Page 89 of 116 FirstFirst ... 3979878889909199 ... LastLast
Results 2,641 to 2,670 of 3467
    I've been looking at the background of a number of those currently in power at Westminster and it's amazing just how many of them have been involved in Journalism.

It reminded me of a scene from Father Ted.

-- "That used to be quite common, you know? The favourite son would become a doctor, and the idiot brother would be sent off to the priesthood."

--- "Your brother is a doctor, isn't he?"

-- "Yes"

Presumably Journalism is the British Upper Classes' version of the Priesthood, for the idiot sibling.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Anybody know, and I'm asking the tories out there, why there is no deputy prime minister?
    Not a Tory but the U.K. government has had a position of First Secretary of State since the early 1960s. It isn’t a constitutional position, if nothing else because the UK does not have a codified constituion. Nevertheless it is seen as essentially DPM, though in some cases the appointee has been less a DPM and more a ‘fixer’.

The post hasn’t always been occupied and it is usual for the postholder to combine it with another portfolio. Rab Butler was the first I believe, I think under Macmillan.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Apparently Johnson is "proud" of the way his Government has wasted taxpayer cash and diverted it to friends of MPs. Shameless.

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    Apparently Johnson is "proud" of the way his Government has wasted taxpayer cash and diverted it to friends of MPs. Shameless.
    Listen, it's a very efficient system.

You avoid all the hassle of tendering for the best price and supporting UK manufacturers by going straight to an American jeweller who will then recruit a Spanish middleman to buy whatever you want from China.

You can also use Emergency Powers to avoid parliamentary scrutiny and just award contracts directly to people who just happen to be known connections of the likes of Cummings, Gove et al. It's all something to be "proud" of.

Putting two fingers up to transparency and doing what you like because you can has been engrained in this goverments culture since Cummings went cruising around the North East.

https://news.sky.com/story/pm-to-ann...d-war-12135956

Well that's the next set of contracts to Tory friends and family sorted.

Beyond a joke that this sorting of funding takes precedence amidst a global pandemic and the financial crisis about to hit the UK post Covid/Brexit.

Appealing to their core voter base once again.

Johnson backs Patel on bullying. Govt adviser on ministerial code then resigns.

I believe it's anti bullying week too.

Bozo backs Patel whilst the person who lead the enquiry and concluded that she had indeed breached the ministerial code and was a bully in the workplace has resigned.

Guess she must have been doing the right sort of bullying as far as the PM and the nasty party are concerned.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Bozo backs Patel whilst the person who lead the enquiry and concluded that she had indeed breached the ministerial code and was a bully in the workplace has resigned.

Guess she must have been doing the right sort of bullying as far as the PM and the nasty party are concerned.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-55016076

More on the news.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974

More on the news.
    Ms Patel released a statement saying she was sorry "that my behaviour in the past has upset people".

they kind of "apologies" really grinds my gears

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

More on the news.

You've got to wonder what the threshold is for conduct that gets the offender sacked or forced to resign.

Patel epitomises what it is to be sleekit so there's no question of her ever doing the right thing.

Yet another instance where we find that the Westminster "system" of precedent, unwritten rules, relying on "honour" totally falls apart when run by a bunch of chancers who don't gaf.

We should probably change the thread title to remove the word lying and just leave it at Tories are *******s?!

This is just another incident that would have been an automatic resignation in days gone by. The standards of behaviour expected of public officials have slipped because the public have allowed them to, shysters will always take advantage of apathy. The half baked apology that wasn't an apology ('I'm not sorry for my behaviour but I'm sorry someone was upset by it' is essentially victim blaming) sums up the contempt this government have for the people they are meant to serve.

She didn't bully anyone, she just "mis-instructed" them.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    They ****ing disgust me, repulse me and offend me on a level I've never experienced before.

They offend me marginally less than the electorate who continue to condone and accept their behaviour.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    They ****ing disgust me, repulse me and offend me on a level I've never experienced before.

They offend me marginally less than the electorate who continue to condone and accept their behaviour.
    It's really just an extension of their shamelessly do what they like mentality, born out of the Emergency Powers they conferred on themselves to deal with Covid, which have comfortably stretched to avoid scrutiny of contracts and behaviours.

They take their lead on behaviour from the top.

What was the point in the investigation if they were just ignoring it anyway?

We have a prime minister who is essentially giving the green light to bullying - so long as you make a half arsed apology.

