Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Redundancy

Redundancy

Hi all, hope to get some words of wisdom from anyone that has went through redundancy before, I have just been put at risk from a company in financial services after 15 years with the company, my worry is that having two young kids is my biggest fear in providing and getting another job in today's world, my head is a bit of a mess the now is an understatement, I have great support from my family which is making it a bit easier but those worries are still in my head, it may be a good thing as it may let me explore other things I have wanted to do. So how did you deal with it?

I'm going through the process at work at the moment. It's an ongoing consultation process currently. Tbh the waiting is the worst part, if I'm going I'd rather just know and be able to process things.

I've not been dealing with it particularly well. I worry about providing for my family as I'm the only full time wage coming in. I've tried to get as much information as possible about my rights, what I'm entitled to and so on.

I've never been out of work before so it's potentially new territory for me. Hopefully thinks work out for you as the uncertainity is a total head ****.

Quote Originally Posted by Jakhog1 View Post
    Hi all, hope to get some words of wisdom from anyone that has went through redundancy before, I have just been put at risk from a company in financial services after 15 years with the company, my worry is that having two young kids is my biggest fear in providing and getting another job in today's world, my head is a bit of a mess the now is an understatement, I have great support from my family which is making it a bit easier but those worries are still in my head, it may be a good thing as it may let me explore other things I have wanted to do. So how did you deal with it?
    I was made redundant earlier this year due to covid. It's a worrying time but what I would say is there are other jobs out there however the likelihood is the salary may be lower than what you are used to (I'm guessing with 15 years service however your redundancy payment may offset that slightly).

Since I was made redundant in June I've had two jobs (my current one and the other I lasted 2 days in as it was a disaster) and turned down the option to interview at another by a recruitment company.

If you are sharp and have decent experience I'd say you have a good chance of finding other employment fairly soon but be prepared for a drop in salary.
    Last edited by Since90+2; 22-10-2020 at 02:19 PM.

Thanks guys, yeah getting a decent amount for redundancy so that ease my fears a little bit, I'm in the same boat always worked and never been without employment in 25 years, I'm also the main provider and having two kids under 7 is my main priority, would hate to be without work and hopefully find something right away and as you have said I would be more than willing to work for less money than what I am on just to have that stability in my life, I do appreciate hearing others feedback and experiences, I knew I would get good advice coming on here

With 15 years service (even with statutory redundancy pay) you shouldn’t be in a position where you need to panic about not being able to pay the bills or put food on the table immediately, hopefully. That should buy you a bit time at least.

There are definitely jobs out there, I wouldn’t be unduly worried about not being able to get employment. Would echo the comments above about salary expectations though. What I would say is that, although I’ve managed to avoid being made redundant for the moment, I have had to move to a four day week (temporary 20% pay cut). In the current climate I’ve not felt under pressure financially. Not because I earn a fortune, just because a lot of the things I normally spend money on aren’t there to spend money on!

Having been made redundant twice before, I’ve just assumed that I would be going from the moment that I got put at risk. Last time, I had a couple of job offers before I was confirmed as going. Appreciate it’s a different climate at the moment, but getting on the front foot with the job hunt worked for me.

I went through redundancy 10 years ago and retrained to be a teacher - best thing that even happened to me.

My world literally collapsed when I was made redundant. Looking back, and I know it’s easy to say, it was the best thing that happened to me.

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Only advice I’d have would be to get something ASAP. Literally anything, even if it’s working in a supermarket, fast food, whatever. It can keep some structure in your life and also means you just need to ‘top up’ your wage from your redundancy payment rather than use it to cover a full month without wages.

Hopefully you keep your job but if not then hopefully you’ll manage to get something that you fancy ASAP

I've been made redundant twice.

First time was a bit of a nightmare: 2 wee kids, my wife wasn't working at the time, took me 3 months to get another job and I had to commute to the Weedge for a year for less money before I found something back in Edinburgh. Stress all round.

Second time worked out fine as the job market (software dev) was much healthier at the time. I got a few offers, ended up in a better job for more money and banked the redundancy. Happy days.

My advice would be to be proactive. If your current employer offers support by all means use it but don't rely on it, ime it can be a box-ticking, fairly useless thing on their part. Set aside a good chunk of time per day for job hunting activity. Even if you're not getting immediate results, it gives you some structure and focus. Get in touch with friends, ex-colleagues, etc there might be something they know of you can get a head start on.

Good luck!

I was made redundant at the end of July due to the Covid situation. It was not unexpected as I realised as soon as the pandemic struck that my role at head office level in the hospitality sector would be in danger.
    It’s been a challenge both financially and mentally but now I am about to open a new business venture with a colleague made redundant from the same employer.
    It has been the push we both needed to go it alone and we are relishing the challenge ahead.

That's my plan to get looking straight away, may try to get out of finance altogether and retrain on something completely different.

