View Poll Results: Vote yes or no in regards to the the current proposals?

334. You may not vote on this poll
  • Vote yes and relegate Hearts

298 89.22%
  • Vote no and see what happens including league reconstruction (as reported in Evening News)

36 10.78%
Page 16 of 22 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Marvin View Post
    It probably isn't. However it would be a board decision and therefore he board would lose my trust and confidence.

Losing the trust of and potentially alienating a huge proportion of your fanbase would be a horrendous decision by Hibs.
    Ron will have the final say.

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    Maybe we would vote against it as we feel we are going to miss out on top 6? Taking a stage further perhaps the club believes its too early to call what will happen with the current season therefore vote against it?

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    It’s not so much withdrawing support. A no vote is a vote to continue the league in August and therefore cut next season short. Be mad to get a season ticket in those circumstances.

As things stand I would consider a no vote as voting to assess things further down the line. See how things play out over the next month and take it from there.

A yes vote, for us in the premiership, also kicks the can down the road for about a month anyway as we await talks with UEFA - but we'd have a theoretical decision made for the outcome of that discussion.

Neither yes or no decides either way on reconstruction and that remains on the table pretty much indefinitely for now.

In short, I don't think a decision either way is going to tell us much.
    Mon the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by gloryhunter View Post
    It is not LD'S decision.
    Correct it will be the boards decision and they will vote on basis of what's best for the health of the club which they are legally bound to do. That will be after considering the wishes of their customers, the fans, however they will have to look at all aspects of this not just the joy of relegating the cheats and keeping the fans happy. Regardless of how we vote it shouldnt be Leann getting the flack or the praise for doing so.

Last edited by greenlad; 10-04-2020 at 12:45 PM.

What could those reasons genuinely be that would appease the angered fans? We would, almost literally, be the only club to vote no who would not have a serious agenda to do so e.g relegation, promotion, stopping 9 in a row
    Dinnae ken. 😁

@hibs.net private member Hibs90's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    So you'd be withdrawing (some) support?
    No. I can support the team without attending games. Which I'm sure you'll know all about.

Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post
    Good. Well done Hibs.

Well f****** played Hibs 👍🏽

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Again, why is it in our best interests to keep hearts in the league? Derby revenue? That’s it. There’s literally no other reason, one or possibly two derbies at Easter road? So let’s keep them up just for that regardless of them being the worst team in the league and regardless of them constantly overspending, sly digs at our club and manager and acting like pompous ********s since the beginning of time? It’s sod all to do with being scared of hearts either, it’s about gaining advantages over our city rival at a time our new owner has ambitions for us to be undoubtedly the best club in Edinburgh.
    At no point in any of my posts on this subject have I said that finance is a factor for me in keeping Hearts in the league, or even suggested that ir should be a factor for Hibs in how we vote, it's been proved time and again that clubs like us can survive without revenue from playing Hearts or either of the uglies for that matter.

The rest of the points you make about Hearts are undeniable and I would be the last person to dare to suggest that they as a club are deserving of any special treatment, or that they don't deserve a good kicking in fact. I'm inclined to doubt that their absence from the league for what would be unlikely to be more than a season would give us any particular advantage over them .... they spent 2 seasons in the premiership without us very recently and a lot of good it did them vis a vis being a more popular club to support than Hibs.

For me as I've already said its about my personal idea of fairness .... not what Hearts as a club or their fanbase would see as an idea of fairness .... and on that basis and that basis alone I can't see the fairness in relegating ANY club, even them, who still had a better than even chance of avoiding relegation through efforts on the pitch. I apply that same approach to Partick Thistle who were still miles from certs to go down.

But I also can't deny that Dundee Utd were certs to win the championship so to deny them promotion would be just as wrong. That is why my preferred option is to end the season now and start again with a 14 team premiership as soon as practically possible .... Hearts place in all of this for me is purely coincidental and I wish to **** it wasn't them in bottom place, because if it wasn't this thread would be half the bloody length it currently is and a hell of a lot more folk would be agreeing with my point of view.

