Page 311 of 474 FirstFirst ... 211261301309310311312313321361411 ... LastLast
Results 9,301 to 9,330 of 14218

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Men who can't tie a tie properly.

A few guys I know are at a wedding today and have been tagged in photos on Instagram and not one of them has a tie that's even close to passable. Seriously how can you get to between 30 and 40 year old and not have any idea how to knot a tie?

Also people who share pictures from a wedding on Instagram whilst they are still there.
    I agree but I'd say it's more an issue with men who have the requirement to wear a tie regularly, such as an office job etc, but don't learn how to do it properly. it smacks of a lack of standards.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Just_Jimmy View Post
    I agree but I'd say it's more an issue with men who have the requirement to wear a tie regularly, such as an office job etc, but don't learn how to do it properly. it smacks of a lack of standards.

I wore a tie to work from age 17 to about 46 but if I need to wear one now for a funeral or wedding I really have to think about how to tie it. Probably one for the old age thread

Pubs taking the piss with prices post lockdown. A mate of mine was in the Haymarket bar and was charged £5.80 for a pint of tennents. Thats horrendous.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    a pint of tennents. Thats horrendous.
    FTFY
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Pubs taking the piss with prices post lockdown. A mate of mine was in the Haymarket bar and was charged £5.80 for a pint of tennents. Thats horrendous.

That's a disgrace.

Never did like that place. Soul less as I recall.

Double parking, boxed in when ready to go to work, having to wait for the selfish nonchalant gits to return to their vehicles.

I hate the Haymarket Bar with a passion.

I've been in about 4 or 5 times in my life and every time there is a problem and the service is generally crap.

I was in on Friday. Went to the bar and ordered 2 Tennents. Guy pouring them made a mess of it, foam spilling everywhere, kept trying to top it up, had the nozzle right in the beer, poured some out and repeat and repeat. Took about 5 minutes to pour 2 pints. Got to a table, took a sip and it was warm and completely flat. Took it back to the bar and said we wanted fresh ones. He mumbled something about just having changed the keg. Said just give us Peroni instead and he tried to charge us an extra £2.20 because we had to have something we didn't want because of their problem. We refused and just left.

Shambles of a pub.

I've been in about 4 or 5 times in my life and every time there is a problem and the service is generally crap.

I was in on Friday. Went to the bar and ordered 2 Tennents. Guy pouring them made a mess of it, foam spilling everywhere, kept trying to top it up, had the nozzle right in the beer, poured some out and repeat and repeat. Took about 5 minutes to pour 2 pints. Got to a table, took a sip and it was warm and completely flat. Took it back to the bar and said we wanted fresh ones. He mumbled something about just having changed the keg. Said just give us Peroni instead and he tried to charge us an extra £2.20 because we had to have something we didn't want because of their problem. We refused and just left.

Shambles of a pub.
    £8 for a pint of peroni? did you call the cops?

Jesus.

£8 for a pint of peroni? did you call the cops?

Jesus.

The £2.20 extra was for the 2 pints. Which still makes it £6.50+ a pint and that's still scandalous.

Peroni is overrated as well as overpriced. It comes in a fancy glass and it's deemed more acceptable than ordering Tennents by some people so they will happily be ripped off when drinking it.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Was in Falkirk yesterday and was less than four quid a pint of either decent pale ale or Tennants, and only four quid for a nip of Laphroig 10yo.

Much more than that and it’s daylight robbery.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Dressing inappropriately. I might just be a dinosaur now, or too judgemental, or both. However was at East Links Family Park today and the amount of children, and I’m talking about 7-10 year olds, in yoga legging things and tops that in essence are little more than bras, with less of their torso covered than visible.

Maybe it’s the fact I’ve got a daughter coming up to 3 that I’m more aware of these things but I’d not want her to dress like that when she was 30 never mind as a child!
    Last edited by The Modfather; 15-08-2021 at 03:43 PM.

Shambles of a pub.
    And repeat for Ryries, 2 ridiculously expensive **** pubs.