I really fancy a change and as you say H18 SFR it may be a blessing and could be the best thing that has happened to me

I felt a bit of a failure telling my wife and family as I have never experienced this before but they have been amazing

Bigger problems going on in the world so thank you for giving me your ear

I've never been made redundant but have worked in offices where it's happened around me (I've just been fortunate to have been in the right place at the right time to not be directly impacted), and I've had my role made redundant but just been shifted to an equivalent role.

What I would say though, is that nobody I know from those times who was made redundant has looked back on it as anything other than a positive in the long run, they all went on to different things (everything from using their redundancy to set up their own business, to doing what they did already but with a new employer, or taking a totally different career path through things like nursing and teaching). In fact, my sister was made redundant a while back and was able to find a similar job but also started really getting into acting, which she's brilliant at and is loving.

Clearly, the circumstances were different, but if you keep an open mind as to where your next move could be, you might find that rather than being a huge cloud over you, it takes you somewhere you would never have thought you'd be without the forced situation.

The last thing I would say is don't ever look upon it as being a failure or somehow your fault, this is a situation that has been totally out of our control - you don't have to feel guilty about it or embarrassed.

There is loads in place with the work from redeployment to CV writing so will take advantage where I can, also no job is beneath me as long as I feel as I am contributing some way, I honestly feel much better now than I did a few hours ago

Quote Originally Posted by Jakhog1 View Post
    That's my plan to get looking straight away, may try to get out of finance altogether and retrain on something completely different.

I really fancy a change and as you say H18 SFR it may be a blessing and could be the best thing that has happened to me

I felt a bit of a failure telling my wife and family as I have never experienced this before but they have been amazing

Bigger problems going on in the world so thank you for giving me your ear
    I can relate to the challenge of telling your close friends and family - I’d just add, you’ve not failed in any way of shape you’re simply a victim of the pandemic.

Keep focusing on the positives.

When it was me 10 years ago I immediately paid off my car loan, overdraft and credit commitments. It made me feel much happier knowing I only had my mortgage. It helped me to relax and plan out what I wanted to do next.

Quote Originally Posted by H18 SFR View Post
    I can relate to the challenge of telling your close friends and family - I’d just add, you’ve not failed in any way of shape you’re simply a victim of the pandemic.

Keep focusing on the positives.

When it was me 10 years ago I immediately paid off my car loan, overdraft and credit commitments. It made me feel much happier knowing I only had my mortgage. It helped me to relax and plan out what I wanted to do next.

Thank you, you must have made a good move in becoming a teacher, definitely have put my mind at ease, thank you all for the kind words an led advice, means a lot.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    The threat of redundancy has hung over me at least half a dozen times and thankfully I've always been kept on, strange feeling when you survive the cull but friends don't.

Strange thing for me is they are due at our company again but my fear has turned into hope. With being 60yo and 30 years service I will volunteer as I would get 80 weeks pay and it would save a compulsory.

Been through the process twice. First time (pre-family/kids) I stuck it out through the 'consultation process', hoping the union involved might negotiate some sort of deal but they were pretty powerless/useless and it became pretty clear our jobs were doomed. Second time was after we'd had kids so I applied immediately (and was accepted) for the voluntary redundancy package on offer which gave me a few months of breathing space to retrain at college and embark on a different path.

As others have said, if it's looking like you may not find work in the field you're in for while (and in these horribly uncertain times I guess that's a strong possibility) it might make sense to find some sort of paid employment asap. My brother in law was in a similar boat a wee while back and got a job as a supermarket delivery driver while a former colleage worked on a bin lorry - doesn't sound too glamorous but he actually loved it and enjoyed 'working the streets' so much he's ended up as a postie (which involves a lot more training than some might realise). On the flip side I know another dad who's still in a kind of denial that he won't find a similarly well paid job despite having lost his previous one well over a year ago and refuses to contemplate a change of status. It's made him a difficult person to be around.
    Last edited by G B Young; 22-10-2020 at 05:54 PM.

I was made redundant more than 25 years ago, as it was so long ago I hadn’t thought of commenting. But all the positive comments have chimed with my experience back then.

I am now retired but looking back at the varied work life I have had since then I am glad it happened to me. The company I worked for had been taken over by people who turned out to be crooks so them not wanting me in their company was one if the best compliments I gave ever received.

What I am trying (poorly) to say is that how you respond and look back on redundancy can really be a positive though it can be tough at the time. Stay positive, it really does help

Cheers everyone, that's it, just have to remain positive now, feels better getting it all of my chest, to all those that are going through the same experience I hope that you all have a good outcome and hope better things are just around the corner

Have sent you a PM Jakhog, feel free to ignore if no help.

I’ve also been put into a consultation for redundancy, second time in 2 year, it’s really stressing me out tbh.

