Page 39 of 93 FirstFirst ... 2937383940414989 ... LastLast
Results 1,141 to 1,170 of 2779
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    That season we drew 18 out of 36 league games.

Incidentally, is that the year that Tom Hart wouldn't allow the games at ER to be shown on TV?

I can't remember what the reason was for it but it was definitely around that time.
    That match was originally scheduled for 3rd January but was postponed until the 5th because of a frozen pitch

Tom Hart had a bee in his bonnet over televised matches I think he thought there was too much footie on TV IIRC ?

1977/78 the following season with shirt sponsors Bukta brought TV coverage issues to the fore

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    That match was originally scheduled for 3rd January but was postponed until the 5th because of a frozen pitch

Tom Hart had a bee in his bonnet over televised matches I think he thought there was too much footie on TV IIRC ?

1977/78 the following season with shirt sponsors Bukta brought TV coverage issues to the fore

Yeah I think we had to have two strips, one with the sponsor's name and one with just the badge for TV games.

It's totally crazy in retrospect, given that nearly every club now has a sponsor's name on the shirt

Remember the 2-2 match under Butcher. Our collapse in that game was unreal. Dundee United should have won as Williams should have been penalised (and possibly sent off) .

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Remember the 2-2 match under Butcher. Our collapse in that game was unreal. Dundee United should have won as Williams should have been penalised (and possibly sent off) .
    I would go further, I think it was the start of the slide to relegation.

We had just beaten Hearts and were 2-0 up at Tannadice, it went pear shaped from there.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    I would go further, I think it was the start of the slide to relegation.

We had just beaten Hearts and were 2-0 up at Tannadice, it went pear shaped from there.
    Agree with that. Sure I heard he went mental at the players for throwing away a 2 goal lead. Told them that they wouldn't be here at the end of the season, Mr Motivator. We all know how that ended up.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Agree with that. Sure I heard he went mental at the players for throwing away a 2 goal lead. Told them that they wouldn't be here at the end of the season, Mr Motivator. We all know how that ended up.
    This place does that every time we lose

6/1/2017 Scottish League Championship

Hibernian 3 v 0 Dundee United

Cummings 6 26
    SJM 81

Hibernian got sweet revenge for the 0-1 loss at Tannadice at the beginning of December with a comprehensive win over their promotion rivals

Jason Cummings with a quick fire double and a strike from substitute Super John McGinn opened up a four point gap at the top of the Championship

Hibs Laidlaw Gray McGregor Hanlon Stevenson Bartley McGeouch Humphrey Commons Boyle and Cummings

Subs McGinn Keatings Graham

Att 18786

6/1/1987 Scottish League Premier Division

Hibernian 2 v 2 Hearts

McCluskey
    Weir

HIBS came out the traps flying with Mickey Weir on one wing and Joe McBride on the other causing Hearts all sorts of problems

HIBS took the lead after 10 minutes when Henry Smith might have done better with an angled drive from George McCluskey but he allowed the ball to squirm through his hands and in off the back post

Hearts took the lead with two lobs from distance from John Colquhoun that seemed to deceive Alan Rough as he lost sight of the ball under the lights and the ball flew high past him both times with snow on it

For once HIBS looked as though they wanted to win this derby and they pushed forwards in numbers

HIBS equalised through Mickey Weir who prodded a McCluskey cross over the line shortly after he had squandered an easier chance to score past the post and had another effort booted off the Hearts goal-line

Into the second half and Hearts were seen more as an attacking force. The pace of the game did not give up with no quarter spared but Hearts even although they were the dominant team were unable to beat Alan Rough who pulled off two magnificent saves from John Robertson

Robertson and Kidd and Dougie Bell of HIBS were all booked in the second half

Hibs Rough Sneddon McIntyre Mitchell Rae Bell Weir Kane McCluskey Cowan and McBride

Att 24000

6/1/1973 Scottish League Division One

Hibernian 1 v 0 East Fife

Gordon 90

The day the music died

Going to this game every hibby had a wee warm glow full of anticipation and expectation after 0-7

Yes East Fife were a dirty spoiling physical team but surely we had enough quality in our individual lockers to overcome them,

The match started with John Love marking Alex Edwards tightly doing everything in his power to stop him playing by fair means or foul

East Fife were using spoiling tactics and it seemed to be working as Referee David Syme seemed to be unable to see through their crude but effective game plan showing leniency toward the away team and ruining the game as a spectacle as it turned into an ill tempered affair

