Page 311 of 2118 FirstFirst ... 2112613013093103113123133213614118111311 ... LastLast
Results 9,301 to 9,330 of 63517

Thread: Coronavirus

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    What he’s posted from the bbc there is already out of date. We know there was a case in France on the 27th December with no obvious links to China. Not even mentioned in that timeline.
    Further to that French case:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-52589449

Makes you wonder how far back the origins of this virus will be traced when all's said and done.

Isn’t it amazing how Nicola’s (and other politicians) hair hasn’t grown, no roots showing, all looking neat and tidy 😂

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    To me it’s pretty obvious...stay at home as much as possible is simply saying urmm stay at home as much as possible. It’s hardly a massive leap from the ‘stay at home’ (but actually go out when you need to) message.

As for limited contact with others...well guess what that means you should do your utmost to limit your contact with others....I honestly can’t get my head around why such a simple message could be construed as so difficult to comprehend.

It’s certainly not prescriptive though and if that’s what people want / need then I get that this doesn’t come with the 100% do’s and don’ts list but to me they are simply stating pretty much how most people have interpreted the lockdown so far anyway.

So in summary: Use yer noggin, don’t go out unless you need to and if you do avoid others as much as possible...not sure you need a PHD to comprehend what that means but hey ho I get others don’t agree so fair enough.
    So in summary. Lockdown is over

To me it’s pretty obvious...stay at home as much as possible is simply saying urmm stay at home as much as possible. It’s hardly a massive leap from the ‘stay at home’ (but actually go out when you need to) message.

As for limited contact with others...well guess what that means you should do your utmost to limit your contact with others....I honestly can’t get my head around why such a simple message could be construed as so difficult to comprehend.

It’s certainly not prescriptive though and if that’s what people want / need then I get that this doesn’t come with the 100% do’s and don’ts list but to me they are simply stating pretty much how most people have interpreted the lockdown so far anyway.

So in summary: Use yer noggin, don’t go out unless you need to and if you do avoid others as much as possible...not sure you need a PHD to comprehend what that means but hey ho I get others don’t agree so fair enough.
    Maybe you should offer to interpret things for the cabinet then because they seem as clueless about what it means as everyone else is.

Aye this message is so so clear. Yet everyone who has posted on this so far have different interpretations. Aye, so clear!!

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    Isn’t it amazing how Nicola’s (and other politicians) hair hasn’t grown, no roots showing, all looking neat and tidy
    She was cutting her own I remeber he saying a few weeks back

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    She was cutting her own I remeber he saying a few weeks back

😂 aye ok.

Quote Originally Posted by Lee Marvin View Post
    A rather generalised summary considering the overwhelming majority of schools, offices, shops, pubs, restaurants and sports clubs remain closed.

Isn't your summary precisely what was advocated before this change of message

So, again, why change the message if practically nothing changes?

aye ok.
    Wouldn't knock it, my sister in law cuts her own her hair, restyles the lot

Buzzcut all over I struggle with

Agreed It's not as though there's suddenly a wealth of options available to us other than nipping out to buy food. Most folk can surely be credited with a bit of sense after learning to live with lockdown for nearly a couple of months.

53 days in the house. Politicians still politicking. No vision. No routemap. Almost all other countries on the way back. Even Spain and Italy.

Deaths and cases still significant.

What a country.

Nicola quite rightly wondering aloud what ‘stay alert’ actually means on a practical level. Fairly obvious she thinks The UK Govt approach is a shambles. Personally Stay Alert! reminds me a bit of Don’t Panic! From the Hitch Hikers Guide. Which of course is a comic fantasy.

53 days in the house. Politicians still politicking. No vision. No routemap. Almost all other countries on the way back. Even Spain and Italy.

Deaths and cases still significant.

What a country.
    Isn't the road map due to be delivered at 7pm tonight?

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Only if you're a lert.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    A rather generalised summary considering the overwhelming majority of schools, offices, shops, pubs, restaurants and sports clubs remain closed.
    That's the exact point. Clearly it's not over, however one could interpret it that way. For instance, I could now go back to a life similar to pre lockdown without the pleasure of going to a few shops or football game (if I lived in England). I could have a party tonight with all my pals to celebrate under the rules of this slogan (as it stands).

It almost gives full automany to the individual and how they chose to interpret it.

And the blame game switches to the public for 'flouting the clear advice and guidance'

You can just see in the next 3-4 weeks this spiraling out of control

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    aye ok.
    https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news...f-diy-18080198

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar

Sounds like you’d be well suited to a job in government communications, congratulations 🤝 you’re hired

And the blame game switches to the public for 'flouting the clear advice and guidance'

You can just see in the next 3-4 weeks this spiraling out of control

A certainty. Playing politics with people's lives. People will fall for it as well.

'40/50/60K dead? What could we have done? We told people to be alert and they had a party'

'Fair point, wee nippy wouldn't even let us oot the hoose.'

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Not just the public. Poor Matt Hancock is getting set up as fall guy now.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    Sounds like you’d be well suited to a job in government communications, congratulations you’re hired
    Ahah cheers!

Clearly I would be as good as this lot though as I’d be sitting there wondering what on Earth all the fuss was about

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Isn't the road map due to be delivered at 7pm tonight?

For England.

The Scottish one is to come "as soon as possible".

I think it's safe to say they'll be broadly similar though.
    Mon the Hibs.

That's the exact point. Clearly it's not over, however one could interpret it that way. For instance, I could now go back to a life similar to pre lockdown without the pleasure of going to a few shops or football game (if I lived in England). I could have a party tonight with all my pals to celebrate under the rules of this slogan (as it stands).

Yeah cause stay at home as much as possible and limit your contact with others quite clearly suggests have a party with all yer pals!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Only if you're a lert.
    It's a good thing, I'm pretty sure Bozo is going to tell us we need as many lerts as we can get our hands on.

Jenrick is freewheeling round the country looking for some,and Hancock's ordered a plane load from Turkey

Yeah cause stay at home as much as possible and limit your contact with others quite clearly suggests have a party with all yer pals!
    It doesnt suggest you should, nor does it stipulate you cant. How can you not see how vague this is?
    Last edited by Lee Marvin; 10-05-2020 at 02:59 PM.

It doesnt suggest you should, not does it stipulate you cant. How can you not see how vague this is?
    Because Bojo knows best. His Govt can do no wrong, or atleast admit they have done wrong

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar

Johnson next slogan. Due in about 3/4 weeks.

Il ask again - if your understanding is the one the Govt want to be followed (as opposed to what others have intreperated) why have they changed the message?

If nothing changes, why dilute the message? They new message dumbs done the seriousness of where we are

Isn't your summary precisely what was advocated before this change of message

So, again, why change the message if practically nothing changes?

Because old messages become stale and actually the old one wasn’t really being adhered to in an absolute sense anyway?

Dunno...as I said it hardly seems worth all the palaver to me but clearly others don’t seem to understand that staying alert means don’t be complacent and to maintain keeping your guard up by following some rather basic principles.

But hey I’m not gonna say others are wrong and I’m right, just my own point of view so I’ll let others bash on with getting all het up on it all. Think I’ll just keep trucking on in terms of WFH, staying at home as much as possible and keeping my contact with others as limited as can be