Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Got caught up in the Arsenal drinking culture. Was some player in full flow. Media were looking at him as the next George Best.
    According to a friend of a friend who knows him, it was that very drinking which caused him to miss out on "fun" with Olivia Newton John.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Did that really happen Hibs players paid for a prostitute on his 18th birthday?

I liked the story that he was standing at a Bus Stop in Powderhall and a car pulls up

“ Hi Arthur what are you doing through here?”

That was the first he knew he was on the way out

He didnae want to leave HIBS

He reckoned we were a better club with a better team and better players

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    Ahh right. Incredible a ladies team down south were wearing this same icon kit same time as our Tornadoes.

Was gutted when Marinello was transferred - I was young and he was the coolest looking player in Scotland by a mile.

Young Nello was one of Edinburgh’s mod crew , Lambrettas and hung out in Mr Smiths on Lothian Road.

I remember watching him glide past opposition players knocking the ball from left foot to right foot or vice versa without breaking stride.

I used to practice same move out the backgreen against the clothes poles.

The clothes poles usually won.

I loved watching Hibs in the late sixties. We had some great players. Marinello was very fast. We encountered him in Inverleith Park once playing football with his mates.

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    I liked the story that he was standing at a Bus Stop in Powderhall and a car pulls up

he was correct.

was a shame that we lost him, good player and a good looking lad. Cool as f***.

Quote Originally Posted by Pagan Hibernia View Post
    he was correct.

was a shame that we lost him, good player and a good looking lad. Cool as f***.

Remember we beat the Hun 3-1 at Ibrox Marinello scored twice playing through the middle and Joe McBride got the other

I ran down to the local newsagents to buy a Sports Pink and there it was for all the world to see:

’ Punchinello Rocks The ‘Gers!’

Pretty sure that HIBS team beat Hearts Celtic and Rangers all away from home and we were top of the League at Christmas
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 09-02-2021 at 02:03 PM.

I spoke to Willie McFarlane the day he was sold. He told me that he'd just picked Arsenal's pocket for a hundred grand for Marinello. I said it was disappointing and he then said that he'd signed a replacement who would still be playing long after Peter's career would be over.

I remember his debut on a frozen pitch at Starks Park on Jan 2. The game finished 2 2 & Nello was one of 6 local Hibs supporting players in the team. The others were Willie Wilson, King Pat, Peter Cormack, Eric the rebel & Jim O was a sub. I used to love the games on Jan 2, another great tradition gone.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Found the following article from four four two magazine from 2007, which pieces a bit more of the jigsaw together.

http://www.fourfourtwo.com/features/...-happened-next

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    I remember his debut on a frozen pitch at Starks Park on Jan 2. The game finished 2 2 & Nello was one of 6 local Hibs supporting players in the team. The others were Willie Wilson, King Pat, Peter Cormack, Eric the rebel & Jim O was a sub. I used to love the games on Jan 2, another great tradition gone.
    Willie Wilson was a Jambo

I worked beside him for 20 years

A nicer guy you could not hope to meet

They won the double the following season 😂

Alex Cropley got it right when he said the same thing almost five years later.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    I spoke to Willie McFarlane the day he was sold. He told me that he'd just picked Arsenal's pocket for a hundred grand for Marinello. I said it was disappointing and he then said that he'd signed a replacement who would still be playing long after Peter's career would be over.
    Arthur Duncan was a magnificent signing by Willie McFarlane, as was his full back, Erich Schaedler.

Willie Wilson was a Jambo

I worked beside him for 20 years

A nicer guy you could not hope to meet

i think I remember hearing that marinello was a jambo?

find it hard to believe, myself. No hearts fan I’ve ever known has been as cool or stylish as that.

Was brought up in Broomhouse and supported Hearts up to age 10

Changed allegiance when the family moved to Cannon Mills and he went to ‘Tony’s

Quote Originally Posted by Ray_ View Post
    They won the double the following season 😂

Alex Cropley got it right when he said the same thing almost five years later.
    Ha Ha!

Yeah he said that Bertie Mee told him that George Armstrong likes to backtrack to help out the defence not just stand on the wing waiting on the ball

Peter was back up the road in 2016 and was at the LC semi against St Johnstone
    He was asked about his "team" in an interview that week and said Hearts when the family lived in Saughton.
    Changed to Hibs when they flitted to Powderhall.
    Peer pressure ,maybe!!

I got to know Peter in the 1980s
    Our sons played for the same youth team.
    Peter is a Hibby !!
    I was at Ibrox that day Peter tore them apart
    On that performance alone it was a nap clubs would come calling,and we would sell.

A bookie owned us and a bookie managed us then
    No ambition
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 09-02-2021 at 07:38 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    He was asked about his "team" in an interview that week and said Hearts when the family lived in Saughton.
    Peer pressure ,maybe!!

Peter is a Hibby !!
    On that performance alone it was a nap clubs would come calling,and we would sell.

No ambition
    Willie wasn’t a bookie then. He ran a very successful plant hire company.His income dropped when he came to Hibs. He had plenty ambition for success at the club and was prepared to fight his corner when Tom Hart took over.Arthur Duncan was always going to have a better career than Peter Marinello So it was a good move all round.

Quote Originally Posted by brog View Post
    My brother and I were at that game. We had no idea who he was as in these days the team didn’t change much.

