Page 13 of 26 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast

Thread: Jack Ross

Quote Originally Posted by Allez Hibs View Post
    A tough schedule???
    7 matches since December 5th.

I'm not The managers biggest fan but i don't want him sacked, i want him to show us what he is made of but the trouble is he has shown nothing recently that he has any answer to getting a better performance from the team. Time for him to show us he has a plan and can motivate the players to a better performance but why was he unable to do so yesterday ?

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    I wonder if Liverpool fans are holding onto the 7-2 Villa game for when Klopp next loses 2 in a row

I'm shocked Peps still in a Job too, nevermind Areta!

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    I wonder if Liverpool fans are holding onto the 7-2 Villa game for when Klopp next loses 2 in a row

To be honest I'm not seeing the connection. Jack Ross is a footballing nobody next to those names.

Comparisons with Neilson at hearts first time round are much closer and therefore more valid.

I just read on the BBC website that Ross said " i just don't want us to drift along " Yes Jack, that will do the trick ! How nice of him to ask the players that and it should transform our performances no end !

I bet that if the liverpool fans were feeling generally bored or experiencing high levels of frustration on a near weekly basis for over a year they would sure look to move the manager on.........city fans have called for the head of guys who won them the league in the not so distant past and the arsenal reference, well they loved than uni emry right enough!

Quote Originally Posted by loanheadhibby View Post
    The players are on extended leave for next few days after a tough schedule.
    Tough schedule my arse

Quote Originally Posted by greenpaper55 View Post
    I just read on the BBC website that Ross said " i just don't want us to drift along " Yes Jack, that will do the trick ! How nice of him to ask the players that and it should transform our performances no end !
    Maybe if you click on the story instead of just reading the headline and repeating that here, just to give some context maybe?

"This does give us a little breather," Ross told BBC Scotland.

"It is an opportunity for us to draw breath and re-group and say, 'right, what do we want to achieve for the rest of the season?'. I don't want us to just drift along.

"We need to respond to this week that we've had. We've got a tough game when we come back, but we've got an exciting month ahead."

Two games have defined Ross' spell with us so far - the most recent games against Hearts. One our most one-sided derby defeat since arguably the 2012 final against a team spiralling towards relegation, and the other ANOTHER Hampden capitulation against a team in the division below.

If he'd won both, or even one of those games we wouldn't be having this conversation.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar

You think they’re comparable situations?

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    I hope he has the players in at East Mains today for a double session and to watch that car crash over again. Any player who doesn't want to be at the training ground today trying to put that horror show right can **** off.
    You May a great point . Players off until Friday - hopefully that may change after last two performances. Perhaps Ross commuting from the north east of England makes it difficult for him to come home and come back to east mains the next day after a game
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

I think a large element of our support is willing to accept mediocrity and not challenge the club to be demanding more of itself.

As long as the club are sending out the right PR messages about partnerships and structures a large element of the support seems happy.

Big game results have been nowhere near good enough. Look at the last two Derbies and the manner of them!!!

Just waiting on the microwave to ping.
    Popcorn time....

Quote Originally Posted by Allez Hibs View Post
    I think a large element of our support is willing to accept mediocrity and not challenge the club to be demanding more of itself.

As long as the club are sending out the right PR messages about partnerships and structures a large element of the support seems happy.

Big game results have been nowhere near good enough. Look at the last two Derbies and the manner of them!!!
    Ah, that old one.

Perhaps we just think there are more productive ways to improve things beyond mediocrity than just sacking and emptying people at the first sign of things not going our way?

Does continual sackings generally improve things long term in your experience?

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Absolutely not. Look at the shambles he's left at Motherwell.
    I couldn't agree more. What would Robinson do better!?

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    You think they’re comparable situations?
    No but point being you can pick out specific examples and games across any manger in the world to suit the agenda of boot him out - Klopp lost 7-2 against a team promoted the season before and just drew at home with the team promoted this season and has lost to Watford 3-0, twice.

I've seen a poster claim we should never lose to livi or RC - aboslutely absurd

I would be careful what we wish for here

We have a support that whinges like wee bairns about our undercheivement but the hint of adversity and we are shouting for the managers head

Aberdeen are where they are consistently because they have had investment and consistency of the footballing operation

Last edited by Callum_62; 03-01-2021 at 12:29 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    You May a great point . Players off until Friday - hopefully that may change after last two performances. Perhaps Ross commuting from the north east of England makes it difficult for him to come home and come back to east mains the next day after a game
    It's about 1.5 hour drive so no

Although I'm sure you already know that and are trying to say something negative long enough that folk start picking it up and running with it as another stick to beat our manager with

Last edited by Callum_62; 03-01-2021 at 12:24 PM.

@hibs.net private member hibeerealist's Avatar

#

IF you are going to draw comparisons at least get real!

Quote Originally Posted by WestCoastHibby View Post
    I couldn't agree more. What would Robinson do better!?
    He got them third last year, league and Scottish cup finals and sold £8m+ of players. Not bad for a club smaller than us. That obviously included winning a big game or two.

I'm not saying I want him to replace JR but I'm not going to pretend he didn't do a good job there for prominently a bottom 6 club.

Quote Originally Posted by WestCoastHibby View Post
    Just waiting on the microwave to ping.
    Popcorn time....
    Allez
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Quote Originally Posted by Dazzling Doidge View Post
    Did you watch the game? We were passive, pedestrian and Alloa could have quite easily won that.
    We had 15 shots to their 2. Let’s not get carried away here. Hibs were comfortably better but wasteful with our chances.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    I thought the players looked shattered in the last two games, rest will likely improve matters.

