Billy, did you know Willie Wilson?
I used to live near his house when I was a kid and his wife was a lovely woman. She found out I was a Hibs supporter and invited me and my pal in to show us all her photo albums of Willie's career.
My Dad found out later and was totally seething with envy ;-)
Fun Fact: Willie Wilson's house at that time was about 50 metres away from where 'Geebsie' lived (Gogs* was in the year below me at school and I was in his sister's class).
Gogs was his correct nickname, not Geebsie ;-)
Thread: On this day in history
-
26-05-2020 10:08 AM #241
-
26-05-2020 10:22 AM #242This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I also know Geebsies sister...nice lady Prison Officer or WPC I think?
I also played for Wallyford Bluebell back in ancient fitba times we had a picture of Jock Wallace hanging up in the clubhouse holding a trophy think it was the Junior Cup but maybes naw
-
26-05-2020 10:36 AM #243This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
His sister's called Jean Anne. I haven't seen her for years so don't know what she does now.
OMG, I should be asking for your autograph!
-
26-05-2020 10:39 AM #244This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
27-05-2020 08:22 AM #245
27/5/1964 Summer Cup Semi-Final Leg 1
Kilmarnock 4 v 3 Hibernian
Vincent
Martin
Hamilton
Hibs had reached the semi-final of the Summer Cup under Jock Stein and the first leg was away at Rugby Park and as usual it would prove to be a tricky tie
Kilmarnock scored through a Ronnie Hamilton penalty a John McNamee og and goals from Brian McIlroy and Jackie McInally.
HIBS responded through Vincent Hamilton and Martin and crucially Martin saw Sandy McLaughlin save his late penalty kick but it mattered not a jot as HIBS would go on to defeat Kilmarnock 3-0 at Easter Road three days later and qualify to meet Aberdeen in what would prove to be an epic final
Worth mentioning that after this semi-final at Rugby Park both sets of supporters gave the teams a rousing standing ovation for a good old fashioned entertaining end to end Cup tie
Hibs Wilson Fraser Leishman Stanton McNamee and J Stevenson ORourke Hamilton Vincent Martin and J Scott
27/5/1961 Inter Cities Fairs Cup Semi-Final Play-Off
Roma 6 v 0 Hibernian
Hibs had reached the semi-final of the Inter Cities Fairs Cup which would nowadays be the equivalent of the UEFA Cup or the Europa League
Hibs had already played Roma home and away in the semi-final drawing 2-2 at Easter Road and drawing 3-3 in Rome
Based on present day rules HIBS would be in the Final on the away goals rule but back then the venue for the deciding tie in the event of a draw would be decided by the toss of a coin
In his book Davie Gibson states that the Hibernian Directors actually agreed a financial guarantee to return at the end of May which was fine by him as he had thrown a coin in the Trevi Fountain with Johnny MacLeod and Ronnie Simpson hoping to return one day but not on the end of a 6-0 thrashing
Roma won the toss allegedly but the mysterious thing was the tie was to take place a full month after the 3-3 draw in Rome and a month after HIBS’ domestic season had ended
The Italians were still in the middle of their season and the under prepared HIBS team having not played for a month suffered their heaviest ever away defeat in Europe.
Manfreddi scored in the first minute and would add another three both sides would each miss a penalty before Menichelli and Selmosson would complete the scoring for the Italians
The HIBS players treated the whole trip as a holiday as they did not expect to win and according to Eric Stevenson’s book they would go on organised excursions to the Coliseum, The Trevi Fountain and other local landmarks all laid on by the Daily Express.
An Italian family back in Edinburgh had arranged a slap feed with free flowing wine at a top class local restaurant
Many of the players suffered sunburn lying on the beaches under the intense hot summer sun
The big attraction for the Italian fans was of course Joe Baker but little did they or the HIBS fans realise that he had already been sold
Roma would go on to defeat Birmingham City 4-2 in a two legged final a final that if things had been different should have been a Battle of Britain
Hibs Simpson Fraser McClelland Baxter Easton and Baird MacLeod Kinloch Baker Gibson and Stevenson
Att 50000
https://youtu.be/iJtuz-nxgoo
Hibernian FC On This Day. Colquhoun and Sinnet
Hibs Through and Through Eric Stevenson
Gibbo The Davie Gibson Story
www.fitbastats.comLast edited by BILLYHIBS; 27-05-2020 at 09:13 AM.
