15/9/1952 Gordon Smith Testimonial

Hibernian 7 v 3 Manchester United

Reilly 3
    Turnbull 2
    Ormond
    Smith

Man Utd goals Rowley 2 and Pearson

Jimmy Souness dinnae play

Hibs McCracken Govan Howie Gallacher Paterson Combe Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond

Att 28000

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    15/9/1952 Gordon Smith Testimonial

Hibernian 7 v 3 Manchester United

Reilly 3
    Turnbull 2
    Ormond
    Smith

Man Utd goals Rowley 2 and Pearson

Jimmy Souness dinnae play

Hibs McCracken Govan Howie Gallacher Paterson Combe Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond

Att 28000

The Jimmy Souness game was in Manchester. So your next task is to provide full details.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    The Jimmy Souness game was in Manchester. So your next task is to provide full details.
    8/3/1952 Friendly Challenge Match

Manchester CITY 1 v 4 Hibernian

Souness 4

8/3/1952 Friendly Challenge Match

Manchester CITY 1 v 4 Hibernian

Souness 4

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
    I was only 10 at the time(I’ve always thought it was United). He was a very polite man,Jimmy,and never corrected me when I enthused about it at a BB do.

I’ll try and think of something else for you.

I was only 10 at the time(I’ve always thought it was United). He was a very polite man,Jimmy,and never corrected me when I enthused about it at a BB do.

Good cricketer I believe

And his brother Ronnie. They were also good cross country runners. All the things I was less than brilliant at

@hibs.net private member stantonhibby's Avatar

And is Jamie Gullan's grandfather!

Quote Originally Posted by stantonhibby View Post
    And is Jamie Gullan's grandfather!
    And most unfortunately died before Jamie was born.

@hibs.net private member stantonhibby's Avatar
    And most unfortunately died before Jamie was born.
    Yep....climbing accident just after he retired.

Two down three to go

Mark Fulton?

Quote Originally Posted by stantonhibby View Post
    Yep....climbing accident just after he retired.
    I worked at the company he retired from. Hearing the news that morning was the worst moment of my working life

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Mark Fulton?
    Beastie McCluskey Mark Caughey Billy Kirkwood Willie Irvine #2 and Stuart Beedie

18/8/2012 Scottish League SPL

St Mirren 1 v 2 Hibernian

Griffiths 15 61

https://youtu.be/kubuchv_uZc

Talisman Leigh Griffiths in deadly form against Danny Lennon’s top of the League Saintees drilling home the first from just inside the box and turning on a sixpence in the box after good work by Eoin Doyle in the second half

Special mention for Ben Williams with a first half penalty save and Darren McGregor of St Mirren who was stretchered off

Hibs Williams Clancy Hanlon McPake Maybury Deegan Claros Cairney Wotherspoon Griffiths and Doyle

Subs Sproule Kuqi Caldwell

Att 5000

18/8/2001 Scottish League SPL

Rangers 2 v 2 Hibernian

McManus 19
    Orman 59

https://youtu.be/XFkmwQgCNgs

Hibs took the lead when Tam McManus buried a shot from the edge of the box Rangers fought back through goals from Hughes and Flo but a glorious drive from 25 yards from Alen Orman guaranteed HIBS a share of the points

Paco Luna missed an AEK type last minute header to grab the points for the Hibees in the dying minutes

Russell Latapy started for Rangers but after initially looking lively was hooked on the hour

HIBS Colgan Fenwick Orman Sauzee Laursen Jack Murray Brebner O’Neil Brewster and McManus

Subs Luna Zitelli De La Cruz

Att 45000

18/8/1987 Scottish League Cup Round 2

Hibernian 3 v 2 Montrose

May
    Tortolano
    McCluskey

Hibs Rough Hunter McIntyre May Chisholm Mitchell Kane McGovern Cowan Collins and Tortolano

Sub McCluskey

Att 3800

18/8/1984 Scottish League Premier Division

Dundee 0 v 1 Hibernian

Bobby Thomson

HIBS Rough McKee Schaedler Sneddon Rae McNamara Callachan Jamieson Kane Rice and Thomson

