Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Had a couple last night while playing darts. Might have a couple tonight too so I'm drinking more but I'm starting from a low point (IE never drinking at home).

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    I've not had a drink in 5 weeks, not in a concious effort or anything, the house is rammed full of alcohol but I just haven't felt like it, never been one for drinking alone in the house and keep thinking this weekend I will get stuck in, when it come to the crunch I just can't be bothered

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Apparently I drink too much, even on my best behaviour.

I normally have a bottle of beer when I get in from work. At weekends, if in the house, I usually have a beer either before or with each meal. According to the calculator these 9 bottles of beer take me to 15 units per week. This will increase along with the temperature - cutting the grass merits a beer does it not?

When you add in dinners, days/nights out, etc. the figures rocket.

Am I a problem drinker?
    I read an article a couple of months back. It said that in 1956 the French government banned children under 14 from having wine in the school cafeteria at lunchtime. It was widely accepted before that. They extended it to over-14s in 1981.

It also had some figures about adult consumption of wine in 1956. I can’t remember the detail but IIRC it was seen as absolutely accepted to knock back a bottle of wine at lunchtime (and obviously more later with dinner).
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Was chatting to my neighbour up the road earlier, he was bemoaning the closure of the pubs just now because it was his entire social life.

He generally goes every night after work, all day Saturday and all day Sunday.

I said that the closures might be good for his health. He said "no, I am still drinking 7 or 8 cans every night".....................

I was caning it last week, mainly because I had been treating the whole time off as a bit of a holiday. Got properly pished on Sunday night and had a brute of a hangover on Monday.

Had nothing at all this week so will have a couple of cans tonight watching The Stand stream on YouTube.

I like to go out boozing regularly. Apart from tanning a bottle of Bailey's at Christmas and another at New Year I very, very rarely drink at home. We're talking less than a dozen cans A YEAR! Spirits just as rare.

So I'm off the booze for the foreseeable!

So far I've lost 6 lbs!
    Space to let

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    I like to go out boozing regularly. Apart from tanning a bottle of Bailey's at Christmas and another at New Year I very, very rarely drink at home. We're talking less than a dozen cans A YEAR! Spirits just as rare.

So I'm off the booze for the foreseeable!

So far I've lost 6 lbs!
    Good effort mate. I binned all the booze in the house last week. It’s too easy to fall into that trap of boozing 3-4 nights a week esp in this lockdown. I personally will wait until we are allowed out to socialise before I have my next drink. It’s the same with eating, so far I’ve screwed the nut and only had a pig out on a Saturday evening . Some people will come out of this a fair few pounds overweight and some like yourself nice and trim. You’re doing it the right way 👍🏻

Very rarely drink at home. Bought four cans of Innes & Gunn from Asda on day one. Got one can left in the fridge, and even then I left one of the other cans on my mate’s doorstep round the corner for his 40th the other day. Trying my best to keep tabs on my diet so avoiding doing much boozing is very much at the forefront of that.

Quote Originally Posted by TheReg! View Post
    Good effort mate. I binned all the booze in the house last week. It’s too easy to fall into that trap of boozing 3-4 nights a week esp in this lockdown. I personally will wait until we are allowed out to socialise before I have my next drink. It’s the same with eating, so far I’ve screwed the nut and only had a pig out on a Saturday evening . Some people will come out of this a fair few pounds overweight and some like yourself nice and trim. You’re doing it the right way 👍🏻
    Nice and trim!!!

I hope this lockdown doesn't last that long lol
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    Have to say drinking in my house has probably increased in recent weeks. Not just myself, but my wife and oldest daughter (19) as well. Last Thursday bought a box of wine from Asda, thought it would last a few nights, wife and I finished it in the night (equivalent to 3 bottles).

Last night bottle of vodka gone, tonight bottle of Kraken rum, almost gone, will be by time I get to bed.

