Page 13 of 98 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Liberal Hibby View Post
    Quite - with just 17.5k tickets it's pretty unlikely I'll (and many of the other out of town supporters) will get one. I've been to one home game this season so far and subscribe to Hibs TV and have been at every final since 1979 (except the 1991 one when my lift didn't materialise) - but yeh I don't deserve a ticket and it's fine for the principles of sporting integrity to be cast aside because of the grip Sevco and Celtc have over the domestic game.
    Got you covered.
    In one of my early devils advocate posts on this thread I said anyone who had attended a home game this season should get a ticket.
    Congratulations!
    Enjoy the final.

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    What?
    He's lost the plot haha

Quote Originally Posted by Liberal Hibby View Post
    Quite - with just 17.5k tickets it's pretty unlikely I'll (and many of the other out of town supporters) will get one. I've been to one home game this season so far and subscribe to Hibs TV and have been at every final since 1979 (except the 1991 one when my lift didn't materialise) - but yeh I don't deserve a ticket and it's fine for the principles of sporting integrity to be cast aside because of the grip Sevco and Celtc have over the domestic game.
    Could not have put it better myself. We are all HIBS.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I live in York.

Before I moved here, I had a season ticket for over 20 years and have been supporting Hibs since the early 70s. I donate £20 to HSL every month, I give money to kicks for kids and I'm a shareholder.

I go to as many games as I can, depending on TV schedules etc. I've not managed to get to one this season cos of Covid etc but I'll do so as soon as I can.

I definitely want to go to the Cup Final. Would you rather a Celtc season ticket holder went instead of me?
    Yes - that's the sum of his argument.

I live in York.

Before I moved there, I had a season ticket for over 20 years and have been supporting Hibs since the early 70s.. I donate £20 to HSL every month, I give money to kicks for kids and I'm a shareholder.

I go to as many games as I can, depending on TV schedules etc. I've not managed to get to one this season cos of Covid etc but I'll do so as soon as I can.

I definitely want to go to the Cup Final. Would you rather a Celtc season ticket holder went instead of me?
    You are covered by the HSL monthly contribution clause and are thus entitled to a cup final ticket.
    Enjoy the game ya radge.

Quote Originally Posted by CMurdoch View Post
    You are covered by the HSL monthly contribution clause and are thus entitled to a cup final ticket.
    Enjoy the game ya radge.
    Stop your nonsense, then. Trolling is against the rules.

It's been fun being the devils advocate this evening but sadly my time is now up.

Got you covered.
    In one of my early devils advocate posts on this thread I said anyone who had attended a home game this season should get a ticket.
    Congratulations!
    Enjoy the final.
    You're not playing devil's advocate you're advocating Celtic fans getting priority over Hibs fans. And with 17,500 tickets I'll doubt I'll be there in person. But I'll do my best to enjoy the final in whatever way I can...

Stop your nonsense, then. Trolling is against the rules.
    13 pages of radgeness is quite enough.
    See you at the final.

Got you covered.
    Congratulations!
    Enjoy the final.
    What about others who pump money into the club from abroad. Not everyone can get to the stadium. I did raise this but you have chosen not to respond.

It's frustrating that only 13,400 supporters are attending home games.
    7,000 empty seats at all but the biggest games will seriously limit the club when it comes to recruiting better players.
    Those empty seats represent £150k lost in revenue per game which is a couple of million quid a season.
    The club can only improve if supporters pay to attend games.
    The 11,000 supporters that bought season tickets last season and this and those who contributed to HSL in the same time frame have played an unbelievable unselfish role in keeping the club and team stable but other Hibs fans need to step up and become supporters.

As things stand 17,500 tickets is enough cup final tickets for every Hibs supporter to get one.
    As things stand it proved impossible for BK and Ron Gordon to make a case to the SPFL for us to receive more.
    Don't agree with your calculation. You've based it on sellout crowds every week. Hardly realistic we'll sell out every week.

Winning a cup is one of the best ways to increase ST sales and thereby, home attendances? What you're advocating is giving Celtic an advantage and therefore reducing our chances of winning it.

