Page 337 of 2118 FirstFirst ... 2372873273353363373383393473874378371337 ... LastLast
Results 10,081 to 10,110 of 63517

Thread: Coronavirus

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Maybe I'm missing something, but how can it be seen to be positive when only 0.27% of the population have had Covid19 and we've had nearly 34 000 deaths, how high will the death count be when we've had say 25%?
    It’s not “have had”. It’s “actually had at the time”.

Quote Originally Posted by PaulSmith View Post
    Yes we absolutely are. Understandable but becoming more difficult to support as the days go on.

We are now an outlier from almost all other nations in Europe.
    Only 4 out of 15 Scottish NHS Regions now have more than 5 people in ICU. Across Lothian there are 10 people in ICU.

On the 10th April there were 40.
    Last edited by Hibby Bairn; 14-05-2020 at 07:20 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    When this is all over let’s hope that we move far beyond focussing on one company involved in a high profile case to fixing a system overseen by our Governments which has so badly let down a generation of our most vulnerable at their time of need. It’s shameful.
    I think I said this about 16 pages back.

@hibs.net private member Berwickhibby's Avatar
    I see Boris is out showing his appreciation for the NHS again. Merkel does something similar for the German health services, she gives them proper funding.
    when I lived and worked in Germany we paid insurance to different companies my krankenkasse was Barma if my memory is correct, I did not think the Government funded the health system like we do with NHS ....but admittedly that was 30 years plus ago.

I see Boris is out showing his appreciation for the NHS again. Merkel does something similar for the German health services, she gives them proper funding.
    Clapping whilst plans are already being put in place to freeze their wages.

Prepare for a different Edinburgh when we start opening up.

https://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/news/ar...g-in-edinburgh

Left by mutual consent! PaulSmith's Avatar
    Maybe I'm missing something, but how can it be seen to be positive when only 0.27% of the population have had Covid19 and we've had nearly 34 000 deaths, how high will the death count be when we've had say 25%?
    Outside of care homes and hospitals the risk of catching C19 seems to be very small and the risk of death outside these environments seems even smaller.

Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    Prepare for a different Edinburgh when we start opening up.

https://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/news/ar...g-in-edinburgh
    I suspect that C19 will be used in every industry, business, govt and council across the UK as the reason to implement all sorts of things. Some good and some that cause concern.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    Only 4 out of 15 Scottish NHS Regions now have more than 5 people in ICU. Across Lothian there are 10 people in ICU.

On the 10th April there were 40.
    What number do you think the Scot Govt are looking to achieve before relaxing the lockdown or even giving us the opportunity to look at their plan?

People over 100 year old passing away were being used as reasons to keep the lockdown on the STV news earlier.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    The Kings College symptom tracker study is estimating over 240K are actively symptomatic as of 11th May. I think they have the total symptomatic cases at over 3M since the study started.

That's based on a study of over 3.5M people reporting symptoms or lack thereof regularly. What they do with those figures after they get them to reach their estimated figure I don't know. They currently estimate about 0.9% of people in Edinburgh have symptomatic infection.
    Thanks.

I think I'd seen the 240k number and thought 180k was an update. Maybe that's too much of a decrease and these are just different methods.
    Mon the Hibs.

What number do you think the Scot Govt are looking to achieve before relaxing the lockdown or even giving us the opportunity to look at their plan?

People over 100 year old passing away were being used as reasons to keep the lockdown on the STV news earlier.
    A balance between the R number, new infections and new hospital admissions will determine when things are eased not a drop in the death rate or icu as single measures.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Trips View Post
    What we may see in 2 weeks they can say that was our own fault, irrespective of why people needed to be on the bus or the tube irrespective of how vital that journey is or was folk made a decision to not socially distance. If you are sitting on tube with plenty of room and next stop 20 folk get on and suddenly people are within 2 feet of you would it bother you less if you knew that person would get sacked if didnt turn up for shift? Sorry i am not saying you in particular Sylar just putting it out there.

Truth is we do not know the people on the commute and as anywhere I am not happy if somebody is encroaching ignorantly into well under my 2m gap texting or chatting on a phone even if they are out getting messages for folk i will never know that.

