Page 14 of 26 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast

Thread: Jack Ross

Quote Originally Posted by The 90+2 View Post
    Livi have Ross County and Aberdeen at home the next two games. They could easily win both them and if we don't beat Killie the gap would be four points with them 2 games in hand. Dundee Utd have St Johnstone Hamilton and St Mirren while we have Celtic Killie Rangers. If we don't stop the rot and they start being more consistent for a newly promoted side I wouldn't rule it out.
    So basically, if they win all their games and we lose all of ours? Come on. How likely is that?

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Quote Originally Posted by Highwayman View Post
    Jack Ross has a big test in January.Currently he has 8 players who when fit irrespective of form are first picks.Does he go for cover for these players in the January transfer window,depending on what is available.Strengthening is required in every area.What is the way forward.Any comments ?
    Anyone we sign should be for first the 11. They might not end up there but they should be pushing the guy with the Jersey to perform

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    So basically, if they win all their games and we lose all of ours? Come on. How likely is that?
    The way it’s going just now? Quite likely. Livi have won 6 in a row, we’ve lost 3 and have been thoroughly humiliated in the last two. It’s not that much out the question that it could happen.
    Last edited by calumhibee1; 03-01-2021 at 12:49 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    I think my point of whinging like bairns is valid

The last few weeks have been crap but in the context of our whole season we are doing fine

Ofcourse it can go either way at this point, it might all fall flat or we might kick on

You obviously feel everything is terrible (I'm guessing mostly because we lost the semi final, I'm pretty sure everyone was onside up to that point)I think we have had a bad few results and performances and given how we have performed longer term we will be OK

What do you expect from the support, honestly? Not to be pissed off after the last two games, losing in the Semi to Hearts, being pumped at home to them? Not laying a glove on Aberdeen who we are meant to be challenging for third? Realistically you can't surely expect much less? Hearts won 1 game in the league, 1 game in 2020 before being relegated, they rocked up at Easter Road and hammered us. Just as Livi done yesterday, the exact same shambles, the exact same lack of motivation and fight. Yesterday wasn't a one off.

I don't feel everything is terrible, but it should be much, much better. Including winning any sort of big game. Our biggest game of the season is against St Johnstone this month, another loss to a piss poor side in a national semi will be disastrous for Ross.

@hibs.net private member Coco Bryce's Avatar
    Livi have Ross County and Aberdeen at home the next two games. They could easily win both them and if we don't beat Killie the gap would be four points with them 2 games in hand. Dundee Utd have St Johnstone Hamilton and St Mirren while we have Celtic Killie Rangers. If we don't stop the rot and they start being more consistent for a newly promoted side I wouldn't rule it out.
    Livi have won their last 7 games. How consistent do they need to be?

That's only January. Dundee Utd and Livi have a much more realistic chance of picking up more points in January than we do. Dundee Utd especially.

Quote Originally Posted by Coco Bryce View Post
    Livi have won their last 7 games. How consistent do they need to be?
    I was talking about Dundee Utd, that's why I said "for a newly promoted side" I should have worded better. Livi will finish ahead of us, of that I've no doubt. If they do that will be two season on the trot also. That wouldn't be good enough either.

@hibs.net private member Coco Bryce's Avatar
    I was talking about Dundee Utd, that's why I said "for a newly promoted side" I should have worded better. Livi will finish ahead of us, of that I've no doubt. If they do that will be two season on the trot also. That wouldn't be good enough either.
    Ah right sorry. Didnae have my specs on 🤓

What do you expect from the support, honestly? Not to be pissed off after the last two games, losing in the Semi to Hearts, being pumped at home to them? Not laying a glove on Aberdeen who we are meant to be challenging for third? Realistically you can't surely expect much less? Hearts won 1 game in the league, 1 game in 2020 before being relegated, they rocked up at Easter Road and hammered us. Just as Livi done yesterday, the exact same shambles, the exact same lack of motivation and fight. Yesterday wasn't a one off.

I don't feel everything is terrible, but it should be much, much better. Including winning any sort of big game. Our biggest game of the season is against St Johnstone this month, another loss to a piss poor side in a national semi will be disastrous for Ross.
    Pissed off yes but I feel there's a huge over reaction here

Infact I can't see another manager coming in and doing all that much better

So when they have a sticky patch its game over for them too?

As I pointed out with my extreme Klopp example, every manager has bad results and hand picking one from a year ago is easy to do when you want to leverage that against a sack him message

Whatever though you may get your wish but for me, I'd be careful what we wish for and I'd be tempering what our expectations are over such a short period of time

I think we are all in agreement that Ross walked into a bad situation after Hecky and yet here we are 12 months later and during a pandemic in a much much stronger position but building a consistent team and image take time

I can't say I'm overly disappointed where we are right now. Yes, there has been disappointments (certainly last few games) but overall I'm fairly content with where we sit as a whole

Last edited by Callum_62; 03-01-2021 at 12:57 PM.

Not one little doubt that a side 9 points behind us will finish above us? Not one? Why?

