Well done.This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Results 1,711 to 1,740 of 2046
Thread: Depression and anxiety
-
10-10-2021 07:11 AM #1711
-
11-10-2021 01:29 PM #1712This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Paul Merson has a mention up the thread and this short video featuring him on the subject of brain activity after stimulous from gambling triggers is very interesting and enlightening I thought.
Paul Merson: Football, Gambling & Me
https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p09y3lgl
-
11-10-2021 01:31 PM #1713This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Well done to you bud and keep it going eh.
-
-
07-12-2021 05:24 PM #1715
On a train to York (to get to Manchester but that's another story). Train delayed due to someone getting hit by a train on the line.
There's a couple in front complaining as their son is picking them up and will be livid.
Some folk can't see beyond their own wee selfish world.
This thread should always be at the top of this forum.
-
18-12-2021 09:15 AM #1716
I've only ever read more recent posts on this thread. I started on page 1 this morning and will keep reading the rest of the thread. It really helped me, so thanks to everyone for that. Posting about my circumstance is not something I'd be comfortable ever doing, so I imagine that was quite a difficult thing to do for some posters. Can I ask anyone who has contributed, did it help once you had wrote down your thoughts/experiences, did you feel a bit of a release from your worries by doing that?
-
18-12-2021 09:24 AM #1717This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Being "out" doesn't sit comfortably with everyone, that's for sure. Doing it on a semi-anonymous site, though, can be a halfway-house for some.
One of my mantras, that I use with clients, is "find what works for you, and keep doing it." If you feel better by sharing on here, or by just reading and absorbing, that's the way to go.
-
18-12-2021 09:50 AM #1718This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
18-12-2021 09:53 AM #1719This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
18-12-2021 10:41 AM #1720
-
18-12-2021 10:54 AM #1721This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
18-12-2021 01:21 PM #1722
-
18-12-2021 01:47 PM #1723This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
For many there is a need for some kind of dialogue about how they are feeling and sometimes that dialogue can be with yourself. Actually just speaking with a professional and expressing your thoughts can be a very therapeutic experience just simply to 'get it out' especially after internalising those thought for a period of time. I would very regularly hear client say towards the end of their initial session that they feel so much better in just getting things off their chest and out there, particularly with a non-judgmental and impartial professional. It shouldn't be underestimated.
I hope everyone is keeping relatively well at this quite tricky time. Further, I hope they feel able to share a little if that's not the case. There are good people here to offer support.
-
18-12-2021 01:59 PM #1724
It was a bit of a leap of faith for me to write on here as I’m fairly well known. But it was cathartic. I even blogged about it for a while and put my name out there.
One thing I do religiously is journal on a daily basis and that is a huge help. It’s motivating to look back at what i was writing a year ago and seeing how far I have come. If you’re ever feeling a wee bit down; being able to rewind and get that reassurance that you are so much better than you once were is motivation enough to snap out of your mini-funk and realise you’re on a pathway to happiness.
Morning Pages is the app I use on my iPhone to document my thoughts. Sometimes it’s not until you start writing that you begin to unravel so many things that had previously betwixt you."Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"
-
20-12-2021 12:10 PM #1725
Good to hear you are on an upwards curve.
-
20-12-2021 05:37 PM #1726
I hope everybody's doing well...
...and you're all getting over yesterday's result as best you can
-
21-12-2021 08:27 AM #1727This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-12-2021 12:04 PM #1728
For those of you for whom the darkness is an issue....
Happy Solstice.... the days will start to get longer now.
-
-
21-12-2021 01:53 PM #1730This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Can see myself really struggling soon.
-
21-12-2021 02:04 PM #1731
Me too. I've had enough of this ****.
Done everything we were asked to do and still at square 1.
**** it!!
-
21-12-2021 08:27 PM #1732
Meant to be hosting this year’s Hogmanay gathering. Reluctantly cancelled but feel I’m being really proactive. One of our circle of friends is very strongly politically minded and we he brings everything from today up I will attack him quite frankly. Thankfully we are a supportive group of friends, folk know it’s a disaster waiting to happen given my mindset.
Someone else leathered him 4 years ago at Hogmanay and he didn’t managed to take anything on-board.
-
21-12-2021 08:45 PM #1733
Hi everyone. Hope everyone is coping as best they can with this time of year which can be stressful and dark at the best of times but just feels horrible still with all the covid uncertainty.
I just wanted to ask if anyone has had bad experiences coming off anti-depressants.
I’ve decided to stop taking mine, i had got myself into quite a good place mentally and physically, I work out a lot and have got many coping strategies in place now that I simply didn’t have when I was struggling previously. So I thought I’d try to live without them. Almost as an experiment to see how I would feel.
it’s not going well. Frankly I feel ill. No appetite, constant pains in my stomach, pins and needles in my fingers, fatigue, and mentally hollow and empty. Like I’m walking around in a daze almost.
i suppose just coming off them is not recommended and I knew there would be some effects but has anyone else experienced it? How long does it last? And would you suggest any help?
thanks
-
22-12-2021 12:08 AM #1734This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
22-12-2021 02:52 AM #1735
As far as im aware depending on the length of time on them recovery can take a long time even years, its not a fast process, i had all of those effects when i tried to just not take them anymore, i made myself ill peeing blood, stomach agony, not eating, a what i describe as a vertigo feeling, high anxiety, random moments of crying etc (paroxetine), i would go to your GP and get checked out, at the end of the day you dont want to do anything that may make you ill or in hospital.
I would suggest you probaly need to reinstate for a while and once ready ask the doctor to wean you off as slowly as possible, i dont think many doctors even know the effects of coming off them from my own experience.Last edited by LunasBoots; 22-12-2021 at 10:30 AM.
-
22-12-2021 09:48 AM #1736This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Coming off Seroxat (paroxetine) was just a horrible experience. If i had any idea what it was like i would have stayed on it. And theres no easy answers, for some people, meds work and trying to come off is a bad idea.
Your GP will probably advise you taper off gradually, by halfing your dose and halfing it again after a week or so, but I found i had to taper very very VERY gradually, with a few miligrams reduction each time which i could only do by moving to liquid from tablet. My personal experience is the medical establishment tends to advise some people to come off faster than they can deal with.
Im in a great place now but i remember what its like and its really tough and i sympathise, let us know how it goes.
Christmas can be a really difficult time for people, and this Christmas is uniquely hard with everything thats going on in the world and being separate from loved ones. God only knows how we're all coping. I just wanted to reach out to folk on this thread who have contributed and given us all food for thought and wish you all well over the festive period. Its such a great resource and ive learned a lot from it personallyLast edited by hibsbollah; 22-12-2021 at 09:52 AM.
-
22-12-2021 11:12 AM #1737
Thanks guys.
I’ll speak to my gp and see what she says.
best wishes for Christmas to everyone.
-
23-12-2021 01:29 PM #1738
Anxiety UK have developed a free guide for those who struggle with Christmas.
I can't upload it, but you can get it here:-
https://www.anxietyuk.org.uk/product...ant-downloads/
It might be the best present you give yourself or a loved one.
-
24-12-2021 10:13 AM #1739This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Must admit I'm feeling stressed out and can't get into the Christmas spirit. It's been a hell of a year for various reasons. Just trying to keep busy and hold off the OCD traits!HIBERNIAN FC - ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF HISTORY SINCE 1875
-
24-12-2021 04:55 PM #1740This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I’ve been feeling very stressed for a little while now, couple of very mild, almost panic attacks at work, and very low as well.
like yourself I’ve just not been feeling Christmas at all this year, putting a smile on for the bairn and family, but tbh I can see the 27th coming far enough