Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
    Testimonial Due green with envy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    What?

Tell you what, seeing as how you can only resort to trolling and the like, I’m guessing you know **** all about this one. They score a lot of goals in the league compared to other teams in the league and are amongst the best defences too. Despite their part time status they may be the fittest team in the league. We struggle against a hard and high press which they do very well, we concede too many goals from crosses and they’ve scored a good amount this season from crosses too. We struggled against St Johnstone and their organisation last season - the core of their team has been there for ages.

If we play against them like we did against Cove they’ll beat us within the 90. Maloney needs to get this system clicking very quickly as we will need to be at our very best for this one, their style will suit the game and it’s a very tough venue on a tight pitch. Their centre backs in Little and O’Brien are strong, good in the air and are a very good partnership and don’t make many mistakes.

I’m sure you’ll have some knowledge about them to enlighten us with.
    Haha. I'm a regular home and away most weeks and I expect this to be a hard game but Jeezo, I'm not getting worried about playing a team in a lower league compared to a whole load of other ties we could have got. TBH, I'm really happy with the outcome.

It's never a bad draw getting a side from a level below and we should have more than enough
    Ideally you want avoid teams you think might win the Cup and Arbroath for me ain't one of them
    Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

I agree with Northernhibee about this . One of the worst possible draws for us . No replay to fall back on if things go badly and low gate receipts .

Quote Originally Posted by IberianHibernian View Post
    I agree with Northernhibee about this . One of the worst possible draws for us . No replay to fall back on if things go badly and low gate receipts .
    Should be a great cup tie ….looking f forward to it

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Quote Originally Posted by IberianHibernian View Post
    Surely any prem team away would be worse

Rangers, celtic Aberdeen and hearts at home would be worse too

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

It's one of the ones that has disaster written all over it, given it's top of the Championship and a ground that you wouldn't typically expect us to adapt well to.

Would rather have the comfort of a replay, but we'll still be favourites. Good enough to win, should win, might not, which probably wouldn't be as embarrassing as others would find it.

This will likely be a difficult game for us.

Arbroath are going well and as others have said the weather conditions could throw a real spanner in the works.

I'd take any type of win just now and i think we'll do just enough to get through. However, we do need to play with more intensity than we did for the first 70 minutes of the game against Cove.

Is it a plastic pitch?

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc
    We will batter them 1-0 AET

Some flapping on here tonite over a cup tie against a team a division below us. Yes they are playing well, yes its a tough place to go, yes it wont be easy but come on. Tougher than old firm hertz dons united livi etc...seriously. I hope the players/manager have a stronger mindset than some fans.

Oldies on here will mind playing against Arbroath back in day was not uncommon.
    They were in the top division in the 60s.
    For the younger guys who dont know the ground.
    Consider playing an 11 a side game on the Portobello promendade in a gale.
    Or at Seafield public pitches in winter months .
    That's Gayfield on a good day.

I know whats been said about lower division team.So are Cove.
    Shaun i am sure will pop up there before we play them.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 22-01-2022 at 08:16 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Ray Donovan View Post
    This will likely be a difficult game for us.

Arbroath are going well and as others have said the weather conditions could throw a real spanner in the works.

I'd take any type of win just now and i think we'll do just enough to get through. However, we do need to play with more intensity than we did for the first 70 minutes of the game against Cove.
    We had 3 starters against Cove that hadn't played any top games in weeks/months. By the time we play Arbroath, I expect all 3 players to up and running to full match fitness. As I've already said I expect be a hard game but no way is this one of the hardest away ties that we could have got. There's another 10,or 11 away games that would have been harder.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Oldies on here will mind playing against Arbroath back in day was not uncommon
    They were in the top division in the 60s
    For the younger guys
    Consider playing an 11 a side game on the Portobello promendade in a gale. Or at Seafield pitches in winter
    If the pitch is really that bad, maybe explains why (despite being top of their league) they’ve only won four games on it in the league. Few wins against teams from lower leagues than themselves as well in the cups.