@hibs.net private member Barney McGrew's Avatar
    Good stuff

Quote Originally Posted by Dazzling Doidge View Post
    No. I can support the team without attending games. Which I'm sure you'll know all about.
    Good reply.

Yes, well done the Hibs board. Panic over

SPFL response to The Rangers statement;

https://spfl.co.uk/news/board-update...ers-resolution

Also, good.

However we vote, we need a clear statement detailing the reasons ala Livingston

Full on seethe on kickback in 3...2...1.....

So you'd be changing your level of support?

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Grieves View Post
    ”We voted yes to relegate Hertz. Get it round ye”

Good reply.

Yes, well done the Hibs board. Panic over
    Good reply because of the dig at me?

Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    ”We voted yes to relegate Hertz. Get it round ye”
    Perfect!

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Just need Ross County to do the right thing now....
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Already got mine.
    Thought Budge hadn’t put them on sale yet?

Well done Hibs

@hibs.net private member Brooster's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Grieves View Post
    I dont think we do.

Also, good.
    Good statement from the SPFL and I think that's time I've ever said that. I await our clubs' statement later today.

Also, good.
    Final paragraph..

“The SPFL Board has worked hard to propose a clear way of quickly delivering much-needed fee payments to the 30 clubs in the Ladbrokes Championship, League 1 and League 2.

“The alternative is further weeks, and possibly months, of uncertainty and financial hardship for dozens of clubs which are desperately looking for a way to survive.”

But the two clubs with no money..huns and wee huns seem to keep wanting to drag this out.

Add in the monopoly the Old Firm have with £ in this country and I can’t see the huns even looking at a fair distribution of money to teams below them.

They are both trying to make out it’s about the greater good of Scottish football but realistically they are both as selfish and self centred as they come.

Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    Just need Ross County to do the right thing now....
    I can’t see why they would vote no. If the season plays on they are far from safe from the drop

Makes complete sense.

Payments can be made and the SPFL will be ready to wrap things up for the Prem when UEFA call an end to the leagues in 2 weeks time. In the intervening days, they have a good chat about reconstruction for 20/21 to appease those underperforming / poorly managed clubs that are trying to drag our game down due to self-interest.

Now, let's do this and move on from this nonsense.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Some of the comments and input on this thread depress the hell out of me, not just as a Hibs fan or a fitba fan, but as a human being.

Folk are going on about Hibs being 'soft' if they miss this chance to relegate Hearts, saying all this talk about 'this is our city' is hogwash if we don't make ensuring Hearts are relegated our number one priority. Whatever happened to there being 'class, first class and Hibs class' ..... how much nonsense will that be if the club like half the fans on here make ensuring Hearts go down through a situation that's probably as close to the Zombie apocalypse as we will ever see our number one priority, when the future of our whole game is at stake.

Then you have the ... Hearts wouldn't think twice if the shoe was on the other foot folk ... The whole point is we aren't Hearts, the whole point is that what Hearts would do should never be a factor in how we think and how we act as a club ... or a support for that matter. If we genuinely think that Hearts would delight in taking advantage of what is nothing short of the biggest natural disaster to hit humanity since the 1919 flu pandemic which killed millions to put the boot into Hibs then Hibs doing the same thing would to me make us no better than them.

Then you have the I wont renew brigade, including some posters on here I have a great deal of respect for normally. I've seen comments from some folk saying this is like the Sevco situation and fans of other clubs will join the outrage if any decision made saves Hearts. Well I've got news for them, no it isn't ... to fans of other teams Hearts are just another club, probably not a very popular one for sure if comments I've seen from other fans over the years are to be believed, but to them in this situation just another club ... they will be thinking of their own clubs and hopefully how to ensure football continues with as little damage as possible to every club .... If any decision saves Hearts it wont be anywhere near as big a deal to them as it appears to be to a lot of us .... and to think otherwise is having an inflated idea of our own importance that would do credit to our city neighbours.

