Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    I'm sure your comment is in jest - but it's exactly this that sets him a good bit ahead of Cummings for me. He doesn't just score goals, his first touch, laying-off, football brain, movement and all-round game looks very, very good when you watch him. He also scores all types of goals, including with his heid.

I reiterate though - here's hoping he is p1sh at all of the above on Sunday
    My remark “all he does is score goals” was a jest often aimed on this site at that brilliant striker Jamie Maclaren.

I am sorry but I do not see and have never noticed that side to Shanklands game that you describe be it for Ayr, Dundee Utd or Scotland

To me he is an out and out goalscorer and is the master of being in the right position at the right time

Once again it begs the question if that is the case why was he not picked up by bigger clubs sooner?

I remember his perfect hatrick for Ayr United versus United

When his side is under the cosh you never see or notice him as per the recent 1-1 versus Dundee

Yes he is a brilliant finisher scoring all sorts of goals and hopefully we can keep him quiet on Sunday

I would like to see us go for Kevin Nisbet of Dunfermline

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    My remark “all he does is score goals” was a jest often aimed on this site at that brilliant striker Jamie Maclaren.

I am sorry but I do not see and have never noticed that side to Shanklands game that you describe be it for Ayr, Dundee Utd or Scotland

To me he is an out and out goalscorer and is the master of being in the right position at the right time

Once again it begs the question if that is the case why was he not picked up by bigger clubs sooner?

I remember his perfect hatrick for Ayr United versus United

When his side is under the cosh you never see or notice him as per the recent 1-1 versus Dundee

Yes he is a brilliant finisher scoring all sorts of goals and hopefully we can keep him quiet on Sunday

I would like to see us go for Kevin Nisbet of Dunfermline
    He had a perfect hat-trick for United last weekend too.

You're right, he was quiet in what was a poor Dundee derby recently, as were a few other of United's important players.

I wouldn't expect him to be that well noticed when his team are "under the cosh" though. He's a centre forward! His link-up doesn't get talked about a lot because the majority of people just see his name pop-up on sky sports news on Saturday afternoon.

If you get bored of the game on Sunday Watch him for a while, the boy is a player with good game intelligence and movement. (often why he ends up in the right place at the right time).

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    He had a perfect hat-trick for United last weekend too.

You're right, he was quiet in what was a poor Dundee derby recently, as were a few other of United's important players.

I wouldn't expect him to be that well noticed when his team are "under the cosh" though. He's a centre forward! His link-up doesn't get talked about a lot because the majority of people just see his name pop-up on sky sports news on Saturday afternoon.

If you get bored of the game on Sunday Watch him for a while, the boy is a player with good game intelligence and movement. (often why he ends up in the right place at the right time).
    No worries I look forward to watching him work his socks off to get his team back into the game when we are 0-2 up

Quote Originally Posted by Cataplana View Post

This season Nisbet has scored 15 goals in 19 appearances for Dunfermline, and Lawrence Shankland has scored 22 goals in 19 appearances for Dundee United, both teams are in the same league. That doesn't tie with Shankland even being the best in his division - when you consider that Nisbet actually scored more than him last season.

So, going on statistics alone, Shankland has scored almost 50% more goals than Nisbet.

Quote Originally Posted by Cataplana View Post
    Shankland is playing in a winning team, which creates chances for him to score. Nisbet is not...

But that's a fair point.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    No worries I look forward to watching him work his socks off to get his team back into the game when we are 0-2 up
    Nae danger you'll be bored if we're 2-0 up

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    So, going on statistics alone, Shankland has scored almost 50% more goals than Nisbet.

But that's a fair point.
    It's worth comparing their records in League One. Also how many hat tricks they have had. Hat tricks are as much about one team outclassing the other as individual brilliance.

If Shankland is so good, and we can't afford him, we should be thinking about Nisbet.
    Last edited by Cataplana; 18-01-2020 at 09:33 AM.