It is my 50th birthday and should have been away so can use that as a kind of excuse but realise cant keep this up during lockdown.

The lockdown has increased my drinking quite a bit.

Normally only 2 cans Fri/ Sat but now I’m at it every night. I guess working at home and not being allowed out means I’m relying on it to wind down.

I’m eating more and one lot of exercise a day means I’m burning less calories also. This isn’t good. In my head there’s not much else to do apart from eat, drink, watch telly and rest in between meals.

Any bright ideas at how to change this cycle would be greatly appreciated.

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    Had a couple last night while playing darts. Might have a couple tonight too so I'm drinking more but I'm starting from a low point (IE never drinking at home).
    You still got that Kraken from your Birthday? 🤣

Quote Originally Posted by hibbydog View Post

Normally only 2 cans Fri/ Sat but now I’m at it every night. I guess working at home and not being allowed out means I’m relying on it to wind down.

I’m eating more and one lot of exercise a day means I’m burning less calories also. This isn’t good. In my head there’s not much else to do apart from eat, drink, watch telly and rest in between meals.

Nope. Nothing I can add to your daily activities 😂.

I’ve started going for a run around 7/8. That seems to suppress need for food and drink in the evening. Or if you do then it tends to be water and something healthy to eat. And it fills an hour or so at peak time for eating and drinking crap.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar

I’m in the same boat. Grazing all through the day, especially in the evenings.

At work I have a routine. Now it’s all over the shop. Cracking out the deep fat fried to make fish and chips tonight!

I started this thread and had no problem staying off the booze. Have to report though, now I'm stuck in a rented flat because I can't get home I've put a fair amount of wine away.
    Disappointed but confident I'll be off it again when I'm home.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar

Have you got a car? If so, stay off the beer so that you can take it out for a spin every so often without breaking the drink-driving laws. When you get back home your neighbours will chase you round the block with pitchforks for being a selfish dick, and your general fitness will improve just keeping ahead of them. Win-win.

Quote Originally Posted by Bristolhibby View Post
    I’m in the same boat. Grazing all through the day, especially in the evenings.

At work I have a routine. Now it’s all over the shop. Cracking out the deep fat fried to make fish and chips tonight!

Me tae - my week slips by quickly when I'm busy in the office (working from home at the moment) and before I know it the weekend is here and I enjoy a well-earned pint. I'm trying not to be too hard on myself, and accepting that a bottle of beer or glass of wine in the hoose is my daily consolation prize in this absurd situation. I'm drinking less on Saturdays though, as I don't bevvy as much or as quickly at home as i do in the pub!!

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I read an article a couple of months back. It said that in 1956 the French government banned children under 14 from having wine in the school cafeteria at lunchtime. It was widely accepted before that. They extended it to over-14s in 1981.

It also had some figures about adult consumption of wine in 1956. I can’t remember the detail but IIRC it was seen as absolutely accepted to knock back a bottle of wine at lunchtime (and obviously more later with dinner).
    I'm not sure about the 50s, but I don't know anyone that'll drink that much every lunchtime.

My father-in-law, who's in his late 80s, drinks 4 glasses of wine on a normal day (a couple with each meal). To be fair this doesn't increase that much when there are family get togethers.

My wife's maternal grandparents were country people (probably the equivalent of crofters). They didn't have fresh water to drink, or if they did it was a paid-for luxury and, apart from coffee, drunk nothing but homemade cider morning, noon & night.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    drunk nothing but homemade cider morning, noon & night.
    Sounds like as plan!

Are you working from home or just locked in.

I'd suggest you quickly find a daily routine that is as close to your normal as usual. OK allow yourself another mug of coffee in bed while you read dotnet.

Get up and make your bed. That's your first achievement and you'll thank yourself at bedtime getting in to a nicely made bed.

SSS. Shower, shave and s... .

If you normally have a coffee when you get to work have another coffee while you start work.