Subs Brazil and McGachie

Att 7000

18/8/1982 Scottish League Cup Group 3

Clydebank 0 v 2 Hibernian

Murray
    Rae

Hibs took the lead through an early goal from Gary Murray Jackie McNamara playing a forward role in midfield picked up a bad ankle knock but refused to leave the field until Gordon Rae had secured the points in the 89th minute

HIBS McArthur Sneddon Schaedler Brazil Welsh McNamara Callachan Rae Murray Turnbull and Thomson

Subs McWilliams Rodier

Att 1414

18/8/1976 Scottish League Cup Group 4

Hibernian 1 v 1 Rangers

Ally Scott

An end to end affair with Iain Munro scoring for Rangers

Hibs McDonald Brownlie Smith Bremner Stewart Blackley Fyfe Edwards Scott Muir and Duncan

Sub MacLeod

Att 25000

18/8/1973 Scottish League Cup Group 2

Hibernian 1 v 0 Dumbarton

Gordon 8

Alan Gordon bulleted home a superb diving header for the only goal of the game

HIBS McArthur Bremner Schaedler Stanton Black Blackley Smith Edwards Gordon Munro and Cropley

Subs Duncan for Smith Higgins for Munro

Att 11318

18/8/1971 Scottish League Cup Group 1

Hibernian 2 v 0 Dundee United

Cropley
    O’Rourke pen

A long looping forward header from Johnny Hamilton allowed Alex Cropley to sprint clear and beat the offside trap dashing in at an angle to beat Hamish McAlpine with a crisp left foot strike

On 71 minutes Sodje was pulled down inside the box by Andy Rolland Jimmy O’Rourke making no mistake from the spot sending McAlpine in the opposite direction

Hibs Herriot Brownlie Schaedler O’Rourke Black Stanton Stevenson Hamilton Baker Hazel and Cropley

Att 12700

18/8/1965 Scottish League Cup Group 4

Hibernian 1 v 0 St Mirren

E Stevenson

This game probably best remembered for goalkeeper Willie Wilson going off injured with a head knock and reappearing with a bandaged head out on the right wing Peter Cormack performing admirably in goal pulling off one world class save from Saints centre forward Redpath

The only goal of the game arrived when Eric Stevenson met a fine Pat Quinn cross field ball on the volley to give the Saints goalie no chance from just outside the box

HIBS Wilson Simpson Davis Stanton McNamee Baxter Cormack Quinn Scott Martin and Stevenson

Att 8500

18/8/1962 Scottish League Cup Group 4

Hibernian 3 v 2 Third Lanark

McCormack og
    John Fraser 2

A thrilling encounter against the now defunct Third Lanark

18/8/1954 Scottish League Cup Group 2

Hibernian 2 v 0 Aberdeen

Preston 17 40

Young Tommy Preston steps up to the plate covering for the injured Lawrie Reilly

18/8/1945 Scottish Southern League

Hibernian 2 v 1 Rangers

Milne 14 77

Williamson replied for Rangers

Hibs Downie Govan Hall Finnigan Aird Kean Smith McMullen Milne Bogan and Peat

Att 30000

Birthdays

Graham Fyfe

Jimmy Harrower RIP

At Easter Road They Play John Campbell

johnsparky2

www.fitbastats.com
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 18-08-2021 at 10:10 AM.

The 1984 game against Dundee reminded of the strange situation that we used to get better attendances against some of the other mid sized clubs away from home in those days.

We'd quite often have pretty crappy home crowds like 5,000 or so, then get a massive away support against the same club.

TBF, I often preferred away matches as well, as the atmosphere was often a lot better.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    The 1984 game against Dundee reminded of the strange situation that we used to get better attendances against some of the other mid sized clubs away from home in those days.

We'd quite often have pretty crappy home crowds like 5,000 or so, then get a massive away support against the same club.

