Page 313 of 474 FirstFirst ... 213263303311312313314315323363413 ... LastLast
Results 9,361 to 9,390 of 14218

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Thinking you can get away with a basket at the supermarket then staggering around trying to carry the thing with 3 heavy items still to get.
    People who block the aisles in supermarkets with their trolley, completely unaware of their surroundings. Glaikit *****.

People who moan endlessly about anything and everything on HibDotNet.

Damnit, I've just criticised myself there....

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Andrew Castle. How does being a **** tennis player qualify you to present programmes about politics and the world around us?

Answer: it doesn’t. He’s an arrogant, ignorant thick as pig**** sub tabloid bore.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Thinking you can get away with a basket at the supermarket then staggering around trying to carry the thing with 3 heavy items still to get.
    My girlfriend always insists on taking a basket rather than a trolley - or in the case of a really big shop - two baskets. Annoys the hell out of me.

She always wants to walk there rather than take the car then moans at the bags cutting into her hand on the way back!

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    My girlfriend always insists on taking a basket rather than a trolley - or in the case of a really big shop - two baskets. Annoys the hell out of me.

She always wants to walk there rather than take the car then moans at the bags cutting into her hand on the way back!
    get a new girlfriend.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar

A really big shop of two whole shopping baskets?

Think I’d do this once and the next time politely tell her to **** off, take the car and a spare pound for obtaining a trolley on arrival!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    People who block the aisles in supermarkets with their trolley, completely unaware of their surroundings. Glaikit *****.
    Completely agree. They leave their trolleys in the middle of the aisles without any care or consideration. Best thing to do is bash into their trolley while looking sideways at the items, then going on to apologise for not seeing their trolley which shouldn't be there in the first place. Give it a good hit and they soon get the idea.

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    A really big shop of two whole shopping baskets?

Think I’d do this once and the next time politely tell her to **** off, take the car and a spare pound for obtaining a trolley on arrival!

let her walk, then drive yourself and meet her there

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Another supermarket one - people who treat it as some sort of social club. Chatting away blocking the aisles, blocking the shelves, letting their kids run around unattended.

Final moan of the day… online recipe website where you have to scroll past screeds of photos and text before you actually get to the recipe!

People who enter your business make an unreasonable request and when you tell them no they reply with “I will give you a bad review then”

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Block View Post
    Completely agree. They leave their trolleys in the middle of the aisles without any care or consideration. Best thing to do is bash into their trolley while looking sideways at the items, then going on to apologise for not seeing their trolley which shouldn't be there in the first place. Give it a good hit and they soon get the idea.
    I have sometimes just moved the trolley a good distance so the person looks round confused about where it has gone. Often the other end of aisle is a good one.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Another supermarket one - people who treat it as some sort of social club. Chatting away blocking the aisles, blocking the shelves, letting their kids run around unattended.
    Big time. They are a massive nuisance.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Every second work call I’m on people seem to confuse the word Pacific with specific. Now I’ve noticed it it’s driving me mad!

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Every second work call I’m on people seem to confuse the word Pacific with specific. Now I’ve noticed it it’s driving me mad!
    That's a drop in the ocean. 😉

Toothache. Finally got my tooth fixed today but the pain for the last few days was unbearable.

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Here's another to watch out for. Weather presenters saying tikuly for particularly.

When you try to help someone and they don't make any effort to help themselves.

A mate of mine shared a post on Facebook the other week from his cousin, just a young lad. Post said he had lost his job, was desperate for work, had a girlfriend and 2 year old to support and would do anything. My work has a warehouse job going, we pay well, plenty overtime if you want it and it's a good bunch of guys in there. Messaged the guy and asked him to email me a CV and I'd speak to the boss. I couldn't guarantee him the job but there would definitely have been an interview. 2, 3, 4 days pass and no CV, I've already had a word with the boss and he asks me about it. Chase the guy up, he reads the message but no response, chase him again, nothing. I thought he might have sorted himself with something, in which case not replying is a bit rude but no harm done. Then last night he's back again. Really desperate now, no one is willing to help me, will do anything etc etc.

If he had sent me that CV nearly 2 weeks ago there is a good chance he would have been working by now with a weeks pay at £11 an hour under his belt......

We have glazed double doors that look on to the garden. Currently the right hand one is wide open and the other is shut.