As a nipper, I lived just off the Prom at Porty and I'd regularly run in to the two Peter's [Cormack & marinello] walking along the Prom and as I'd invariably be in my Hibs strip they never failed to have a chat. I remember their last season, the early season wins at Tynie & Parkhead and being at Ibrox with a Rangers supporting school mate that October [69], watching Marinello 2 and the goal machine, Joe McBride putting us top of the league with a 3-1 win. I also remember the lead up to the NY derby, being distraught with the news that Peter Marinello had gone to Arsenal and his big mate, was sent off that day for retaliation after again being chopped down by Peter Oliver in what had become a traditional 0-0 derby NY draw. Less than four months later playing football on the Prom, just four days after Peter Cormack got a brace in a 4-1 win against St Johnstone my pal showed me the back page of the Evening News which was about Matt Gillies [stealing] Peter Cormack for Forest for 80k. I wanted Harrower to go there and then as a few days earlier, after the game, I was heading for my regular post match home game visit to my grans, mimicking PC's high kicking style as I ran along the road.

Less than 18 month later, Harrower was long gone, we dominated the derby & the two Peter's had effectively been replaced by the two Alex's, Edwards and Cropley and we had the added bonuses of Arthur Duncan and Alan Gordon.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    Peer pressure ,maybe!!

Peter is a Hibby !!

No ambition

After the semi final win against St Johnstone, my brother and I and a few mates bumped into Peter and John Murphy in Mathers in the West End. We were with them a good hour and what great company they were! Kept us fed on Hibs stories and their love for the Hibs shone through.
    Must confess I always thought John Murphy was an ex HC boy but he actually went to Carrickvale (Forresters for younger readers). John played in a memorable game as well (4-1 when we gubbed them at Tynecastle.

On a footnote, the 3-1 game against the Rangers at Ibrox, I'm sure that day Rangers brought in a young guy who was going to be their next great star of the future. Brian Heron was his name I think and he was considered to be very pacey Peter actually destroyed him that day and the poor guy was punted to Motherwell where I think he faded.

Quote Originally Posted by DanishJohn View Post
    After the semi final win against St Johnstone, my brother and I and a few mates bumped into Peter and John Murphy in Mathers in the West End. We were with them a good hour and what great company they were! Kept us fed on Hibs stories and their love for the Hibs shone through.
    Must confess I always thought John Murphy was an ex HC boy but he actually went to Carrickvale (Forresters for younger readers). John played in a memorable game as well (4-1 when we gubbed them at Tynecastle.

On a footnote, the 3-1 game against the Rangers at Ibrox, I'm sure that day Rangers brought in a young guy who was going to be their next great star of the future. Brian Heron was his name I think and he was considered to be very pacey Peter actually destroyed him that day and the poor guy was punted to Motherwell where I think he faded.
    I'm sure Brian Heron & Bobby Watson went to Motherwell in the deal that saw Peter McCloy join Rangers. From what I remember of Brian Heron he was a very good winger for Motherwell and he played very few games for Rangers [under 10]. Bobby Watson also done well for the Fir Park club and McCloy became a Rangers legend.

Auld fitba

Motherwell 2 v 3 Hibernian

Peter Marinello playing against the Hibees

https://youtu.be/CnFn0DB1Zmk

That’s the thing I was very aware of as I was just starting secondary school and going to every home game late 60’s/early 70’s - our players seemed so different from Hearts. We had Marinello, Cormack, Stanton, ORourke, Schaedler, Blackley, Cropley coming through.. They seemed younger looking, lighter, bright, cooler - they moved with the ball completely differently. Hearts seemed to have old looking sensible bores like Anderson, Busby, Wilson, Ford, Brown, then the likes of Jeffries (glaikit). I imagined they dressed like my dad. Obviously I was being a bit biased but I think the clubs were culturally miles apart even then.

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    That’s the thing I was very aware of as I was just starting secondary school and going to every home game late 60’s/early 70’s - our players seemed so different from Hearts. We had Marinello, Cormack, Stanton, ORourke, Schaedler, Blackley, Cropley coming through.. They seemed younger looking, lighter, bright, cooler - they moved with the ball completely differently. Hearts seemed to have old looking sensible bores like Anderson, Busby, Wilson, Ford, Brown, then the likes of Jeffries (glaikit). I imagined they dressed like my dad. Obviously I was being a bit biased but I think the clubs were culturally miles apart even then.
    yep. My views exactly. And I guess I consider hearts fans to be like that too. Of course it’s a complete stereotype with probably not an ounce of truth to it, but it’s funny how stereotypes stick.

they see us as dirty peg-selling gypsies and hobos, “vermin” is a word they’re very fond of over on the oneleagueback forum.

we see them as dour, cardigan wearing, rover driving tories, partial to lunch at the golf club and dull missionary sex.

ah well.

Auld fitba

Cracking game!

Bobby Hutchinson...that's a name I'd forgotten. I was a big Starsky and Hutch fan in those childhood days and used to think his surname was quite glamorous

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    Cracking game!

Bobby Hutchinson...that's a name I'd forgotten. I was a big Starsky and Hutch fan in those childhood days and used to think his surname was quite glamorous
    Went on to Captain Bristol City in a cup winning team at Wembley IIRC

Auld fitba

Ally McLeod, what a player

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Ally McLeod, what a player
    Quality

Quality
    I played a couple of games in the junior ranks with Peter (his mate was the manager) he was done and didn’t fancy some bam looking for a trophy tackle and who would blame him. I gave him and the manager a lift to the west port to his pub after the game. Really nice guy