Thread: Nicknames

@hibs.net private member Sudds_1's Avatar

Nicknames

So...in an effort to bring some cheer to these gloomy times, whats the best nickname you have heard, or even what was/ is your nickname now.

I'll start the ball rolling...was called suds at school and its stuck with me ever since...55years!

Musselborough (thanks Andy74) was the nickname given to the late Justin Edinburgh which I though was brilliant.

My own personal best was for a lorry driver I used to work with who, with his strong Ayrshire accent, declared he “wisney dain if it’s mare than wan drop”. After he went on holiday to Mexico, naturally he became Juan Drop.
    Last edited by Jones28; 18-03-2020 at 02:39 PM.

Sooty, as a 13 year old crown green bowler playing in a team of adults, I became such a good player over a couple of years that I used to win the sweep for the highest up score most weeks. The guys nicknamed me Sooty (& sweep) it stuck with my mates ever since then.
    Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 17-03-2020 at 02:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Sudds_1 View Post
    So...in an effort to bring some cheer to these gloomy times, whats the best nickname you have heard, or even what was/ is your nickname now.

I'll start the ball rolling...was called suds at school and its stuck with me ever since...55years!
    Did you grow up in Slateford?

@hibs.net private member Craig_HFC's Avatar
    Not mine or anyone I know but I seen it on Twitter a while ago... some guy is called Wayne Bruce so he gets called ManBat at work.
    PERSEVERE
    Verb: pə:ːsɪ'ˈvɪə/
    To not give up.
    To go the distance.
    To stop at nothing.

I used to work with a Japanese company. One of the Japanese engineers was a particularity short chap.
    He was soon named Cannae Reachy-san.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    A guy I used to work with wore the same jacket, every day, for nigh on 3 years, he was nicknamed Dulux, because he only needs one coat.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Two-Soups.

The boy's name was Campbell Baxter.

One of the lads we play football, his name is Jack
    Everyone calls him Coosto, and he has a car number plate with it as well

One the older ones will understand.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    One of the lads we play football, his name is Jack
    Everyone calls him Coosto, and he has a car number plate with it as well

One the older ones will understand.
    Often booked for diving??

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Did you grow up in Slateford?
    No....born and bred in leith😃😃
    The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits

The trouble with referees is that they know the rules, but they do not know the game

Just remembered, knew a guy called cunningham who was nicknamed slybacon

The trouble with referees is that they know the rules, but they do not know the game

No....born and bred in leith😃😃
    Nae bother, you must share a nickname.

I was called Pants at school. It's quite funny when you bump into school mates and they still call you it, it suited my teenage self a lot more than it does a 42 year old man.

I've actually had millions of nicknames over the years.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Nae bother, you must share a nickname.
    Its derived from my surname. 2 of us suds were at school together 😁

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Just remembered, knew a guy called cunningham who was nicknamed slybacon
    Aye so did I....Jim Slybacon

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    Often booked for diving??
    That’s the one, he was very well known in the 70’s and 80’s

Likes calypso music too i'm told

Bungalow Bill was always one of my favourites 😀

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Bungalow Bill was always one of my favourites 😀
    Remind me who he was. Get the meaning, but can’t remember who it was

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    Two-Soups.

The boy's name was Campbell Baxter.

Remind me who he was. Get the meaning, but can’t remember who it was
    Friend of Princess Margaret I think.

Nothing up top but plenty downstairs

Former footballer Fitz Hall, nickname One Size

my boring teenage nickname was Buddy, for reasons relating to

these days it’s usually just the abbreviation of my surname, hence my username

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Friend of Princess Margaret I think.

Nothing up top but plenty downstairs
    Was it not Bill Wiggins - Joan Collins' husband.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Was it not Bill Wiggins - Joan Collins' husband.
    Ah yes that's him.

I Work with a bloke who's surname is Eastwood, Obviously he's known as Clint.
    I'm not even sure what his real first name is.

Anyone at all with the surname Kerr is Juan.

I knew a guy who's surname was Heinz and he was always known as beans.

Trying to think of others I've known.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Portobello was the nickname given to the late Justin Edinburgh which I though was brilliant.

My own personal best was for a lorry driver I used to work with who, with his strong Ayrshire accent, declared he “wisney dain if it’s mare than wan drop”. After he went on holiday to Mexico, naturally he became Juan Drop.
    It was Musselburgh.

There was someone at my golf club nicknamed 'The Genie' because whenever someone opened a bottle he appeared.

Quote Originally Posted by Logie Green View Post
    There was someone at my golf club nicknamed 'The Genie' because whenever someone opened a bottle he appeared.
    That's like the guy in my local called torpedo, because he was always looking for a sub.

@hibs.net private member alhibby's Avatar
    My late mates surname was O'malley, was know for many years as Mash