Plus, the "day trippers", as you call them, are surely the target market for the club who'll be aiming to convert them into regular goers / season ticket holders. If they're not deserving of a ticket then the club's chances of converting them is greatly reduced.

It's been fun being the devils advocate this evening but sadly my time is now up.
    More like trolling than playing devil's advocate.

What about others who pump money into the club from abroad. Not everyone can get to the stadium. I did raise this but you have chosen not to respond.
    Sorry, i answered Bristol Hibee re Overseas Hibs TV subscribers on page 6
    "folk from Australia and America etc who pay a subscription for Hibs TV. They support the club so would be eligible for a cup final ticket".

Quote Originally Posted by hibbysam View Post
    If they are that bothered about the tickets being sold, sign a contract where we are liable for maximum cost of unsold tickets. Not hard and nobody loses out.
    We shouldn't even have to be going down that route mate. Hibs could simply agree that any tickets not sold by Thursday at 5pm can be sent to Celtic .... The way tickets are sold in blocks we can sell starting from the sections nearest the south stand and any complete block not sold by that date can be reserved for Celtic. As it is I'm still convinced Hibs could easily sell 23,000 tickets even at the stupid prices being asked.

The bottom line here is as I said before an absolutely fundamental issue of fair play. Where it's obvious a club cannot sell a full allocation EG ..Ross County, Livvi that sort of thing then fair enough it makes sense to give a realistic allocation. But, there is absolutely no evidence that Hibs are not capable of shifting 23,000, in fact a raft of evidence that we can do so and that being the case it is absolutely unfair that we are not at least being given the chance.

The rules of the competition as I understand it state that the final will be played at a neutral venue ..... What makes home advantage home advantage is not just playing on your own pitch but also an assumption that you will have the majority of the crowd on your side. If Covid proved anything it was that the crowd was the main factor in what makes home advantage an advantage ... with no crowds many club's away record improved, not least amongst them Hibs.

I for one am really really angry that Hibs have caved into this. They state their unhappiness at the decision in that statement, but in my opinion it doesn't go nearly far enough ... They should state in no uncertain terms that the SPFL have taken a step that is far from justifiable given this club's proven ability to shift enough tickets to justify a 50/50 split and that in sporting terms as far as this club is concerned the SPFL have handed an advantage to our opponents for that final.

Aye ok, if they cave in and we fail to shift all the tickets then we end up with egg on our face .... but that is the very last thing we should be considering at this point.

I am sorry but the fundamental issue here is how competitive is Scottish Football? At the moment Rangers dominate. They have proved to be ***** in recent years in knock-out competitions. But that is not enough. I get the impression that the Scottish Football authorities would e really like Celtic to win a trophy to maintain competitiveness . If the authorities still want to maintain this hegemony then fine. Count me out!

The whole bloody edifice is rigged from the start. There is no need for further manipulation. I do not feel inclined to pay money to support this shambles.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    We shouldn't even have to be going down that route mate. Hibs could simply agree that any tickets not sold by Thursday at 5pm can be sent to Celtic .... The way tickets are sold in blocks we can sell starting from the sections nearest the south stand and any complete block not sold by that date can be reserved for Celtic. As it is I'm still convinced Hibs could easily sell 23,000 tickets even at the stupid prices being asked.

The bottom line here is as I said before an absolutely fundamental issue of fair play. Where it's obvious a club cannot sell a full allocation EG ..Ross County, Livvi that sort of thing then fair enough it makes sense to give a realistic allocation. But, there is absolutely no evidence that Hibs are not capable of shifting 23,000, in fact a raft of evidence that we can do so and that being the case it is absolutely unfair that we are not at least being given the chance.

The rules of the competition as I understand it state that the final will be played at a neutral venue ..... What makes home advantage home advantage is not just playing on your own pitch but also an assumption that you will have the majority of the crowd on your side. If Covid proved anything it was that the crowd was the main factor in what makes home advantage an advantage ... with no crowds many club's away record improved, not least amongst them Hibs.