The definitive moment came when John Brownlie set off on a dangerous attack just on the half way line going uphill Alex Edwards on his outside shouted for him to knock the ball down the line he stretched to do so and collided with HIBS supporting left back Ian Printy

There was a loud crack and everyone inside the ground knew it was a bad one John Brownlie was stretchered off with a broken tib and fib

Brownlie was replaced by Johnny Hamilton and the game continued in the same vein with HIBS pressing forward trying to play football and score goals and East Fife spoiling at every turn

To compound matters Alex Edwards rose to the bait as he always did and got booked for throwing the ball away taking him over the disciplinary threshold that would lead to a ten game ban

Alan Gordon would head home a Johnny Hamilton cross in the last minute to win the game

It would be the last game that the Tornadoes would play together

They only played 22 games together winning 18 drawing two and losing two scoring 71 goals and conceding 22

Hibs Herriot Brownlie Schaedler Stanton Black Blackley Edwards O’Rourke Gordon Cropley and Duncan

Sub Hamilton

Att 17068

6/1/1968;Scottish League Division One

Hibernian 3 v 0 Dundee United

Stein 2
    Quinn

A few days before HIBS played Leeds United in the second leg of the Fairs Cities Cup at Easter Road 17 year old Peter Marinello must have given Manager Bob Shankly food for thought as he was outstanding in this game

Hibs Wilson Simpson Davis Stanton Madsen McGraw Marinello Quinn Stein Cormack and Stevenson

Att 9285

6/1/1951 Scottish League Division One

Raith Rovers 1 v 3 Hibernian

Johnstone
    Smith 2

Hibs were flying in the League and 22000 turned up for this last holiday fixture

Raith Rovers took the lead when the Ref who was 50 yards away awarded a penalty for a hand ball in the box by Jock Paterson

HIBS protested that the ball hit his chest and pointed to the large muddy football imprint on his jersey but the Referee would not be moved.

Colville fired the ‘Vers in front from the spot but Bobby Johnstone duly equalised to loud cheers from the Hibernian faithful

Gordon Smith added another two into the second half thanks to fine crosses from Willie Allan

6/1/1912 Scottish League Division One

Hibernian 5 v 0 Rangers

Bell 2
    Rae 2
    Anderson

Third bottom HIBS played high flying top club Rangers and a slaughter was expected and that was exactly what happened but it was Rangers who were slaughtered in the surprise result of the season that had the whole of Scotland talking. HIBS led 3-0 at half-time

The Hibernian team totally humiliated this Rangers side and there was much joyous celebrations amongst the Hibernian supporters but unsurprisingly the game is also remembered for the crude tackling and the unsportsmanlike behaviour of the defeated Rangers players

Man of the Match Matta Paterson

Hibs Allan Girdwood Templeton Kerr Paterson Lamb Rae Fleming Bell Hendren and Anderson

Att 13000

Birthdays

Kenny Allison

Paul McGlinchey

Jay Shields

At Easter Road They Play John Campbell

The Making of Hibernian The Brave Years Alan Lugton

www.fitbastats.com
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 06-01-2021 at 11:18 AM.

22,000 at Starks Park?

That's an incredible attendance, for a league game.

@hibs.net private member MartinfaePorty's Avatar
    'Hearts took the lead with two lobs from distance from John Colquhoun that seemed to deceive Alan Rough as he lost sight of the ball under the lights and the ball flew high past him both times with snow on it'

I remember reading an interview with Roughie after the game where he said he felt the ball was slightly flat, meaning that it dipped more sharply than normal, helping Colquhoun's 2 goals. He asked the ref to pump some more air into the ball at half-time, which apparently he did. No idea if that was just Roughie making excuses or not!

Quote Originally Posted by MartinfaePorty View Post
    'Hearts took the lead with two lobs from distance from John Colquhoun that seemed to deceive Alan Rough as he lost sight of the ball under the lights and the ball flew high past him both times with snow on it'

I remember reading an interview with Roughie after the game where he said he felt the ball was slightly flat, meaning that it dipped more sharply than normal, helping Colquhoun's 2 goals. He asked the ref to pump some more air into the ball at half-time, which apparently he did. No idea if that was just Roughie making excuses or not!
    Couldnae believe it at the time two carbon copy goals and HIBS were playing so well tae

FFS Roughie!

