Page 10 of 37 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    I know how we’ve done historically comes up quite a bit but I think you can only really judge on what we’ve seen this season. I think we’ve got an advantage over most of the league this year with the way we’ve invested in the team in a way that others haven’t or can’t. It’s not that he doesn’t deserve any credit for getting top four secured early doors, I just think it’s the minimum requirement this year. Going on to get third moves it from a decent season to a good season for me. And it also gets him some credit back, from me at least, that he lost with the cup disappointments.
    3rd would be an excellent season...good is a wee bit understated...weve only finished 3rd 4 times in like 40 years

Quote Originally Posted by Borderhibbie76 View Post
    3rd would be an excellent season...good is a wee bit understated...weve only finished 3rd 4 times in like 40 years
    For me, it’s just the disappointment of the missed opportunities in the cup that prevent it from feeling like an excellent season. It probably feels less excellent because I’m not there either, I’m never going to look back or have any real memories of this season.

As I say, if we get third (which I think we will) Ross gets a fair bit of goodwill from me that wasn’t there not so long ago.

If we finish 3rd and had won either of the cups it would have been one of the best seasons in the clubs history and we'd have found it difficult to hold on to the manager. I think we'll be even stronger next season and will be able to dangle the carrot of European football in front of potential signings. We could always still win this season's SC right enough.

Supporting Hibs is finished now, expectations have gone through the roof with nothing to back it up, and remember we were playing diddy league football 5 minutes ago for 3 years.

What expectations are you seeing that are through the roof?

Winning cups and 4th place finishes expected as normal.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    When you’re down to a last 4 of us, Livi, St Johnstone snd St Mirren is it unrealistic to expect us to win it?

I don’t think the expectations to win trophies are there when the old firm are still involved.

For most of my time supporting Hibs, any manager not delivering along those lines have found themselves out the door. Don’t think expectations have changed really. Possibly been higher this season due to the positions we’ve found ourselves in.

I think you’re reading what you want to read and ignoring the parts where folk are saying anything positive, so you can have a moan at them for moaning (even when they’re not really moaning).

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    When you’re down to a last 4 of us, Livi, St Johnstone snd St Mirren is it unrealistic to expect us to win it?

I don’t think the expectations to win trophies are there when the old firm are still involved.
    I thought we had a chance, but i did not for one minute expect us to win it as a given.

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    For me, it’s just the disappointment of the missed opportunities in the cup that prevent it from feeling like an excellent season. It probably feels less excellent because I’m not there either, I’m never going to look back or have any real memories of this season.

As I say, if we get third (which I think we will) Ross gets a fair bit of goodwill from me that wasn’t there not so long ago.
    This for me. All things considered it's been a good season but it's essentially a 2 horse race for 3rd so good to achieve that but blowing huge opportunities in both cups means it's more 'good' than 'excellent' imo.

Quote Originally Posted by Speedy View Post
    This for me. All things considered it's been a good season but it's essentially a 2 horse race for 3rd so good to achieve that but blowing huge opportunities in both cups means it's more 'good' than 'excellent' imo.
    3 weeks ago there were folk howling at the moon, and wanting everyone sacked bar the tea lady.

Quote Originally Posted by Speedy View Post
    If it’s a two horse race for third, then surely it was a two horse race for the cups that we would never have been in?

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    I don't think people understand how massive 3rd would be. Hibs in the groupstages of Europe would be absolutely amazing. I think we're gonna do it and we're gonna benefit massively from it next season.
    Could I just check if other people’s understanding is the same as mine?

Just been reading various details about the UEFA Conference League format, and it looks to me that the if we finish 3rd (and just say that the Scottish Cup is not completed or is won by Rangers/Celtic) then this does still not guarantee us a group place in the new UEFA Conference League group stages. This contradicts what a lot of people have been saying that we are guaranteed a place.

From what I have read, we would enter the UEFA Europa League at the 3rd qualifying round, but as far as I can see you then have to negotiate the ‘Play off’ round. And it’s the 10 losers of the Play off round that go straight into the UEFA Conference League, not the losers of the 3rd qualifying round.

Or am I reading this wrong?

3 weeks ago there were folk howling at the moon, and wanting everyone sacked bar the tea lady.
    I wanted the tea lady out to be honest. Using Spar own brand when the Tetley ran out was disgusting and cowardly. She can't even make a big pot of tea, always bottles it and makes loads of wee pots instead. Aye she successfully made loads of them but is one big pot too much to ask?

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    I wanted the tea lady out to be honest. Using Spar own brand when the Tetley ran out was disgusting and cowardly. She can't even make a big pot of tea, always bottles it and makes loads of wee pots instead. Aye she successfully made loads of them but is one big pot too much to ask?

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    She can't even make a big pot of tea, always bottles it and makes loads of wee pots instead. ?
    Wee pots would be handy for all the bedwetters on here to keep bedside. Would save a lot of laundry 😁

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Hibs v Juventus under the lights at Easter Road and singing "just a ***** Flo Kamberi" at Ronaldo? I'll have some of that. Can only hope eh.

@hibs.net private member mayo hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wallpaperman View Post
    Could I just check if other people’s understanding is the same as mine?

Just been reading various details about the UEFA Conference League format, and it looks to me that the if we finish 3rd (and just say that the Scottish Cup is not completed or is won by Rangers/Celtic) then this does still not guarantee us a group place in the new UEFA Conference League group stages. This contradicts what a lot of people have been saying that we are guaranteed a place.

From what I have read, we would enter the UEFA Europa League at the 3rd qualifying round, but as far as I can see you then have to negotiate the ‘Play off’ round. And it’s the 10 losers of the Play off round that go straight into the UEFA Conference League, not the losers of the 3rd qualifying round.