-
27-05-2020 09:13 AM #246This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I spent 2 or 3 years playing for the Corrie Inn alongside Jimmy & Stan. A couple of games I was lying down crying with laughter (or maybe just knackered) at their antics, especially Stan.
-
28-05-2020 08:19 AM #247
28/5/1979 Scottish Cup Final Second Replay
Hibernian 2 v 3 Rangers. AET
Higgins
MacLeod pen
The final instalment of the bore-fest that HIBS so easily could have won
” The first replay was played in dreadful wet conditions and our defence was superb in a match that went to extra time There were no penalty shoot-outs in those days so a second replay took place the following Monday, 28th May
Once again I thought we had our hands on the Cup as we tore Rangers apart in the first half. Tony Higgins put us ahead after 16 minutes but we just could not finish off the Glasgow team Big Derek Johnstone’s equaliser before half-time came off a rebound when Tommy McLean’s 25 yarder took a slight deflection on its way to Jim McArthur who could not hold it.
Johnstone had moved up front and he scored his second after an hour but still we did not give up. The penalty award which allowed us to equalise was soft; McCloy’s offence in the first game was much worse. Ally MacLeod made no mistake and we almost snatched it late on when Bobby Hutchinson who I had sent on to replace Tony Higgins grazed the outside of the post with a shot
Jim McArthur saved a penalty from Alex Miller but in the second half of extra time Davie Cooper swung in a cross and Arthur Duncan dived to try and head clear only for the ball to end up in our net. We had lost the Scottish Cup by an own goal and after 330 minutes of unceasing effort we had nothing to show but losers medals I don’t think Arthur ever forgave himself but he was such a great player for HIBS over the years that no one ever held it against him.”
Eddie Turnbull
77 years and counting
Hibs McArthur Brazil Duncan Bremner Stewart and McNamara MacLeod Rae Campbell Callachan and Higgins
Subs Hutchinson and Brown
Att 27556
28/5/1967 North American League
Hibernian 1 v 1 Cerro
McGraw
The first game of a gruelling 12 game North American tour in which HIBS drew 1-1 with Cerro of Uruguay in the Yankee Stadium New York -played in intense heat -thanks to an Alan McGraw header
Hibs’ next game would be against Eddie Turnbull’s Aberdeen three days later but they would also go on to face Ado Den Haag, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Dundee United, Cagliari, Sunderland ( twice ) Bangu, Stoke City, Shamrock Rovers and Glentoran all in the name of trying to push soccer to the locals
It was also a chance to get in some valuable team bonding and sight-seeing
HIBS played under the name Toronto City
Cerro were the New York Skyliners
Aberdeen were the Washington Whips
Dundee United were Dallas Tornadoes
Hibs Allan Duncan Davis Stanton Madsen and Cousin Quinn Cormack Scott McGraw and Stevenson
In Colours Green and White. John Campbell
Having A Ball. Eddie Turnbull
www.fitbastats.comLast edited by BILLYHIBS; 31-05-2020 at 08:03 AM.
-
28-05-2020 01:34 PM #248
-
29-05-2020 08:08 AM #249
29/5/1943 Summer Cup First Round First Leg
Hibernian 7 v 0 Partick Thistle
Baxter 2
Cuthbertson 2
Anderson
Smith 2
Partick held out well for the first half-hour even although Bobby Baxter had opened the scoring after only 8 minutes but when Jocky Cuthbertson added a second on 32 minutes their resistance caved in and the floodgates opened Baxter and Cubby again adding goals before half-time
HIBS were imperious and irresistible and went on to totally dominate the second half Gordon Smith grabbing a late double
Hibs would win the second leg 5-2 with Charles McGilvray getting a rare start scoring a hat-trick
St Mirren would go on to defeat Rangers 1-0 in the final at Hampden
Hihs : Brown Shaw Hall Finnigan Baxter Kean Smith McGilvray Anderson Cuthbertson and Caskie
Att: 8000
Hibernian FC On This Day Colquhoun and Sinnet
www.fitbastats.comLast edited by BILLYHIBS; 29-05-2020 at 09:18 AM.