I’m not going to forage through ten pages, but I’m sure the point was made that our management were remiss in not going for Shankland. Maybe they did, but decided that there was a limit to what they were willing to pay for a prolific scorer but one, unproven at the top level. I’m fairly certain we would not have been the only ones. D Utd. were clearly willing to push the boat out in an attempt to get back to the top division and probably gave Ayr and Shankland offers they couldn’t refuse.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I’m not going to forage through ten pages, but I’m sure the point was made that our management were remiss in not going for Shankland. Maybe they did, but decided that there was a limit to what they were willing to pay for a prolific scorer but one, unproven at the top level. I’m fairly certain we would not have been the only ones. D Utd. were clearly willing to push the boat out in an attempt to get back to the top division and probably gave Ayr and Shankland offers they couldn’t refuse.
    I think there's ten pages of argument about whether they missed a trick, or not. Some people think they did, others think the didn't. The strongest argument against signing him is that he is unproven at the top level.

As well as that, other players have shown up well in the lower leagues, but can't cut it at the top (Cummings), and he isn't the only one banging in the goals down there (Nisbet).

The fact that nobody else was prepared to pay the money for him suggests that people who know the game have seen something that tells them he's not worth breaking the bank for.

Still Doidge for me

Go on Doigdy!

First Team Regular dalkeith stu's Avatar

Gamertag: hibeestu07
    Doidge 1-0
    Has Shankland even touched the ball yet??

Lovely finish to a well worked team goal. Started with a very quick throw from Rocky 👏🏻

Shankland catching up...

Shankland is a pound shop Billy Pirie. Fail.

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Shankland is a decent player and I've said before I think he will go to play at a higher level than he is but he done nothing today, his goal came from crap defending but on the other hand he still had to take the touch then finish, still reckon doidge is the better player

@hibs.net private member jeffers's Avatar
    Neither player got decent service today, but if he hadn’t been rugby tackled then missed the chance at the end I could have been excused for thinking Doidge had been subbed at HT.

Quote Originally Posted by jeffers View Post
    Neither player got decent service today, but if he hadn’t been rugby tackled then missed the chance at the end I could have been excused for thinking Doidge had been subbed at HT.

Whereas Shankland scored with pretty much his only chance.

Don’t want to be accused of not supporting our own players but Shankland looks like the real deal to me.

Shankland got one chance today and took it. He’s playing in a poorer team but he’s clearly a better player than Doidge.

Shankland touched the ball once, very poor honestly. Doidge and Kamberi both better.

Quote Originally Posted by Del Boy View Post
    Shankland got one chance today and took it. He’s playing in a poorer team but he’s clearly a better player than Doidge.
    Explain how he is clearly a better player?

Quote Originally Posted by allant1981 View Post
    Explain how he is clearly a better player?
    He holds the ball up better and links better with those around him, better movement off the ball, is a far better finisher, has a better touch and works harder.

That's your case?

You must see him more often than today then as you didnt see all that today

Quote Originally Posted by SanFranHibs View Post
    That's your case?
    Aye!! To be honest everyone sees things differently and it’s just my opinion but I’ve seen Shankland play a lot on the last two years and he’s a top player. Sure he has quiet games, like today, but he should and will play at a higher level.

Quote Originally Posted by allant1981 View Post
    You must see him more often than today then as you didnt see all that today
    Fair comment but yeah I’ve seen him play a lot.

Shankland had one good chance and finished it. If he had one or two more I have no doubt we'd have been walking away from this game without even a replay. Doidge had a great chance at the death and done his usual hit it at the keeper.

Not a great day for either to showcase themselves but I still have zero doubt who I'd like to see play for us.

Why didn't he do any of those things today? He scored but his general play didn't exist. He held nothing up. United had 2 shots on goal.

Quote Originally Posted by Centre Hawf View Post
    Shankland had one good chance and finished it. If he had one or two more I have no doubt we'd have been walking away from this game without even a replay. Doidge had a great chance at the death and done his usual hit it at the keeper.

Not a great day for either to showcase themselves but I still have zero doubt who I'd like to see play for us.
    Doidge scored a very good goal. Chance at the end wasn't easy at all.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Doidge scored a very good goal. Chance at the end wasn't easy at all.
    He did well to control the ball to create the chance, but the keeper did his job very well.