Saved us second half though

That SJM goal against Dundee United is probably my favourite goal of his. Came in as a sub and got the ball out near the corner flag. 2-0 up in last 10 mins I though he would try to waste a but if time. Took it along the goal line, beat a couple of defenders and slotted it in from an unbelievably tight angle. Summed him up. Right in front of my seat in FF upper as well. Still miss him

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    That SJM goal against Dundee United is probably my favourite goal of his. Came in as a sub and got the ball out near the corner flag. 2-0 up in last 10 mins I though he would try to waste a but if time. Took it along the goal line, beat a couple of defenders and slotted it in from an unbelievably tight angle. Summed him up. Right in front of my seat in FF upper as well. Still miss him
    https://youtu.be/JPZeKk2-ZhM

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Thanks for that. Not quite how I described it but still superb. Now that you've started I demand videos of all the goals that you describe on this thread. Thanks in advance 😃

Wholeheartedly agree with you.Superb goal.Remember being told by a Hibby who was waiting for a hip replacement and couldn’nt manage to attend games,but was going to pick his wife from the game.As he turned his car in to the top of Easter Road all he could hear was the SJM song being boomed out and he knew that all was well with the world.

Thanks for that. Not quite how I described it but still superb. Now that you've started I demand videos of all the goals that you describe on this thread. Thanks in advance 😃
    I feel your pain

I started off trying to do so but they seem to be less and less available probably due to copyright

I try to do so where possible

What made the Edwards booking for throwing the ball away so annoying was that he had been fouled for the whole game by Love,some given but many not,and this time despite being fouled he got free and had a clear run but instead of playing advantage or just ignoring the foul as he’d done so often Syme blew the whistle.Edwards picked up the ball and then threw it down in exasperation and Syme couldn’t book him quick enough .
    East Fife were a dreadful bunch and Pat Quinn,so different as a manager compared to his playing days,said after the game “what’s the fuss the goodies won didn’t they?”.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    What made the Edwards booking for throwing the ball away so annoying was that he had been fouled for the whole game by Love,some given but many not,and this time despite being fouled he got free and had a clear run but instead of playing advantage or just ignoring the foul as he’d done so often Syme blew the whistle.Edwards picked up the ball and then threw it down in exasperation and Syme couldn’t book him quick enough .
    East Fife were a dreadful bunch and Pat Quinn,so different as a manager compared to his playing days,said after the game “what’s the fuss the goodies won didn’t they?”.
    John Love is still miffed that even to this day he is still accused of breaking Brownlies leg when it was Ian Printy.Apparently even Pat Stanton was going to set about him once when Love met him until he pleaded his innocence.How could anyone accuse the ‘’ silky’’ Love of such a foul deed.

Quote Originally Posted by Highwayman View Post
    John Love is still miffed that even to this day he is still accused of breaking Brownlies leg when it was Ian Printy.Apparently even Pat Stanton was going to set about him once when Love met him until he pleaded his innocence.How could anyone accuse the ‘’ silky’’ Love of such a foul deed.
    Drinks in ma boozer

Every time I see him he smiles puts both arms in the air and shouts “ Billy it wisnae me”

A likeable bloke Hibby IIRC

Anyone close to where it happened knows that unfortunately it was John’s own fault.

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    got to agree with you the referee let them away with murder that day. I wasn’t expecting east fife to open up for us but it was the dirty time wasting tactics that got me annoyed that day. Deserved winner tho in the last minute. Never knew that was the last time the tornadoes played together.

Ian P was extremely upset by the accident, 100% not his fault. He visited John B in hospital asap after the match. Incidentally the legendary Maud McFarlane was Ian's aunt & Ian remains a Hibs supporter.

7/1/2012 Scottish Cup Round 4

Cowdenbeath 2 v 3 Hibernian

Griffiths 18
    Doyle 27
    Wotherspoon 54

HIBS survived a real scare to progress into the next round of the Scottish Cup Greg Stewart got the Blue Brazil off to a dream start after 19 seconds when he fired home the opener Leigh Griffiths equalised from distance and Eoin Doyle shot the visitors in front on 27 minutes

David Wotherspoon headed HIBS further ahead after the break but a John Robertson volley ensured a tense finale

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/scotland/16460862

Hibs M Brown Hart Booth Hanlon O’Hanlon Wotherspoon Sproule Stevenson Galbraith Griffiths and Doyle

Subs Towell Sodje

Att 2670

7/1/2006 Scottish Cup Round 3

Hibernian 6 v 0 Arbroath

S Brown 40 78
    Sproule 45
    Stewart 63
    O’Connor 74
    Fletcher 85

HIBS S Brown Whittaker Caldwell Hogg Murphy Sproule Stewart S Brown Glass Riordan and Morrow

