Page 271 of 558 FirstFirst ... 171221261269270271272273281321371 ... LastLast
Results 8,101 to 8,130 of 16724
    Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    The world has changed beyond recognition since 'a few weeks back.' There's not a chance the SFA could commit to that now.
    It was after the lockdown came in that the SFA said the cup will be played to a conclusion once the world is back to being in a place where games can take place again

@hibs.net private member Greenworld's Avatar
    https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/spo...mpression=true

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    Erm. It does though. Clubs couldve signed free agents before the semi's were originally due to take place like we did with Logan which couldve changed the course of those semis. This is the exact same situation.

First up: This isn't 'the exact same situation' as anything that's ever happened in the whole history of the human race.

Conrad Logan was able to sign for Hibs because we suddenly had an emergency situation in regards to the lack of a First Team goalkeeper, for which there are special dispensations in place. The same would not have happened if, for instance, all of our Forwards were suddenly injured.

Hearts have about Four Goalkeepers, and probably Fifty Outfield Players on their books. They don't need any new signings to play one game.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by TheHarpy76 View Post
    Hibs and Aberdeen have played 5 games in the complete and won 4.

Celtic and Hearts have played 4 and won 4.

That’s not the same win records.
    By that logic, award points as if they were league matches. Hibs and Aberdeen have 13 points, celtc and Hearts have 12.😉
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Scottish Cup

Perhaps we could play the Scottish Cup games during the scheduled “winter break” and maybe by that time football will be back, teams will be match fit and even if they could not be played at Hampden how about a bit of vision from the SFA and play the games somewhere in the sunshine. Give us all something to look forward to; the games could be beamed all over the World on T.V. The Europe spot can go to 4th place in the league for this year. **** the hertz.
    Great exposure and lots more cash from TV. around the World. Our own owner has plenty experience in such things with his background in Spanish speaking sport on T.V. etc.
    Scottish Fitba needs to get out of its small parochial little box and look forward.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    By that logic, award points as if they were league matches. Hibs and Aberdeen have 13 points, celtc and Hearts have 12.😉
    Celtic and Hearts have a game in hand.

I'd call in the Pools Panel for that.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenworld View Post
    https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/spo...mpression=true

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
    The current buns and the wee current buns will need to be on statement overdrive if this ever happened.
    But any slim hopes of the season continuing at a later date could be snuffed out entirely if European football's governing body listen to the advice of Marc Van Ranst, who is virologist and epidemiologist at the Katholieke Universiteit in Leuven and regarded as one of the world's leading authorities on the subject.
    Belgian football initially incurred UEFA's wrath after they declared their season over, only to announce a u-turn later.
    Now UEFA have turned to one of their countrymen to get a definite verdict on when football can return.
    And he's advised UEFA to bin the season immediately.
    Story above from the rag that rhymes wi Hun.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    First up: This isn't 'the exact same situation' as anything that's ever happened in the whole history of the human race.

Conrad Logan was able to sign for Hibs because we suddenly had an emergency situation in regards to the lack of a First Team goalkeeper, for which there are special dispensations in place. The same would not have happened if, for instance, all of our Forwards were suddenly injured.

Hearts have about Four Goalkeepers, and probably Fifty Outfield Players on their books. They don't need any new signings to play one game.

None of that is true. We didnt need special dispensation at all.

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    They seem to think they should be awarded the Scottish Cup on account of goals for

Utterly deluded fools to a man (or woman)
    How does that even work?

They have won 5-0, 1-0 and 1-0 = 7 scored and a plus 7 goal difference.

Our results are 2-2, 4-2, 4-1 and 5-2 = 15 scored and a plus 8 difference.

They are truly unbelievable and never let the facts get in the way of their agenda.

Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    The current buns and the wee current buns will need to be on statement overdrive if this ever happened.
    But any slim hopes of the season continuing at a later date could be snuffed out entirely if European football's governing body listen to the advice of Marc Van Ranst, who is virologist and epidemiologist at the Katholieke Universiteit in Leuven and regarded as one of the world's leading authorities on the subject.
    Belgian football initially incurred UEFA's wrath after they declared their season over, only to announce a u-turn later.
    Now UEFA have turned to one of their countrymen to get a definite verdict on when football can return.
    The last line in the article about how mass events like football matches or music festivals being the last part of any exit strategy is the real big one for me.

Too many people seem to think that as soon as restrictions are lifted then business as usual.

Closed doors games create no income but they do create expenditure. Non starter.

Restrictions will be lifted in stages and football is well down the list.

UEFA need to take the lead on this.

Quote Originally Posted by Tug Wilson View Post
    The last line in the article about how mass events like football matches or music festivals being the last part of any exit strategy is the real big one for me.

Too many people seem to think that as soon as restrictions are lifted then business as usual.

Closed doors games create no income but they do create expenditure. Non starter.

Restrictions will be lifted in stages and football is well down the list.

UEFA need to take the lead on this.
    Correct.
    If UEFA decide to call it as it is, we can all move on & prepare for next season, whenever that may be. I’m all for finishing season if possible, but financially, most clubs need prize money to survive & rebuild.

Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    Do you think the current buns would take into consideration anything coming from a university called Katholieke?

@hibs.net private member LALthehibeeGAL's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by mjhibby View Post
    I think stir crazy status has officially kicked in for loads of folk due to lockdown fever. It's like two kids in the playground wondering how to win the cup without playing the semis and final. Bizarre.
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    Those last couple of pages were great 😂

.net at its bonkers best.
    Quote Originally Posted by RoxburghHibs View Post
    The guy really believed he had a valid point. Made it comedy gold.
    Quote Originally Posted by NC1875 View Post
    The last few pages have just made me forget all about my hangover. What a laugh.

When is hearts cup parade ?

Budge at the front of the bus and Levein at the back. 400k supporters kept 2m apart while cheering their heroes!!
    Quote Originally Posted by hibeerealist View Post
    You must be great company in the pub before or after a game!
    OMG what a hoot I have just caught up on this thread - don't punt him keep the fun going!!! that's what happens when you are on the sauce til the wee small hours !!

FWIW wouldn't it be in the yams interest to technically "prove a point" by trying to play and win the SC to forever bleat about being unfairly relegated!!! blah blah

Anyway the last couple of pages have had me practically in tears - pure gold - he's a keeper even if he is a yam!!!

Lal

Quote Originally Posted by CloudSquall View Post
    They seem to believe not turning up at away games is going to be a hammer blow to the finances of top flight teams up and down the country.
    So it's kinda like the financial armageddon we were promised when Rangers went pop... only on a much, much smaller scale.. good to know!! xD

I am now trawling back thru the pages- where does the nonsense fun begin?!?! Haha

Quote Originally Posted by RoYO! View Post
    I am now trawling back thru the pages- where does the nonsense fun begin?!?! Haha
    266 - what a trumpet.

Quote Originally Posted by LALthehibeeGAL View Post
    OMG what a hoot I have just caught up on this thread - don't punt him keep the fun going!!! that's what happens when you are on the sauce til the wee small hours !!

FWIW wouldn't it be in the yams interest to technically "prove a point" by trying to play and win the SC to forever bleat about being unfairly relegated!!! blah blah

Anyway the last couple of pages have had me practically in tears - pure gold - he's a keeper even if he is a yam!!!

Lal
    Poster 100% is on acid or not a Hibee. Beyond any kind of logical thinking. Reminds me of Dee Dee from Limmys show.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Before we stray away from the ‘Hearts should be awarded the Cup’ based on statistics so far in the competition, I notice that the poster, forcibly defending the principles of this nonsense, has changed his tune over the years.
    In a thread discussing our elimination from the cup in a penalty shoot out against Dundee United in 2014, someone argued that, instead of a penalty shoot out, matches should be based purely on match statistics. The poster, who in this present thread is pro the use of statistics to decide the winner of this year’s competition replied back then :

“Would you be complaining about penalty shoot-outs had we won on Wednesday night?

