absolutely no nerves at all about facing Arbroath, easy win.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Is it a plastic pitch?

No, it's a traditional grass pitch.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    head to head

League, Hibs-13 Arbroath-5, Draws-4
    League cup Hibs-2 wins
    SC Hibs-4 Arbroath-1, Draws-1

Hibs wins-19
    Arbroath wins- 6
    Draws -5
    Aye. Our overall record against them is decent
    However, the draw and loss in SC was (or will be) almost 45 years ago to the day, when it’s played next month.

We struggled to get a draw in the first game at Gayfield but thought the replay would be a dawdle at ER. How wrong that turned out!! One of the worst nights at ER we’ve had. Some would say a “cup shock”.

I know there’s no correlation to now and then. Nevertheless, this one won’t be easy!!

Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibby6270 View Post
    Aye. Our overall record against them is decent
    However, the draw and loss in SC was (or will be) almost 45 years ago to the day, when it’s played next month.

We struggled to get a draw in the first game at Gayfield but thought the replay would be a dawdle at ER. How wrong that turned out!! One of the worst nights at ER we’ve had. Some would say a “cup shock”.

I know there’s no correlation to now and then. Nevertheless, this one won’t be easy!!
    Headlines in the Evening News the following day read... Hibs fans smash windows in Cockburn Street after defeat of Arbroath.

@hibs.net private member Stuart93's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WhileTheChief.. View Post
    Just seen the draw, well chuffed.

Absolutely no nerves at all about facing Arbroath, easy win.
    Nope it’s a terrible draw. They’d beat the old firm too y’know

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Garymcl View Post
    Canny wait for this mad scramble for tickets great day out takes me back to the 70s will get a ticket for home end if unsuccessful for ballot ggtth
    Certainly remember playing them in the 70's , talked about it in another thread, enough to be worried but this time we'll be okay.

Quote Originally Posted by green with envy View Post
    Headlines in the Evening News the following day read... Hibs fans smash windows in Cockburn Street after defeat of Arbroath.

Speaking to the news in the aftermath of the Cockburn Street Riot, shopowner,Fred Plaice the Fishmonger said

" I telt that daft assistant o mine, tae take they Arbroath Smokies away fae the windae"

It will be a tricky tie, but it’s one we should be winning. Arbroath have done amazingly well this season, but the championship is pretty weak this year.

United we stand here....

Bloody hell, can't agree this will be some hard draw. Part time lower league side. Should be winning this no problem. They're having a good season but we're a different level. The championship is a dreadful league.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Speaking to the news in the aftermath of the Cockburn Street Riot, shopowner,Fred Plaice the Fishmonger said

" I telt that daft assistant o mine, tae take they Arbroath Smokies away fae the windae"
    Ye canna spik Doric min. "I telt the daft loon tae tak the smokies awa fae the windee...

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Bloody hell, can't agree this will be some hard draw. Part time lower league side. Should be winning this no problem. They're having a good season but we're a different level. The championship is a dreadful league.
    Wouldn't say it's a dreadful league. We should be winning this game but the top 5 in the championship could hold there own against Dundee & St Johnstone and we've had 4 tough games against Dundee & St Johnstone.

I agree, but we did just struggle to beat a full time team a league below Arbroath at Easter Road.

United we stand here....

They're top of the championship and probably better than Ross County, St johnstone, Dundee and St mirren.

@hibs.net private member hibeerealist's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Pete View Post
    Imagine if tickets were limited to those who attended the Cove match and weren't moaning and shouting at Nisbet. We'd take about one minibus up there.

Imagine if posts on here were limited to those that were sensible!!!!

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Garymcl View Post
    Canny wait for this mad scramble for tickets great day out takes me back to the 70s will get a ticket for home end if unsuccessful for ballot ggtth

There will be no scramble for tickets, we will get about 3000 and anyone who wants one will get one no problem.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post
    They're top of the championship and probably better than Ross County, St johnstone, Dundee and St mirren.
    What makes you say they are better than those sides? I'd fancy all those Premiership teams to beat them should they meet in a play off.

Arbroath are nae mugs and top for a reason, they are quite capable of beating this Hibs team.

Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    What makes you say they are better than those sides? I'd fancy all those Premiership teams to beat them should they meet in a play off.
    Dundee United and St Johnstone have already beat them in cup competition this season.

Quote Originally Posted by JamesHFC View Post
    Dundee United and St Johnstone have already beat them in cup competition this season.
    Both tough games, I'm hoping ours is easier but I'll not be surprised if it isn't. It's a potential banana skin for sure.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    No, it's a traditional grass pitch.
    Grass? Mown kelp surely