TBF, I often preferred away matches as well, as the atmosphere was often a lot better.
    The match report I read said HIBS brought up a huge travelling support

On a side note not everyone’s cup of tea but I liked Bobby Thomson for HIBS

The match report I read said HIBS brought up a huge travelling support

On a side note not everyone’s cup of tea but I liked Bobby Thomson for HIBS
    I agree with you about Bobby Thomson. Remember a Willie Miller tackle on him which was a career ending one fortunately his foot was not planted on the ground. Referee only booked Miller as he was surrounded by the whole Aberdeen team.

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    I agree with you about Bobby Thomson. Remember a Willie Miller tackle on him which was a career ending one fortunately his foot was not planted on the ground. Referee only booked Miller as he was surrounded by the whole Aberdeen team.
    Was a hard player with not too little skill maybes took it a step too far against St Johnstone

Was at the game the speed of his run towards the linesman would have left Usain Bolt in his wake.

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Was at the game the speed of his run towards the linesman would have left Usain Bolt in his wake.
    Aye looked like a push rather than the napper 😃

In the Hibs v Dundee United game was Sodje really fouled for the penalty.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    In the Hibs v Dundee United game was Sodje really fouled for the penalty.
    Sodje as in Sodjer Alex Cropley 😃

Confirmed in Match Programme No 4 1971 versus Kilmarnock another game that the emerging Crops was to score in in a 3-1 victory IIRC

19/8/2018 Scottish League Cup Round 2

Hibernian 3 v 2 Ross County

Gray 15
    Mallan 70
    Horgan 91

https://youtu.be/h045UKh7FMM

Hibs twice come from behind and grab a stoppage time winner through Daryl Horgan -scoring his first goal for the club- to face Aberdeen in the quarter finals

HIBS Laidlaw Gray Efe Porteous Stevenson Martin Mallan Hyndman Horgan Boyle and Shaw

Subs Whittaker MacLaren Hanlon

Att 8500

19/8/2006 Scottish League SPL

Hibernian 3 v 1 Motherwell

Benji
    Brown
    Jones

Moroccan flair added to the teenage kicks turned this game for HIBS Benjelloun opened the scoring and Zemmama supplied a sublime backheeled flick to leave Scott Brown a clear route on goal

Rob Jones providing the third with a superb header to show what his aerial prowess would bring to the HIBS party

Man of the Match Scott Brown can be forgiven his error in the last minute that allowed Scott MacDonald in for Motherwell’s consolation as his through ball for Benji’s goal and his sublime finish for HIBS’ second showed that this is a young man going places

Hibs Zibi Whittaker Murphy Martis Jones Thomson Stewart Zemmama Brown Benji and Fletcher

Subs Sproule Shiels Glass

Att 13275

19/8/2000 Scottish League SPL

Aberdeen 0 v 2 Hibernian

Latapy pen 5
    Paatelainen 78

Hibs Colgan T Smith G Smith McIntosh Sauzee Laursen Jack Latapy O’Neil Paatelainen and Agathe

Subs Bannerman Zitelli Lehmann

Att 13150

19/8/1998 Scottish League Cup Round 3

Hibernian 1 v 0 Aberdeen

Crawford pen

First Division Hibs’ Stevie Crawford beats Jim Leighton from the penalty spot to send Alex Miller’s Premiership table topping Aberdeen side crashing out of the League Cup

Hibs Olly Renwick Elliot Guggi Hughes Dennis Rougier Skinner Crawford Lavety and McGinlay

Sub Lovell

Att 8000

19/8/1995 Scottish League Cup Round 2

Hibernian 3 v 1 Stenhousemuir

D Jackson 2 (1 pen)
    McGinlay

The Hibees easily defeat Eamonn Bannon’s Stenny side at Easter Road

Alex Miller is not impressed by HIBS’ lazy performance and he keeps his players in the Changing Room for a 45 minute roasting

Hibs Leighton Donald Mitchell McGinlay Tweed C Jackson Weir Millen D Jackson Harper and O’Neill

Subs McAllister Miller

Att 7000

19/8/1989 Scottish League Premier Division

Hibernian 2 v 0 Rangers

Houchen
    Weir

https://youtu.be/qoCe6AbuPxE

Oh Houchey! Houchey!