-
30-05-2020 08:38 AM #250
30/5/1964 Summer Cup Semi-Final 2nd Leg
Hibernian 3 v 0 Kilmarnock ( Agg 6-4 )
Martin 2
Vincent
After losing the first leg 3-4 in an entertaining game at Rugby Park HIBS welcomed Kilmarnock to Easter Road and 18000 fans turned up expecting more of the same
Two goals by the brilliant Neil Martin in either half sandwiched in between a strike from Stan Vincent put paid to Killie’s hopes but special mention must be made to Willie Wilson, Pat Stanton and John McNamee who were outstanding in defence on the night
The Final would be a two legged affair against Aberdeen who had defeated Partick Thistle 3-2 on aggregate in the other semi but the Final would be put on hold until 1st of August due to a typhoid outbreak in the town
The HIBS players could relax and go on holiday
Hibs : Wilson Fraser Leishman Stanton McNamee J Stevenson ORourke Hamilton Vincent Martin and Scott
30/5/1942 Summer Cup Round One
Hibernian 2 v 1 Clyde
Milne 2
HIBS began their defence of the Summer Cup with this win at Easter Road
They would go on to lose a brutal hard fought final to Rangers at Hampden Park after extra time on the toss of a coin
Birthdays
Pat McGinlay
Calum Booth
At Easter Road They Play. John Campbell
www.fitbastats.comLast edited by BILLYHIBS; 30-05-2020 at 08:40 AM.
-
31-05-2020 07:18 AM #251
31/5/1979 Scottish League Premier Division
Hibernian 2 v 1 Rangers
Brazil
Rae
On Thursday 31st May HIBS played their last match of the season against a Rangers side they were unable to beat only days earlier in three titanic Scottish Cup Finals and in true HIBS form went out and beat them 2-1 in front of only 3242 spectators the goals coming from Brazil and Rae
Hibs McArthur Brazil Duncan Bremner Stewart and McNamara Rae MacLeod Campbell Brown and Hutchinson
31/5/1967 North American League
Toronto City 1 v 2 Washington Whips
Stevenson
Hibs playing their second game of the tour lost this home match in Toronto to Eddie Turnbull’s Aberdeen
Aberdeen took the lead through Jimmy Smith and Jim Storrie with Eric Stevenson reducing the deficit from a Cormack cutback to make for an exciting finish for the large ex-pat audience
Hibs Allan Duncan Davis Stanton Madsen and Cousin Quinn Cormack J Scott McGraw and Stevenson
Att 10000
Birthdays
Alen Orman
www.fitbastats.comLast edited by BILLYHIBS; 31-05-2020 at 11:58 AM.
-
01-06-2020 06:57 AM #252
1978 Tour of Canada
1/6/1978 Ottawa Tigers 0 v 7 Hibernian
MacLeod 2
Brownlie 2
Higgins
Duncan
Bremner
30/5/1978 Manitoba All Stars 0 v 6 Hibernian
MacLeod 4
28/5/1978 Edmonton All Stars 0 v 7 Hibernian
MacLeod 3
Duncan 2
Higgins
Paterson
25/5/1978 Vancouver Island Vistas 0 v 9 Hibernian
MacLeod 4
Higgins 2
Duncan 2
Bremner
23/5/1978 Vancouver Whitecaps 2 v 2 Hibernian
W Murray
Duncan
The most controversial game of the tour Willie Murray and Arthur Duncan put HIBS on easy street Kevin Hector pulled one back on the hour before Ally MacLeod had a perfectly good goal harshly disallowed for an earlier soft infringement on the edge of the box This decision prompted whistles from the large Scottish crowd in the Stands which only grew louder moments later when the Whitecaps were awarded a hotly disputed penalty that Alan Hinton smashed home to level the tie at 2-2
Ex West Ham stopper Phil Parkes played in goal for the Whitecaps
18/5/1978 Calgary Kickers 1 v 4 Hibernian
Macleod 2
Duncan
Higgins
16/5/1978 Ontario All Stars 1 v 1 Hibernian
MacLeod
1/6/1946 Victory Cup Semi-Final
Hibernian 2 v 1 Clyde
Smith pen
Milne
Hibernian won this Victory Cup semi-final at Tynecastle Park thanks to a Gordon Smith penalty on 32 minutes and an Arthur Milne goal on 52 minutes Hepburn pulled a goal back for Clyde on 58 minutes
Hibs would play Rangers in the final at Hampden who beat Celtic 2-0 in a replayed semi-final after a 0-0 draw
Celtic had two men sent off for dissent in the replay
Hibs Kerr Howie Shaw Finnigan Aird and Kean Smith Peat Milne Aitkenhead and Nutley
Att: 25000
1/6/1940 Rosebery Charity Cup Final
Hearts 2 v 5 Hibernian
Milne 3
Finnigan 2
A very long season came to an end on Saturday 1st June when in the final of the Rosebery Charity Cup at Tynecastle the Hibees thrashed Hearts 2-5 the highlight being an Arthur Milne hatrick and a brace from Willie Finnigan Another highlight was a brilliant Jimmy Kerr save from a Tommy Walker penalty
Birthdays
David Murphy
www.fitbastats.comLast edited by BILLYHIBS; 02-06-2020 at 05:33 AM.
