Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Jackson Irvine

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    A squad and manager rebuild would see us struggle to finish above Aberdeen and potentially Hearts next season. Then there would be calls for the new manager to be punted. Rinse and repeat. Not for me.
    Hearts are *****. They'll be lucky to finish top 6.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Whilst recognising the part about Irvine having had a long period with no club, I'm not so sure about having had no chance to show what he capable. He's certainly played plenty of games.

If he 's been played out of position, I wonder, what is his actual best position? A lot of people mention this when discussing him, yet I'm no clearer as to what that position would be.

I also wonder why we couldn't find a central midfield blend that accommodates this from Gogic, Hallberg, Irvine, Murphy and Newell (appreciate that Murphy has had lengthy period of injury)? Whoops, forgot to add Magennis.
    I think Saints have shown that it's not about how good each individual player is; it's about the right blend and playing as a unit.
    I'd go as far as suggesting that bar the OF, all SPL teams would be highly jealous of the collection of individuals we have for midfield.
    Gogic, Hallberg, Irvine, Murphy, Newell, Magennis, Allan, Mallan.
    Gogic - does what it says on the tin.
    Hallberg - strikes me as a versatile squad player as back-up, not a sure-fire starter.
    The rest - file under inconsistent or flatters to deceive.

With that many decent footballers for midfield slots, it is inevitable that some will be unhappy at not getting enough game time. Could we offload two and use any fees and the combined wage to get one in who will be a significant upgrade and help us get the right blend?
    Dunno who mind.

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Martin Boyle and Jackson Irvine joined the Socceroos training camp in the Middle East today ahead of their 3 World Cup qualifiers being played in Kuwait in early June.

Seeing as Irvine’s contract expires on 31/5 and nothing has been announced and he won’t be back until after his contract ends, I’m guessing we won’t see him in a Hibs strip again.
    He’s taking a chance playing for Australia without a club contract, if he gets injured he’s out the game with no earnings. I doubt he’ll even have insurance to play.

Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post
    He’s taking a chance playing for Australia without a club contract, if he gets injured he’s out the game with no earnings. I doubt he’ll even have insurance to play.
    I suppose that is a consideration but I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s all taken care of by his next club, with whom he may have already signed some sort of contract.

Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post
    The Australian FA will have insurance.

Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    No one knows what they'll be like next season, but I hope you're right.

I just a wee look at their squad on the website, the only player of theres I would have is Craig Gordon.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Irvine was supposed to be the crucial missing link who had the qualities to transform the midfield. A bit like McCrorie was meant to do or that Campbell would do too.

In reality he hasn’t done much more than any of the other players we’ve had playing in that position. Not sure he’d justify what he’d probably be looking for to stay.

Personally i'd like to keep hold of as many players that got us to 3rd and a cup final, most in their first season here. Good platform to build on.

Quote Originally Posted by Onion View Post
    You're not serious however you would like to think Hibs will be carrying out an honest post mortem on that Cup Final, rather than writing it off as a bad day at the office as so many on this board want to. The performance suggests there was something deeply wrong with many of the players attitude/mindset from start to finish and Hibs need to get to the root if it. If part of the solution is moving players on, so be it, but a nuclear destruction of the whole squad feels a bit OTT.
    To be fair, I don’t think I’ve seen too many write off last Saturday as a bad day at the office. If any at all.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    I just a wee look at their squad on the website, the only player of theres I would have is Craig Gordon.
    The addition of Boyce and Soutter (if you could guarantee his fitness) would see us almost ready for next season

Isn’t that what we said before the semi-final🤔

Quote Originally Posted by CMurdoch View Post
    The addition of Boyce and Soutter (if you could guarantee his fitness) would see us almost ready for next season
    Boyce over either Nisbet or Doidge would be a massive downgrade. Souttar wouldn't granted, but I don't think I would take him over Porteous. If Ryan can re-evaluate his job as a defender and cut the rash errors that have plagued him this season absolutely not. I would take Kerr in over both of them though.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Decent enough player but for the money I think we could do better or same for less. Need goals and a bit more creativity from our midfield in general.

Quote Originally Posted by hibee-boys View Post
    Isn’t that what we said before the semi-final🤔
    and they didn’t finish top 6.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    They seem to be of the opinion they will have a WOW signing which they think will be Snodgrass, they are also signing Shankland and probably Campbell. This is kickback of course

Quote Originally Posted by makaveli1875 View Post
    We didn't win it though . Our midfield got well and truly owned and Irvine was posted missing for most of the game .