Oldies on here will mind playing against Arbroath back in day was not uncommon
    They were in the top division in the 60s
    For the younger guys
    Consider playing an 11 a side game on the Portobello promendade in a gale. Or at Seafield pitches in winter
    Was there for a friendly a couple of years ago and you couldn't have had better conditions to play a game of fitba. TBF, it was in July.😆

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by green with envy View Post
    Was there for a friendly a couple of years ago and you couldn't have had better conditions to play a game of fitba. TBF, it was in July.😆
    We lost that game, didn’t we?

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Well for sure we have a better team than Arbroath.
    No point sweating about it.

Quote Originally Posted by Broken Gnome View Post
    It's one of the ones that has disaster written all over it, given it's top of the Championship and a ground that you wouldn't typically expect us to adapt well to.

Would rather have the comfort of a replay, but we'll still be favourites. Good enough to win, should win, might not, which probably wouldn't be as embarrassing as others would find it.
    Exactly . We`ve got 5 league matches to play before Arbroath . We could win them all and still have a hard time in cup there . If we lose , press will label it as a shock and a lot of our support will label it as a disgrace etc but reality is that any non OF teams in our division would be in for a hard game there and even OF might have problems .

Arbroath away from home in the cup...it'll be a breeze 😉

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    If the pitch is really that bad, maybe explains why (despite being top of their league) they’ve only won four games on it in the league. Few wins against teams from lower leagues than themselves as well in the cups.
    I never said the pitch was bad.
    I dont even know what kind of pitch they have nowadays.
    It is the weather conditions there that are the enemy at this time of year.
    To see it is to believe it. Honest,its some ground in bad weather.
    Nae flair fitba at Gayfield !!

How often do Rangers and Celtic get drawn against pish teams? Must be above average.

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    We lost that game, didn’t we?
    Wee did indeed. TBFi was ****ting myself that night. We couldn't have had a harder pre season friendly.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbyfraelibby View Post
    Arbroath away from home in the cup...it'll be a breeze 😉
    That's if our players dont get the wind up

Quote Originally Posted by GreenCastle View Post
    Hearing all those folk who shout abuse at our own players and moan about Nisbet on here and at games are at the back of the queue for tickets.
    Imagine if tickets were limited to those who attended the Cove match and weren't moaning and shouting at Nisbet. We'd take about one minibus up there.

Quote Originally Posted by green with envy View Post
    Well you would hope the seaside would be nice in July

If its baltic and windy Its gonna be tough and a leveller.

That's if our players dont get the wind up
    Maybe we should sign Dwight Gayle(force) for the game..........

head to head

League, Hibs-13 Arbroath-5, Draws-4
    League cup Hibs-2 wins
    SC Hibs-4 Arbroath-1, Draws-1

Hibs wins-19
    Arbroath wins- 6
    Draws -5

Arbroath are having a great season, but probably won’t be promoted, and considering all the advantages they’ve got - a wind that only blows in their favour etc, it’s surprising that it’s a first good season in decades, how does everyone else cope with them when Hibs cant? FFS stop hyping them up to be world beaters. It’s a tough tie, but one that any club with ambitions to lift the trophy will be content with.

Quote Originally Posted by DIXIHIBS View Post
    Some flapping on here tonite over a cup tie against a team a division below us. Yes they are playing well, yes its a tough place to go, yes it wont be easy but come on. Tougher than old firm hertz dons united livi etc...seriously. I hope the players/manager have a stronger mindset than some fans.
    No flapping.
    Just think to let those that have not experienced Gayfield in Winter,what the conditions could possibly be like.
    It's a unique ground in that its so close to the North Sea.
    You could throw a stone from the ground and it might hit a mackerel in the face.

Quote Originally Posted by DIXIHIBS View Post
    I don’t think anyone said it would be tougher than the gsmes you mentioned. A few have been very ignorant and arrogant towards the opposition

Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Steve View Post
    Maybe we should sign Dwight Gayle(force) for the game..........

To play in a back 4 wae Dean Windass, Robbie Winter and Ally McCloud !