Page 10 of 26 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

Thread: Jack Ross

Quote Originally Posted by SlickShoes View Post
    People that want Ross sacked or to walk away while we are 4th in the league and doing reasonably well overall, who do you think should replace him? who is good enough for you?

I have supported hibs since 1983 and havent seen us ever be consistently good, we are in the race for 3rd no matter how you spin it. The last two games have been awful but I'm not really sure what people expect from supporting hibs? was there an alternate timeline I missed where we were a force to be reckoned with?
    I started going to games when alex miller was boss, since then out of 16 managers, 4 or 5 of them have got some kinda pass marks, the rest have been dross. The biggest problem we have had over the years is appointing the right people. If we appointed someone in the mold of a mcliesh or a mowbray instead of a butcher, a fenlon, or a heckingbottom then that alternative timeline might just have existed.

We ain t in a race for third,that ship sailed weeks ago, more performances like the last two and we will be lucky to finish in the top 6 never mind 4th, imo.

Inconsequential
    Ross out! James McPake in!

Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    Coz we've lost 3 outta 13 games.... 3 in a row and modern day human likes to throw the toys out the pram

Imho

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
    Don’t think that’s fair. Quite a number of folk have been far from convinced, even when we were winning and didn’t necessarily feel that we’d sustain the results we were getting. When you looked at our league results a few weeks ago, over the course of the season, you’d have said they were good. They’re starting to look a bit more average with the win percentage dropping now.

Quote Originally Posted by #2 Double Tap View Post
    I started going to games when alex miller was boss, since then out of 16 managers, 4 or 5 of them have got some kinda pass marks, the rest have been dross. The biggest problem we have had over the years is appointing the right people. If we appointed someone in the mold of a mcliesh or a mowbray instead of a butcher, a fenlon, or a heckingbottom then that alternative timeline might just have existed.

We ain t in a race for third,that ship sailed weeks ago, more performances like the last two and we will be lucky to finish in the top 6 never mind 4th, imo.
    There's genuinely no help for you if you think that's true.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Robbie out!

Sorry, wrong thread

Quote Originally Posted by allant1981 View Post
    Do we only sign a manager if he has won something, our list of potential managers will be very short if and when Jack Ross leaves
    Good question , in my time watching Hibs anytime we have won anything has been with a manager who has had success as a player / manager

1972 League Cup , Dryborough Cup 1972 + 73 Eddie Turnbull
    1991 League Cup Alex Miller
    2007 League Cup. John Collins
    2016 Scottish Cup Alan Stubbs

Even when we got promoted which I don't count as honours
    1981 Willie Ormond then Bertie Auld
    1998. Alex McLeish
    2017 Neil Lennon

Maybe getting a manager who has tasted some sort of success is the way to go

Gamertag: SAKSxCORE PSN ID: SlickShoes
    Quote Originally Posted by HFCEighteen75 View Post
    Some feat that he managed that in two seasons.

It's almost like you lot don't know the first thing about football.
    Sorry for the typo, but I am replying to a guy who's whole anti-Jack Ross thing is that he "failed" in his task to get sunderland promoted yet he would take a manager who failed in his task to get Hibs promoted from the championship on multiple occasions.

Quote Originally Posted by SweetDreams View Post
    Scraping a win against Alloa is hardly something to be proud of. Even Hecky managed a league cup semi final.
    Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen and Hearts among others have all failed to achieve as much this season - all exiting to clubs they should be beating hands down on paper. Understand your in the dumps after two minging results (I share your pain!) but no need to belittle what has been achieved so far this season.

A coke dealer cuffs us zero three at Easter Road?

Just wow.

GTF

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by h1bs4life View Post
    Good question , in my time watching Hibs anytime we have won anything has been with a manager who has had success as a player / manager

1972 League Cup , Dryborough Cup 1972 + 73 Eddie Turnbull
    1991 League Cup Alex Miller
    2007 League Cup. John Collins
    2016 Scottish Cup Alan Stubbs

Even when we got promoted which I don't count as honours
    1981 Willie Ormond then Bertie Auld
    1998. Alex McLeish
    2017 Neil Lennon

Maybe getting a manager who has tasted some sort of success is the way to go
    Bring in Joe Tortolano FFS!!!!!!

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    One of the curses of modern football which makes it less attractive than it once was is the bloodlust for management change at the first hint of a poor run.

It’s going to be a tough task not to make it 4 defeats in a row with Celtic up next, but as alarming such a run is if that was to be the case, given our league position and the good work done to achieve that it’s preposterous to really be thinking about change at this stage. Hopefully we can add a couple of new options to the squad this window and we should be well enough equipped to nip this slide in the bud and build up again. Anger and frustration is understandable after such a miserable display, but we all know this group of players is capable of so much better.

Sorry for the typo, but I am replying to a guy who's whole anti-Jack Ross thing is that he "failed" in his task to get sunderland promoted yet he would take a manager who failed in his task to get Hibs promoted from the championship on multiple occasions.
    Alan Stubbs has won bigger trophies than Jack Ross.

There's genuinely no help for you if you think that's true.
    duffy>

mcleish> pass

sauzee>

williamson>

Mowbray> pass

collins > pass

mixu>
    yogi>

calderwood>
    fenlon>
    butcher>

stubbs> BIG PASS
    lennon> pass

heckingbottom > was so bad i forgot to list him
    ross>

I am tempted to pass mixu and yogi.....
    Last edited by #2 Double Tap; 02-01-2021 at 08:20 PM.

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    Quote Originally Posted by loanheadhibby View Post
    Good stats.