It's the best and most exciting way to resolve a cup tie.
    Leave it to stats? Erm...no ta”

Interesting.
    What a truly bizarre way to announce ones yamness!

@hibs.net private member LALthehibeeGAL's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by RoYO! View Post
    Page 266

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    They seem to think they should be awarded the Scottish Cup on account of goals for

Utterly deluded fools to a man (or woman)
    Quote Originally Posted by TheHarpy76 View Post
    In their place, I would be doing the same.

If they’re calling it on one competition then they have to call it on them all. Hearts have the best record from the four remaining teams.

I know I’m going to get grief for this but it’s how I feel.

Hearts couldn’t even get their vote in on time, must have been using Romanov’s old machine
    Seemingly the SPFL had to chase them up, as of 5pm it wasn’t received

I'd be all for awarding Hearts the Scottish cup if it means they are relegated. In fact I'd even nip along to solo clap at their parade.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Hearts couldn’t even get their vote in on time, must have been using Romanov’s old machine
    Seemingly the SPFL had to chase them up, as of 5pm it wasn’t received
    Quite frankly do not believe the version that they sent an email in at midday and technically didn't reach the spfl. Not a chance that happened imo.

@hibs.net private member Kojock's Avatar
    It really is a hoot over the road. This one caught my eye talking about boycotting away grounds.

I'll certainly be avoiding any of their grounds or giving them my money, I even sent a message to Tony Macaroni explaining why I will no longer be taking my family to their Omni Centre restaurant

😂 😂 😂

Quote Originally Posted by Kojock View Post
    It really is a hoot over the road. This one caught my eye talking about boycotting away grounds.

I'll certainly be avoiding any of their grounds or giving them my money, I even sent a message to Tony Macaroni explaining why I will no longer be taking my family to their Omni Centre restaurant

😂 😂 😂
    That is brilliant

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Quite frankly do not believe the version that they sent an email in at midday and technically didn't reach the spfl. Not a chance that happened imo.
    Queen Ann deluges the yams website with her inane rants. You van only imagine the drivel she sends via email to all and sundry.

The email to the SFA probably went straight to spam.
    Space to let

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Before we stray away from the ‘Hearts should be awarded the Cup’ based on statistics so far in the competition, I notice that the poster, forcibly defending the principles of this nonsense, has changed his tune over the years.
    In a thread discussing our elimination from the cup in a penalty shoot out against Dundee United in 2014, someone argued that, instead of a penalty shoot out, matches should be based purely on match statistics. The poster, who in this present thread is pro the use of statistics to decide the winner of this year’s competition replied back then :

“Would you be complaining about penalty shoot-outs had we won on Wednesday night?

It's the best and most exciting way to resolve a cup tie.
    Leave it to stats? Erm...no ta”

Interesting.
    Good hunting!

Quote Originally Posted by we are hibs View Post
    None of that is true. We didnt need special dispensation at all.
    He still signed during the course of the season though. A very different scenario to playing the remaining Scottish Cup ties next season, when there's no knowing how many players will have come and gone, let alone when the games could be played. If we can draw a line under the league campaign there's no reason we can't do the same with the Scottish Cup.

😂 😂 😂
    That's a new classic right there.

Why only the Omni Centre? Will he still be frequenting Tony Macaroni restaurants at other sites? Was he crying when he sent the email? We need to know.

😂 😂 😂
    hope his email did not get blocked by a firewall and end up in the junk mail, perhaps he needs to follow it up wi a phone call as well.

If you have a look on kickback just now, 2 of the top trending threads

Happy St Vlad Day, but they won’t accept he is a convicted crook

The Rangers statement, they are in love with it!!!’