If you seriously are talking about damaging Hibs by consciously not renewing your season ticket over this issue then your hatred of Hearts truly does outweigh your love of Hibs. Something we delight in accusing Hearts fans of in reverse all the time .. and yet here we are doing exactly the same thing.

I have on many occasions stated that what Hearts did during the Mercer era was possibly the most disgusting act any football club anywhere could have ever undertaken ... To try and end another club, and even worse a direct rival, by killing them off the pitch should have made Hearts very name a swear word in football, a byword for disgusting underhanded behaviour, even to fans who previously had no thought for them either way, if at all.

In my opinion raving at our club to vote a certain way in an overall decision for Scottish football which will affect not just us, not just Hearts, but the whole future of our game based on no other consideration than how much damage it can do to Hearts, be that deserved payback, karma or whatever when the club in question were in a position where relegation through their efforts on the pitch was a long way from certain is in the same ballpark .... not the same, but the same ballpark ... as what Hearts tried to do to us all those years ago.

The ****ing Yams have always been unbearable with their inflated sense of self importance and entitlement ... nobody least of all me would deny that ... they truly think they are God's gift to the beautiful game. The thought of ramping that up to 11 by handing them the chance to play the martyr as well is a far worse outcome to this situation than any idea of a decision Hibs make keeping them in the premiership.

Rant over GGTTH.
    This pretty much sums up how I feel about the situation.

My opinion is that the option to null and void the season is a non starter. It is a fantasy for the Huns to try to stop Celtic win another league title.

Completion of the season would be the best solution if it in itself did not create more issues than it solved. Player contracts, distribution of prize money and the knock on effect on the 20/21 season are all factors that detract from getting the season over later this year. However, the big issue is the new TV deal. The SPFL will be terrified that SKY TV will be looking for a way out of the deal. Protection of this is their main (possibly only) concern.

The clubs ALL realise this even the ones that are posturing and making threats.

League reconstruction is the fudge that some clubs are hoping to save them but this needs discussed and planned properly not rushed through for the benefit of a small handful of clubs.

Also the one season fix only postpones the issue. If you are looking to have a 14 team Premier League next season with 3 teams relegated and 1 in a play off potentially going down then these teams are really going to struggle to cope financially.

Sure put reconstruction on the table and discuss as a future plan. However, if it is not the way forward permanently then it is not the stop gap answer either.

None of the above brings in the emotive issue for Hibs fans that it is Hearts who would lose out. And neither it should.

Take the emotion out of it, look at the facts, then call the leagues as they stand on an average points basis, no play offs, pay out the prize money, even make some additional payments to the clubs losing out on the play offs, relegated sides get usual parachute payments, then plan for next season.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    At no point in any of my posts on this subject have I said that finance is a factor for me in keeping Hearts in the league, or even suggested that ir should be a factor for Hibs in how we vote, it's been proved time and again that clubs like us can survive without revenue from playing Hearts or either of the uglies for that matter.

The rest of the points you make about Hearts are undeniable and I would be the last person to dare to suggest that they as a club are deserving of any special treatment, or that they don't deserve a good kicking in fact. I'm inclined to doubt that their absence from the league for what would be unlikely to be more than a season would give us any particular advantage over them .... they spent 2 seasons in the premiership without us very recently and a lot of good it did them vis a vis being a more popular club to support than Hibs.

For me as I've already said its about my personal idea of fairness .... not what Hearts as a club or their fanbase would see as an idea of fairness .... and on that basis and that basis alone I can't see the fairness in relegating ANY club, even them, who still had a better than even chance of avoiding relegation through efforts on the pitch. I apply that same approach to Partick Thistle who were still miles from certs to go down.

But I also can't deny that Dundee Utd were certs to win the championship so to deny them promotion would be just as wrong. That is why my preferred option is to end the season now and start again with a 14 team premiership as soon as practically possible .... Hearts place in all of this for me is purely coincidental and I wish to **** it wasn't them in bottom place, because if it wasn't this thread would be half the bloody length it currently is and a hell of a lot more folk would be agreeing with my point of view.
    Sound no bother mate! 💚