7/12/2019 Scottish League Premiership

Hibernian 3 v 0 Aberdeen

Boyle 52 and 68
    Kamberi 74

Hibs hammer Aberdeen

https://youtu.be/Z1TT7mVAQlw

Ah, the good old days.

When we used to hammer Aberdeen and you could actually watch it in person.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Ah, the good old days.

Who says Jack Ross disnae wIn big matches?

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Ah, the good old days.

I was thinking of it on Saturday as last year a bunch of us were at Sandown watching the Tingle Creek. We celebrated after racing in fine fashion in a pop up champagne bar which had no champagne & soon after, no wine!

8/12/2018 Scottish League Premiership

Hamilton Academicals 0 v 1 Hibernian

Olly Shaw 65

Olly gets on the end of a Daryl Horgan cross

https://youtu.be/CoeFpfEofSo

Hibs : Rocky Stevenson Mavrias Ambrose Porteous Slivka Boyle Mallan Nelom Kamberi and Shaw

Subs Hyndman Horgan

Att 2169

8/12/1969 Friendly Challenge Match

Hibernian 1 v 2 Gornik Zabrze

Cormack pen

HIBS took on Polish cracks Gornik at Easter Road due to a gap in the fixture list

Gornik were a decent side they were top of their League and had defeated Rangers 3-1 at Ibrox day’s earlier

Their side included future Polish World Cup stars Lubanski, Olek and Gorgon

The game is probably best remembered for Erich Schaedler making his debut as a half-time sub for Johnny Hamilton clattering into midfield general Peter Cormack with a typically robust high octane tackle at 100mph resulting in the #10 being carried off on a stretcher

This incident happened within minutes of Schaedler coming on and Cormack escaped with a badly bruised leg

Erich Schaedler (Shades) went on to become a Hibernian legend spending two spells at the club playing 434 games scoring 5 goals winning a Scottish League Cup being capped by Scotland and only being sent off the once

8/12/1951 Scottish League Division One

Hibernian 5 v 0 Queen Of The South

Reilly 2
    Johnstone 2
    Smith

8/12/1877 Scottish Cup Round 4

Thornliebank 1 v 2 Hibernian

Hibernian won this game in Pollockshaws but the home team put in a protest on the grounds that they had scored a perfectly good goal that the Referee had deemed to be offside

The SFA upheld their appeal and a replay was ordered

Hibernian were furious because they had previously lost an appeal themselves being told at the time that the Referee’s decision is always final

There was a bitter feeling that the SFA’s decision had been motivated by anti-Irish prejudice but Father Hannan calmed things down and told his players to prepare for the replay

The match was replayed on 8th December near Lady Road and the game finished 2-2

The SFA had previously ruled that in the event of a draw both teams would progress to the next round

Hibernian On This Day Colquhoun and Sinnet

The Making of Hibernian The Harp Awakes Alan Lugton

www.fitbastats.com
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 08-12-2020 at 10:25 AM.

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    I have to admit if asked I'd have thought shades would have been sent off more than once. Always fully committed and a far better footballer than many gave him credit for.

Quote Originally Posted by Argylehibby View Post
    I have to admit if asked I'd have thought shades would have been sent off more than once. Always fully committed and a far better footballer than many gave him credit for.
    9/11/1974 Scottish League Division One

Dunfermline Athletic 1 v 1 Hibernian

Alan Gordon opened the scoring Shades was sent off and Alex Kinninmouth equalised for the Pars

The game was significant in that it was Alan Gordon’s last game for HIBS
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 08-12-2020 at 01:03 PM.

9/12/2000 Scottish League SPL

Hibernian 3 v 0 Dunfermline Athletic

Laursen
    Paatelainen
    Zitelli

9/12/1978 Scottish League Premier Division

Hibernian 2 v 2 Motherwell

Hutchinson
    Higgins

Ex-hibee Willie Pettigrew came back to haunt us with a double

9/12/1972 Scottish League Cup Final

Hibernian 2 v 1 Celtic

Stanton 60
    O’Rourke 66

The Pat Stanton Final

Hibs finally got a deserved revenge for the 6-1 humiliation in May at Hampden with an outstanding performance

Skipper Pat Stanton inspiring his team from midfield instigating wave after wave of attack with his driving runs leading by example scoring the first and laying on the second for his old Holy Cross Academy pal Jimmy O’Rourke

Hibs had chances to add to their score with Billy McNeil clearing a drive off the line from Alan Gordon and even although King Kenny pulled one back for the champions in 73 minutes HIBS held out for a deserved victory