Coz they ken they will be getting it aff the managers associates if they dinnae

That's what we need

As I pointed out with my extreme Klopp example, every manager has bad results and hand picking one from a year ago is easy to do when you want to leverage that against a sack him message

Whatever though you may get your wish but for me, I'd be careful what we wish for and I'd be tempering what our expectations are over such a short period of time

I really don't see it mate.

After the loss at ER to them, it was still not bad because we had top six and they had relegation to still fight.

Season finished early, bottom six, it was still no over reaction to another poor season because they got relegated.

Semi final, you can never over react to a Scottish Cup Semi loss to our Championship neighbors in they circumstances. Especially having been hammered in the Semi and Final off them before, at least then there was major excuses and this time was chance for revenge. We blew it.

Now we are being horsed at home to guff. I want to at least see our team fight if we are being outplayed and there's not even been that at times and at times it's been shambolic.

I want a few brilliant performances and a big win or two per season where we over perform. It's not too much to ask. Liverpool may have lost 7-2 but they still won many big games, gave their support memorable matches and won the league. We haven't had any of that at Easter Road especially since when? Aberdeen over a year ago and even then it's only Aberdeen. The last time we won a match a derby or the old firm at Easter Road, the place 14,000 plus pay for season cards was Celtic in December 2018. That's really worth whinging about imo.

They won 7 in a row, we are playing *****, they have just hammered us under their new manager and have two games in hand. Just like there was little doubt they would win yesterday, they play as an actual football side playing for each other and their manager. We are playing as a team of individuals kicking about chewing the fat.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    So you don't think we will lose to Celtic? The idea of us winning is unrealistic...
    What was the score when we last played them?

They won 7 in a row, we are playing *****, they have just hammered us under their new manager and have two games in hand. Just like there was little doubt they would win yesterday, they play as an actual football side playing for each other and their manager. We are playing as a team of individuals kicking about chewing the fat.
    Right, so again, its basically just them having a great run and us having a bad week. If it was a 7 game season, I'd agree with you. Its not, though.

I think we are all in agreement that Ross walked into a bad situation after Hecky and yet here we are 12 months later and during a pandemic in a much much stronger position but building a consistent team and image take time

I can't say I'm overly disappointed where we are right now. Yes, there has been disappointments (certainly last few games) but overall I'm fairly content with where we sit as a whole

Absolutely this. We are on well on course for Europe thus far, clearer in that respect than I can ever remember us.
    Also worth mentioning that the prize on offer for 3rd and 4th in terms of round of competition we enter is exactly the same.

A few disappointing results along the way in amongst generally a great consistency in winning games and a great chance to win a cup - that is what the manager has delivered. He's done a cracking job IMO.

It is draining coming on here to defend things constantly - the reaction and general feeling at times on here is as if we were drifting around aimlessly in the bottom 6.

Right, so again, its basically just them having a great run and us having a bad week. If it was a 7 game season, I'd agree with you. Its not, though.

They are in much better form and look a much better side under their new manager. They are going one way and we are going the other way. They have just caught 9 points up over us in the last 3 games also, I don't see how that trend doesn't continue.

If it was the other way and we had won 7 on the bounce under a new manager, hammered them yesterday and 9 points behind with two games in hand would you not be extremely confident of catching them? I know I would especially if they where on a slide before said pumping.

They are in much better form and look a much better side under their new manager. They are going one way and we are going the other way. They have just caught 9 points up over us in the last 3 games also, I don't see how that trend doesn't continue.

If it was the other way and we had won 7 on the bounce under a new manager, hammered them yesterday and 9 points behind with two games in hand would you not be extremely confident of catching them? I know I would especially if they where on a slide before said pumping.
    Yes, I'd be confident of catching them.

Its quite clear how the trend doesn't continue. They get a couple injuries, lose some of the harder fixtures, we sign a couple players etc. We were 18 points clear of them a week ago. They've hit a good patch, we have it a bad one. Martindale has been in charge for years, he isn't really new. He'll hit a bad patch soon and have no one to blame it on. If you don't think form will switch back around, Livi will finish second and we'll be relegated. But neither of those is doing to happen.

Seriously mate, we've had a shocker this week, no doubt. We're not suddenly a pub team. I remember similar hysteria about them finishing above us before Hecky came in. We finished 10 ahead.
    Last edited by MWHIBBIES; 03-01-2021 at 01:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Baader View Post
    Get a grip. Tiresome.
    Hermit Crap.

Yes, I'd be confident of catching them.

Its quite clear how the trend doesn't continue. They get a couple injuries, lose some of the harder fixtures, we sign a couple players etc. We were 18 points clear of them a week ago. They've hit a good patch, we have it a bad one. Martindale has been in charge for years, he isn't really new. He'll hit a bad patch soon and have no one to blame it on. If you don't think form will switch back around, Livi will finish second and we'll be relegated. But neither of those is doing to happen.
    That answers your question then

I agree with the rest that anything can happen. Lets wait and see.

That answers your question then

I agree with the rest that anything can happen. Lets wait and see.
    I'd mainly be confident because we'd have much better players. Thats also why I'm confident we'll find our form and theirs will fall off.