With every place the reopens the distancing starts to become more difficult as they cant re open if staff cant get there.
    You're absolutely right - the Government have created a perfect environment for being able to blame us rather than accept their own failings. They've pushed those people who rely on TFL (because don't most people in London?!) back into work, and to hell with the ramifications.

I'm absolutely nowhere near an SNP man, but thank goodness the Scottish Government are exercising a little more caution. And I say that as someone who's utterly had enough of this lockdown.

No idea. Since starting to publish stats for ICU there has only been three days where the numbers have been lower than the past two days. Lowest since 26th March.

Roughly 40% of new infection are community. There were 188 in total yesterday so roughly 75 “community” across Scotland. But many/most of these would have been key worker/hospital. Population 5.5m.

In Lothian yesterday there were 31 new cases. Assuming 60% were care homes then that means there were 12 new “community” cases. Population 898,000.

Maybe they want it at zero.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    This thread is eye opening

https://twitter.com/laurelchor/statu...159442434?s=19

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    You're absolutely right - the Government have created a perfect environment for being able to blame us rather than accept their own failings. They've pushed those people who rely on TFL (because don't most people in London?!) back into work, and to hell with the ramifications.

I'm absolutely nowhere near an SNP man, but thank goodness the Scottish Government are exercising a little more caution. And I say that as someone who's utterly had enough of this lockdown.
    I agree to a point but lets take this from now. The Government have failed no doubt not done their jobs well enough. The buses or trains should only be in operation if the 2m distance can be implemented. I understand that people need to earn money 100% but why should I care about that if I was isolated on a train only then to have my space taken over by that person? Who maybe ill. When the bus or train leaves first stop and if far from full there must be some point when people are getting on knowing they are too close and IMO thats wrong.

We can say the Government put them in that position but that then is not almost carte blanche to just do what you like. WE all have our lives to lead but the simple fact of me walking over to you and being within 1 feet of you could cost you or a family member their life but I need to earn £200 or I am chucked out my flat, are you ok with that?

I agree to a point but lets take this from now. The Government have failed no doubt not done their jobs well enough. The buses or trains should only be in operation if the 2m distance can be implemented. I understand that people need to earn money 100% but why should I care about that if I was isolated on a train only then to have my space taken over by that person? Who maybe ill. When the bus or train leaves first stop and if far from full there must be some point when people are getting on knowing they are too close and IMO thats wrong.

We can say the Government put them in that position but that then is not almost carte blanche to just do what you like. WE all have our lives to lead but the simple fact of me walking over to you and being within 1 feet of you could cost you or a family member their life but I need to earn £200 or I am chucked out my flat, are you ok with that?
    We are being imprisoned by our own fear of death. I can’t see how we get out of this.

I was in a long queue at Tesco today. It was so sad to see everyone waiting in line. Many with masks on. Many holding scarves to their faces. Many looking at each other warily. I had time in the line to reflect on what I was part of and I didn’t like it.

The risks are so small for the vast majority of the population. They always have been. But we have become institutionalised to them now. Like a prisoner or soldier who finds it hard to adjust to civvy street.

I absolutely understand people’s wariness btw.
    Last edited by Hibby Bairn; 14-05-2020 at 08:56 PM.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Berwickhibby View Post
    when I lived and worked in Germany we paid insurance to different companies my krankenkasse was Barma if my memory is correct, I did not think the Government funded the health system like we do with NHS ....but admittedly that was 30 years plus ago.
    Like in the UK the health system in Germany is paid for by money deducted from people's pay. It's the government however that approves and thus enables the system. It's compulsory to pay contributions set in law with a few exceptions.

We are being imprisoned by our own fear of death. I can’t see how we get out of this.

I was in a long queue at Tesco today. It was so sad to see everyone waiting in line. Many with masks on. Many holding scarves to their faces. Many looking at each other warily. I had time in the line to reflect on what I was part of and I didn’t like it.

The risks are so small for the vast majority of the population. They always have been. But we have become institutionalised to them now. Like a prisoner or soldier who finds it hard to adjust to civvy street.

The alternate view woukd be its so amazing to see the population taking seriously the health of there elders and trying to protect them (and in sure some outwith this group)

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Clapping whilst plans are already being put in place to freeze their wages.
    It's obviously what the electorate want, otherwise they wouldn't have overwhelmingly voted for him.