-
01-06-2020 01:56 PM #253This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
01-06-2020 02:07 PM #254This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Willie Allan told us to take our scarves off Big Dod Stewart appeared from the back still with his blazer and tie on he said “ naw these boys are fine Willie” He started to talk about the 79 Final he said that Arthur turned to him and said “ Sorry George!” He replied “ Dinnae worry about it Arthur “ but he felt like knocking his block off
As Eddie Turnbull said he didn’t think Arthur ever got over it and no one ever held it against him as he was a wonderful servant to the club and a great player
-
02-06-2020 04:55 AM #255
1968 Tour of Nigeria and Ghana
2/6/1968 Ghana Select 1 v 0 Hibernian
29/5/1968 Western Rovers 0 v 1 Hibernian
Stein
25/5/1968 Northern Lions 0 v 1 Hibernian
Cormack
22/5/1968 Nigerian Olympic 1 v 1 Hibernian
Cormack
Hibs would play their final game against a North Ghana Select on 5/6/1968 winning 2-0 after water was removed from the flooded pitch HIBS goals came from Colin Stein and a Joe Davis penalty but the highlight of the game came from the performance of young Peter Marinello on the right wing whose ball control wizardry brought great cheers and clapping from the local fans
2/6/1945 Summer Cup First Round Leg 2
Hibernian 7 v 0 St Mirren ( Agg 9-4 )
Weir 3
Baxter 2
Smith
Caskie
Birthdays:
Franck Dja Djedje
Joe McLaughlin
Alex McGhee
www.fitbastats.comLast edited by BILLYHIBS; 02-06-2020 at 05:46 AM.
-
03-06-2020 05:06 AM #256
3/6/1944 Summer Cup Round One First Leg
Hibernian 4 v 2 Airdrieonians
Bogan 3
Smith
1924 Tour of Austria
3/6/1924 Rapid Vienna 1 v 3 Hibernian
Jimmy Dunn
Harry Ritchie 2
5/6/1924 Vienna Select 5 v 3 Hibernian
7/6/1924 British Army 1 v 1 Hibernian
Birthdays
Tony Higgins
www.fitbastats.comLast edited by BILLYHIBS; 03-06-2020 at 02:47 PM.
-
03-06-2020 02:51 PM #257
3/6/1978 WORLD CUP FINALS ARGENTINA
Peru 3 v 1 Scotland
Jordan
https://youtu.be/THMHg8BYhpk
-
04-06-2020 05:54 AM #258
4/6/1990 Wallace Mercer stages his controversial take-over attempt as he is introduced to a shocked HIBS Board in London
I flew out to Italia 90 on this day not knowing if I would still have a football club on my return
https://youtu.be/eLjZC0qcUFU
4/6/1967 North American League Match Day 3
Hibernian 2 v 0 Ado Den Haag
Cormack
Davis (pen)
A decent performance as Ado had defeated Sunderland 6-1 in their previous game
Johnsparky2
www.fitbastats.comLast edited by BILLYHIBS; 04-06-2020 at 07:30 AM.
-
04-06-2020 07:52 AM #259This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-06-2020 07:55 AM #260
-
04-06-2020 08:55 AM #261This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Jambo that organised it a Travel Agent had us staying in a Farmhouse up in the hills in Pisa so we had to drive to Genoa ( twice) and Turin along the Auto Strada two wives two Bairns buggies food and other parafinalia that comes wi Bairns in a Renault V
It was handy for the sightseeing though Verona Sienna Florence etc
-
04-06-2020 09:02 AM #262This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-06-2020 10:08 AM #263
4/6/16
My dear old dad passed away at St.John's in Livingston.
At least he knew Hibs had won the Scottish Cup.
RIP dad
-
04-06-2020 12:59 PM #264
-
04-06-2020 01:07 PM #265
-
04-06-2020 01:43 PM #266This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-06-2020 01:53 PM #267This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-06-2020 02:20 PM #268This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-06-2020 02:35 PM #269This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-