Not going to judge a player on one game

Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post
    They seem to be of the opinion they will have a WOW signing which they think will be Snodgrass, they are also signing Shankland and probably Campbell. This is kickback of course
    All joking aside id love us to sign Snodgrass. Exactly the type of player and character i think we need after last Saturday. Pretty unrealistic i'd have thought though.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenio View Post
    Irvine played 21 games, you could probably offer some view on his overall performances in those.

My own opinion is that he contributed well enough, but never really stood out for anything in particular. He wasn’t a goal scoring threat, nor did he seem particularly robust in his play.

I reckon the side performed better in the 15 league games he played in than they did in the 15 immediately preceding his arrival and therefore my assumption is that he made us a better side without being all that clear about what he does best.
    Last edited by superfurryhibby; 28-05-2021 at 03:07 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post
    Irvine played 21 games, you could probably offer some view on his overall performances in those.

My own opinion is that he contributed well enough, but never really stood out for anything in particular. He wasn’t a goal scoring threat, nor did he seem particularly robust in his play.

I reckon the side performed better in the 15 league games he played in than they did in the 15 immediately preceding his arrival and therefore my assumption overall is that he made us a better side without being all that clear about what he does best.

I think he covers a lot of ground, isn't afraid to get stuck in and, most importantly, is the player I always felt was willing to plant a pass at the feet of a running forward.

Him and Cadden made a really positive impact and he's been he had more good games than be has bad.

I'd say if we went back and averaged out the players scores from 'This is what it feels like' (because that imo is the most reliable source of impartial player ratings!) I'd bet he'd be a solid 7.5

No but he's not really been up to much in most games , and his performance in the final was shocking .

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    I think he covers a lot of ground, isn't afraid to get stuck in and, most importantly, is the player I always felt was willing to plant a pass at the feet of a running forward.

Him and Cadden made a really positive impact and he's been he had more good games than be has bad.

I'd say if we went back and averaged out the players scores from 'This is what it feels like' (because that imo is the most reliable source of impartial player ratings!) I'd bet he'd be a solid 7.5
    Good analysis and probably fairer than mine.

I want to see more of Cadden. He's a big signing, but he never settled into the side, then scunnered by the injury.

@hibs.net private member Scottie's Avatar
    They are ***** but they will still take too many points of us next season as usual.

Back on topic Jackson Irvine flatters to deceive, absolute passenger in recent games. Get rid and free a wage up. Couldn't hit a barn door wi a banjo.

@hibs.net private member jeffers's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Half Pint View Post
    They are ***** but they will still take too many points of us next season as usual.

Back on topic Jackson Irvine flatters to deceive, absolute passenger in recent games. Get rid and free a wage up. Couldn't hit a barn door wi a banjo.
    You could substitute Joe Newell for Jackson Irvine in your last sentence and it would be accurate.

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    All joking aside id love us to sign Snodgrass. Exactly the type of player and character i think we need after last Saturday. Pretty unrealistic i'd have thought though.
    Snodgrass will be 34 shortly after the season starts so not much magic left in the tank

Quote Originally Posted by CMurdoch View Post
    Snodgrass will be 34 shortly after the season starts so not much magic left in the tank
    Come on he’s played well in premiership and championship lately..more than enough for a few seasons up here surely ?

@hibs.net private member Scottie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffers View Post
    You could substitute Joe Newell for Jackson Irvine in your last sentence and it would be accurate.
    Yes would band Newell in same category as Irvine ******g useless. Personally would like them both out and replace with anyone that didn’t blow out their erchie after 5 minutes

Quote Originally Posted by Half Pint View Post
    Yes would band Newell in same category as Irvine ******g useless. Personally would like them both out and replace with anyone that didn’t blow out their erchie after 5 minutes
    Neither of them do that.

We need midfielders who stamp their authority on a game, tackle like their lives depend on it, control the centre circle and have an eye for goal.

As much as I like an elegant player with an eye for a clever pass, Jackson is none of the above

In my opinion, Jackson Irvine is a terrific player. Industrious, skillful and always looking for the ball. Unfortunately, the chance that he was afforded in the final was missed, I rose out of my chair to celebrate the goal when it came to him but it was not to be. I hope its not the last time we see him in a Hibs jersey as he's definitely a player we'll miss.