I've been there 11 years, the pay out would be reasonable but not massive, but all things being equal I’d rather still be in a job, given all the circumstances. In a perfect world I’d find a similar job with similar salary (or better ) and get the redundancy package, but I’d be happy to have the stability of staying in employment rather than unemployed and trying to find another job, with a 1 year old and mortgage etc.

Quote Originally Posted by wallpaperman View Post
    Have sent you a PM Jakhog, feel free to ignore if no help.
    Thank you, sent reply

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    We're just finishing off redundancy negotiations. Originally there were 738 from 1590 on the chopping block, but thanks to the furlough scheme we've managed to put off making any redundancies until at least 31.12.2021. We agreed on a voluntary redundancy scheme for those that want to leave now. Using the factors that we've agreed upon for voluntary redundancy I could walk out the door with a little over 2 years salary. I'm seriously considering it and using the money to make a career change. I'm thinking of doing an HGV driving course with a dangerous goods certificate and throwing in a forklift truck license whilst I'm at it. Having worked in the airline industry for 16 years now I just want a job where I have little or no contact with the general public. I've got 10 days to make up my mind.

Heartbreaking to hear of the real life stories of Hi bees potentially put on the dole scrapheap. It happened to a heck of a lot of good folk in the seventies and eighties. Hundreds of thousands of manual workers deliberately put on the dole to make way for electronic finance. It almost makes me think this has also deliberately been done by the already rich well off illuminati who have betted on/counted on a robotic less human resource future. The b stard jambo anderson springs to mind making billions for the already super rich gunts. They're alledgedly opening up an office in Haymarket so easy to protest against if so.

Lets hope and pray to God its not been and we will find a way for the workforce to rise again. However, it certainly appears to be a supra national conspiracy.
    Last edited by RitchieHibs; 22-10-2020 at 11:29 PM.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by RitchieHibs View Post
    Heartbreaking to hear of the real life stories of Hi bees potentially put on the dole scrapheap. It happened to a heck of a lot of good folk in the seventies and eighties. Hundreds of thousands of manual workers deliberately put on the dole to make way for electronic finance. It almost makes me think this has also deliberately been done by the already rich well off illuminati who have betted on/counted on a robotic less human resource future. The b stard jambo anderson springs to mind making billions for the already super rich gunts. They're alledgedly opening up an office in Haymarket so easy to protest against if so.

Lets hope and pray to God its not been and we will find a way for the workforce to rise again. However, it certainly appears to be a supra national conspiracy.
    You have a slightly confused view of what Anderson does and the benefits to society of properly allocated capital.

As it is anyone could have bought into Scottish Mortgage for the time he has run it. For decades Baillie Gifford offered a free share plan where amounts of as little as £25pm could be regularly invested.

So suggesting that only super rich gunts have or can benefit from his expertise and knowledge says more about you than it does about him I’m afraid.

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    You have a slightly confused view of what Anderson does and the benefits to society of properly allocated capital.

As it is anyone could have bought into Scottish Mortgage for the time he has run it. For decades Baillie Gifford offered a free share plan where amounts of as little as £25pm could be regularly invested.

So suggesting that only super rich gunts have or can benefit from his expertise and knowledge says more about you than it does about him I’m afraid.
    Him, Anderson jambo and super rich gunts like him have decimated communities, decade after decade. They are completely devoid of human consequence in their pursuit of coin. They are only interested in rewarding themselves and those like them. You're way off the mark sunbeam. God bless you though. We'll catch up with the gunts no doubt. Independence will out these charlatans.
    Last edited by RitchieHibs; 23-10-2020 at 12:28 AM.

Him, Anderson jambo and super rich gunts like him have decimated communities, decade after decade. They are completely devoid of human consequence in their pursuit of coin. They are only interested in rewarding themselves and those like them. You're way off the mark sunbeam. God bless you though. We'll catch up with the gunts no doubt. Independence will out these charlatans.
    Are you ok?

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Are you ok?
    Brand new Matty.

Nae worries pal. Just a few auld boils to lance against an auld enemy that never forgets nor do I.

Cheers mate.

Erin Go Brath and Bonnie Scotland.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Righty ho then!

I’ll let this thread stay on topic rather than bother replying in any detail to that steaming pile of a post.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar

Very bizarre. I hope James Anderson is also investing in tin foil hat manufacturers!

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    We're just finishing off redundancy negotiations. Originally there were 738 from 1590 on the chopping block, but thanks to the furlough scheme we've managed to put off making any redundancies until at least 31.12.2021. We agreed on a voluntary redundancy scheme for those that want to leave now. Using the factors that we've agreed upon for voluntary redundancy I could walk out the door with a little over 2 years salary. I'm seriously considering it and using the money to make a career change. I'm thinking of doing an HGV driving course with a dangerous goods certificate and throwing in a forklift truck license whilst I'm at it. Having worked in the airline industry for 16 years now I just want a job where I have little or no contact with the general public. I've got 10 days to make up my mind.
    Personally I'd be jumping at that but everyone has their own circumstances to consider.

All the best