There's a very noisy fly that keeps buzzing about my head and and around the room. Every 2-3 minutes I hear it battering off the closed left hand door then it comes back to buzz around my head, etc. before yet again battering off the left hand door, and so on...

WTF is that all about?

Last edited by Peevemor; 28-08-2021 at 12:15 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    We have glazed double doors that look on to the garden. Currently the right hand one is wide open and the other is shut.

There's a very noisy fly that keeps buzzing about my head and and around the room. Every 2-3 minutes I hear it battering off the closed left hand door then it comes back to buzz around my head, etc. before yet again battering off the left hand door, and so on...

WTF is that all about?

The glass is possibly changing the wavelength of the sunlight, open the door and it will not be confused. 😉

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    The glass is possibly changing the wavelength of the sunlight, open the door and it will not be confused.
    It's still at it - that's about an hour now. It must have some headache!

I can tell that you're enjoying watching it 😁

WTF is that all about?

Sounds like a left pane! 😃

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar

A mate of mine shared a post on Facebook the other week from his cousin, just a young lad. Post said he had lost his job, was desperate for work, had a girlfriend and 2 year old to support and would do anything. My work has a warehouse job going, we pay well, plenty overtime if you want it and it's a good bunch of guys in there. Messaged the guy and asked him to email me a CV and I'd speak to the boss. I couldn't guarantee him the job but there would definitely have been an interview. 2, 3, 4 days pass and no CV, I've already had a word with the boss and he asks me about it. Chase the guy up, he reads the message but no response, chase him again, nothing. I thought he might have sorted himself with something, in which case not replying is a bit rude but no harm done. Then last night he's back again. Really desperate now, no one is willing to help me, will do anything etc etc.

If he had sent me that CV nearly 2 weeks ago there is a good chance he would have been working by now with a weeks pay at £11 an hour under his belt......
    Some people revel in victimhood. Absolutely revel in it.

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Curry's PC World. I had a few dealings with PC World and never had a problem - since the merger, I've had a couple of bad experiences but the latest took the biscuit.

Took my laptop in for repair under a repair policy. The policy is supposed to guarantee a 7-day fix and return. Upon handing the laptop over, I'm told I'll get it back in 11 days. I explain the policy guarantees 7 days. After some computer-staring, the employee tells me that was the PC World policy, not the Currys PC World policy.

As it happens, I had to dance this dance with them last time I had a device in for repair, so I summarise that experience and provide the reference for the employee to check the notes on the system. After about ten mins of reading, she informs me that, even if it's a 7-day policy, Covid means they won't be able to guarantee that. I ask what she means by that and she says the logistics are different. I ask what she means by that and she can't explain it. I give in and sign the docs (noting on them that I'll be making a complaint). She refuses to accept it due to my note. I ask to see a manager. She tells me she's a supervisor. I ask to see a manager. She disappears and returns alone. Without a word she accepts the paperwork, takes the laptop and hands me a docket/receipt.

On Day 10 of 11, I get a text update to advise that "Covid-19 measures have caused delay to your order" and it'll take a further three days. When I pick it up on Day 14, I ask what caused the additional delay. They tell me it was Covid. I bite my tongue from making the anti-virus joke I though of after leaving last time and have waited 14 days to crack. I ask what specifically caused the delay. The response is a blank stare.

After some verbal nudging, I get a vague, rambling explanation which includes mind-blowing revelations about a pandemic which has apparently been going on for a while, social distancing and sanitising work surfaces. I ask why none of this was forseeable when my original 7-days was extended to 11-days. The employee checks the system. We dance the old policy/new policy dance again. The exchange draws to a close when he tells me they aren't advising customers of specific Covid-delays at drop-off time. Again, I give up. He tells me he'll review what repairs were carried out. I watch him read three to four paragraphs of info before summarising for my benefit "yeah, it's fixed!"

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Kids football games 100km away from home with an 8am kick-off on a Sunday morning.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar

Jesus. Sounds like he is more after attention from social media likes than an actual job.

Tinpot clubs like Motherwell playing ned tunes after they score a goal, 2:23 of the following video for an example : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EZKGllnKLnE

People involved in Formula 1 and Formula 1 fans calling Qualifying "quali", especially Scottish people which I put in the same bracket as someone north of the border using the word "worldie", absolutely horrific.
    Last edited by CloudSquall; 30-08-2021 at 08:32 PM.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Describing competitors as tinpot. Up there with "famous" and "wee team".

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

People that don't have the balls to quote a post when taking a pot shot.