Our form in general always tails off after the new year. They finished ahead of us despite us having better players but they play as a better well drilled, hungry team.

I hope we do find our form again. I can't see it this month though and with the Semi coming up it's really concerning. Come Monday evening its extremely realistic than we will only be 6 ahead of them with them having 2 games in hand, we will have lost 4 on the bounce and them won 8.

Quote Originally Posted by Bobby's Cinema View Post
    Absolutely this. We are on well on course for Europe thus far, clearer in that respect than I can ever remember us.
    Also worth mentioning that the prize on offer for 3rd and 4th in terms of round of competition we enter is exactly the same.

A few disappointing results along the way in amongst generally a great consistency in winning games and a great chance to win a cup - that is what the manager has delivered. He's done a cracking job IMO.

It is draining coming on here to defend things constantly - the reaction and general feeling at times on here is as if we were drifting around aimlessly in the bottom 6.
    If he had done a cracking job, a large chunk of the support wouldnt be seriously unhappy with him. There was a post on here after the ross county game defending Ross, and yesterday the guy who posted it admitted he did not watch the livi game........

Thats the problem, too many people who "check the result, but dont actually watch" cast judgements and tell you everything is fine, they aint watching and dont really know how bad the tactics, game plan and general style is.

After the game the Livi manager said he'd watched us a fair bit and had a plan to beat us, Ross was out schooled yesterday. He double/triple manned and played a high press high energy game, our players just cannot play with that, they need far too much time on the ball, we've been sussed and there's no plan B.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    I’m not happy with the past two results, they have been dire. Ross has to look at himself and ask as to the wisdom of signing Murphy, Magennis and S McGinn. Three wages, they have barely contributed and now the squad looks particularly threadbare.

Tbh, I have no idea how the next half of the season will pan out. The team confound me, just when you think you’ve seen enough to know we will be fine, then bang.

If you take the away Rangers, Celtic and Aberdeen, all of whom are consistently performing at a level commensurate with investment etc, the rest of the sides have all had good and bad runs. In reality there’s not too much to choose between any of them at any one time. Over the course of the season the less dire will be separated. To me that says our league is just varying degrees of dross.

That all said, I have to laugh at the predictions of doom, Livi will overtake us. No, I very much doubt it. If they do, then Martindale should be the next Hibs manager. Ridiculous but probably more likely than Livi finishing above us.

Exactly. People are acting like Livingston are Barcelona, they’re a decent hard working team, but we wouldn’t swap many of our players for theirs. Hibs on the other hand are a decent team on a bad run and we don’t have enough fit players to change things up when others aren’t performing. The one thing that did worry me was quite a few players looked out on their feet in the last two games, fitness looked poor compared to the teams we were playing.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    After the game the Livi manager said he'd watched us a fair bit and had a plan to beat us, Ross was out schooled yesterday. He double/triple manned and played a high press high energy game, our players just cannot play with that, they need far too much time on the ball, we've been sussed and there's no plan B.

Yeah I heard that, he made it sound so simple also. Turn up at a ground who have better players and have a plan to win the game having studied them. You can bet Yogi and JC have done the same plenty times this season before he took over up North and got a similar result. The rest is spot on too. Pressed we panic and there's literally no plan B.

Quote Originally Posted by #2 Double Tap View Post
    If he had done a cracking job, a large chunk of the support wouldnt be seriously unhappy with him. There was a post on here after the ross county game defending Ross, and yesterday the guy who posted it admitted he did not watch the livi game........

Thats the problem, too many people who "check the result, but dont actually watch" cast judgements and tell you everything is fine, they aint watching and dont really know how bad the tactics, game plan and general style is.
    Hiya pal! That’s me you’re talking about! What you don’t seem to realise is that I did watch the 5 games in the build up to the County game as well as watching a large chunk of games this season. So with respect, I think my opinion is as valid as anyone’s else’s.

Also, if you actually read the thread it was not a thread defending Jack Ross, it was a thread asking for posters to have a bit more of a wide angle viewpoint rather than having a total meltdown after one game which is what was happening.

My take on this season is that we have won well, won badly, lost well, lost badly and drawn both deservedly and undeservedly. Pretty much like every season we’ve had in my 27 of Hibs supporting.

Quote Originally Posted by #2 Double Tap View Post

So the people who agree with you must be watching the games whereas anyone who disagrees with you isn’t watching the game.

I’ve watched every single minute of hibs this season yet I’m not pissing myself with rage like half the posters on here.

Quote Originally Posted by 660 View Post
    So the people who agree with you must be watching the games whereas anyone who disagrees with you isn’t watching the game.

I’ve watched every single minute of hibs this season yet I’m not pissing myself with rage like half the posters on here.
    If you watched all the games you surely cant be encouraged by our style of play. What about our summer signings.....how many years have we needed a central midfield, why have we still not got one?

They signed 3 players to play there this year and we still dont have a CM.

Jones28, yes it was you, and fair play to you, but if you had watched all those games how can you be encouraged by what you have seen?
    Have we progressed from last year? I will give you the 4th position looks better, but in regards to playing style or game management? What about the managers best starting 11, do you think he knows what it is yet?