I for one am really really angry that Hibs have caved into this. They state their unhappiness at the decision in that statement, but in my opinion it doesn't go nearly far enough ... They should state in no uncertain terms that the SPFL have taken a step that is far from justifiable given this club's proven ability to shift enough tickets to justify a 50/50 split and that in sporting terms as far as this club is concerned the SPFL have handed an advantage to our opponents for that final.

Aye ok, if they cave in and we fail to shift all the tickets then we end up with egg on our face .... but that is the very last thing we should be considering at this point.
    Totally agree.

I think the 2017 LC semi v Celtic where we asked for and got a lot more tickets than we ended up selling has possibly played a part in the decision. Celtic will no doubt have reminded the SPFL of that, though IIRC the SPFL botched the order in which we were allowed to put the blocks on sale which meant our unsold tickets couldn't be given to Celtic.

Quote Originally Posted by jgl07 View Post
    I am sorry but the fundamental issue here is how competitive is Scottish Football? At the moment Rangers dominate. They have proved to be ***** in recent years in knock-out competitions. But that is not enough. I get the impression that the Scottish Football authorities would e really like Celtic to win a trophy to maintain competitiveness . If the authorities still want to maintain this hegemony then fine. Count me out!

The whole bloody edifice is rigged from the start. There is no need for further manipulation. I do not feel inclined to pay money to support this shambles.
    I get the sentiment mate, I really do. But if too many of us go down that route and we don't even shift 17,500 they will be able to claim their decision was justified. As it is I think as many of us as possible should be E Mailing the SPFL asking what gives them the right to spit all over the notion of fair play and also Hibs to ask why they are not publicly calling this out. Not some wishy washy statement on our official site that only Hibs fans will see but a TV interview by either our CEO or even better the club's owner stating in no uncertain terms that the SPFL have with absolutely no justification handed Celtic an advantage before the game has even kicked off.

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post
    Don't agree with your calculation. You've based it on sellout crowds every week. Hardly realistic we'll sell out every week.

Winning a cup is one of the best ways to increase ST sales and thereby, home attendances? What you're advocating is giving Celtic an advantage and therefore reducing our chances of winning it.

Plus, the "day trippers", as you call them, are surely the target market for the club who'll be aiming to convert them into regular goers / season ticket holders. If they're not deserving of a ticket then the club's chances of converting them is greatly reduced.
    We need to have more supporters at Easter Road than we currently do to finance progress or we will be fighting for 4th with Aberdeen in a couple of years time. If we can start playing well and sign a few good players in the summer the fairweather fans will return to the supporter ranks but you can't rely on them.

Re the cup, we did well on Sunday with the hardcore 10,000 supporters at the game cheering the team on.
    The SPFL have subsequently decided in all the circumstances that Hibs should receive an extra 7,500 tickets for the final and folk on here are outraged.

I get it from a fairness point of view but I also saw Celtic sign a fantastic player from Japan in the summer for millions of pounds while we signed a kid from Raith Rovers for £100k who can't make it until January which strikes at any sense of any real sporting integrity.

Hopefully every Hibs supporter who has more than a passing interest in the team can get a ticket for the final.
    Last edited by CMurdoch; 23-11-2021 at 12:44 AM.

Sorry, i answered Bristol Hibee re Overseas Hibs TV subscribers on page 6
    "folk from Australia and America etc who pay a subscription for Hibs TV. They support the club so would be eligible for a cup final ticket".
    I live in the Philippines and subscribe to Hibs TV. Been a season ticket holder for many years. Followed Hibs since the late 60s. Coming home for Christmas and the club have assured me I will be looked after.

Quote Originally Posted by 007 View Post

All of this in spades and especially the 2nd paragraph.

Day trippers as folk like to call them are exactly why this club can sell allocations of 23,000 for cup finals. Who cares what sort of 'fans' make up our cup final crowds, there is barely a club on the planet that doesn't rely on casual supporters when it comes to cup finals ...... I can't believe anybody on here is in any way trying to argue that this decision by the SPFL can in any way be justified.

The only reason they are doing this is because they can guarantee a sell out if they give Celtic the majority of the tickets. That is an affront to the final as a sporting contest played on a level playing field. Celtic already hold an advantage by being able to field a team considerably more expensive than anything we could put on the park, they hold an advantage because the final is being played in their city ...... There's nothing Hibs or the SPFL can do about that.