Hibs defeat Rangers thanks to a drive from outside the box from Keith Houchen and a Michael Weir second half goal following a fumble from Bonni Ginzburg

Special mention to John Collins and Andy Goram who were both outstanding

Hibs Goram Kane Sneddon Cooper Mitchell Hunter Weir Orr Houchen Collins and Hamilton

Att 21000

19/8/1978 Scottish League Premier Division

Hibernian 0 v 0 Rangers

Rab Kilgour and Ralph Callachan make their debuts in an evenly contested game

Sir Alf Ramsay was at this game and he rated Jackie McNamara a very good all-round player with an excellent positional sense and was his Man of the Match

Hibs McDonald Kilgour Smith Bremner Fleming McNamara Murray MacLeod Duncan Callachan and Higgins

Subs O’Brien for Murray Rae for Callachan

Att 22500

19/8/1972 Scottish League Cup Group 2

Hibernian 3 v 0 Queen Of The South

O’Rourke 2
    Duncan

Veteran goalkeeper Alan Ball keeps the score down with brilliant saves from Stanton and Gordon among others

HIBS would win the Scottish League Cup in this season

Hibs Herriot Brownlie Schaedler Stanton Black Blackley Hamilton O’Rourke Gordon Cropley and Duncan

Att 7000

19/8/1970 Scottish League Cup Group 4

Airdrieonians 2 v 4 Hibernian

Stanton 2 (1 pen)
    McBride
    Duncan

Airdrie are awarded two penalties in the first six minutes with Gordon Marshall saving one and Mark Cowan converting the other

Second half HIBS come out of the traps flying with Stanton scoring twice Joe McBride scoring one and a screamer from Arthur Duncan

Drew Busby with a late consolation for Airdrie

Hibs Marshall Brownlie Schaedler Blackley Black Stanton Stevenson Graham McBride Hamilton and Duncan

Sub Blair for McBride

Att 4200

19/8/1967 Scottish League Cup Group 3

Hibernian 3 v 1 Clyde

Davis pen
    Cormack
    Grant

Hastings for Clyde

Hibs Allan Duncan Davis Stanton Madsen McGraw Quinn Grant Stein Cormack and Stevenson

Att 10000

19/8/1964 Scottish League Division One

Clyde 1 v 3 Hibernian

Neil Martin 2
    Jim Scott

Hibs Wilson Fraser Parke Stanton McNamee J Stevenson Hogg Hamilton Scott Martin and Cormack

Att 2374

19/8/1961 Scottish League Cup Group 1

Hibernian 2 v 2 Celtic

Kinloch 2

Hibs trail 0-2 to goals from John Hughes and Stevie Chalmers but a double from Bobby Kinloch the first a left footer from a Davy Gibson flick the second a fine header from a Stevenson lob was enough to bag a point

HIBS Simpson Fraser Grant Baxter Easton Baird E Stevenson Gibson Kinloch Preston and MacLeod

Att 24000

19/8/1959 Scottish League Division One

Hibernian 2 v 1 Aberdeen

Joe Baker 2

Willie Ormond is the provider of two excellent crosses to allow the Baker Boy to volley a double past Aberdeen incumbent Tubby Ogston to grab a first League win of the season

Hibs Wilson Grant Young Preston Plenderleith Baxter Scott Fox Baker Aitken and Ormond

Att 12000

19/8/1950 Scottish League Cup Group 2

Falkirk 4 v 5 Hibernian

Smith 23 53 88
    Turnbull 30
    Ormond 83

Brockville for Thrills as HIBS trail the Bairns 0-3 thanks to a double from former hibee Angus Plumb who scored his first in 10 seconds

Hibs fought back to make it 3-3 but Wright of Falkirk made it 4-3 from the penalty spot with his second of the match

Willie Ormond and Gordon Smith with two late late counters ensured the points went back to Easter Road

Hibs Younger Govan Cairns Howie Paterson Combe Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond

Att 18000

Birthdays

Gary Murray

Omar Konde

Danny Galbraith

The HIBS Are Here Ian Colquhoun

www.fitbastats.com
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 19-08-2021 at 10:50 AM.