After the match Celtic Manager Jock Stein personally stood and congratulated every HIBS player and shook each one by the hand as they left the field

Probably the highlight of my HIBS supporting career a brilliant performance against a very good Celtic side

Scottish Cup win as well of course

Hibs Herriot Brownlie Schaedler Stanton Black Blackley Edwards O’Rourke Gordon Cropley and Duncan

Sub Hamilton

Att 71696

https://youtu.be/6q3LCUiQhME

The Presentation

https://youtu.be/7x5U3x-VRMk

9/12/1970 Inter Cities Fairs Cup Round 3 Leg 1

Hibernian 0 v 1 Liverpool

Hibs had replaced Willie MacFarlane before kick-off with former Man City Coach Dave Ewing

Top scorer Joe McBride was relegated to the bench and fans’ favourite Johnny Graham was nowhere to be seen

HIBS started well and were denied a stonewall penalty when Larry Lloyd blatantly pulled back Kenny Davidson inside the box The Referee ignored furious claims from the HIBS players and fans and waved play on

Hibs had chances to score but ultimately they came to nothing

The fans got their wish and Joe McBride was introduced with half an hour remaining After five minutes Arthur Duncan bulleted home a header from an Eric Stevenson cross but the goal was unfairly disallowed as the Referee claimed that Joe McBride had fouled Ray Clemence in the build up to the goal a claim McBride later denied in the dressing room after the game

On 75 minutes going down the slope Steve Heighway used his searing pace to hit the byline a low hard ball across goal a slip by Jim Black “Toshack!” 1-0 Liverpool

Hibs Baines Brownlie Schaedler Blackley Black Stanton Davidson McEwan Stevenson Blair and Duncan

Subs McBride Hamilton

Att 30296

https://youtu.be/tMA-xGeZ56Q

9/12/1950 Scottish League Division One

Third Lanark 1 v 2 Hibernian

Smith 17
    Reilly 86

Gordon Smith was the victim of a vicious tackle from Thirds’ Polish winger Felix Starocsik and Eddie Turnbull was immediately sent off for exacting his retribution “lock stock and barrel”

It was the first time Eddie Turnbull had been sent off in his career

www.fitbastats.com
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 07-12-2021 at 08:45 PM.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    League Cup final 1972. Coming so soon after that horrible Scottish Cup final..... what a victory for the Hibees. So fitting that it was KIng Paddy and Jimmy O'Rourke who got the goals that made the difference

I remember listening on the radio to it and the house going mental at the final whistle. My auld ma ( she was some woman) ended up in the North British hotel that night and returned home with Pat Stanton 's signature in large felt tip right down her arm.

That was a golden period of football for me. Games v Sporting Lisbon, Fc Besa, the cup final and then the Ayr Utd 8-1 game. All leading us to the greatest game in history. I was only a laddie, but those days are etched on my Hibernian consciousness forever.

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    I was at the game, taken there by my celtic supporting uncle along with his son, also a big celtic fan. When he dropped me back at my house and my parents asked how I'd behaved he explained that they were lucky i hadn't been kicked out the car on the way back because I had gone on and on about how great Hibs had been and in particular about Jimmy O'Rourkes goal.

Quote Originally Posted by Argylehibby View Post
    I was at the game, taken there by my celtic supporting uncle along with his son, also a big celtic fan. When he dropped me back at my house and my parents asked how I'd behaved he explained that they were lucky i hadn't been kicked out the car on the way back because I had gone on and on about how great Hibs had been and in particular about Jimmy O'Rourkes goal.

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar

Hibernian 3 v 0 Aberdeen

Boyle 52 and 68
    Kamberi 74

Hibs hammer Aberdeen

Hibs: Rocky Naismith Porteous Hanlon Stevenson Hallberg Mallan Boyle Allan Kamberi and Doidge

Subs Slivka Jackson Shaw

Watching that again reminds you what a great player Kamberi could be when he could be bothered!

Billy was first home loss in Europe not Reims followed by Red Star?

Quote Originally Posted by andudare2 View Post
    Billy was first home loss in Europe not Reims followed by Red Star?

Took it from Eric Stevenson’s memoirs

Shudda known better

Well spotted

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

Took it from Eric Stevenson’s memoirs

Shudda known better

Well spotted
    😇👍

10/12/1985 Friendly Challenge Match

Hibernian 4 v 2 Feyenoord

Pretty sure Gordon Juke Box Durie ripped Feyenoord a new one in this friendly

Can anyone remember who scored HIBS’ goals ?