People who put an R into the word Chicago. It’s to the best of my knowledge never had an R in its title. I’m watching the mls game and I’m sure the commentator is doing it.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    **** cover songs, specifically taking a great tune and covering it in the style of a busker. That god awful one of Robyn’s ‘Dancing On My Own’ is a prime example. Original was a banger, cover was absolutely dire and charmless.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    **** cover songs, specifically taking a great tune and covering it in the style of a busker. That god awful one of Robyn’s ‘Dancing On My Own’ is a prime example. Original was a banger, cover was absolutely dire and charmless.
    This 100%, all these cover songs sound like they are sung by the same wee posh nasally lassie, the one I hated the most was Sweet Child O Mine for AirBnB advert, I agree with everything you said and it annoys me way more than it should, it's so lazy

Quote Originally Posted by Jakhog1 View Post
    This 100%, all these cover songs sound like they are sung by the same wee posh nasally lassie, the one I hated the most was Sweet Child O Mine for AirBnB advert, I agree with everything you said and it annoys me way more than it should, it's so lazy
    I'll go the other way and say the one I hated most was "sound of silence" by demented or damaged or whatever you call him. I'm aware many people thought he did a wonderful job but for me, to misquote a common Hibs.net phrase...it was "ear bleeding"

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar

Just saw Ian Blackford on STV News and he looked like he'd tied his tie using his feet.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Just saw Ian Blackford on STV News and he looked like he'd tied his tie using his feet.
    to have achieved that would have required said foot to have been removed from his mouth so debatable.

this is a joke, for all the raging snpers. I have no issue with him.

most politicians now look like scruffy barstewards.

The £2.20 extra was for the 2 pints. Which still makes it £6.50+ a pint and that's still scandalous.

Peroni is overrated as well as overpriced. It comes in a fancy glass and it's deemed more acceptable than ordering Tennents by some people so they will happily be ripped off when drinking it.
    6.50 for a pint of lager. Nae wonder pubs are closing all over the place, when it's several times more expensive than buying the same stuff from the supermarket.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    6.50 for a pint of lager. Nae wonder pubs are closing all over the place, when it's several times more expensive than buying the same stuff from the supermarket.
    Christ I remember 8 pints for a pound and the only price increases were if the chancellor put a penny on.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Greed, that's it, greed!
    Just heard an acquaintance of mines lost their family pet.
    This guy has a massive house, multiple cars, a successful business but still wanted to make a bit more coin by jumping on the (currently) massive puppy market trend.
    With zero experience, he got his bitch pedigree forcibly pregnant (apparently the dogs were manually stimulated before throwing in to a small cage) but due to his dog being relatively young (had only been through a couple of seasons), there was complications, the puppies died in the dog and the bitch itself succumbed.
    Kids are devastated, and all for money that they don't need!

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Greed, that's it, greed!
    This guy has a massive house, multiple cars, a successful business but still wanted to make a bit more coin by jumping on the (currently) massive puppy market trend.
    With zero experience, he got his bitch pedigree forcibly pregnant (apparently the dogs were manually stimulated before throwing in to a small cage) but due to his dog being relatively young (had only been through a couple of seasons), there was complications, the puppies died in the dog and the bitch itself succumbed.
    Such people should be liable for prosecution on the grounds of animal cruelty. There needs to be licensing of animal breeders.

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Greed, that's it, greed!
    Yea greed, it will destroy the world!

Such people should be liable for prosecution on the grounds of animal cruelty. There needs to be licensing of animal breeders.

I’d extend the peeve to include the pathetic sentences handed out for animal cruelty, it infuriates me you see some of the slaps on the wrist when balanced with the suffering these people cause

Absolute manks who leave rubbish in their shopping trolleys. Went to Asda tonight and treated to a used tissue in one, 2 milkshake bottles in another and a receipt, a shopping list and a crushed fag packet in the 3rd.

Use a ****ing bin.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Absolute manks who leave rubbish in their shopping trolleys. Went to Asda tonight and treated to a used tissue in one, 2 milkshake bottles in another and a receipt, a shopping list and a crushed fag packet in the 3rd.

Use a ****ing bin.
    Or face masks. Disgusting.

I'm a real ale enthusiast. Its just not true that supermarket beer is cheap. Far from it. Its very expensive these days to buy real ale the real ale from anywhere.

If pubs are charging 6.50 a pint please don't blame supermarkets as its a completely different market altogether.

I don't think you've any idea of this issue to be frank.

Quote Originally Posted by Block View Post
    I'm a real ale enthusiast. Its just not true that supermarket beer is cheap. Far from it. Its very expensive these days to buy real ale the real ale from anywhere.

If pubs are charging 6.50 a pint please don't blame supermarkets as its a completely different market altogether.

I don't think you've any idea of this issue to be frank.

I know 6.50 for a pint of lager is bloody expensive and I can get Peroni far cheaper at the shops.

Quote Originally Posted by Block View Post
    Is that your reasoned argument is it?

As I said you don't have much understanding of the issue.

I'm a real ale enthusiast are you? Don't sound like one, bottled lager Peroni aye? Deserve to be conned out of your dough for that rubbish, expert on real ale aye?
    Have you been all the real ale all day? Nobody mentioned real ale; the post was 6.50 for a pint of lager in the pub

And no, I don't know anything about real ale and have never claimed to.

Can try that post again without the needlessly aggressive tone