What they can do is to ensure that the things they do have control over to make the final as fair as it can be are applied. Front and centre to that is to ensure both clubs have the same level of support on the day if at all possible .... In this case it is possible and yet they have chosen to hand the club who already hold most of the aces another advantage, even in the face of one of the clubs in this final asking for a 50/50 split.

That is so blatantly unfair that in my opinion it is tantamount to at best bringing the game into disrepute, at worst match fixing and that is exactly what Hibs should be saying about it ... and very very publicly.

FFS .... For once can this bloody club show some balls !!!

I'm not even home from the semi final yet and might not get a final ticket.

Joke really. They are pretty much saying celtic fans are more important than Hibs fans!
    Cougars!!!

I live in York.

Before I moved here, I had a season ticket for over 20 years and have been supporting Hibs since the early 70s. I donate £20 to HSL every month, I give money to kicks for kids and I'm a shareholder.

By his logic he believes a Celtic fan should be there ahead of you.

Mental.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    They already have and the SPFL weren’t having it. Not much more can be done.
    The SPFL need to be embarrassed. Force them to back their decision with a statement. I presume as with every club there’s a dispute resolution procedure. Hibs need to invoke this procedure and air our dirty laundry.

I hope this isn’t the last of this.

By your logic then we should not have received any more than the amount of people who have a season ticket and are walk up fans at previous finals. Why do you care so much? Personally I want as many Hibs fans at the final be they season ticket holders walk ups or day trippers. You seem to forget about Fans abroad who post on here buy merchandise subscribe to Hibs TV and pay money into HSL, who will travel from abroad/other parts of the UK to the final or are they Day trippers in your world.
    Get a grip, supporters contribute to the club in different ways financially so your argument does not stack up.
    I can’t tell if he’s on the wind up or not, as the view is so alien to most of us on here.

Maybe we'll try to tie it up with half season tickets

At least 10,000 of those so called Hibs supporters you speak of are no use to Hibs.
    We only see them at glory time. They provide no financial support to our club whatsoever.

We have been offered 17,500 Cup Final tickets.
    Hibs have 11,100 season ticket holders and have about 2,400 regular walk ups
    That leaves 4,000 tickets which I reckon should be sold first to anyone who has paid to attend even a single game at Easter Road this season.
    Whatever number of tickets are left after that can be punted in a public sale.

Celtic probably have 50,000 season ticket holders so it is only fair that there should be an attempt to give at least half of them the opportunity to attend the cup final ticket rather than giving them to Hibs to sell to people who are really not that bothered about Hibs or Scottish football week to week.
    I don't like Celtic much but I would rather that Scottish football supporters get cup final ticket than fair weather folk who only do big games.

The allocation of stands is a whole different matter. We should get half of the North.
    That's the kind of argument I'd expect from a RANTIC fan.

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    I live in Ireland and I’d love to be at this final. But equally the only match I’ve been to this season was away at Dens Park. I pay into HSL. Don’t want to take a ticket away from a hibby that deserves it more.

don’t know if I’ve any chance of getting a ticket, or whether morally I should even apply for one.

dilemma.

Quote Originally Posted by Pagan Hibernia View Post
    I live in Ireland and I’d love to be at this final. But equally the only match I’ve been to this season was away at Dens Park. I pay into HSL. Don’t want to take a ticket away from a hibby that deserves it more.

don’t know if I’ve any chance of getting a ticket, or whether morally I should even apply for one.

dilemma.
    No dilemma, you are a Hibs fan, apply.

Strangely Dundee Away is my only live game this season. Best believe I’ll be looking to go.

Hoping my eight game package thing will count for something in how tickets for the final are sold.

It should be 50/50 initially, and the pricing is an utter scandal. Where are the student prices? £40 unless you want one of the crap seats. What a disgrace, and the SPFL saying that they’d frozen prices since 2019 - nobody went to the final in 2020!!
    The only consolation is that ultimately Hibs will benefit from it but really I’d rather we made less from the game than feel like we’re being bent over again with the prices.