Although i have written that I myself am not living in fear I guess many are out there are. I cannot just walk up to a person just because I am not bothered by it even if they are ill, it is the other person you need to take into consideration who may well feel totally different. You do look at the queue at shop and wonder how the hell can a restaurant or pub possibly operate under these conditions? There are a few if you like unessential business that could run quite well with the 2m gap, a car showroom for instance. I agree the risks are small but not everyone will think that way I would imagine.

Bars and restaurants to reopen in parts of Italy, including Rome, from Monday. That's a fortnight ahead of schedule. Various restrictions in place but a step forward regardless.

It will be interesting to see how that plays out.

Bars and restaurants to reopen in parts of Italy, including Rome, from Monday. That's a fortnight ahead of schedule. Various restrictions in place but a step forward regardless.

And some in Spain opened on Monday. Outdoors only.

But all I see is people going to cafes, shops etc and walking in the street with masks on. Everyone.

I wouldn’t want to go to a pub, cafe, shop or restaurant wearing a mask.

I saw footage today of a gym with running machines separated by perspex. Everyone in their own wee pod.

Horrible.

Although i have written that I myself am not living in fear I guess many are out there are. I cannot just walk up to a person just because I am not bothered by it even if they are ill, it is the other person you need to take into consideration who may well feel totally different. You do look at the queue at shop and wonder how the hell can a restaurant or pub possibly operate under these conditions? There are a few if you like unessential business that could run quite well with the 2m gap, a car showroom for instance. I agree the risks are small but not everyone will think that way I would imagine.
    Most small Pubs work on a person behind the bar, and that’s it
    To be counting customers in and out, is not possible without security, and I’m not sure they can afford it

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    Garden and recycling centres open in NI from Monday. Is our R number or whatever so bad that we stay in the dark?

Are we being over cautious or not?
    Rather be cautious than deid.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

And some in Spain opened on Monday. Outdoors only.

But all I see is people going to cafes, shops etc and walking in the street with masks on. Everyone.

I wouldn’t want to go to a pub, cafe, shop or restaurant wearing a mask.

I saw footage today of a gym with running machines separated by perspex. Everyone in their own wee pod.

Horrible.
    What until you see what they have in store for our kids going to school.

God knows how any 16 - 29 singletons will manage to get their hole in the next few years, nae dancing and nae meeting people from outside your current circle of friends.

The list is endless. It’s the Risk Managers dream world that we are living in, we are seeing decisions that will last for years being made during a crisis which is irresponsible to the general population. Let’s get through the next few weeks and then make rationale decisions.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Not long after the weekly clap for all the essential workers tonight I've been told by a friend, a care worker, who is off after testing positive for covid-19 that her work, Sanctuary Health care will only pay her statutory sick pay!
    Had a look on their twitter and they're all proud of their staff etc, makes me want to get an account so I can publicly ask some searching questions!

Pal is totally fine BTW, didn't even know she had/has it.

https://twitter.com/askellington5/st...957085185?s=19

Was this what was discussed earlier today?

I know the feeling with work teams calls.

Half the time it sounds like folk at at Blackpool pleasure Beach with the volume on the kids TV

Last edited by Callum_62; 14-05-2020 at 09:31 PM.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    A mobile testing centre is to be in my town for a few days, there will be 50 residents out of 2,500 invited to be tested, presumably others can apply if they meet the criteria.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

It's obviously what the electorate want, otherwise they wouldn't have overwhelmingly voted for him.
    Get Brexit Done is what he said and they wanted, it was on a bus, the detailed list of benefits delivered will follow.

Probably on the other side of the bus, the problem is we still don't know what they are and how and when they'll be delivered, bit like the PPE.

The populace is certainly getting a slice of his leadership skills and judgement just now, whether they voted for him or not.

My local is opening up again tomorrow. Lots of restrictions but it's a start:

No more than 4 people from a maximum of 2 different households per table and standing not allowed.

1 person per group needs to fill out a contact form.

Food cannot be consumed on the premises.

When visiting the toilet a face mask needs to be worn from leaving your seat until you return to your seat.

Trainers are allowed.

Spitoons have been removed.
    Last edited by Hibrandenburg; 14-05-2020 at 10:13 PM.