Would you rather watch a Tony Mowbray Hibs team or a Jack Ross Hibs team?
    Spot on for me.

I would take Stubbs in a heartbeat over Ross.
    Doe he even really want to be here,still commutes from Sunderland.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    Interesting for all them footbal managers out there.
    So Jack Ross is only behind someone who managed 11 games and someone who managed exclusively in the Scottish Championship and Jock Stein

Aye get him punted.

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar

Agreed, we’ve had more bad than decent managers in the time period you describe. Horrible reading the list of names when you think back.

Quote Originally Posted by Liam978 View Post
    Doe he even really want to be here,still commutes from Sunderland.
    No he doesn’t. He lives north of Newcastle in Northumberland

People that want Ross sacked or to walk away while we are 4th in the league and doing reasonably well overall, who do you think should replace him? who is good enough for you?

I have supported hibs since 1983 and havent seen us ever be consistently good, we are in the race for 3rd no matter how you spin it. The last two games have been awful but I'm not really sure what people expect from supporting hibs? was there an alternate timeline I missed where we were a force to be reckoned with?
    Brought up with Turnbull's Tornadoes when European Football was the norm.
    We even had a couple of 2nd place finishes. While the Old Firm have pulled away financially we still have a budget towards the top of the league and have under achieved , we should always be aiming for top 3 or 4 , Europe and winning cups

Stubbs made me believe in Hibs again after our relegation. That man delivered us one of the greatest days of our lives.

Ross delivered the worst day I’ve experienced since that day.
    The semi vs them was a very sore one but I reckon that Hecky dealt us a few results to compete in the pishness dept (1-6 vs der Hun comes to mind). Regardless I agree that was a major failure but any manager deserves to be judged over the piece rather than on isolated results. The semi result was pish (if a bit unlucky), the last two results were utterly pish (and not at all unlucky) but the end result is we are still 4th and in a (different) cup semi. While that remains the case Ross will have my full backing.

What a hoot some of these comments are

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    One of the curses of modern football which makes it less attractive than it once was is the bloodlust for management change at the first hint of a poor run.

It’s going to be a tough task not to make it 4 defeats in a row with Celtic up next, but as alarming such a run is if that was to be the case, given our league position and the good work done to achieve that it’s preposterous to really be thinking about change at this stage. Hopefully we can add a couple of new options to the squad this window and we should be well enough equipped to nip this slide in the bud and build up again. Anger and frustration is understandable after such a miserable display, but we all know this group of players is capable of so much better.
    Reflecting life in general - folk live for today, expect everything on demand, little thought for the future and no tolerance of failure.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    duffy>

mcleish> pass

sauzee>

williamson>

Mowbray> pass

collins > pass

mixu>
    yogi>

calderwood>
    fenlon>
    butcher
    >

stubbs> BIG PASS
    lennon> pass

heckingbottom > was so bad i forgot to list him
    ross>

I am tempted to pass mixu and yogi.....

Ones in bold were horrendous and we can now add Jack Loss or Jack Dross to the list.

A defeat at Celtic (highly likely) a week on Monday and he's really struggling as that will be 4 defeats on the bounce, we then play Kily at home, then the St Johnstone semi then Rangers at Easter Rd, then St Mirren away, failure to win any of those games and he's away because by that time other teams from below could have caught up with us and we will be out the cup.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Quote Originally Posted by May21/05/16 View Post
    What a hoot some of these comments are

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
    Which ones?

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Ones in bold were horrendous and we can now add Jack Loss or Jack Dross to the list.

A defeat at Celtic (highly likely) a week on Monday and he's really struggling as that will be 4 defeats on the bounce, we then play Kily at home, then the St Johnstone semi then Rangers at Easter Rd, then St Mirren away, failure to win any of those games and he's away because by that time other teams from below could have caught up with us and we will be out the cup.
    Oh no! Four defeats on the bounce! If that's a sackable offence the first time a manager suffers one then I'm officially done with football.

Quote Originally Posted by basehibby View Post
    The semi vs them was a very sore one but I reckon that Hecky dealt us a few results to compete in the pishness dept (1-6 vs der Hun comes to mind). Regardless I agree that was a major failure but any manager deserves to be judged over the piece rather than on isolated results. The semi result was pish (if a bit unlucky), the last two results were utterly pish (and not at all unlucky) but the end result is we are still 4th and in a (different) cup semi. While that remains the case Ross will have my full backing.
    Problem with the erratic results and performances is you can't TRUST the players and are always on edge. We've all been there many times before with Hibs. In some ways, we'd be better off knowing and expecting the team to be mediocre - with the odd decent result - as it's the hope that kills. Just when you think they're punching their weight, they kick you in the nuts.

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post

what's his nickname for when we win/draw games ? jack didnaeloss or jack notsodross or jack draws

we need to know

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    what's his nickname for when we win/draw games ? jack didnaeloss or jack notsodross or jack draws

we need to know

Jack Ross formerly known as Dross and Loss

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Oh no! Four defeats on the bounce! If that's a sackable offence the first time a manager suffers one then I'm officially done with football.
    If we lose all in the worst case scenario HC presents then that would be 8 straight defeats, which would put any manager under serious scrutiny and pressure. I think we are good enough to avoid such an outcome though.

Aye no bother, you might be happy losing to Shopping Centre Fc 0-3 at home, or Gamekeeper County 0-2 but I'm not. We are losing to absolute ***** without laying a glove on them, you keep happy clapping though... Well done Hibernian rotten luck today chaps....

Pulis was sacked at Sheff Wed after only 10 games. Maybe Ross is getting off lightly?