Quote Originally Posted by BSEJVT View Post

Hibernian 3 v 0 Aberdeen

Boyle 52 and 68
    Kamberi 74

Hibs hammer Aberdeen

Hibs: Rocky Naismith Porteous Hanlon Stevenson Hallberg Mallan Boyle Allan Kamberi and Doidge

Subs Slivka Jackson Shaw

Watching that again reminds you what a great player Kamberi could be when he could be bothered!
    Tremendous performance

10/12/2017 Scottish League Premiership

Hibernian 2 v 2 Celtic

Efe 76
    Olly 79

Andy Walker’s commentary enough to give you the dry boak

https://youtu.be/cSM-9fSJLLc

10/12/2016 Scottish League Championship

Hibernian 2 v 0 Dumbarton

Hanlon 45
    Graham 76

https://youtu.be/GKSYDH4EyPo

10/12/1983 Scottish League Premier Division

Dundee 0 v 3 Hibernian

Irvine 2 (1 pen)
    Thomson

10/12/1979 Friendly Challenge Match

Hibernian 3 v 2 Leicester City

MacLeod 3

10/12/1977 Scottish League Premier Division

Ayr United 0 v 1 Hibernian

Arthur Duncan

10/12/1975 Scottish League Premier Division

Celtic 1 v 1 Hibernian

Schaedler 72

The replay of the abandoned 2-0 game

Erich Schaedler saved a point with a long range free kick that caught Peter Latchford off his line

This point put HIBS joint top of the Premier League

10/12/1966 Scottish League Division One

St Mirren 1 v 3 Hibernian

Cormack 2
    Davis pen

10/12/1955 Scottish League Division One

Hibernian 6 v 3 Dundee

Turnbull 36
    Ormond 60 and 67
    Combe 72
    Smith 78
    Cowie og 79

10/12/1949 Scottish League Division One

Hibernian 5 v 1 Falkirk

Smith 4
    Johnstone

Birthdays:

Pa Kujabi

Dave Beaumont

Ally Brazil

www.fitbastats.comi
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 14-12-2020 at 09:33 PM.

Goal scorers were Kane, Durie 2 and Harris.
    "The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.

Quote Originally Posted by Bobo View Post
    Goal scorers were Kane, Durie 2 and Harris.
    Sorry no!

But that is what I would have said

Sorry no!

But that is what I would have said
    Kane (Pen), Cowan 2 and May
    "The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.

Kane (Pen), Cowan 2 and May

Got there in the end 😁

I remember Feyenoord were top of the Dutch League It was a baltic night and they could not handle Jukes’ power and pace He had a sprint coach had worked on his upper body strength and must have laid them both on a plate for Slim Steve Cowan as per

The Juke was on a different level

I remember Feyenoord were top of the Dutch League It was a baltic night and they could not handle Jukes’ power and pace He had a sprint coach had worked on his upper body strength and must have laid them both on a plate for Slim Steve Cowan as per

The Juke was on a different level
    Durie was a great young player and strong for his age without the extra fitness coaching.

Unfortunately, like most decent young Hibs players, he was soon sold and left for Chelsea at the end of that season.

9/11/1974 Scottish League Division One

Dunfermline Athletic 1 v 1 Hibernian

Alan Gordon opened the scoring Shades was sent off and Alex Kinninmouth equalised for the Pars

The game was significant in that it was Alan Gordon’s last game for HIBS
    Got to this game early and was at the ground as the team bus arrived. Tom Hart came over and spoke to me and my mate. Then to our astonishment gave us two complimentary tickets for the stand.

Durie was a great young player and strong for his age without the extra fitness coaching.

Unfortunately, like most decent young Hibs players, he was soon sold and left for Chelsea at the end of that season.
    My memory is of him limping at the half way line in his last couple of games when the big clubs were hovering

If the ball came anywhere near him he would be off after it at a rate of knots but you always felt he wouldn’t be at HIBS long

Any time he is asked about his time at HIBS he always has good things to say
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 10-12-2020 at 08:11 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by gbhibby View Post
    Got to this game early and was at the ground as the team bus arrived. Tom Hart came over and spoke to me and my mate. Then to our astonishment gave us two complimentary tickets for the stand.
    Same thing happened to me and my mate at Dunfermline in ‘69 compliments of a very nice man Chris Shevlane

The early bird sometimes catches the worm

Stevie Cowan (2), Kano and Eddie May

Was baltic that night. Crowd c5,000
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Stevie Cowan (2), Kano and Eddie May

Was baltic that night. Crowd c5,000

Anyone know who scored for Feyenoord?