Subs McCluskey O’Connor Fletcher

Att 10500

7/1/1995 Scottish League Premier Division

Hibernian 2 v 1 Kilmarnock

O’Neill
    McGinlay

7/1/1984 Scottish League Premier Division

Hibernian 1 v 1 St Mirren

Graeme Harvey

On a freezing cold day in which only 4371 bothered to turn up Billy Thomson in the Saints goal was definitely the busier keeper but all HIBS had to show for their efforts was a goal from promising youngster Graeme Harvey

After a fine start to the season HIBS were starting to struggle With no funds available for investment Pat Stanton would have to rely on the youngsters coming through

HIBS Rough Sneddon Schaedler Brazil Jamieson Turnbull Callachan Harvey Irvine Thomson and Duncan

Sub McKee

7/1/1978 Scottish League Premier Division

Dundee United 1 v 1 Hibernian

Macleod 34

John Bourke for United 10

Hibs McDonald Brownlie Smith McNamara Stewart Bremner Murray MacLeod Hutchinson Duncan and McGhee

Sub Brazil for Brownlie

Att 6880

7/1/1967 Scottish League Division One

Partick Thistle 1 v 4 Hibernian

McGraw 12
    Davis pen 51
    E Stevenson 54 74

A fine win for HIBS Alan Cousin with an own goal for the Jags on 68 minutes

Hibs Allan Duncan Davis Stanton Madsen Cousin Stein Quinn Cormack McGraw and Stevenson

Att 5324

7/1/1961 Scottish League Division One

Hibernian 4 v 0 Kilmarnock

McClelland
    Baker
    J MacLeod 2

Kilmarnock were simply swept away by a brilliant HIBS side playing free flowing attacking football

HIBS Simpson Fraser McClelland Grant Easton Baird Scott Preston Baker Baxter and MacLeod

Att 18000

7/1/1950 Scottish League Division One

Hibernian 4 v 1 Stirling Albion

Turnbull
    Reilly
    Combe
    Ormond

Stirling Albion decided just to go for it and launched attack after attack putting HIBS under pressure
    After 15 minutes Eddie Turnbull caught the Bino’s on the break beating their off side trap before drawing their Polish goalkeeper Gerhard to open the scoring

Fair play to Albion they stuck to their game plan and Guy equalised inside a minute

Just before half-time Reilly put HIBS ahead

Into the second half and Bobby Combe scored with a long range effort that somehow deceived the keeper

Willie Ormond added a fourth and Eddie Turnbull missed another penalty only this time the ball sailed miles over the crossbar

Hibs Younger Shaw Cairns Combe Paterson Buchanan Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond

Att 27000

7/1/1911 Scottish League Division One

Third Lanark 0 v 3 Hibernian

Matta Paterson 3

Yesterday’s man of the match against Rangers (1912) centre half Matta Paterson was now a centre forward and scored a hat-trick away to Thirds

Only day’s earlier this side had defeated Hearts at the Holy Ground 1-0 to gain two valuable League points and win the Wilson Cup

Hibs Paton Kerr Girdwood O’Hara Dixon Lamb Rae Anderson Paterson Callaghan and Smith

Att 4000

Birthdays:

Liam Fontaine

At Easter Road They Play John Campbell

www.fitbastats.com
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 08-01-2021 at 07:02 AM.

8 years from that day in Cowdenbeath already wow. The famous GIRUY gesture from Leigh.

Quote Originally Posted by Magpie View Post
    8 years from that day in Cowdenbeath already wow. The famous GIRUY gesture from Leigh.
    Some strike by the way

Well worth a watch

I miss him

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    I mind it was freezing and when hibs went 3-1 up we all shot down to the goth pub to get a heat. Must be one of the worse grounds in Scotland.

Quote Originally Posted by eastterrace View Post
    I mind it was freezing and when hibs went 3-1 up we all shot down to the goth pub to get a heat. Must be one of the worse grounds in Scotland.
    I think the next visit was when it was pissing down with rain. It’s definitely nothing special that’s for sure.

9 years.
    My arithmetic is no better but it popped up on my Facebook memories today.

Nine years. I know this, because I got married that day.
    First cup tie I'd missed in years. Got a row for surreptitiously checking the score during the ceremony.

Quote Originally Posted by oneone73 View Post
    First cup tie I'd missed in years. Got a row for surreptitiously checking the score during the ceremony.
    I’m still living in 2020 😭 p.s Happy Anniversary!

Quote Originally Posted by oneone73 View Post

You missed the game?

Part Timer!