Have your normal coffee and lunch breaks. Get up regularly and walk round the house/garden. Finish when you normally do.

Do what you'd normally do at night when you're not going out.

Check out YouTube for exercise videos if you like that sort of thing.

Go to your nicely made bed.

Wondering how everyone is getting on now everything is back open.

For no particular reason did dry January. Usually only occasionally have a few during the week but big Saturday with the pals or couples.

Kept it into February and feel great. No sure how long I will go. Although the thought of a Sunday dying on the couch when I could be out with the bairn, gives me the boak.

I'm yet to have a beer in 2022. I go through spells where I just can't be bothered with bevy, sometimes for months at a time, then I suddenly fancy a Guinness or a freezing cold lager. I can drink more now than when I was younger, but the recovery period is much longer.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Just looking back through this thread I see 4 contributors have since been launched. Hopefully nothing to do with bevvy intake....

Any more than 4 drinks nowadays and I feel like I've had enough. A sesh is a real chore and I'm quite happy with that.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I'm yet to have a beer in 2022. I go through spells where I just can't be bothered with bevy, sometimes for months at a time, then I suddenly fancy a Guinness or a freezing cold lager. I can drink more now than when I was younger, but the recovery period is much longer.
    Good going 👍. Its the recovery that's putting me off a session. A big one on Saturday means I'm still ill on Monday

Had quite a frank conversation with the wife about booze before Christmas where she felt uncomfortable about the amount I drink. Give me a bit of perspective and haven’t stopped but really cut back. Now we both only drink 2 nights a week which I’m finding is good, but also means having to think carefully about it. For example I decided I wanted to have a bevvy watching the derby so I didn’t drink the Friday that week, I went to the gym instead and woke up on the Saturday feeling fresh.

I think especially in the run up to Christmas where I was wfh full time it was too easy to turn a Friday and a Saturday in to a 4 dayer bookended by Thursday and Sunday.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Chucked it in early 2008. Not a particularly heavy drinker but when I was occasionally out….. I was out out. The archetypal binge drinker once every month or so. Woke up Jan 2nd 2008 and still had a hangover going back to work on the 7th. Said never again and that was that. Hard to believe that was 14 years ago. No help to anyone but thought. I’d share.

@hibs.net private member G15 Hibs's Avatar
    I've cut back massively since spring 2020. I only really drank at weekends, but I really *did* drink at weekends. All day stuff, then more in the house after the pub. At the start of lockdown I really missed the pubs and for a couple of months was drinking in the house at weekends. Then I sort of got fed up with it. Can't remember if it was down to a really bad hangover or whatever, but I didn't drink at all between around June and Christmas 2020. It was only then that I realised the affect it had on my mental health, or at least acknowledged it. Think I'd been ignoring it until then. But feeling really down for days after a sesh, anxious, distracted, unable to concentrate and everything. Off it, I didn't have those problems, felt pretty together and happier.

I was off it entirely again for a couple of months at the start of last year. Since things started opening up in the spring again I've had maybe about half a dozen nights out fully on the drink and will have a beer in the house every now and again, but I could never go back to massive seshs every weekend. They were lots of fun at the time for the most part, but the effect they have on my mood isn't worth it anymore. The downside, of course, is that I don't see folk who I bevvied with, and who my biggest connection was through drink. It's a shame, but overall I feel happier in myself.
    Last edited by G15 Hibs; 11-02-2022 at 12:29 PM.

I stopped drinking for seven months from September 2020 to March 2021. I had cut down massively before that anyway but my god did I feel better for it. Weight loss, out running, more productive generally. Most importantly, the money I saved was frightening.

I am back drinking a little now but it’s once a month tops.

@hibs.net private member G15 Hibs's Avatar
    [QUOTE=Lendo;6855689Most importantly, the money I saved was frightening.

[/QUOTE]

I certainly take more notice of what I'm spending on the occasions I go out a lot more now.