Or am I reading this wrong?
    You are reading it wrong. We would go into the playoff round of the Europa League - if we won the playoff we would get Europa League groups, if we lost the playoff we would get Europa Conference groups. Either way we'd be guaranteed group stage football and a minimum of eight European games (two playoff games plus six group games).

Top three from the Europa League groups and top two from the Europa Conference groups qualify to play knockout European football after Christmas so not beyond possibility that we (or whoever the Scottish team that qualifies is) could get more games beyond the guaranteed eight also.

If the Scottish cup is played and we finish 3rd in league but don't win cup what would our route be to the groups.

If Celtic or Rangers win the cup we would still be guaranteed the groups. If someone else wins the cup and takes the group spot we would have to start from way back in Round 2 of the Europa qualifiers, so little or no chance of much progression from there unfortunately.

Quote Originally Posted by hibbysam View Post
    ‘Vastly inferior’ - St Johnstone have lost twice in months, both against the old firm. Without going over old ground, we were favourites and should’ve won, but let’s not pretend it was Queens Park or Stenhousemuir we were playing.
    St Johnstone went into the semi final off the back of 2 wins in 13 matches against top level opposition.

I wouldn't say they were vastly inferior but it was a dreadful result and (second half) performance.

And I say that as someone who is currently happy with where we are in the league and looking forward to the prospect of group stage European football next season but the two semi final results remain pretty big blots on the copybook for me.

Quote Originally Posted by mayo hibee View Post
    If Celtic or Rangers win the cup we would still be guaranteed the groups. If someone else wins the cup and takes the group spot we would have to start from way back in Round 2 of the Europa qualifiers, so little or no chance of much progression from there unfortunately.
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    St Johnstone went into the semi final off the back of 2 wins in 13 matches against top level opposition.

I wouldn't say they were vastly inferior but it was a dreadful result and (second half) performance.

And I say that as someone who is currently happy with where we are in the league and looking forward to the prospect of group stage European football next season but the two semi final results remain pretty big blots on the copybook for me.
    Agree they were always going to be tricky opponents and our record against them isn't great at all however no way on this earth should we have been losing 3 0 and basically throwing the towel in second half.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Agree they were always going to be tricky opponents and our record against them isn't great at all however no way on this earth should we have been losing 3 0 and basically throwing the towel in second half.
    Our confidence was a bit shot back then. You just knew when they scored it was game over. Dominating but not scoring/winning was definitely becoming a psychological thing. Credit to the management team for sorting it out.

Our last two semis with St Johnstone I think we were pretty fortune to win so they were probably due that one. Sore as it was.
    Last edited by Since452; 21-02-2021 at 05:20 PM.

Our confidence was a bit shot back then. You just knew when they scored it was game over. Dominating but not scoring/winning was definitely becoming a psychological thing. Credit to the management team for sorting it out.

Our last two semis with St Johnstone I think we were pretty fortune to win so they were probably due that one. Sore as it was.
    Probably fair enough. Definitely agree done well to turn it round.

Quote Originally Posted by mayo hibee View Post
    You are reading it wrong. We would go into the playoff round of the Europa League - if we won the playoff we would get Europa League groups, if we lost the playoff we would get Europa Conference groups. Either way we'd be guaranteed group stage football and a minimum of eight European games (two playoff games plus six group games).

Top three from the Europa League groups and top two from the Europa Conference groups qualify to play knockout European football after Christmas so not beyond possibility that we (or whoever the Scottish team that qualifies is) could get more games beyond the guaranteed eight also.
    Thanks Mayo. On looking at Wikipedia again, it appears that Russia, Scotland and Denmark have got lucky in that this is the first year of the new tournament.

Normally, where we are, we would have gone into the 3rd qualifying round which guarantees nothing, but Scotland and Denmark have got a bit of a break by going straight to the play off round, guaranteeing at least UEFA Conference League group stages.

This is from Wiki;

In the default access list, the title holders of the UEFA Europa Conference League qualify for the group stage. However, since this berth is not used for this season, the following changes to the access list are made:
    • The cup winners of association 7 (Russia) enter the group stage instead of the play-off round.
    • The cup winners of associations 13 (Denmark) and 14 (Scotland) enter the play-off round instead of the third qualifying round.

Phew
    Last edited by wallpaperman; 21-02-2021 at 06:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post

And we went into it with one win, one draw and 3 defeats in our 5 prior to it. They were also unbeaten in 4 prior to it with a win and 3 draws. My point being that St Johnstone have now gone 11 games only losing to Rangers and Celtic. They’re not some gang that was put together that day. We fell to bits which was unacceptable, however taking our chances we would’ve been out of sight. Saying they are ‘vastly inferior’ to us is just wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by wallpaperman View Post
    Thanks Mayo. On looking at Wikipedia again, it appears that Russia, Scotland and Denmark have got lucky in that this is the first year of the new tournament.

Normally, where we are, we would have gone into the 3rd qualifying round which guarantees nothing, but Scotland and Denmark have got a bit of a break by going straight to the play off round, guaranteeing at least UEFA Conference League group stages.

This is from Wiki;

In the default access list, the title holders of the UEFA Europa Conference League qualify for the group stage. However, since this berth is not used for this season, the following changes to the access list are made:
    • The cup winners of association 7 (Russia) enter the group stage instead of the play-off round.
    • The cup winners of associations 13 (Denmark) and 14 (Scotland) enter the play-off round instead of the third qualifying round.

Phew
    Yes, that's right. The other good news is that our country coefficient will be high enough next season that we won't need the favour for the year after, we will be in the top 12 ranked nations so there will be another group spot going for a Scottish team in 2022-23.

I think Sevco winning today means we can't win the league this season. Need to settle for second.

So when do we think about changing the title to ‘Countdown to 2nd place’?