Quote Originally Posted by hibeerealist View Post
    #

IF you are going to draw comparisons at least get real!
    point being you can pick out specific examples and games across any manger in the world to suit the agenda of boot him out - Klopp lost 7-2 against a team promoted the season before and just drew at home with the team promoted this season and has lost 3-0 to Watford, twice

No but point being you can pick out specific examples and games across any manger in the world to suit the agenda of boot him out - Klopp lost 7-2 against a team promoted the season before and just drew at home with the team promoted this season

I've seen a poster claim we should never lose to livi or RC - aboslutely absurd

I would be careful what we wish for here

We have a support that whinges like wee bairns about our undercheivement but the hint of adversity and we are shouting for the managers head

Aberdeen are where they are consistently because they have had investment and consistently of the footballing operation

Klopp won the EPL and the Champions League with Liverpool.

Pep has won trophies all over the world and has won the league with city.

Ross has won zero.

Our club still underachieve yet our support who you want to say whinge like wee bairns still continue to back the club every single year despite how bad things get. So we want better for our club than being pumped in a Semi to a ***** hearts side, losing at home to two rank sides, one bottom of the league hadn't not won a league game in what? Months? So we want to see our side play attractive football with an actual plan? Is that simply too much to ask aye?

The last two games haven't been a fluke either. We have been lucky and flat in plenty of games and I repeat, in the year of 2020 we failed to win any big game. Not one. All we want is a derby win or two (lost twice to the ****test hearts team ever) a win against the old firm from time to time, even Aberdeen (we lost three times to them, easily last year) would be nice. Now we've started the new year utter ***** and look a complete shambles.

I'm sorry, it's simply not good enough despite you wanting to laugh it off comprising to Klopp or slagging our support (who pay £100s every single season) for not being happy.

The comfort blanket of still being third despite Aberdeen games in hand to still easily fourth is diminishing every week it seems and Livingston are a better side than us. Dundee Utd and them will be ahead of us come the end of the season and it will all change to "at least we finished top six, progress stop bed wetting etc"

Always a catch 22 with Hibs managers. If they're successful, they're off to Celtic, Rangers or England before they achieve anything meaningful. If they're rubbish, we're stuck with them. JR is somewhere in between - not proved good enough for a move or bad enough to sack. A few weeks ago, the media had him as Celtic's saviour. Now they look stupid. No getting away from it, some of the results and performances under Ross have been downright terrible. His record in bigger matches is awful. But he's shown he's not completely crap at times. The games themselves are not normal either, due to Covid.

Whether we like it or not he's here for while now - the start to the season means he'll not get booted, and recent results will have scared off preditors. At this point, the season could easily see us end up 3rd or 4th with the league Cup.... or 5th/6th and nothing else.

Quote Originally Posted by The 90+2 View Post

Ross has won zero.

Our club still underachieve yet our support who you want to say whinge like wee bairns still continue to back the club every single year despite how bad things get. So we want better for our club than being pumped in a Semi to a ***** hearts side, losing at home to two rank sides, one bottom of the league hadn't not won a league game in what? Months? So we want to see our side play attractive football with an actual plan? Is that simply too much to ask aye?

The last two games haven't been a fluke either. We have been lucky and flat in plenty of games and I repeat, in the year of 2020 we failed to win any big game. Not one. All we want is a derby win or two (lost twice to the ****test hearts team ever) a win against the old firm from time to time, even Aberdeen (we lost three times to them, easily last year) would be nice. Now we've started the new year utter ***** and look a complete shambles.

I'm sorry, it's simply not good enough despite you wanting to laugh it off comprising to Klopp or slagging our support (who pay £100s every single season) for not being happy.

The comfort blanket of still being third despite Aberdeen games in hand to still easily fourth is diminishing every week it seems and Livingston are a better side than us. Dundee Utd and them will be ahead of us come the end of the season and it will all change to "at least we finished top six, progress stop bed wetting etc"
    Bet ya they wont. United are dreadful. Livi are on a great run, sure, but they play Aberdeen twice and Celtic twice in the next 6 league games. Could be miles behind us again.

It's about 1.5 hour drive so no

Although I'm sure you already know that and are trying to say something negative long enough that folk start picking it up and running with it as another stick to beat our manager with

That's the impression I got from the post. Drop a wee bit in about Ross not being able to get to East Mains as he stays a bit away from the ground as a wee sly dig.

It really is pathetic some of the comments towards Jack Ross on here. Genuinely pathetic.

Quote Originally Posted by The 90+2 View Post

Ross has won zero.

I think my point of whinging like bairns is valid

The last few weeks have been crap but in the context of our whole season we are doing fine

Ofcourse it can go either way at this point, it might all fall flat or we might kick on

You obviously feel everything is terrible (I'm guessing mostly because we lost the semi final, I'm pretty sure everyone was onside up to that point)I think we have had a bad few results and performances and given how we have performed longer term we will be OK

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Bet ya they wont. United are dreadful. Livi are on a great run, sure, but they play Aberdeen twice and Celtic twice in the next 6 league games. Could be miles behind us again.
    Livi have Ross County and Aberdeen at home the next two games. They could easily win both them and if we don't beat Killie the gap would be four points with them 2 games in hand. Dundee Utd have St Johnstone Hamilton and St Mirren while we have Celtic Killie Rangers. If we don't stop the rot and they start being more consistent for a newly promoted side I wouldn't rule it out.

Jack Ross has a big test in January.Currently he has 8 players who when fit irrespective of form are first picks.Does he go for cover for these players in the January transfer window,depending on what is available.Strengthening is required in every area.What is the way forward.Any comments ?