51 years ago today I made my first visit to the Holyground to see Hibs vs Rangers in the League Cup quarter final first leg. Came up on the bus from Hawick, telling my mother I was at the Youth centre. A crowd of 34,000 packed into ER. I stood on the upper section of the old East terrace. Despite losing 3-1 my love affair with Hibs was cemented as we played with cavalier style down the slope
    in our famous green tops with white sleeves.

Quote Originally Posted by FilipinoHibs View Post
    51 years ago today I made my first visit to the Holyground to see Hibs vs Rangers in the League Cup quarter final first leg. Came up on the bus from Hawick, telling my mother I was at the Youth centre. A crowd of 34,000 packed into ER. I stood on the upper section of the old East terrace. Despite losing 3-1 my love affair with Hibs was cemented as we played with cavalier style down the slope
    in our famous green tops with white sleeves.
    Hibs’ cause that night not helped by conceding a goal in the first minute

Arthur ‘Nijinsky’ Duncan pulled one back at 0-2 but HIBS were caught with the sucker punch twenty minutes from the end as they went in search of the equaliser

Hibs would lose the second leg 1-3 with Johnny Graham scoring

Prior to this game HIBS had been flying and would beat Celtic 2-0 at Easter Road 10 days later with Joe McBride scoring a double one of which a swivel and shot on the turn still described as one the best goals ever seen at Easter Road

Scorers for Rangers Graham Fyfe 2 and Alfie Conn

Hibs Marshall Brownlie Schaedler Blackley Black Stanton Graham Blair McBride McEwan and Duncan

Sub Cropley for Blackley

Att 37355

Interesting images of the Celtic game

https://www.thecelticwiki.com/1970-0...ue-division-1/

Arthur ‘Nijinsky’ Duncan pulled one back at 0-2 but HIBS were caught with the sucker punch twenty minutes from the end as they went in search of the equaliser

Prior to this game HIBS had been flying and would beat Celtic 2-0 at Easter Road 10 days later with Joe McBride scoring a double one of which a swivel and shot on the turn still described as one the best goals ever seen at Easter Road

Hibs Marshall Brownlie Schaedler Blackley Black Stanton Graham Blair McBride McEwan and Duncan

Sub Cropley for Blackley

Att 37355

Thanks for brining back the memories. I think I was overcome by the excitement of my first game at ER. I can remember other matches after this one much more clearly. And not 34,000 but 37k+, I was stunned by the size of the crowd as a 14 year old.

Yip remember I used to climb to the top of Shaw Heights before every game and was knackered by the time I reached the top

What a vista. Arthur’s Seat to the left I would look down on the green postage stamp that was the pitch and watch for the teams to run out like ants

I would wait for HIBS to decide which way they were kicking and then proceed to make my way behind the respective away goal

One particular memory is John Blackley’s ball juggling prematch routine truly a joy to behold

Sub Cropley for Blackley

Att 37355

I think the 2-0 Celtic game was Tom Hart’s first as owner. McBride was great that day.

Yip confirmed in the Match Report link

I thought Willie MacFarlane was a great Manager for HIBS had us playing flowing attacking football top of the League and an eye for a player just a shame Tom Hart did not agree

Eddie Turnbull was no bad as well

Yip remember I used to climb to the top of Shaw Heights before every game and was knackered by the time I reached the top

What a vista. Arthur’s Seat to the left I would look down on the green postage stamp that was the pitch and watch for the teams to run out like ants

I would wait for HIBS to decide which way they were kicking and then proceed to make my way behind the respective away goal

One particular memory is John Blackley’s ball juggling prematch routine truly a joy to behold

I remember the changing of ends. Could never happen now with some teams.

Remember it as good natured light hearted banter apart from the Hun Celtic and Hearts who all insisted on trying to take over our Cave