I feel for the many thousands who suffer bullying be that at work, school or home. You are expected to suck.kt and suffer more.

Johnson, Patel and the arse licking hangers on who will defend this are a ****ing disgrace.

and today they leak they're going to freeze public sector pay again.

the same public sector that worked through the virus, were at risk every day from it, continued to pay tax and didn't miss time off.

they're ****.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Just_Jimmy View Post

the same public sector that worked through the virus, were at risk every day from it, continued to pay tax and didn't miss time off.

they're ****.

In their defence (gies me the boak defending them!) there has to be savings somewhere. I've also worked throughout the virus, paid tax and not had time off, and I'm getting nae pay rise this year.

It's ****, but it's not unexpected.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post

The investigation fell apart as it was an investigation into bullying, not bullyin'

https://twitter.com/mjdorsman/status...74646535680002

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Just_Jimmy View Post

they're ****.

I remember having a heated debate about clapping the NHS and how much they appreciated it. I wonder if they're still feeling appreciated.

Maybe it's time the UK had a constitution.

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Maybe it's time the UK had a constitution.

If there was a written constitution the government wouldn't be able to do half the stuff they get away with. (even more than the do now)

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    In their defence (gies me the boak defending them!) there has to be savings somewhere. I've also worked throughout the virus, paid tax and not had time off, and I'm getting nae pay rise this year.

It's ****, but it's not unexpected.
    They've managed to find £16b for defence. Why can't they fund the NHS so readily? And I suspect you probably work for a private company who weren't asking folk to clap at their doors every Thursday for you. You could probably move job if not happy, where does a nurse go, or a Dr, surgeon, anaesthetist etc. All specialist riles only really found in the NHS. I haven't had a wage rise either and don't expect o e next year now, no bonus as well. But I would still support a wage increase for NHS staff. And I'd be happy to pay extra in tax for it. I help make whisky, these people save lives!!

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    They've managed to find £16b for defence. Why can't they fund the NHS so readily? And I suspect you probably work for a private company who weren't asking folk to clap at their doors every Thursday for you. You could probably move job if not happy, where does a nurse go, or a Dr, surgeon, anaesthetist etc. All specialist riles only really found in the NHS. I haven't had a wage rise either and don't expect o e next year now, no bonus as well. But I would still support a wage increase for NHS staff. And I'd be happy to pay extra in tax for it. I help make whisky, these people save lives!!
    I’m no saying I agree with their policies. There has to be a line somewhere though.

I work for Edinburgh Uni, the pay isn’t great, and there’s no such thing as bonuses, but I like the job. We’re not getting a pay rise, prob not next year either.

My girlfriend is a dietitian in the NHS, and it could affect her. So...I’m not saying that it’s fair cos it won’t affect me. I’m saying it’s fair because this whole COVID **** has cost us a fortune already. At some point they have to look at ways to counter that.

Honestly, while I appreciate what they do, I’m not going to lose any sleep over doctors or surgeons not getting a pay rise. Plenty are going to be struggling more than them.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    I’m no saying I agree with their policies. There has to be a line somewhere though.

I work for Edinburgh Uni, the pay isn’t great, and there’s no such thing as bonuses, but I like the job. We’re not getting a pay rise, prob not next year either.

My girlfriend is a dietitian in the NHS, and it could affect her. So...I’m not saying that it’s fair cos it won’t affect me. I’m saying it’s fair because this whole COVID **** has cost us a fortune already. At some point they have to look at ways to counter that.

Honestly, while I appreciate what they do, I’m not going to lose any sleep over doctors or surgeons not getting a pay rise. Plenty are going to be struggling more than them.
    On NHS pay, I think the Scottish government has already committed to pay rises.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    I remember having a heated debate about clapping the NHS and how much they appreciated it. I wonder if they're still feeling appreciated.
    true,

what about the other emergency services that won't now move up the pay bands and won't get pay rises either so in real time they'll see a fall.

same with the army - who are currently on the streets in English cities helping with testing that's failing.

16bn for defence been found though?

covid has to be paid for - by the people who worked through it so plenty could get 80% salary for staying at home safe for months.

plenty won't lose sleep over public sector pay because it doesn't impact them. that's what the government want. divide and conquer

the Tories are ****. nothing else.

NHS frontline workers are exempt from the proposed wage freeze.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar

Seems like a nice woman.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

Seems like a nice woman.

Made up nonsense.

Priti never pronounces the letter "g".😆